Alex Wright (Norwood)

Jack Tuthill

North Launceston

Ins:

Outs:

Michael Stingel (Norwood)
Tom Bennett
Corey Nankervis

* will only add confirmed as there are obviously heaps of rumours out there.

* post here and I’ll add on

Its a lot like Alice in Wonderland. Curiouser & curiouser.:confused: With AFL Tas running the mad hatters tea party!
It looks like they were offerered 50% each in a joint venture in the 'city' license.!!!!
They stay as NHFC & HFC legal entities & play in the SFL or OS (I think?) Or was it the Oatlands comp?
Both keep their colours board song etc etc.
I'm just flabergated with the backtracking, sidestepping & utter crap that serves as management of Tassie football.
Which clubs are next to be turned upside down & rung out????
WHY did we go through all this application crap?
"What a load of rubbish" ( from the NHO terraces):confused:

Do you know if either club is for or against the latest proposal?

No idea. Just told what the proposal was. Talk about decision making on the run. I wonder how many beers it took for AFL Tas to come up with this scheme?
How can you have 1/2 a new club & still run your own club in another competition?
Are they on drugs or what?
I'm off to the pub now. I promise not to get pissed & make decisions about Tasmanian football:p

So Hobart are struggling to field two teams. Nth Hobart field two teams but filled with junior footballers. Both now need to find at least an extra half a team each (plus all the other bits that go into fielding a team like trainers, water boys and girls, stewards, timekeepers etc.).

And if they go to the SFL they would presumably also need to find a 3rd team to play - or would they be excused from fielding an U/18 team?

Otherwise they have to try and get into the Old Scholars - which I would say wouldn't be welcomed by DOSA in particular but many of the other teams, or else there is the Oatlands District competition.

So where do the bigwigs expect them to play and get all the extra players from?

So Hobart are struggling to field two teams. Nth Hobart field two teams but filled with junior footballers. Both now need to find at least an extra half a team each (plus all the other bits that go into fielding a team like trainers, water boys and girls, stewards, timekeepers etc.).

And if they go to the SFL they would presumably also need to find a 3rd team to play - or would they be excused from fielding an U/18 team?

Otherwise they have to try and get into the Old Scholars - which I would say wouldn't be welcomed by DOSA in particular but many of the other teams, or else there is the Oatlands District competition.

So where do the bigwigs expect them to play and get all the extra players from?

Footy clubs also have canteens & gates & bars & Barbeques which have need of volunteers. They also need supporters to pay for memberships & to go to games, to buy raffle tickets, to buy sponsorships, to utilise the bars & Canteen etc etc
Where do they come from?
I can say one thing,

ITS NOT GOING TO COME FROM THIS LITTLE BLACK DUCK.:eek:

Can you believe the latest crap, as printed by the mercury, love the statement from Baker, have highlighted it.

If Hobart and North Hobart members both reject the equal share, AFL Tasmania will create its own club most likely with Tigers and Demons players to play in the TSL.
However, AFL Tasmania's coffers may be strained with Federal Group, the parent of the TSL's naming-rights sponsor Wrest Point Casino, yet to commit to renewing its contract.
AFL Tasmania chairman Dominic Baker said the biggest share the Tigers or the Demons could hold under the proposal was 50 per cent.
"If they come back and say, 'we've put this to our members and our members said no', we would work with the other entity to come up with a solution," Baker said.
"It might look exactly like what we are doing at Kingborough, whereby we may hold 50 per cent of the licence to ensure all the stakeholders in the Hobart city football community are given the ability to have some input and engagement in the process, but the key stakeholder will be the one that said they actually want to do it."
He said AFL Tasmania was prepared to take on the licence should both clubs reject the joint venture.
Baker believed the new club would have no problems attracting the cream of Hobart and North Hobart's players.
"We were prepared to do it at Devonport and we were prepared to do it in Kingborough if we couldn't get a solution.

"We are certainly prepared to do it in the city because what we know is the best 40 players in that area will want to play with the team that represents it at the highest level.
"With that comes parents and girlfriends and wives and children and that's what you build your club around," Baker said.

