Draft Profile Hayden Crozier

Sure do tigs. As I said, alot clubs aren't keen on him that high.

He is basically a flashy HFF who has huge question marks whether he can play midfield. Even in a shallow draft, this is pushing his stock down. I have said earlier, I think he projects best as a small rebounding defender at the next level.

I think he will still be available at 30, but things can change in the next few weeks.

That doesn't mean anything. A teammate was in massive space in a far better angle than he was. That screams team player to me, and guy with a calm head on his shoulders. Most players would've let the adrenaline get to them and went for glory with a banana.

Each to their own, Glad you were not coaching Bartel in the Gf, or Franklin in the Prelim ect Nailing these shots are what seperate the champion players to the average in my opinion.

I don't know about that mate. Champion players win games, correct.

If to win a game is the ultimate goal, then dishing a smart ball to a team mate in space on a FAR better angle who then goes on to convert a goal, a goal you would've been far less likely to kick in the original position you were in, regardless of skill level, seems the more viable, and sensible option.

It's unfair of you to bring up those two situations, I'm sure Bartel would've passed off to a player in a better position - if there was one, as there isn't always. Not so sure about Buddy as he usually backs himself regardless anywhere inside the F50 unless there is a completely blaring option.

I've seen Crozier's skills, and finishing prowess. If there was no option, I would have no hesitation in thinking that he could've gone back and hit 8/10 from that position. But this time, he played the percentages, and got the dividends. I don't think passing off for a better shot has anything to do with confidence, backing one's self or being a 'champion'.

Before I end my rant :rolleyes:, I'll ask you this. How many times do you see a player pass over a teammate obviously in a better position, opting to go for it themselves, only to make a mess of it or kick a point when they've could've got a, or close to, a certain goal if they played smart team footy?

Be VERY surprised to see him go after the first round, that's for sure. Excusing his inconsistancies and the fact he hasn't put it all together yet, he's got more talent and ability than a lot of other being talked above him. Long term project, well worth the punt in this crop.

Richmond would dream of getting Kavanagh at 15 and Crozier at 26, would be a stellar draft for them if that happened and good chance. I saw something about Sheehan commenting on Crozier, saying he really started to grow and develop (add weight) this year. Something like 8kgs so he was still developing this year. Is already 6 foot one or something, just looms as such a dangerous prospect in a few years time.

As i said earlier, I played at the same cricket club as Hayden and I know for a fact that physically, he has grown enormously over the last few years. His brother would be around 6"4, KPD as an overage at Ranges last year so there should be some growth still left to come, taking into considering he would be the youngest in the national draft this year.

I know Hayden personally and he admits that he is inconsistent and is working on that.

The clubs he has spoken to, (will not name) have said to him that he will more a project player in his first year as he is still very lean and raw.

But isn't afraid of the hard work that is ahead of him!

Very impressed with his combine results. I cant see him slipping past the top 20 tbh, despite what some posters say. He will add weight and consistency on when he gets drafted and has been in the system a few years. He is one of my very favorites from this years crop

I know Hayden personally and he admits that he is inconsistent and is working on that.

The clubs he has spoken to, (will not name) have said to him that he will more a project player in his first year as he is still very lean and raw.

But isn't afraid of the hard work that is ahead of him!

Gee, you have gone out on a limb there. Why would it matter if you named the clubs or didnt, there would be at least 10+ that have spoken to him throughout the year.

Personally dont think he is that inconsistent as it is played out to be and his fitness must be okay considering he ran a 14.7 beep which it seems some recruiters have concerns about.

Very impressed with his combine results. I cant see him slipping past the top 20 tbh, despite what some posters say. He will add weight and consistency on when he gets drafted and has been in the system a few years. He is one of my very favorites from this years crop

Yeh i wouldnt mind Essendon taking him at 19, my second fav club but the club i follow most now as port suck so bad :p

However apparently clubs around that have picks 15-21 have other players they are liking instead of him.

