Fremantle Dockers: Going backwards not forwards.

• Thread starter Thread starter UNIT

Will Chris Connolly be coaching Fremantle in 2006?

• Yes

Votes: 31 29.2%
  • No

Votes: 75 70.8%

UNIT

Suspended
Swan Districts - St Kilda
At the risk of sounding like a broken record, im gonna go there again. Todays performance by the Dockers against Richmond was nothing short of a disgrace. A disgrace to the Dockers members and supporters, a disgrace to the few blokes who week in week out actually do have a red hot go (Peter Bell, Paul Haselby, Heath Black, Josh Carr) and a disgrace to the proud heritage of Western Australian footy.
Surely now, once again, questions have to be asked about the coaching tenure of Chris Connolly and the direction he is taking the Fremantle football club in. Todays 'effort' just rams home once again, how stupid it was for Connolly to be re signed for another 3 years. If we saw much more of this, i cant really see how is position is tenable.
Next you have to look at Troy Simmonds. He really hurt his old side today. What can Freo do to address the shortcomings on their list, that Snake's departure have left?. Go the Hawthorn route and blood kids? This is a side that was realistically talking about having a crack at the top four this year, and right now you would have to say its beetween them and Essendon for the wooden spoon.
I can hear all the Dockers supporters on BigFooty now, calling me a troll, saying im scum, trotting out all the usual pathetic and grubby innuendo's about drugs and West Coast, saying we dont have a fwd line, choke in finals (even though their own side looks as likely to make a final as Hawthorn). But guys, at least we are always competitive, and never lay down and die like weak and gutless dogs. Yeah you did all right against Port in Rnd One (But going on how well there travelling you have to wonder how much that meant), you did all right for three quarters against the Saints before another Drumesque, skill error laden final quarter capitulation, yeah you did alright against WC before a superstar named Judd turned it on. But today was nothing short of a joke.

Surely now even the most dyed in the wool, Docker supporter, would have to feel its appropriate to question the direction the club is going in, and whether Chris Connolly is the man that can lead them into a period of meaningful finals participation.

Bentleigh said:
Pavlich = Ray Halls Bitach

please. Pavlich spent most of the game watching the ball kicked over his head. It was more a case of Pavlich being poorly positioned, and just having an all round shoddy game, than it was anything on Ray Hall's part.

Belnakor said:
please. Pavlich spent most of the game watching the ball kicked over his head. It was more a case of Pavlich being poorly positioned, and just having an all round shoddy game, than it was anything on Ray Hall's part.

Sanderlands = Knobels biatch

Sandilands goes to show being tall doesn't make you any good.

He should be playing for the Wildcats.

Terrible, terrible, terrible performance. Any side which makes Bitchmond look half decent should be taken out to the paddock and shot.

Loss of Polak, Headland, Haddrill and Headland were critical, but the skill errors were woeful and the Tigers were a hundred times harder at the pill.

Clinton Grybas just said that at this point in his career Paul Medhurst has the lowest handball percentage of any player in the history of the game, at something like 1.6 handballs a game.

013668an.jpg

Selfish, selfish dxxxhead.

UNIT said:
Clinton Grybas just said that at this point in his career Paul Medhurst has the lowest handball percentage of any player in the history of the game, at something like 1.6 handballs a game.

013668an.jpg

Selfish, selfish dxxxhead.

1.2 handballs per game.

Lowest for any player, ever.

Freo Big Fella said:
I notice more West Coast supporters appear to be doing it. Is someone finally accepting that they have obsessive-compulsive disorder?

Mate, ripping into opposition supporters is part of footy. Deal with it.

Fremantle kept on falling down at Half Forward. They just do not have enough avenues to Goal.

I know alot of people here may disagree with me, but Pavlich should not be played up forward for you guys. He needs to be in the guts.

Fremantle need a KPP forward and quickly.

UNIT said:
At the risk of sounding like a broken record...

Risk averted. You do sound like a broken record.

UNIT said:
Todays performance by the Dockers against Richmond was nothing short of a disgrace. A disgrace to the Dockers members and supporters, a disgrace to the few blokes who week in week out actually do have a red hot go (Peter Bell, Paul Haselby, Heath Black, Josh Carr) and a disgrace to the proud heritage of Western Australian footy.

