Ken Hinkley's presser after Bulldogs game

Delistings should be easy. I just hope Ken can pull the trigger on them as he has persisted and persisted with them despite poor performances.

For what its worth Id delist:
Moore - the worst top 10 pick in our history.. not sure what they saw in him, his brother was a dud so not sure what they expected.
Colhoon - has no attributes, no pace, no great skills, no great evasiveness, just a plodder with a decent engine..
P Stewart - appears a good clubman, but is not up to the level
Redden - was going to be something, now is renouf like
Harvey - not up to it

Id trade (if possible)
Young
Shaw - be happy to get anything, maybe freo would swap lachie neale
Butcher - back to Maffra and still wouldn't be the best forward in maffra
Lobbe - wonder if we could swap him for lycett?

Id keep
Mitchell - not sure why, but he does find the ball and he does run..acknowledge he cant kick but half the problem is solved
Gray - simply as a back up
O'Shea - don't mind him, but the gap between is good and bad is huge and needs to be reduced, don't think selection has helped him this year

Grab a few mid aged players from SANFL and then use the rest on draftees.

So Butcher, Shaw and Harvey......... dismissed?

lel

Delistings should be easy. I just hope Ken can pull the trigger on them as he has persisted and persisted with them despite poor performances.

Moore - the worst top 10 pick in our history.. not sure what they saw in him, his brother was a dud so not sure what they expected.
Colhoon - has no attributes, no pace, no great skills, no great evasiveness, just a plodder with a decent engine..
Harvey - not up to it

Id trade (if possible)
Young

Id keep
Mitchell - not sure why, but he does find the ball and he does run..acknowledge he cant kick but half the problem is solved
O'Shea - don't mind him, but the gap between is good and bad is huge and needs to be reduced, don't think selection has helped him this year

You do realise that there are no prizes for having the shortest squad in the AFL?
Shaw, Harvey and Redden aren't going anywhere (and I doubt we'll get rid of Lobbe either).
I reckon we'll keep one of Mitchell or Sam Gray.
Hoon stays as he has only just come back from a knee reco and still has an upside.
Moore, Young and O'Shea I think are playing for their careers right now.
Sadly I think Butcher is gone - so much potential, so little return.
Stewart I believe is under contract still.

Harvey - not up to it

Id trade (if possible)

You just destroyed our KP stocks

Harvey - not up to it

Id trade (if possible)
Young

Id keep

That would make a great Magpies line up.

Harvey - not up to it

Id trade (if possible)
Young

Id keep

I am really glad you are not our list manager.

I can't believe we're struggling to find players to delist after this season.
We aren't. Butcher and Kornes were locked in early in the season and Mitchell/Moore/Schulz will probably be the 3rd. Half the players you named are contracted tho.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/contracted-players.627140/

If we trade our first rounder I doubt we will make more than 3 list changes. The players we have will be more useful in a flag tilt than pick 60+

Delistings should be easy.....

Harvey - not up to it

Id trade (if possible)

Id keep
Mitchell ......
You're taking the piss, right? o_O

ill call BS on the same statement, it does nothing but damage morale, it might motivate the group of players that know they wont get a contract else where but others players will just look at others clubs, those 2 clubs you mention dont drop players straight away Tippert hasnt been dropped and is yet to set the world on fire.
I would argue that Choko's Gold Pass system was the single most damaging thing to happen at the PAFC ever , both within the playing group and outside of it . Have a look at the Public service v private industry , the PS with its no fault no sack ethos generaly is way of the pace.

DBJ signed a new deal didn't he? And there are plenty to go ahead of him anyway.

He signed on 3 months ago. No chance of being delisted

So your suggesting we keep them on the books for what purpose, to play for the magpies.
Lobbe has had a bad back this year and was one the best rucks in the AFL last year, no way we trade him.

Harvey and Shaw are only 19 and 21 you don't put a line through these players that early. Keep putting games into them at SANFL level. Maybe debut Harvey in some of the last games of the season.

