GFNL Discussion 2025

Queenscliff couldn’t even beat Newcomb. So much for wiping out a whole club. Maybe not as bad as you think. But it’s always easy to shit on other clubs isn’t it. Maybe Newcomb aren’t the embarrassment. The club who gets the big name coach in and doesn’t improve. Maybe that’s an embarrassment.

No one is more disappointed at that result than I am, but it's easy to get carried away after Round 1. Given the amount of assistance Newcomb have had from AFL Barwon to keep them afloat, since their huge spending spree to win the 2007 flag sent them broke, it's an embarrassment that they are yet to play one final or finish higher than 8th since. Obviously hit a raw nerve which isn"t hard for a club made up of nothing but thugs and snipers and who loved dishing it out in the 80s and 90s but get all sooky when it comes back their way Assume you are referring to Heath Jamieson?

Would be keen to hear the explanation from the cats vfl in regards to 2 players being released to play for South Barwon today due to the league bye in the vfl but not releasing Bell Parks 4 vfl listed players for there game. Shouldn’t come as a surprise when you see who is the coach of the vfl side and where he played his local footy.

They're playing, I'm here at elderslie reserve

Krock said they weren’t hence what I originally said. Hopefully common sense prevailed otherwise it’s a bad look when you’ve got the coach of the vfl side having strong links to one local side
Lucas was playing well in the centre

I think they will but jeez it could get ugly in the middle of the year when they cop injuries etc. Reckon there’ll probably be a few forfeited 2’s games during the year.

Was shocked with the St Albans Lara score. Have St Albans improved a lot or are Lara really really bad?
Lara have a few good recruits and good coach, so that was the big surprise for me too.

Looking at the score I reckon at 43 I could get a game at North shore this year, hopefully some guys come down and help them out, like a Davenport occasionally too

Lara have a few good recruits and good coach, so that was the big surprise for me too.

Looking at the score I reckon at 43 I could get a game at North shore this year, hopefully some guys come down and help them out, like a Davenport occasionally too

The competition has been ruined by the ridiculous points system and turned it into a ridiculously boring and lopsided comp that I can’t see changing unless something is done about the points.

St Joeys and St Mary’s have endless streams of talented juniors coming through the ranks that they’ll never drop too far off the pace

South will always be pretty strong with plenty of juniors and also some pretty smart people involved in the running of the club

Newtown won’t be down forever, again plenty of good juniors coming through and money to attract big names to the place

Bell Park always thereabouts

Grovedale and Lara both have pretty decent junior numbers but their top junior sides in each age group have been playing division 2 for the last few years so they probably won’t have the talent coming through that’s as strong as other clubs.

Leopold having a real purple patch for a long while now but could potentially drop off if there’s a drop off in strong juniors

Colac will always be strong. Main club in town with strong juniors always coming through

St Albans and West will probably always struggle. Juniors not at the level of majority of other clubs

North Shore more than likely gone at the end of the year. No juniors, hard demographics out that way which make things extremely hard

I don’t think there was ever the level of inequality that we’ve seen since the points system being introduced and it now basically means you’ll be down the bottom for years until you’re lucky enough to produce a long line of talented juniors. Grovedale won the wooden spoon in 2012 and then played off in the grand final in 2013 on the back of a former junior returning from the sanfl and some shrewd recruiting. You can’t do that anymore because of the ridiculous points system so we just end up with this situation where it’s consistently the same teams up the top and the same teams down the bottom

The competition has been ruined by the ridiculous points system and turned it into a ridiculously boring and lopsided comp that I can’t see changing unless something is done about the points.

St Joeys and St Mary’s have endless streams of talented juniors coming through the ranks that they’ll never drop too far off the pace

South will always be pretty strong with plenty of juniors and also some pretty smart people involved in the running of the club

Newtown won’t be down forever, again plenty of good juniors coming through and money to attract big names to the place

Bell Park always thereabouts

Grovedale and Lara both have pretty decent junior numbers but their top junior sides in each age group have been playing division 2 for the last few years so they probably won’t have the talent coming through that’s as strong as other clubs.

