Rumour Jessie Hogan Out Indefinitely for Mental Health Reasons.

I went to school with a girl who found her dad hanging when she was 7, her brother die of cancer when he was 10, and lost her mum in a road track accident and was the oldest and had to identify the body. she likes the odd pinga and beer but is on 45k at CBH and doesn't piss and moan. we all face adversity. it's not grounds for depression ffs. like death and suffering is part of the human condition.
As has been pointed out before in this thread, everyone is different. Some people are blessed with a lot of mental resilience and when faced with adversity, they cope best. Others aren't so lucky. Even if someone has mental fortitude in abundence, the onset of mental illness and depression changes everything.

How do you fight and cope when mentally, all the tools you've used in the past aren't there anymore? It's like trying to fight with your hands tied and your legs bound. That mother@#$%^& kicks the shit out of you every day. If you've never been through it, it's impossible to fully understand.

Unless you have conducted an in depth study of these 30 peoples’ minds and lives, or are extremely clairvoyant, I highly doubt you would know that it “had no harmful impact on their life at all”. Friends will often not tell even their closest friends and colleagues that they are seeing a shrink or have been prescribed anti-depressants. There’s still a huge stigma associated with this.

Between 10-12% of our population is taking mood stabilising medication of some variety. Around 3 million Australians. Think about that for a moment.
I know which of my friends have been to shrinks and on anti-depressants. I do indeed have a mystical power - it's called talking openly. And guess what? The ones who did it was always due to external factors, not drugs. There's higher rates of depression today not because of drugs, but because we live in a neoliberal society that fetishes technology and insists on selfish, individualistic competition, which has destroyed most forms of community. But drugs do seem to be more of a problem today than when I was going out in the 2000s, as it seems, from what you read, that they're dirtier and cut with nasty shit like speed and ice, and possibly kids don't use them as sensibly. I'm a teacher, and the 18-20 year old students seem to have very few life skills, whereas we were always very thoughtful about how to minimise risk and not overdo it.

AFL need to double down. Are player and club using mental health to cover for indiscretions?

Or is there an epidemic that the AFL needs to step in and change ? (and not just a token mental health awareness round!)
I like the cut of your jib. If Tom foolery is afoot then it needs to be stamped out and not brushed under the carpet. And the AFL has a duty of care. These are still in many cases young men who have much of their lives to live after footy. By allowing clubs to hide behind ‘mental health’ when in actual fact it is illicit drug use either recreationally or addictively then they are just heaping fertiliser on the problem.

Reckon Jeese needs to have a think about where his real interests lie and if footy is part of that.

Pill reports analyses by police and unofficial channels in Australia say otherwise.
Wrong. Since analyses began in 2003 both MDMA and cocaine are both at their highest purity ever recorded:

You know that feeling on Tuesday and Wednesday morning when you’d rather stay in a dark room and eat a dog poo sandwich than draw the curtains and face the world? When you start crying into your pillow and visualising a leap off the Rialto? That’s those powders and pingers rewiring neural pathways and adjusting sensitive serotonin and adrenal levels in your brain.
If you aren't taking it regularly, cocaine doesn't actually have much of a comedown. That's why it's so popular with people who have money and decent jobs.

I don't feel too sketchy from the pingers these days either. A bit tired, super toey, and I can eat an entire supermarket, but otherwise, I feel pretty good thanks!

I feel worse after a night on the darts and tinnies tbh.

I know which of my friends have been to shrinks and on anti-depressants. I do indeed have a mystical power - it's called talking openly. And guess what? The ones who did it was always due to external factors, not drugs. There's higher rates of depression today not because of drugs, but because we live in a neoliberal society that fetishes technology and insists on selfish, individualistic competition, which has destroyed most forms of community. But drugs do seem to be more of a problem today than when I was going out in the 2000s, as it seems, from what you read, that they're dirtier and cut with nasty shit like speed and ice, and possibly kids don't use them as sensibly. I'm a teacher, and the 18-20 year old students seem to have very few life skills, whereas we were always very thoughtful about how to minimise risk and not overdo it.

Either you’re a psychic wizard who has enlightened awareness of the lives and minds of others (possible) or you are utterly delusional (probable). I’m sorry but I know which way I’d be betting.

It’s a worry that you’re a teacher of impressionable teenagers who asserts the non-harmful long term toxicological effects of street drugs. Scientific research does not support your view. I don’t mean to be rude but where do you teach so I can inform anyone I know to pull their kids out of that particular school?

As an Eagles fan..... You should think of what you posted.

Remember Ashley sampi? Played 5-6 years with your mob. Easily one of the most talented forward pockets at the time.