AFL Tasmania may also face the challenge of securing a sponsor in a struggling economy and up against cricket teams the Tigers and the Hobart Hurricanes, which are also striving for funding.
Federal Group spokesman Daniel Hanna said no decision had been made.
It is believed the TSL sponsorship package, including ball sponsorship, was worth about $250,000 a year.
Baker said the end of the ABC's live broadcast of TSL games would not be the reason if Federal Group withdrew, nor make it harder to find a replacement.
"The great strength of the TSL that it can provide a vehicle for a sponsor to have their brand attached to a statewide competition," Baker said.
"That is always a challenge in Tasmania because of the regionality of the way we do things, it is very difficult to find a vehicle to take you statewide. We've got that.
"It will be tough, no doubt about that but we are in discussions with a couple of entities already and hopefully we can convert those opportunities.
"We are certainly not panicking about it."

Can you believe the latest crap, as printed by the mercury, love the statement from Baker, have highlighted it.

If Hobart and North Hobart members both reject the equal share, AFL Tasmania will create its own club most likely with Tigers and Demons players to play in the TSL.
However, AFL Tasmania's coffers may be strained with Federal Group, the parent of the TSL's naming-rights sponsor Wrest Point Casino, yet to commit to renewing its contract.
AFL Tasmania chairman Dominic Baker said the biggest share the Tigers or the Demons could hold under the proposal was 50 per cent.
"If they come back and say, 'we've put this to our members and our members said no', we would work with the other entity to come up with a solution," Baker said.
"It might look exactly like what we are doing at Kingborough, whereby we may hold 50 per cent of the licence to ensure all the stakeholders in the Hobart city football community are given the ability to have some input and engagement in the process, but the key stakeholder will be the one that said they actually want to do it."
He said AFL Tasmania was prepared to take on the licence should both clubs reject the joint venture.
Baker believed the new club would have no problems attracting the cream of Hobart and North Hobart's players.
"We were prepared to do it at Devonport and we were prepared to do it in Kingborough if we couldn't get a solution.

"We are certainly prepared to do it in the city because what we know is the best 40 players in that area will want to play with the team that represents it at the highest level.
"With that comes parents and girlfriends and wives and children and that's what you build your club around," Baker said.

AFL Tasmania may also face the challenge of securing a sponsor in a struggling economy and up against cricket teams the Tigers and the Hobart Hurricanes, which are also striving for funding.
Federal Group spokesman Daniel Hanna said no decision had been made.
It is believed the TSL sponsorship package, including ball sponsorship, was worth about $250,000 a year.
Baker said the end of the ABC's live broadcast of TSL games would not be the reason if Federal Group withdrew, nor make it harder to find a replacement.
"The great strength of the TSL that it can provide a vehicle for a sponsor to have their brand attached to a statewide competition," Baker said.
"That is always a challenge in Tasmania because of the regionality of the way we do things, it is very difficult to find a vehicle to take you statewide. We've got that.
"It will be tough, no doubt about that but we are in discussions with a couple of entities already and hopefully we can convert those opportunities.
"We are certainly not panicking about it."

Could anyone tell me what significant benefits AFL Tasmania believe that a "new" city based club will achieve.

NHFC & NHJFC club consist of Auskick to Seniors. They have met all the criteria set down by AFL Tasmania, and have about 5 guys on AFL lists. (Garland, Davies, Darley, Jones & Schade). They are by all accounts financially viable and have a solid volunteer base, which was able to organise the Storm versus Broncos game that attracted 12,000 people.

I understand AFL Tasmania need to strive for continual improvement in all facets of the game, administration and participation. However I am stumped as to how removing NHFC from the TSL and starting up a new team from scratch will be significantly better than the existing model.

AFL have been very clever and strategic in the models which could be permitted to exist in 2014. However if they have the money and man power to start up a brand new club (their worst case scenario), then surely assisting an existing club such as NHFC is a better use of their resources.

If Hobart had relocated to Kingborough would AFL Tasmania be following its present agenda?

As it stands now, the TSL is a 3rd tier natiional competition behind the AFL, and the WAFL/SANFL/VFL competitions. This is an area that will need all clubs and AFL Tasmania to work in unison if there is any chance of getting into the 2nd tier.