Leopold having a real purple patch for a long while now but could potentially drop off if there’s a drop off in strong juniors

Colac will always be strong. Main club in town with strong juniors always coming through

St Albans and West will probably always struggle. Juniors not at the level of majority of other clubs

North Shore more than likely gone at the end of the year. No juniors, hard demographics out that way which make things extremely hard

I don’t think there was ever the level of inequality that we’ve seen since the points system being introduced and it now basically means you’ll be down the bottom for years until you’re lucky enough to produce a long line of talented juniors. Grovedale won the wooden spoon in 2012 and then played off in the grand final in 2013 on the back of a former junior returning from the sanfl and some shrewd recruiting. You can’t do that anymore because of the ridiculous points system so we just end up with this situation where it’s consistently the same teams up the top and the same teams down the bottom
I'm not sure, remember the north shore dominance, when Ford and the refinery workers worked nearby in the estates built for them. Now people who work at the refinery live around armstrong Creek. You have to remember that kids from grovedale or Lara that are good at footy and go to school at St joes or Geelong college generally end up playing with their mates and joey's, marys or newtown.

Geelong west don't spend big, but the produce good young players they just can't keep them. Imagine their midfield with mentsch and lovell in it.

Torquay, ammos and ocean grove will come in, or it turns into a metro division style with the 3 leagues

I'm not sure, remember the north shore dominance, when Ford and the refinery workers worked nearby in the estates built for them. Now people who work at the refinery live around armstrong Creek. You have to remember that kids from grovedale or Lara that are good at footy and go to school at St joes or Geelong college generally end up playing with their mates and joey's, marys or newtown.

Geelong west don't spend big, but the produce good young players they just can't keep them. Imagine their midfield with mentsch and lovell in it.

Torquay, ammos and ocean grove will come in, or it turns into a metro division style with the 3 leagues

I’m not sure about nowadays but back years ago when I was in juniors, kids from Grovey or Lara that went to St Joeys definitely didn’t play footy for Joeys they all played for the suburb they were from. North Shore is never going to have the ability to produce the juniors that they once did. The North Shore little league which used to be so strong is long gone and the area is now a mix of old people and families that aren’t into Aussie rules. There’s barely any junior sides amongst the 4 northern suburbs based clubs.

Ammo’s aren’t strong enough to become a strong gfl club in my opinion. Torquay should be but don’t seem to want to make the jump. Ocean Grove definitely could become a strong gfl club but are miles off it at the moment and really are just a middle of the road club in the bfl at the moment

I’m not sure about nowadays but back years ago when I was in juniors, kids from Grovey or Lara that went to St Joeys definitely didn’t play footy for Joeys they all played for the suburb they were from. North Shore is never going to have the ability to produce the juniors that they once did. The North Shore little league which used to be so strong is long gone and the area is now a mix of old people and families that aren’t into Aussie rules. There’s barely any junior sides amongst the 4 northern suburbs based clubs.

Ammo’s aren’t strong enough to become a strong gfl club in my opinion. Torquay should be but don’t seem to want to make the jump. Ocean Grove definitely could become a strong gfl club but are miles off it at the moment and really are just a middle of the road club in the bfl at the moment
Maybe go watch ammos next week, they are a very good senior side and they tonnes of good juniors, most of the kids in highton play there

Not disputing they currently have a good senior side. I don’t think they’d be ready to step up as a club to the gfl. Around 10 years ago when they were the dominate club in the bfl there was talk of them going to the gfl, I spoke with a bloke that was on the committee at the time and he said they would struggle big time moving up.

Hoppers, Werribee Districts, Melton, North Ballarat, East Point, Bacchus Marsh, Darley. Not saying all of them but maybe one or two could replace the North Shore’s or Lara’s. Travel wise it is not much different to Colac.
Torquay easily step up and Ocean Grove could too

Hoppers, Werribee Districts, Melton, North Ballarat, East Point, Bacchus Marsh, Darley. Not saying all of them but maybe one or two could replace the North Shore’s or Lara’s. Travel wise it is not much different to Colac.

Reckon around 20 years ago there was some talk of hoppers crossing looking at a move down here but nothing obviously ever come of it. Not sure any of those clubs would be considered now. None of them places have any ties to the Geelong area and they’d all be leaving comps where they’ve got close rivals so they’d be losing heaps of revenue through crowds, bar and food etc. Only change that should currently be done is North Shore down to the gdfl and Torquay come into the gfl

GFNL Discussion 2025

Write your reply...