Alex Wright (Norwood)

Jack Tuthill

North Launceston

Ins:

Outs:

Michael Stingel (Norwood)
Tom Bennett
Corey Nankervis

* will only add confirmed as there are obviously heaps of rumours out there.

* post here and I’ll add on

This will spell the end of the TSL I imagine, SANFL, WAFL, VFL all on ABC. Who would know what goes on behind closed doors but AFL Tas have no real professional businessmen in their ranks, just jobs for the boys and their negotiation skills support this, basically destroy Hobart FC (little bit of help from their president along the way), bail out Devonport and Burnie,fund various clubs GM's, ignore several clubs salary cap rorts and the biggest of all "Creswell" it just gets better and better:(

Can anyone tell me if AFL TAS is paying Darren Winters wage as coach for the next 3 years. If my memory serves me right they pay the wages of some of the Northern teams General Managers.

It appears from the outside a little inequitable if Glenorchy, Hobart, North Hobart, etc aren't getting the same financial support.

Looking forward to your replies!!!!!!!!!!!

AFL Tas are giving Lauderdale an extra 20k a year to fund Winter & don't worry South Launceston are certainly being looked after through the back door as well.

Re: U/18 Competition.

I think there will be an announcement soon re ABC

I carnt believe that I am about to say this..... I agree with AFL Tas:eek::eek::eek:

How can the ABC ask for an extra $50000 a season, to only televise games from 1 ground in the state and have a shorter season. STUPID

Surely the ABC have cameras, staff etc etc in the north of the state, why not use them instead of trucks travelling up and down the midlands!!!

anyway as reported in the mercury http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2011/11/23/278981_afl.html

Can anyone tell me if AFL TAS is paying Darren Winters wage as coach for the next 3 years. If my memory serves me right they pay the wages of some of the Northern teams General Managers.

It appears from the outside a little inequitable if Glenorchy, Hobart, North Hobart, etc aren't getting the same financial support.

I thought all clubs had their GM funded? Maybe in this scenario Winter gets to spend more time developing players and the club?

On the ABC, it was good while it lasted. Bit of a shame that they canned the TSL this year. It was good to watch the team play even if it was biased towoards the southern teams!

I thought all clubs had their GM funded? Maybe in this scenario Winter gets to spend more time developing players and the club?
All clubs get $50k Development money, however SOME of the clubs also have full time managers paid by AFLTAS.

I think the suggestion here is that winter is getting paid extra off the AFLTAS bankroll. My understanding however was that he is paid out of the development funds, but it is definitely possible that AFLTAS have added money to go with this.

I carnt believe that I am about to say this..... I agree with AFL Tas:eek::eek::eek:

How can the ABC ask for an extra $50000 a season, to only televise games from 1 ground in the state and have a shorter season. STUPID

Surely the ABC have cameras, staff etc etc in the north of the state, why not use them instead of trucks travelling up and down the midlands!!!

anyway as reported in the mercury http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2011/11/23/278981_afl.html

It's certainly one of the strangest requests I've ever heard of. I agree.
I think AFL Tasmania really were put in the barrel with this one and had no choice in the matter but to say no.
There's two schools of thought on this one, having the TV coverage removed 'may' bring more spectators back to the games.
During the 1970s and 1980s TFL football was broadcast on the old TVT-6 (now WIN) by way of a 13:30 hours live cross to cover the old Midas League reserves final quarter, it would then cross again at 17:30 hours to show a replay of the final quarter of the senior match with highlights being shown of all matches on "World of Sport" on Sunday.
The ABC used to broadcast a one hour program on Saturday night at around 18:00 hours titled "Who won, why?", this featured edited highlights and commentary from the match of the day on a similar format to the VFL's "The Winners" program and was often hosted by Peter Gee or Roger Wills.
TVT-6 changed its name to Tas-TV in 1985 and Tas-TV dropped the reserves coverage early that season and the senior replays all together after the 1985 season preferring to show match highlights on "World of Sport" on the Sunday.
The ABC then began showing live last quarters of matches in the TFL from around 1986 with a replay again the following morning.
On 27 June 1992 the ABC began showing full matches live on its network across the state and the effects on the TFL's attendances was disastrous, a month after this began, an entire round of matches failed to draw more than 1,000 spectators to any match, this was the first that had happened in Statewide football and was the first time in TFL football since 12 May 1945.
Attendances continued to plummet for the remainder of the competition and thousands of former attendees instead opted for the comfort of an armchair at home rather than going to grounds to watch matches and as a result, money got tight very, very quickly and the atmosphere was dead.
Those people continued to stay at home after the ABC stopped broadcasting matches when the SWL folded in 2000 and have generally never come back to their clubs, even during the years of non-coverage (SFL football) between 2001-2008.
The thing that it may have a huge effect on is sponsors.

