Analysis Is Melbourne in a proper crisis?

Still in disbelief about Bartlett’s comments, not necessarily in a bad way, just shocked as he is usually so reserved.

Weirdly, we are 3-5 and our 5 losses have been to 5 of the top 6, so while not great it wasn’t the end of the world, but Thursday was quite possibly the worst performance of any team all year.

A professional club with a good culture would take this clip, knuckle down, and it would be a turning point. But I don’t have that much faith in this group unfortunately, and I’m expecting some sooking behind closed doors.

Possibly the biggest positive out of all this, is that I now know the club are seriously considering Goodwin’s position. I had always got the impression they would stick with him regardless, even though I clearly think he is out of his depth.
If I was a Dees supporter I would of loved reading Bartlett’s comments, that response from him was far better than Goodwin’s “non review” of your 2018 thrashing in the Prelim....As a club if you accept mediocrity from the top down you will inevitably get it....I hope for your sake you can turn it around, if not I would seriously look to try & prize Mitchell out of Hawthorn to be your next coach. From all reports he was instrumental in the Eagles 2018 flag as an assistant & has now had 2 years under Clarkson, and he’s been part of a lot of success so he knows what it takes.

This might very well be the case. I can't fault him for finally having enough and speaking his mind. I have no doubt he's given Goodwin a serve too - behind closed doors. How patient are Melbourne people meant to be?
Right now, we are supposed to be impatient. And that’s fair. It was 2014 that Roos came on board and began changing the club. 3 years of that and from 2017 we really should have been well and truly a top 8 side on a regular basis and getting ready for a flag tilt.

So basically since 2014 we’ve played finals once and we currently look like we’ve got the same issues as we did 2-3 years ago.

Absolutely no issues with what he said

Roos coached them from 2014 to 2016

2013 2 wins

2014 4 wins
2015 7 wins
2016 10 wins

2017 12 wins
2018 14 wins
2019 5 wins

Think you’re drawing a pretty long bow if you’re suggesting he carries any blame.

He anointed a coach that isn’t up to it. The point of his tenure was set set the club up for future success, which has clearly failed.

He can only select who he thinks is the best candidate. You can’t keep blaming Paul Roos for this. That’s just illogical. The reason we actually played finals once in a while was due to what Roos built and the list he created.

Goodwin is in his fourth year now, if he can’t see where the issues are then why does it came back to Roos? Roos can’t shake his prong after he has a slash mate, Goodwin has to own it and realise that he has a very mediocre game plan with inconsistent selections each week.

Where’s the accountability from Paul Roos?
What do you want him to do other than take the club out of the absolute shit hole that Dean Bailey and Mark Neeld dropped us in? Just remember how bad we were in 2013, Neeld was sacked within 18 months. Roos actually turned us around.

You can’t seriously ask him to be accountable? Level your criticism at the current coach FFS. The guy that has been there for 4 years now.

I think that one of the major issues with Melbourne at the moment is relevance. Apart from some at Big Footy the only time you hear about them, good or bad, is if somehow, like 2018, they make a prelim. Nobody talks them up, no-one kicks them when they're down. It was about time that the likes of Garry Lyon and their silent President finally started talking and put a blowtorch onto them, but it has taken too long to finally say something. Therefore they go along their merry way and just exist. There's no pressure from above or below to improve or change. Until that happens, and yesterday was a good start, they will continue to meander as a middle of the road team.
Ah they get kicked pretty regularly mate. We’ve just been kicked publicly by the President.

Just looking at Brayshaw. He has 5 completed seasons. Only polled Brownlow votes in one of those seasons. Managed to poll 21 votes! Just insane.

is he actually any good or do we all just remember that run he had and assume he’s better than he really is

Also could be to do with Oliver being very mouthy to umps or something else.

Gawn AFLCA MVP, 3rd AFLPA MVP, 1st in B&F, AA ruck, 4th in Brownlow

Oliver AFLCA =5th, 2nd in B&F, AA midfielder, =23rd in Brownlow

Brayshaw not top 20 for AFLCA, 6th in B&F, didn't make AA squad, 3rd in Brownlow

Brayshaw had a good year in 2018 and Oliver's kicking does leave a lot to be desired, but it was very surprising to everyone that Brayshaw polled anywhere near as well as he did. He was about $15 to poll the most votes for Melbourne compared to Gawn ($1.40) and Oliver ($2.75). I just think it's much more likely the umpires for whatever reason placed a lot of value on Brayshaws game when he really was probably a secondary player for them.