First things first; No team in the AFL today are State rep teams. That's State of Origin's domain. Freo do not represent Western Australia. Nor do West Coast, for that matter. (Well, they once were a 'State' team, but that was just over 10 years ago.)

UNIT said:
Surely now, once again, questions have to be asked about the coaching tenure of Chris Connolly and the direction he is taking the Fremantle football club in. Todays 'effort' just rams home once again, how stupid it was for Connolly to be re signed for another 3 years. If we saw much more of this, i cant really see how is position is tenable.

Maybe you have a point, which you make often enough here.

UNIT said:
Next you have to look at Troy Simmonds. He really hurt his old side today.

All traded players find that little bit extra against their old side. You're better off to make a judgement call on his trade at season's end.

UNIT said:
What can Freo do to address the shortcomings on their list, that Snake's departure have left?. Go the Hawthorn route and blood kids? This is a side that was realistically talking about having a crack at the top four this year, and right now you would have to say its beetween them and Essendon for the wooden spoon.

Jeez, is it late August already?

UNIT said:
I can hear all the Dockers supporters on BigFooty now, calling me a troll, saying im scum, trotting out all the usual pathetic and grubby innuendo's about drugs and West Coast, saying we dont have a fwd line, choke in finals (even though their own side looks as likely to make a final as Hawthorn).

There are some things people just bring on themselves, unfortunately.

UNIT said:
But guys, at least we are always competitive, and never lay down and die like weak and gutless dogs.

Always?

UNIT said:
Yeah you did all right against Port in Rnd One (But going on how well there travelling you have to wonder how much that meant), you did all right for three quarters against the Saints before another Drumesque, skill error laden final quarter capitulation, yeah you did alright against WC before a superstar named Judd turned it on. But today was nothing short of a joke.

Where's the punchline? Oh, today's score.

UNIT said:
Surely now even the most dyed in the wool, Docker supporter, would have to feel its appropriate to question the direction the club is going in, and whether Chris Connolly is the man that can lead them into a period of meaningful finals participation.

Unreal, after a lay-down loss like today's the whole, entire CLUB needs to be examined? Really?

BTW, OCD can be treated.

Hit Em Hard, it wasnt that Simmonds lifted so much. It was that he highlighted exactly what the Dockers needed. You guys just continued to break down at half forward and that wouldnt of been the case if you had of had Troy Simmonds there for you.

Freo Big Fella said:
Until you stop taking the approach of a midget standing on a soapbox screaming "Look at me! Look at me!" over and over again, and stop crying about players who play tough football, you won't even come close to a Frank level of invective.

I've certainly had my doubts for a while; today simply confirmed them. However, if I want to discuss the state of the club, it'll be with someone who knows their footy; not a jumped up fool with a brain the size of a pea.

:D

I don't think the dockers are that bad. They have come up against 3 very good teams in Port, Saints and Eagles, and came against Richmond who were pretty much full strength and on a roll, and the dockers were missing some very important players. I have a feeling that there were some crook guys playing today, with Polak, Carr an headland obviously the sickest because they missed.

Schammer played well for you guys. I'm a big fan of this guy and he looked good coming back from injury.

Any chance of some actual opinions Freo fans?

Is Pavlich any better than he was 2 years ago?
Has Paul Haselby continued to improve beyond his purple patch this time last year?
Are you willing to accept that guys like Woods, Grover and a couple of others have gone backwards since your 2003 season?
Is Paul Medhurst as good as he was in his first season?
Have the ringers actually taken this team to the next level they were supposed to? (and I don't mean bottom to middle)
While he has shown glimpses, has Polak really done enough coming into his 4th season?
Is Aaron Sandilands worth persisting with? - will he cut it as a genuine player?

Where have you improved?

Justin Longmuir has played some good footy, Haddrill has continued to be solid. Schammer is a good youngster but not the star some might suggest at this stage. McPharlin is quality and is now close to your best player.

Now I know you were short handed today, but still it's not like it was anyone in your top 5 players.

I'm interested in Freo fans opinons, am I wrong here?

Just heard on 6PR footy talkback, some Dockers 'Siren' saying she suggests supporters shouldnt go to next weeks home game by way of protest.

Feel the passion hey.

josh carr is a deadset gun and has probably been their best player for the first 4 games of the season. after that there are probably 10 guys that play their guts out week in week out and after that the rest need to be looked long and hard at.