I have always felt that the TSL matches needed to be on radio before television as it was far easier to get proper coverage of each match around the state by that medium, as the TSL broadcasts tended to be solely in Hobart and matches outside here received little to no exposure and news was scarce.
Unfortunately ABC Grandstand won't drop the AFL coverage as there was considerable outcry in 1998 and a flood of letters to The Mercury and other such mediums when the ABC refused to dump TFL coverage in favour of the AFL.
The best bet is to get the broadcasts onto a community station of some description (this is already done with both the VFL and SANFL) and try to rebuild from there.
Unfortunately, the ABC is not the same ABC that we all grew up with in the 1970s-1990s as it is extremely Sydney-centric, seems to value ratings over local content and has done a generally very lazy job of programming content on its other channels outside ABC1.

It's certainly one of the strangest requests I've ever heard of. I agree.
I think AFL Tasmania really were put in the barrel with this one and had no choice in the matter but to say no.

The thing that it may have a huge effect on is sponsors.

Unfortunately, the ABC is not the same ABC that we all grew up with in the 1970s-1990s as it is extremely Sydney-centric, seems to value ratings over local content and has done a generally very lazy job of programming content on its other channels outside ABC1.

Its a bit sad really. It was good to be able to watch the ABC game when you cant get out to a live game. It may help improve crowds at the game, I'm not sure about that, especially with so much live AFL & other stuff on TV. People get lazy & brainwashed into staying home in front of the idiot box.
I do agree that it does show that the ABC are just another Mainland mob that really couldnt give a toss about local sport. Apart from the TSL on TV they hardly show any interest in Tassie sport. Sports reports are usually full of Mainland or international results. They spend more time on English soccer results than local sport.

filming footy

"Surely the ABC have cameras, staff etc etc in the north of the state, why not use them instead of trucks travelling up and down the midlands!!!

Let me tell you football is not easy to film. Some news cameraman simply can't do it. Apart from Golf and Cricket there are not to many other sports that are played on a big wide open field where the ball can go anywhere at any second.

I was called in and lucky enough to do a one off for the ABC once and let me tell you it tested me. Not an easy gig if you don't do it every week.

STJFL U/18's 2012

Heard that the STJFL have 4 clubs signed on for a U/18 competiton in 2012, with another 3 clubs in the wings.

Could almost guarantee the four teams would be clarence, north hobart, sandy bay and lauderdale. As for 3 clubs waiting in the wings i would assume those teams would have to field teams in the sfl comp aswell as clubs are required to field a team in each division and couldn't see the sfl stand by if a club fielded a colts team in another comp but not in the sfl. my opinion is this stjfl under 18 comp is a bit of a joke, these tsl teams should be helping and building relationships with their feeder clubs not just taking players and forcing feeder clubs to fold underage sides.

STJFL U/18's

Could almost guarantee the four teams would be clarence, north hobart, sandy bay and lauderdale. As for 3 clubs waiting in the wings i would assume those teams would have to field teams in the sfl comp aswell as clubs are required to field a team in each division and couldn't see the sfl stand by if a club fielded a colts team in another comp but not in the sfl. my opinion is this stjfl under 18 comp is a bit of a joke, these tsl teams should be helping and building relationships with their feeder clubs not just taking players and forcing feeder clubs to fold underage sides.