Looking forward to opinions on this matter.

Could anyone tell me what significant benefits AFL Tasmania believe that a "new" city based club will achieve.

NHFC & NHJFC club consist of Auskick to Seniors. They have met all the criteria set down by AFL Tasmania, and have about 5 guys on AFL lists. (Garland, Davies, Darley, Jones & Schade). They are by all accounts financially viable and have a solid volunteer base, which was able to organise the Storm versus Broncos game that attracted 12,000 people.

I understand AFL Tasmania need to strive for continual improvement in all facets of the game, administration and participation. However I am stumped as to how removing NHFC from the TSL and starting up a new team from scratch will be significantly better than the existing model.

AFL have been very clever and strategic in the models which could be permitted to exist in 2014. However if they have the money and man power to start up a brand new club (their worst case scenario), then surely assisting an existing club such as NHFC is a better use of their resources.

If Hobart had relocated to Kingborough would AFL Tasmania be following its present agenda?

As it stands now, the TSL is a 3rd tier natiional competition behind the AFL, and the WAFL/SANFL/VFL competitions. This is an area that will need all clubs and AFL Tasmania to work in unison if there is any chance of getting into the 2nd tier.

the whole reason this situation has come about is because phil baker stuffed up in the whole moving hobart to kingborugh situation by going to AFL tas and saying the club would do it without getting approval from the board.

I thought the application for the 'city' licence would go to the club with best application. But that was too simple wasn't it.
Now we have some kind of bid for a piece of a new club!!! How that works is beyond me. Why not work with the clubs & get the quality up for all clubs. Paying some & not others, changing rules every 5 minutes. Turning the clubs into junior development programs, then telling guys they have to leave if they arent playing seniors.
No explanation, no reasoning, nothing. Just paying off some clubs & destroying others. Thats all.

Just want to see if this is correct, cause i carnt get my head around it:confused:

AFL Tas is going to have 50 % stake in the new city club!!
AFL Tas is going to have 50 % stake at Kingborough!! (Those blokes must be crazy)
So AFL Tas are going to be controlling 2 clubs, now thats a conflict of intrest, if I have ever seen one!!

Just want to see if this is correct, cause i carnt get my head around it:confused:

AFL Tas is going to have 50 % stake in the new city club!!
AFL Tas is going to have 50 % stake at Kingborough!! (Those blokes must be crazy)
So AFL Tas are going to be controlling 2 clubs, now thats a conflict of intrest, if I have ever seen one!!

Not quite! (correct me if I am wrong-my head hurts!!)

If Hobart and North Hobart agree to AFL Tas "concept", then each side has a 50% ownership of the new team.

If only 1 club want/get licence, then that club hold 50% and AFL Tas 50%.

If both clubs decide to play SFL, then AFL Tas own 100% of licence.

We are led to believe by AFL Tas that whatever models gets across the line it will be the rebirth of football in the Hobart region.

Unbelievable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I thought the application for the 'city' licence would go to the club with best application. But that was too simple wasn't it.
Now we have some kind of bid for a piece of a new club!!! How that works is beyond me. Why not work with the clubs & get the quality up for all clubs. Paying some & not others, changing rules every 5 minutes. Turning the clubs into junior development programs, then telling guys they have to leave if they arent playing seniors.
No explanation, no reasoning, nothing. Just paying off some clubs & destroying others. Thats all.

What baffles me is the financial stipulations with this farce. AFL Tas have told both clubs it will take 300 thousand to set up the new club, & both Hobart & North Hobart will have to put in 100 thousand each with a further 100 thousand thrown in by AFL Tas. Very generous by Wade & co, seeing they would have to give each club 50 thousand anyway by way of the existing license arrangement, they are not putting any extra funds in. But both North & Hobart will pay 100 thousand to effectively destroy their clubs.

If only one club takes up the offer then would they need to find $150K? I dont understand how the volunteers efforts would work. How do they do 50% of the work in the canteen, bar, gate, etc? How do they divvy up any profits? How do they divvy up any losses? What if the losses are ongoing? Do they have to put money in from their SFL clubs
If AFLTas have 1/2 the licence then how do they treat the other clubs in a fair & independent way? They have all the financial info from the other clubs! Would they use that against the other clubs?
Where does it end up?