I think it still stands. He rucks very proficiently, but he averages 1.82 marks per game.

Odd thing to pick out though when between Kennedy, Darling, Waterman, Allen, McGovern, Barrass, Hurn, Ryan and Yeo they, have some very good pound for pound marks all around the ground.

Not one of them can repeatedly deliver the ball down midfielders or forwards throats for easy clearances and goals.

Not every player has to be amazing in all facets. Fyfe is an average set shot goalkicker.

What do you want him to do other than take the club out of the absolute sh*t hole that Dean Bailey and Mark Neeld dropped us in? Just remember how bad we were in 2013, Neeld was sacked within 18 months. Roos actually turned us around.

You can’t seriously ask him to be accountable? Level your criticism at the current coach FFS. The guy that has been there for 4 years now.

Goodwin isn’t up to the job and messiah Roos put him there. His intended impact on the club hasn’t materialised. Might be harsh but I think it’s worth pointing out.

Has the drop happened since Craig Jennings left the club? I know that Kingy and a fair few other commentators said he was the next senior coach in waiting but he left to pursue other opportunities (wanted to coach his own team). Since he left the club seems to be directionless on the field

Goodwin isn’t up to the job and messiah Roos put him there. His intended impact on the club hasn’t materialised. Might be harsh but I think it’s worth pointing out.
How the **** is that Roos fault? Don’t blame Roos, blame the CEO who approved a 4 year deal after 2018 for Goodwin.

Also could be to do with Oliver being very mouthy to umps or something else.

Gawn AFLCA MVP, 3rd AFLPA MVP, 1st in B&F, AA ruck, 4th in Brownlow

Oliver AFLCA =5th, 2nd in B&F, AA midfielder, =23rd in Brownlow

Brayshaw not top 20 for AFLCA, 6th in B&F, didn't make AA squad, 3rd in Brownlow

Brayshaw had a good year in 2018 and Oliver's kicking does leave a lot to be desired, but it was very surprising to everyone that Brayshaw polled anywhere near as well as he did. He was about $15 to poll the most votes for Melbourne compared to Gawn ($1.40) and Oliver ($2.75). I just think it's much more likely the umpires for whatever reason placed a lot of value on Brayshaws game when he really was probably a secondary player for them.
This sums up the Brayshaw myth pretty much perfectly. He had a good year, don't get me wrong, but at the end of the day, he was only 6th in the club B&F.

He did however play in the centre square most of that year with Viney injured and Petracca still forward, and did have some nice synergy with Gawn in there, plenty of nice clean clearances where he would break out of the centre. But how he polled even half as many votes as Oliver that year, let alone more votes is beyond me.

If I was a Dees supporter I would of loved reading Bartlett’s comments, that response from him was far better than Goodwin’s “non review” of your 2018 thrashing in the Prelim....As a club if you accept mediocrity from the top down you will inevitably get it....I hope for your sake you can turn it around, if not I would seriously look to try & prize Mitchell out of Hawthorn to be your next coach. From all reports he was instrumental in the Eagles 2018 flag as an assistant & has now had 2 years under Clarkson, and he’s been part of a lot of success so he knows what it takes.
What’s to be happy about, this blokes been In charge since 2013 and has been intimately involved in every major decision since then and the club is as big a basket case now as it was 7 years ago even with unparalleled AFL assistance. His rant had all the hallmarks of someone trying to absolve themselves of responsibility for the **** up that is the MFC at this point, when Goodwin gets sacked he should do the honourable thing and **** off as well and take his shit CEO with him.

How the fu** is that Roos fault? Don’t blame Roos, blame the CEO who approved a 4 year deal after 2018 for Goodwin.
We did end up with Goodwin to begin with because of Roos half witted insistence on a succession plan

Sliding doors, but I’d love to see where this team would be if Stewie Dew took the role as Roos originally wanted. It always had a bit of a feeling that we settled on Goodwin after that.

I personally always wanted Ratten, but they seemed set on an untried coach as part of the succession plan for whatever reason.

We did end up with Goodwin to begin with because of Roos half witted insistence on a succession plan
There was nothing wrong with that, Goodwin has had enough time to turn this. As I’ve said before, I hope there’s a get out clause for us. It’ll be the only palatable concession in all of this.

The problems not he hasn’t turned it around the problem is he should never have been there, at best he was second choice, when Dew said no the succession plan should have been binned, the club locked themselves into a bloke who shouldn’t be coaching at AFL level

Well we wouldn’t have thought that after 2018 would we?