The Dawes

Liverpool FC, Notts County FC,
Hey guys.

I'm heading down to Hobart at the end of the month for a long weekend and as ever am keen to try a few different beers.

Anyone know of pubs that have a good selection on tap?

Cheers.

Just go to Salamanca. Plenty of pubs in that region. Either that or the Derwent tavern in Bridgewater.

Yeah anywhere in the Salamanca region, but the Welcome Stranger is one I'd recommend as well, which is in between Salamanca and the CBD itself. If you haven't tried the Tassie beers in Cascade and Boag's they are just about always available on tap. Great tasting beers.

Yep I'd recommend the Welcome Stranger as well if you're into bogans and getting kicked in the teeth..
Salamanca, plenty down there for anyone.. Have a feed on the strip in North Hobart somewhere before hand.. brilliant.

Some great bars in the Salamanca area.

Customs House, Telegraph, The Quarry and Irish Murphys to name a few.

The Victoria Tavern is in the CBD. Its an olde-english style pub whch is pretty cool. The Hotel SOHO is also a stones throw up the road.

Some great bars in the Salamanca area.

Customs House, Telegraph, The Quarry and Irish Murphys to name a few.

The Victoria Tavern is in the CBD. Its an olde-english style pub whch is pretty cool. The Hotel SOHO is also a stones throw up the road.

Thanks Rowie09 and others - I've heard the New Sydney has a good selection of tap beers also - have you or anyone else been there?

Pity your not here during the week, Wednesday $5 Jug night at the Telegraph. It goes up on the hour $5 @ 5, $6 @ 6 and so on. It's imazing how much beer you can consume in a few hours. :)

There is also the Lark Distillery which is in the same street as the Tele etc. They only have Moo Brew on tap, but they do have free whisky tastings on the weekend.
There's also T-42 on Franklin Wharf, although not really a pub it does have quite a few beers on tap. Plus it's probably the best place for a bit of eye candy. :p
There's also Bridie O’Reilly’s in Davey St. which has a heap of beers on tap.

Pity your not here during the week, Wednesday $5 Jug night at the Telegraph. It goes up on the hour $5 @ 5, $6 @ 6 and so on. It's imazing how much beer you can consume in a few hours. :)

There is also the Lark Distillery which is in the same street as the Tele etc. They only have Moo Brew on tap, but they do have free whisky tastings on the weekend.
There's also T-42 on Franklin Wharf, although not really a pub it does have quite a few beers on tap. Plus it's probably the best place for a bit of eye candy. :p

Yep, heard good things about the Distillery and am keen to try the Moo beers.

Thanks for the eye candy tip.... will let the wife know.

spot on!

oh and Bridie O'Reilly's is now called hotel soho

T-42 serves beers in shitty cordial glasses so the head lasts about as long as Pluggers's comeback.

Bridies used to have 22 tap beers, I know this because I drank them from start to finish one arvo before falling off my stool at the end. Last one was VB and it nearly bloody killed me. Now that they are SoHo they don't have nearly as many beers and it's a little bit out of the way.

If you are happy with stubbies go to the Telegraph on the waterfront, have a sensational amount of imported beers and a good tap selection also.

Go to the Ball & Chain for dinner and have a steak.
Then head along to Grape for a wine for the lady and grab yourself a Two Metre Forester Pale Ale. Then cross over to the Telegraph for a few, maybe via T42 or Customs. Then back over to the Quarry. Finish off at Syryp or the Observatory if that is your thing. Breakfast the next day at the machine cafe in Salamanca Square.

Off to the Beltana - nah #### that!!!

Telegraph is a good place these days - why don't you go to the Cascade Brewery? Get to the source.

T 42 is yuppie.