Favourite Beer

I've been trying out a few wheat beers over here...

The Weihenstephaner Hefe stood out as a ripper. Never really got around to trying this style in Australia, anyone else have any wheat beer recommendations?

Cascade and Heineken

If you're a fan of Heineken, and you haven't already, you should try the 5 litre draught kegs.
The green Heineken bottle lets a lot of light through (as do most green and lighter beer bottles), changing the flavour of the beer if it has been exposed to light (it can be as little as five to ten minutes exposure). The little kegs keep the light out, and keep the beer fresher......
.........I think you'll find it makes a huge difference........

If you're a fan of Heineken, and you haven't already, you should try the 5 litre draught kegs.
The green Heineken bottle lets a lot of light through (as do most green and lighter beer bottles), changing the flavour of the beer if it has been exposed to light (it can be as little as five to ten minutes exposure). The little kegs keep the light out, and keep the beer fresher......
.........I think you'll find it makes a huge difference........
Are those kegs imported from Holland, or are they made in Sydney by Lion Nathan too?

As far as know the kegs are imported, but not from Holland. I believe they are produced in Europe, but I only have a hunch as to where, so I won't bother posting it.
Heineken produced in breweries outside of Holland are forced to use much stricter methods and practices than those employed in Holland, the only difference (as far as quality of the product) is the water.......use good water and you make good beer.....Nathan Lion use old bath water as far as I can tell.........

As far as know the kegs are imported, but not from Holland. I believe they are produced in Europe, but I only have a hunch as to where, so I won't bother posting it.
Heineken produced in breweries outside of Holland are forced to use much stricter methods and practices than those employed in Holland, the only difference (as far as quality of the product) is the water.......use good water and you make good beer.....Nathan Lion use old bath water as far as I can tell.........

Exactly right the kegs are brewed and made in Holland. The contents is the real deal. Thats why they taste better not because of the difference in the light lol. I thought thats what Cartons are for lol.

As for the second part that is not strictly true. A difference of even 1m in the piping used in the brewing process causes a change in the taste of the beer apparently. So even though they are going to have the amount of ingredients, the conditions it is stored in exactly the same it is unlikely that this is going to be exactly the same. That said obviously its the water that is the major difference.

Exactly right the kegs are brewed and made in Holland. The contents is the real deal. Thats why they taste better not because of the difference in the light lol. I thought thats what Cartons are for lol.

As for the second part that is not strictly true. A difference of even 1m in the piping used in the brewing process causes a change in the taste of the beer apparently. So even though they are going to have the amount of ingredients, the conditions it is stored in exactly the same it is unlikely that this is going to be exactly the same. That said obviously its the water that is the major difference.

You may be rght regarding the 5 litre draught kegs, ie thm being brewed in Holland, I'm not convinced that you are however, but I can assure you that the bottles and beer are exposed to more light than they should be during filling and packaging, and the quality of the beer is effected almost as soon as the the cartons are open....it can take only ten minutes of exposure to make a big difference to the flavour.

The length of the piping in the brewery should make no difference what so ever, the only way it could make a difference would be if the brewery was producing more than one type of beer in those lines, and were not cleaning (flushing, more correctly) them before making Heineken.....

I know what is NOT my favourite beer - Toohey's extra dry - Bland and tasteless. Someone at work recommended it & I was thinking of buying a carton - luckily i only bought a 6 pack.

You're right in thinking that, Omar. Tasteless swill for the masses. TED seems to always make me feel ill, even after just a few of them. It has a real chemically aftertaste.

TED's dish out a nasty, nasty hangover that's for sure.

I haven't drunk it for a fair while so I can't be sure....
but given what other posters have said about its taste, I would assume that instead of giving the beer a proper lagering (minimum two or three weeks) time so that it matures and stabilizes naturally, Tooheys pump it full of chemicals to ensure its shelf life.
If I recall correctly it comes in a clear bottle, which adds to my belief that it is chemically enhanced and probably doesn't contain real hops........
Basically all that it means is that it probably doesn't taste very good and will give you a head ache the next day, which I suppose is not earth shattering news...........