Essendon strongly linked to Markworth as are the roos and dogs, so maybe if he is gone they will look at Crozier. Richmond will be chasing a genuine midfielder first and hoping for Kavanagh, Adams type. The roos also linked with Mckenzie.

The dockers apparently real keen on Ellis and Kersten

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/125751/default.aspx

GWS may well take him but if not a good chance to drift a little maybe Carlton will be interested.

I will go on record that I believe Crozier will be drafted.

However I am just a bit concerned about the hype that surrounds this kid.

The mark is sensational and obviously he tested well at the combine. The litmus test for me for a player of his type is how was his overall year in regards to consistency.

The competion is stiff and a player of his size needs to bring many disciplines and skills to the table. My thinking is second round.:footy::footy:

I will go on record that I believe Crozier will be drafted.

However I am just a bit concerned about the hype that surrounds this kid.

The mark is sensational and obviously he tested well at the combine. The litmus test for me for a player of his type is how was his overall year in regards to consistency.

The competion is stiff and a player of his size needs to bring many disciplines and skills to the table. My thinking is second round.:footy::footy:

He will be an interesting one come draft day, With many tipping him and early first rounder and others a second rounder.

he will go somewhere between 20 and 30 id say, although inconsistent he clearly has the skill set and when he adds some size he will be perfect for that HFF role who can push up high and deliver into the F50.

Little interview I found of him..

1. What can you offer the club that you are going to?
I'd like to think that I can offer plenty of run & carry, be flexible in playing different positions & hopefully some excitement for supporters

2. What are your strengths?
Foot skills, marking ability, defensive pressure, athleticism

3. Do you have any weaknesses?
Size and strength, consistency at times throughout games which I'm trying to work on really hard.

4. What do you think you need to work on?
I want to continue to build a solid aerobic capacity, add size to my frame & work rate

5. What club did you grow up supporting?
Collingwood, my family had influence on that.

6. Who do you model yourself on?
Nathan Fyfe

7. Who has been your biggest role model in your life?
My family, they were teaching me how to play the game from a young age, spending their time to make me a better footballer

8. What do you want to get out of your first year at AFL level?
I think every draft hopeful would love to play round 1, but i understand that where I am at physically, I'd have to put on size & increase my endurance.

9. When you took that mark against WA, what was running through your head after you passed the ball off?
I honestly cannot remember much, it all happened so fast.

10. What do you like to do in your spare time?
Hang out with my mates, love the beach, don't mind a bit of fifa/2k12

11. Who, of your Eastern Ranges teammates are also likely to get picked up?
Johnathon Patton, Michael Bussey, Alex Greenwood, Damien Volta, Max Warren & Leif Cope.

Sounds like a pretty good kid.

I reckon another advantage for this kid is that apparently his birthday is 24th December.

Kids born late in the year are at a huge disadvantage physically and maturity wise compared to kids born early in the year (and over age boys).

Recruiters have tracked boys throughout the year and are well placed to allow for these "differences".

I reckon another advantage for this kid is that apparently his birthday is 24th December.

Kids born late in the year are at a huge disadvantage physically and maturity wise compared to kids born early in the year (and over age boys).

Recruiters have tracked boys throughout the year and are well placed to allow for these "differences".

Well yeah hes basically a year younger than Mitch Grigg

Yep. The scary thing is, so is Coniglio.

Swallow (November) was also much younger than most of his draft class.

But you make a very good point gotassieboys, being a late-birthday myself I know from experience ;)

That's what makes coniglio even more freakish.

IMO, Crozier is pretty much hated on by most big footy members. I think people still forget that he is that young, yet he is criticised for lack of consistancy, which is a bit tough considering he has played all year in a game plan centered about JP. I believe he would be good fit for gws (obviously will get opportunity at some stage), richmond, bulldogs & west coast.

Draft Profile Hayden Crozier