My point is that all clubs SFL & TSL have U/16 sides. SFL have U/18's and the TSL have colts. This leaves North Hobart, Clarence, Lauderdale, Hobart (very marginal) and Sandy Bay Juniors U/16 boys with options of playing TSL Colts or SFL U/18's.

It appears that many boys are dropping out of the game after U/16's due to an apparent lack of viable teams for their skill level etc.

Surely offering kids a game of Aussie Rules should come before Leagues or a Club's desire to be No. 1 ahead of the wellfare of the game.

I am in favour of giving it a crack and being positive about the outcome.

Keeping kids in football may lead to them being involved in footy (coaching, volunteer, etc) well after they stop playing the game.

Re: STJFL U/18's

My point is that all clubs SFL & TSL have U/16 sides. SFL have U/18's and the TSL have colts. This leaves North Hobart, Clarence, Lauderdale, Hobart (very marginal) and Sandy Bay Juniors U/16 boys with options of playing TSL Colts or SFL U/18's.

It appears that many boys are dropping out of the game after U/16's due to an apparent lack of viable teams for their skill level etc.

Surely offering kids a game of Aussie Rules should come before Leagues or a Club's desire to be No. 1 ahead of the wellfare of the game.

Keeping kids in football may lead to them being involved in footy (coaching, volunteer, etc) well after they stop playing the game.

I can see your point of view but what happens when hurts the other competitions, the sfl colts this year had a 10 team competition, with sorell and claremont unable to field teams and east coast and lindisfarne only fielded teams with the help of lauderdale and clarence.

That shows there were only 8 self sufficent under 18 teams this year, Now with this other competition east coast and lindisfarne may struggle to put a team together as they would be unlikely to get help from clarence or lauderdale.

Now your arguement of keeping kids in football the kids aren't there at under 18 level to keep in there, maybe the tsl clubs should leave it longer before they take the players from their feeder clubs, help there feeder clubs more with development programs ect. to get players up to the standard they want them instead of going into competition with there feeder clubs.

I have no issue with them having themselves a four team competition they can go for it my issue is that if they try to take teams from the sfl they will put more kids out of football than they bring in because if the sfl colts are reduced to 4 or 5 teams kids just don't want to play the same team every few weeks.

So destroying the SFL structure is a way of improving football & keeping kids in the game is it?
The 'old' structure of u18's ressies & seniors seems like the best structure to allow each player to get a game relevant to their age & skill/strength level.
Setting up another u18 comp will strip players out of the established senior football clubs. At Sandybay are those kids going to benefit by winning u18 'junior' premierships or would they be better moving on to a senior club & growing up & away from junior footy? I think the answer is pretty obvious.
Remember if those senior clubs are cut off from juniors & their friends & families, they will struggle to survive. Them what? The STJFL to set up a whole new league? Guys could stay in junior footy until they are 30years old:D
Just think of the damage that would do to community football & clubs that have been around for a 100 years or more.
What benefit would that really be for football???

So destroying the SFL structure is a way of improving football & keeping kids in the game is it?
The 'old' structure of u18's ressies & seniors seems like the best structure to allow each player to get a game relevant to their age & skill/strength level.
Setting up another u18 comp will strip players out of the established senior football clubs. At Sandybay are those kids going to benefit by winning u18 'junior' premierships or would they be better moving on to a senior club & growing up & away from junior footy? I think the answer is pretty obvious.
Remember if those senior clubs are cut off from juniors & their friends & families, they will struggle to survive. Them what? The STJFL to set up a whole new league? Guys could stay in junior footy until they are 30years old:D
Just think of the damage that would do to community football & clubs that have been around for a 100 years or more.
What benefit would that really be for football???

My point is that North Hobart, Clarence & Lauderdale presently have boys coming out of their U/16 sides who are not physically up to Colts. Obviously these 3 clubs must believe they have enough boys for their U/18 sides as well as those in the Colts.

Your answer does not seem to cater for these 3 TSL clubs.