Anyone ever drank a GOOD tasting gluton free beer. I'd be amazed if you have .But some one may know what I mean by the question?

I bought 2 stubbies out of curiosity as i have mate who is gluten intolerant - i was going to drink one & give him the other one the next day at work.

It tasted so bad i only managed 2 mouthfuls before i poured it down the sink - It was that bad i never gave my mate the other bottle.

Can't remember who made it but i'm never touching another gluten free beer again.

Any Melburnians been out to Holgate Brewhouse in Woodend? Was out there yesterday enjoying a meal and a few ales, and they were filming what I think was "Postcards" so a bunch of dorky looking guys, one of them being me, might end up on TV in a few weeks:eek:. The guy doing the segment was promoting their tasting paddles (8 samplers) and the number of takes he had to do was a bit ordinary, but his paddle was always full as the one he'd pick up and drink during the filming would always be refilled on the "CUT" call.

Great beer, good prices and if you want to drink and not drive, it's about a 200m walk from Woodend VLine station (a bit over an hour from Southern Cross).

Standouts - Temptress (Porter), Hopinator (2 x India Pale Ale); a red ale which was pretty good and I didn't mind their Wheat Beer. The Beef and Porter pie kicks arse:thumbsu:

I haven't drunk it for a fair while so I can't be sure....
but given what other posters have said about its taste, I would assume that instead of giving the beer a proper lagering (minimum two or three weeks) time so that it matures and stabilizes naturally, Tooheys pump it full of chemicals to ensure its shelf life.
If I recall correctly it comes in a clear bottle, which adds to my belief that it is chemically enhanced and probably doesn't contain real hops........
Basically all that it means is that it probably doesn't taste very good and will give you a head ache the next day, which I suppose is not earth shattering news...........

One of my fundamental beer drinking rules is never drink a beer that comes in a clear bottle - always an excellent chance it's gone pear shaped by the time you open it. Fortunately very few decent beers are packaged this way.

However I'm flabbergasted that Newcastle Brown and Old Speckled Hen are sold this way... bad enough for local beers but considering these beers have come from the other side of the planet it just reeks of a triumph of marketing over brewing.

6289_1117239422690_1578136276_265477_5122212_n.jpg

Monkman's Slaughter, Wonky Donkey, Clotworthy Dobbin, Scoresby Stout and Hooky Bitter.

Walked over to the new off license at Groomsport and bought 4 of these beers from the odd, shy fellow and his elderly employee who doesn't know how to work the till.

About £2.50 each! Except the Clotworthy Dobbin, which dearest ASDA sold me for £1.53.

I'd like to drink them tonight, but I have to work at 8.30am tomorrow, and may shake me awake at 6.30 to watch the Cats - Saints blockbuster from the 'G.

If you're in the UK, how much is beer round your way? Most pubs are charging £3 a pint round here. I find this depressing, we've broken a psychological barrier with this 20p increase. Go to a posh pub and there's no change from a £10 for three pints. $20 aussie for three pints! In fact, how much is a pot in Melbourne these days? And how much is a whiskey in a crapola Irish theme bar?

Carlton Draught or Gage Roads. Hansa Pils is very nice but also very expensive, Hard to find also.

GOT TO LOVE THE GOAT end of discussion (mountain goat brewery melbourne)

also budejovicky a czech beer rocks but is not a goat

VB on a hot weekend arvo just keep knocking the bad boys back till you passout or spew

anybody had carlton dry fusions??? they are sublime.. pun intended:D

Cbf reading through 40 pages of beer talk.

Carlton dry fusion lemon.
Carlton draught.

I've never ever drunk beer, I've always been spirits / bourbons / scotches. My brother gave me a fusion lemon for Origin 1 and I loved them. Then went out to a local pool bar and the drinks I usually get were aroudn $10 I figured I'd just force myself to drink beer with the boys and am slowly developing a liking for CD.