If only one club takes up the offer then would they need to find $150K? I dont understand how the volunteers efforts would work. How do they do 50% of the work in the canteen, bar, gate, etc? How do they divvy up any profits? How do they divvy up any losses? What if the losses are ongoing? Do they have to put money in from their SFL clubs
If AFLTas have 1/2 the licence then how do they treat the other clubs in a fair & independent way? They have all the financial info from the other clubs! Would they use that against the other clubs?
Where does it end up?

Good question Madmug, Glenorchy field an SFL team but only lasted 1 season, If Glenorchy with all there resources and money couldnt sustain that, then how could Hobart or North do it????

Where does it end up?
I cannot see how AFL Tas can run a club? they control all the policy and procedure of the licence agreement, if they then enter into said agreement with themselves whom monitors how their club is faring? who monitors the salary cap of their club? who monitors the registration process of recruits to a new club? they say they expect the players will come from Hobart and Nth Hobart, now I am not a rocket scientist but am assuming both these clubs would be smart enough to have players contracted beyond this season to ensure they are not poached by Glenorchy, Clarence and Lauderdale? if not why not? If this is the case, say Jesse Wells is contracted by Nth and AFL Tas offer him 3x what he is on at Nth to jump ship to the new club, run by AFL Tas, who does Nth Hobart then complain to regarding poaching and breaching the licence agreement that the new team would have to abide by?

A contract is a contract is it not or will AFL Tas if they run their own team write a clause into the new licence agreements that any team they run can approach any player to recruit. Just a warning to Clarence, Glenorchy and Lauderdale, don't think for 1 sec they wont come chasing your best players, they will want their new team to succeed so they will go after the best players from all clubs not just the two in the firing line, to think different is naive. You 3 clubs are as big a reason for this mess as AFL Tas becuase you are so selfish as to not even stand by Nth and Hobart out of self interest when self interest is what AFL Tas want from you, divide and conquer is how they operate.

The new team will be coached by someone from within their ranks, possibly Adam Sanders and will be filled by AFL Tas staff, have the best resources off field, and you can bet that blokes like Thurley, Savage, Jones, Reynolds etc will be on their radar

I cannot see how AFL Tas can run a club? they control all the policy and procedure of the licence agreement, if they then enter into said agreement with themselves whom monitors how their club is faring? who monitors the salary cap of their club? who monitors the registration process of recruits to a new club? they say they expect the players will come from Hobart and Nth Hobart, now I am not a rocket scientist but am assuming both these clubs would be smart enough to have players contracted beyond this season to ensure they are not poached by Glenorchy, Clarence and Lauderdale? if not why not? If this is the case, say Jesse Wells is contracted by Nth and AFL Tas offer him 3x what he is on at Nth to jump ship to the new club, run by AFL Tas, who does Nth Hobart then complain to regarding poaching and breaching the licence agreement that the new team would have to abide by?

A contract is a contract is it not or will AFL Tas if they run their own team write a clause into the new licence agreements that any team they run can approach any player to recruit. Just a warning to Clarence, Glenorchy and Lauderdale, don't think for 1 sec they wont come chasing your best players, they will want their new team to succeed so they will go after the best players from all clubs not just the two in the firing line, to think different is naive. You 3 clubs are as big a reason for this mess as AFL Tas becuase you are so selfish as to not even stand by Nth and Hobart out of self interest when self interest is what AFL Tas want from you, divide and conquer is how they operate.

The new team will be coached by someone from within their ranks, possibly Adam Sanders and will be filled by AFL Tas staff, have the best resources off field, and you can bet that blokes like Thurley, Savage, Jones, Reynolds etc will be on their radar

Its all an unknown, & thats the problem. No one knows what AFLTas are up to, or how they will deal with other clubs, or what they want the league to look like in years to come.
Lauderdale have already poached Hobarts best player!
The business of standing by other clubs is a non issue in my mind. I remember that Paul Lennon was willing to act on the clubs behalf. Too many of them were paid off by AFL Tas, so that stuffed that. I dont know what the other clubs can do. Its really up to each indidvidual club now. Divide & conquer is the management technique of AFLTas. It keeps already weak clubs weak.