Sandy Bay is an unusual case due to the fact lots of boys at Sandy Bay go to Hutchins and must play for their school in the SATIS competition.

Also before you bag the SBLJFC they have had Tom Allwright (now delisted), Marcus Davies (Carlton), George Burbury (Geelong rookie) and Henry Schade (Gold Coast) drafted over the last 4 years into the AFL. So probably not a smart idea trying to bag this club!

You could argue they should have left seniors, reserves & U/18's in place, which may be a hard one to argue with.

However it appears there may be an "excess" of boys who need a U/18 competition.

Also the STJFL are running the competition, with the Clubs developing the players.

My point is that North Hobart, Clarence & Lauderdale presently have boys coming out of their U/16 sides who are not physically up to Colts. Obviously these 3 clubs must believe they have enough boys for their U/18 sides as well as those in the Colts.

Your answer does not seem to cater for these 3 TSL clubs.

Sandy Bay is an unusual case due to the fact lots of boys at Sandy Bay go to Hutchins and must play for their school in the SATIS competition.

Also before you bag the SBLJFC they have had Tom Allwright (now delisted), Marcus Davies (Carlton), George Burbury (Geelong rookie) and Henry Schade (Gold Coast) drafted over the last 4 years into the AFL. So probably not a smart idea trying to bag this club!

You could argue they should have left seniors, reserves & U/18's in place, which may be a hard one to argue with.

However it appears there may be an "excess" of boys who need a U/18 competition.

Also the STJFL are running the competition, with the Clubs developing the players.

All those Hutchins lads you point out, got drafted via the Mariners & North Hobart club.
If Sandy bay play in an u18 comp in 2012, then what do they the year after. The boys have got leave the nest at some time. If they stay in juniors too long then they wont improve, they will stagnate. So are they just staying on to win a premiership? Because I'm not sure if its real good for their overall development staying at that level when clearly some of them are good enough to play more senior footy.
If Lauderdale have an excess of players then let them play at Sorell. The Clarence lads can play at Lindisfarne.
Why try & start a whole new comp.? The SFL is the local level of footy the bulk of the lads should be going to play in once they leave junior footy.

All those Hutchins lads you point out, got drafted via the Mariners & North Hobart club.
If Sandy bay play in an u18 comp in 2012, then what do they the year after. The boys have got leave the nest at some time. If they stay in juniors too long then they wont improve, they will stagnate. So are they just staying on to win a premiership? Because I'm not sure if its real good for their overall development staying at that level when clearly some of them are good enough to play more senior footy.
If Lauderdale have an excess of players then let them play at Sorell. The Clarence lads can play at Lindisfarne.
Why try & start a whole new comp.? The SFL is the local level of footy the bulk of the lads should be going to play in once they leave junior footy.

makes terrific sense - the 16 yo North Hobart lads, not up to playing at U23 colts level, can get their mums and dads to drive them to their SFL feeder club at Huonville or Cygnet!

Well perhaps AFL Tas should have thought of this before ****ing off the reserves because it was "better for the development of young talent". The TSL will eventually go down the shitter once again but I don't see why the SFL's underage comp has to go down with it!

I am not quite sure why the STJFL running a U/18 competition which eminates from existing clubs will ruin the SFL underage competition.

My whole point is that we should make it easier to keep kids involved in Aussie Rules up to the 18 year old bracket (Year 12 boys).

:rolleyes:

That's just stiff then. AFL TAS chose to piss off the reserves and under 18s for their league. Why shouldn't TSL clubs help out their feeder clubs by sending some kids to Lindisfarne, Triabunna (had a lot of LDale kids this year), Sorell ? It helps build a good relationship between the clubs.
The kids that miss out on games are 17/18, not 12. They're old enough to to step out of the STJFL & they will be playing will other mates who miss out on a colts game at TSL level. What are these kids going to do when they're 19? Another new comp for them to play in with their mates? It might seem harsh but if you're not good enough to play TSL colts then join a comp that suits your skill level eg SFL colts or SFL/Old Scholars twos.

General TSL Talk