Was never the same when one of his close relatives passed away. He retired shortly after
Ohhhhhhhhh, you think I'm a Dockers hater. I couldn't give the tiniest rats ass about the Dockers, this will sound like a dig but their not worth getting upset over, they're an absolute basket case. Football in general isn't worth getting worked up over. I think either Eagles or Dockers fans who have this blind hatred for the other team need to get a life.

As for Sampi, who knows the full story ??? Maybe he was being let go, maybe he couldn't handle the pressure or physical demands of the job anymore, maybe he felt his family needed his help with his Dad gone, Maybe he just started playing shit like 100 other players do each year, an injury niggle he couldn't shake etc etc etc. He could have had a mental illness exacerbated by the death of his father, I don't think it would be right to say "My Father died and it caused my mental illness". I guess my point was we will all lose loved ones and while sad an overwhelming majority of people will move on with their lives/go back to work. They won't turn to drugs, crash cars, beat a wife, bang their best mates missus etc etc

Oh and to show I'm not one eyed about Dockers/Eagles - Willie should get 4 years, Ryan get's no respect from me because apparently he beats his missus. If I have an opinion on a player it has nothing to do with which club they're from. Oh and Willie will probably try to use some type of mental illness excuse and that probably won't fly with me either.

I was fairly young in the days of Sampi but I don't remember him being that great, stats would seem to agree. I do remember that mark though.

Either you’re a psychic wizard who has enlightened awareness of the lives and minds of others (possible) or you are utterly delusional (probable). I’m sorry but I know which way I’d be betting.
Or maybe they're not a wizard and just have really strong friendships.

Which have probably been built (or strengthened) by a couple of good nights on the gear.

That's the reason so many people take the drugs in the first place.

Wrong. Since analyses began in 2003 both MDMA and cocaine are both at their highest purity ever recorded:

If you aren't taking it regularly, cocaine doesn't actually have much of a comedown. That's why it's so popular with people who have money and decent jobs.

I don't feel too sketchy from the pingers these days either. A bit tired, super toey, and I can eat an entire supermarket, but otherwise, I feel pretty good thanks!

I feel worse after a night on the darts and tinnies tbh.

You’re self-administering poison bro. Quit now while you’ve still got your full faculties. The end game is a psych ward and then long term rebalancing of your GABA receptors through other psychoactive drugs. Every drug addict talks like you do - thinks they’ve got a handle on it.

“It's life. I would be absolutely gutted if I lost my Dad, I would have days, maybe a couple of weeks off work then I would be back.”

If only all professional sports people could be as strong as you mate.

How’s the brick laying business going?

IT, do you even work with other people ? I'm not holding myself up as an example. Most of the people I work with have lost someone. Most take a few days/week, none quit. As already stated Jesse would have the best treatment available too not to mention a job most people on here would love. You might say he's under pressure I suppose but how about the Dad who has to feed his family and pay his mortgage, I'd say he's under a fair bit of pressure too.

As someone else said, it's the human condition.

You’re self-administering poison bro. Quit now while you’ve still got your full faculties. The end game is a psych ward and then long term rebalancing of your GABA receptors through other psychoactive drugs. Every drug addict talks like you do - thinks they’ve got a handle on it.
I started taking pills in the 1990's, if I've still got my full faculties as you suggest then drugs clearly aren't as bad as you're making them out to be ;)

It’s a worry that you’re a teacher of impressionable teenagers who asserts the non-harmful long term toxicological effects of street drugs. Scientific research does not support your view. I don’t mean to be rude but where do you teach so I can inform anyone I know to pull their kids out of that particular school?
Mate you're projecting - just because you are incapable of having open, honest friendships where sensitive information is disclosed doesn't mean that everyone is. There's no evidence that longterm ecstasy (MDMA) use - unless you are talking about mega doses (> 700 tablets) - leads to changes in mood or cognitive function any worse than those associated with moderate alcohol intake. In smaller doses, it has had successful trials in treating post-traumatic stress disorder. It's a good thing you're not a teacher since you're so attached to strong opinions with no evidentiary basis.

I love the guy, he's my buddy and my favourite player on the team, and I hope he gets the help he needs to get his mental health in order. That being said, he needs to get his act together and start focusing on his priorities as a football player rather than disregarding that and getting high or drunk every weekend, sure do it a bit in the off season break, but once pre-season starts, just stop. It's hard to defend it when he's seen out in the city getting drunk as hell every Saturday night or whenever he goes. If this guy is serious about his career, he'd put it first.

Freo could have likely gone to the draft with 5 & 6 and walked away with Ben King and Bailey Smith. Instead they got Hogan, Lobb and a bunch of average to "potential" level players in the ND. Massive stuff up.

but that's what freo does, or they could have kept lachie neale

Agreed with this until you said wake up pretty fresh. No you don’t lol. You feel like complete utter shit when you wake up.
I said if I don't take it too far - as in bender til 5-6am. If I go down that path I'm definitely in for a rough 3-4 days. If I keep a lid on it, get home at a reasonable hour and get a good kip I'm generally ok.