Its all an unknown, & thats the problem. No one knows what AFLTas are up to, or how they will deal with other clubs, or what they want the league to look like in years to come.
Lauderdale have already poached Hobarts best player!
The business of standing by other clubs is a non issue in my mind. I remember that Paul Lennon was willing to act on the clubs behalf. Too many of them were paid off by AFL Tas, so that stuffed that. I dont know what the other clubs can do. Its really up to each indidvidual club now. Divide & conquer is the management technique of AFLTas. It keeps already weak clubs weak.
yep spot on madmug, about the only thing that mob do well

Reading the paper & on the radio, Hobart have agreed to take 1/2 the TSL city club licence. Now North Hobart have to decide what to do.
They want to get it going by next year! Are Kingborough ready to come into the TSL?
I still dont understand how you run 1/2 a club?
If NH dont take the option then Hobart & AFL Tas will go halves in it. Does that mean Wade etc run 1/2 the gates, 1/2 the canteen, 1/2 of what? I just dont get it?
Even if its 1/2 with NH, I still cant see how it would work.
Anyone got any clues?

Reading the paper & on the radio, Hobart have agreed to take 1/2 the TSL city club licence. Now North Hobart have to decide what to do.
They want to get it going by next year! Are Kingborough ready to come into the TSL?
I still dont understand how you run 1/2 a club?
If NH dont take the option then Hobart & AFL Tas will go halves in it. Does that mean Wade etc run 1/2 the gates, 1/2 the canteen, 1/2 of what? I just dont get it?
Even if its 1/2 with NH, I still cant see how it would work.
Anyone got any clues?

I wonder what Kingpin thinks of the whole HFC situation? Maybe like man y others he is becoming disillusioned by the whole saga. I went to the games on Saturday embarrassing when a senior game of football is a curtain raiser for another game really cheapens the comp IMO

tigers had to put their hand up because it was either the bad union or oblivian !! they have nothing but a supposed bank balance which is either untouchable or doesnt exist. good old wade trying to put pressure on north to fold to his stupid ill conceived plan

how could this fool stuff up two traditional teams !! go and merge clarence and lauderdale you nit !

tigers had to put their hand up because it was either the bad union or oblivian !! they have nothing but a supposed bank balance which is either untouchable or doesnt exist. good old wade trying to put pressure on north to fold to his stupid ill conceived plan

how could this fool stuff up two traditional teams !! go and merge clarence and lauderdale you nit !
rumour is that the licence agreement application both clubs lodged then became a wasted exercise as AFL Tas then again changed the goal posts and said 50/50 with each other or we run it, then they said if neither of you agree to 50/50 we wont let you exist in your own right either so effectively both clubs were told sign or fold, surely someone has a good lawyer?

Why would you merge Clarence and Lauderdale? Clarence are the most successful club in the state in recent times, and Lauderdale are clearly a team on the up. I don't agree with merging North Hobart and Hobart but to suggest that Clarence and Lauderdale should be merged is beyond foolish.

It is a FACT that North Hobart won 3 of the 5 criteria that the licence applications was assessed on.

These were:
On Field Performance and Football Department Development.
Football Promotion and Marketing Club Brand.
Community Engagement and Development.

Hobart were considered stronger on:
Corporate Govermance, Management and Administration
Financial Management, Resources and Facilities. (Work that out, the TCA's facilites would've been outdated in the 1950's, and for all their supposed financial claut, the HOBART DISTRICT FOOTBALL CLUB INC. with ABN 90 157 977 440, lost $100,000 in the 2011-12 fin year. Check their books.)

The $650,000 golden egg is in the bank of the legal entity of the HFC SPORTS CLUB PTY LTD. with ABN 51 009 501 651. Completely different legal entity.

Given there is no weighting given to these criteria, all 5 are considered equally critical, why did North Hobart not be awarded the licence, given they won 3-2?

Go wild fellas.

General TSL Talk