Jamie Elliott - underrated

PieLebo87

Hall of Famer
Veteran A Star Wars Fan 10k Posts Cake Connoisseur
Sep 14, 2005
I know you’re cringing but hear me out.

On the eve of his 150th game, ‘Billy’ has had one of those careers where he came out the blocks looking like the next big thing for Collingwood post the premiership.

He broke into the side Round 9 2012, he played 72 of 78 games through to the end of the 2015 season as a nuggety, tough, high-flying goal kicker. Then injuries effectively ruined his career.

6353E4CD-8CA9-45D3-B959-931DEEC1FB8B.gif

ADAE4003-61BD-4ED3-9DC7-EFDE656B958C.gif

Before the back and ankle injuries, he won Collingwood’s best 1st year player award in 2012, he had a huge leap, and plucked MOTY in 2013, was named in the 2014 22under22 team, and led Collingwood’s goal kicking in 2015. All achieved by 22 years old.

At 20 in his first full season, he kicked 30 goals, 33 in 2014 and 35 goals in 2015. Then he missed the entire 2016 and 2018 seasons and hasn’t played more than 18 games in a season since.

Even before the after the siren goal against Essendon, has been a Collingwood fan favourite for a long time, and the question constantly comes up around what he could’ve been had he had a better run at it. 150th game in his 11th season is a testament to his mindset and resilience.

Just 216 goals in 149 games would have people not rating him though, and not a lot of individual accolades so I reckon he’s underrated outside the Pies.

Happy to cop shit for this thread, but my love of Billy is well worth the heat. Hopefully he can keep his body right and get to 200 games. He deserves it.

There’s a great article written by Peter Ryan about him today. Well worth a read -

A few weeks ago I was shocked to realise he's actually 29. I would have guessed 25 or 26.

Injuries really robbed him of his prime.

Good solid small forward with some good highlights

Career achievements include

2013 mark of the year
2014 Under 22 team

Best yearly return of goals is 35

Goes at 13 possessions & 1.4 goals per game as a career average

If this is main board worthy than god help us all!

2013 mark of the year
2014 Under 22 team

You justified my purpose of the thread. Clearly underrated.

2013 mark of the year
2014 Under 22 team

Quoting stats demonstrates your lack of understanding.

OP says he played as a goal-kicker and the stats show he hasn't kicked heaps of goals.
Good player hampered by injury, still a gun on his day. Plenty of clubs would have a player like that on their list.

I'm most impressed that he won Collingwood's best first year player and was named in a 22under22 team, by the age of 22. Not many winning either of those awards would have managed to do so by that age.
the last player to make the 22under22 team by the age of 22 was Herbert T. Pennywhistle while playing for the Hawthorn Mayblooms in 1932!

His best is better than most.
He's good. Had a few ripper games over the last decade. Not unusual for small forwards to make the most of their opportunities and have a big day out though; Kozi Picket kicked six just a few weeks ago. Also made the 22under22 last year with 40 goals and will probably make it again this year. Not sure we need a mainboard thread about him just to say he's good.

yeah righto but do you see me make a thread about Daniel Menzel someone who actually had a better debut year and had worse injuries?

Decent small forward but as mentioned injuries have curtailed his career.

Michael Newton also won a mark of the year award. Yeah i hadnt heard of him either

He's good. Had a few ripper games over the last decade. Not unusual for small forwards to make the most of their opportunities and have a big day out though; Kozi Picket kicked six just a few weeks ago. Also made the 22under22 last year with 40 goals and will probably make it again this year. Not sure we need a mainboard thread about him just to say he's good.
I was going to ask, is it fair to say Elliott would be your second best forward behind Fritsch?

Prior to long-term injuries taking him off the park, it was line-ball between he and Eddie Betts for the best small forward playing at the time.

A tale of woe for Pies supporters, but I doubt opposition fans would notice and/or GAF.

I was going to ask, is it fair to say Elliott would be your second best forward behind Fritsch?
Between 2017 and 2019 Ben Brown kicked more goals than any other player in the competition. Finished last year strongly with a very nice finals series. First game back from injury tonight, will be one to watch! Kozzie Pickett, kicked more goals in his second season than Elliott has in any season, even the ones he wasn't injured in. Tom MacDonald is very handy, unfortunately he is injured at the moment. So yeah, fourth best, which is pretty good for the reigning premiers I think. Mind you, Joel Smith has been learning some forward craft recently and we have JVR looking nice in our unbeaten seconds.

I would have loved Elliott at the Dees a few years ago. Not now though. About to turn 30 and been plagued by injuries.

Jamie Elliott - underrated