1. How do you know it’s MDMA or not some combo of other hell knows what rat poison?

2. Even if it is pure MDMA (extremely unlikely) what are the medium to long term effects on brain chemistry?

3. If the answer to either of these questions is “I don’t know” why take such a risk?
1. Experienced users can generally tell if its cut or not. Even if it is cut, it's usually with speed. Buying from someone/somewhere you've bought before and it has been good quality is the ideal setup.

2. There is no such thing as 'pure' MDMA - it maxes out at 86% or something. The medium to long term effects are basically depression and dopamine generation issues if used extensively - ie abused. The same as anything else (alcohol, tobacco, marijuana, junk food etc), which is rare given MDMA is not an addictive drug. The chances of completely frying your brain from this particular drug are extremely low.

3. There's definitely grey areas of information I'm unsure about, but seriously, you could ask the above questions to plenty of crap we put in our body. Have you checked what flouride and azodicarbonamide does to your body? You're probably consuming plenty of both every day.

Reckon Jeese needs to have a think about where his real interests lie and if footy is part of that.
I think he shouldve done that before going to a historically poor club, performance and tride wise, and reaming them with a massive contract and messiah complex. the guy is a charlatan. Demons fans have said it too but he's also just a straight up weird guy.

Bell didn't want Hogan to begin with, he said no. Rosich overruled him and brought him in. And now that cancer is out of the club.
You had 2 obvious cancers and you rightly cut them out. I believe the cancer has metastasised amongst the playing group with this expectation that you don't actually have to perform to get good pay there. I'd put all these top dollar wannabe's on notice with contracts heavy with KPI's.

Ohhhhhhhhh, you think I'm a Dockers hater. I couldn't give the tiniest rats ass about the Dockers, this will sound like a dig but their not worth getting upset over, they're an absolute basket case. Football in general isn't worth getting worked up over. I think either Eagles or Dockers fans who have this blind hatred for the other team need to get a life.

As for Sampi, who knows the full story ??? Maybe he was being let go, maybe he couldn't handle the pressure or physical demands of the job anymore, maybe he felt his family needed his help with his Dad gone, Maybe he just started playing shit like 100 other players do each year, an injury niggle he couldn't shake etc etc etc. He could have had a mental illness exacerbated by the death of his father, I don't think it would be right to say "My Father died and it caused my mental illness". I guess my point was we will all lose loved ones and while sad an overwhelming majority of people will move on with their lives/go back to work. They won't turn to drugs, crash cars, beat a wife, bang their best mates missus etc etc

Oh and to show I'm not one eyed about Dockers/Eagles - Willie should get 4 years, Ryan get's no respect from me because apparently he beats his missus. If I have an opinion on a player it has nothing to do with which club they're from. Oh and Willie will probably try to use some type of mental illness excuse and that probably won't fly with me either.

I was fairly young in the days of Sampi but I don't remember him being that great, stats would seem to agree. I do remember that mark though.

Rioli: Smokes weed for depression.

Ryan: Correct, his Mrs and it’s quite sad the club are aware and support him. He’s another who surrounds himself with drop kicks. Has amazing talent.

Sampi: He was a flipping weapon. Incredible when he was at South Freo. Shame Freo couldn’t draft him. Tore it up until the passing of His cousin. Went off the rails and threatened his partner with a knife.

Fun fact, the only WCE player to have to return their HJ’s club card.

Rioli: Smokes weed for depression.

Ryan: Correct, his Mrs and it’s quite sad the club are aware and support him. He’s another who surrounds himself with drop kicks. Has amazing talent.

Sampi: He was a f*n weapon. Incredible when he was at South Freo. Shame Freo couldn’t draft him. Tore it up until the passing of His cousin. Went off the rails and threatened his partner with a knife.

Fun fact, the only WCE player to have to return their HJ’s club card.

classic freo deflection

denial 101

I had about 30 friends who were on the pingers about 10-20 times/year for much of their 20s. None of them ever lost a job, a friendship, got in a fight, damaged property, went to hospital, etc etc. It had no harmful impact on their lives at all. If someone parties to the extent that it is having a destructive effective on their life, they almost have mental health issues by definition, since such risk-taking, destructive behaviour is not normal.
You can't glorify the drug in that way because you had a positive experience. Out of my friends, all in our early 20's, It didn't go this way. All started as well balanced successful individuals out partying every weekend. A few of us were lucky, but I witnessed marriage break ups, child neglect and loss of jobs through performance issues. After five years this pact of close friends I partied with went sour really fast.

I will call you out on the bolded bit. I just find that hard to believe out of 30 people, nearly every fortnight and for 10 years, none of them suffered in any way?

Rumour Jessie Hogan Out Indefinitely for Mental Health Reasons.