Redden had a 2 year injury and in the last few weeks he is starting to get over the injury and is having great SANFL form. Some are calling for him to play AFL this week.

You are proposing to go from Schulz, Ryder, Westhoff, Lobbe, Redden, Harvey, Shaw, Butcher, Frampton and Howard.

To Ryder, Westhoff, Lycett, Frampton and Howard.

Lobbe has had a bad back this year and was one the best rucks in the AFL last year, no way we trade him.

Harvey and Shaw are only 19 and 21 you don't put a line through these players that early. Keep putting games into them at SANFL level. Maybe debut Harvey in some of the last games of the season.

Redden had a 2 year injury and in the last few weeks he is starting to get over the injury and is having great SANFL form. Some are calling for him to play AFL this week.

You are proposing to go from Schulz, Ryder, Westhoff, Lobbe, Redden, Harvey, Shaw, Butcher, Frampton and Howard.

To Ryder, Westhoff, Lycett, Frampton and Howard.

Plus Schultz, and replace the rest with new draftees and try again

And we might potentially grab Charlie dixon which then totally changes the mix.

Harvey - not up to it

Id trade (if possible)
Young

Id keep

Colquhoun will go down as our best ever AFL-era back pocket and make you look very silly.

Edit: just read the rest of your musings, I'll have some of what you're smoking.

I would argue that Choko's Gold Pass system was the single most damaging thing to happen at the PAFC ever , both within the playing group and outside of it . Have a look at the Public service v private industry , the PS with its no fault no sack ethos generaly is way of the pace.

That same system that delivered a flag to alberton, I think you may be referring to the poor drafting and trading upon the belief that we were able to turn things around so quickly after 04, and to compare that to the public vs private sector issues well you've got the clubs problems solved, stay at it mate.

successful teams are structured like army platoons, inspirational leader, some hard arse's you don't want to disappoint, grunts willing to lay everything on the line all for the cause and group and chuck in a few freaks who can lift the group from deeds that go beyond the normal call of duty, 2014 we were well drilled, focused, natural born killers, a group you would be happy to go to war with.

2015 we are raising the white flag when the going gets tough:thumbsdown:, you hand grunt Pittard the grenade and he hesitates where to place it...fumbles the grenade in your bunker..BOOM! , not too many in 2015 that you would want to have your back and go into battle with :(

That same system that delivered a flag to alberton, I think you may be referring to the poor drafting and trading upon the belief that we were able to turn things around so quickly after 04, and to compare that to the public vs private sector issues well you've got the clubs problems solved, stay at it mate.
A few of us would argue that the old Magpie spirit that was still evident at that time , together with the residue of Jacks team had more to do with it than Choko , should have one three with that squad , the lads won it DESPITE his sytems.

successful teams are structured like army platoons, inspirational leader, some hard arse's you don't want to disappoint, grunts willing to lay everything on the line all for the cause and group and chuck in a few freaks who can lift the group from deeds that go beyond the normal call of duty, 2014 we were well drilled, focused, natural born killers, a group you would be happy to go to war with.

2015 we are raising the white flag when the going gets tough:thumbsdown:, you hand grunt Pittard the grenade and he hesitates where to place it...fumbles the grenade in your bunker..BOOM! , not too many in 2015 that you would want to have your back and go into battle with :(
Yep , got a hell of a lot to do with leadership too.

Reckon this trade period for many teams will be fierce. More teams now thinking they are only 1/2 top players away from flag contention. Sound familiar? We will need to think outside of box to secure some new fresh talent in a massively competitive market. Hinkley is pivotal in his people skills to land players. But our underperforming year will create doubts in potential players minds.

ill call BS on the same statement, it does nothing but damage morale, it might motivate the group of players that know they wont get a contract else where but others players will just look at others clubs, those 2 clubs you mention dont drop players straight away Tippert hasnt been dropped and is yet to set the world on fire.

Agree with the sentiment, but Tippett is such a shit example. Why on earth would he be dropped?

Ken Hinkley's presser after Bulldogs game