Roast Essendon in no mans land

Not contending and not rebuilding, it's been this way for a long time at Essendon.
They were last rebuilding when Knights was coach and last contending when Sheedy was coach.

How do Essendon get themselves out of this perpetual cycle of mediocrity?
Merge with Richmond and bring it back down to 18 clubs when tassie get in.

Strange and reactive thread. We are where we should be having beaten two very meh sides at home and lost to two good interstate sides on their home decks.

I absolutely agree with the long term view on Essendon, we have been putrid for 20 years but it’s far too early to be writing this season off when we sit 2-2. This even more so when you see how soft our run home in the back half is.
Do you honestly believe the Essendon list will develop into a Premiership winning side?

The Essendon faithful would be dissapointed after bringing in Goldstein, Mckay, Gresham and Dursma
How? Whilst most people were onboard with most of these players coming, none of them believed they would move the needle enough to ensure a finals spot - let alone put us in top 4 contention. But two things. 1) We had lots in the salary cap (and still do) and none of them cost us any draft capital. 2) Three of them are still young.

It's a long season of which we are one sixth of the way through. Of the 69 point loss you could probably put most of that discrepancy down to 4 players. Rozee, JHF, Draper and Goldstein. The first two were as good as the latter two were utterly putrid. We couldn't defend the centre bounce clearances and we couldn't take a contested mark around the ground to save themselves.

Do you honestly believe the Essendon list will develop into a Premiership winning side?
Do you honestly believe that anybody can predict the future?

Two players (say Caddy and Tsatas) becoming genuine stars will transform the team. Of course, they're just as likely to be injury prone and/or mediocre but that's the vagaries of footy.

Sorry to answer this as you quoted craffles but I'll say no not this current list. Imo there is still quite a few to be turned over. But, it will only work if we select the right kids and of course develop them properly. Two areas I highly doubt.

I actually think Brad Scott is a good coach in preplanning (has no plan b on gameday though), but it was just funny watching Bombers fans realise they were going to be stuck with a coach they'd been potting for years.
I always liked B. Scott... In 2024 I'd definitely take a Scott brother over Clarko, they have the ability to hold in their chair throwing instincts.

How? Whilst most people were onboard with most of these players coming, none of them believed they would move the needle enough to ensure a finals spot - let alone put us in top 4 contention. But two things. 1) We had lots in the salary cap (and still do) and none of them cost us any draft capital. 2) Three of them are still young.

It's a long season of which we are one sixth of the way through. Of the 69 point loss you could probably put most of that discrepancy down to 4 players. Rozee, JHF, Draper and Goldstein. The first two were as good as the latter two were utterly putrid. We couldn't defend the centre bounce clearances and we couldn't take a contested mark around the ground to save themselves.
Well the thread title is right then

I don’t think any Essendon fan thinks we will win a flag anytime soon. All we want is for the club to keep making changes on and off the field, which they are doing but if I’m being truly honest not at the pace we would like.

We can’t rewrite history, we’ve been bog average for 20 years so to be sitting 2-2 at the moment (albeit with a terrible display against Port) is trending ok but still a lot of work to be done.

Should've released DoDo, Sheedy, Heppel and the ever shadow of Hird from anything to do with the club end of last year. Since 2002-3 till the drug saga it was mainly entitlement, poor list management after the 99-01 seasons. Then they started to get their act together and made some poor decisions with their training regime and that was always going to be a 10-15 year stain to contend with.

Consider what SOS did with the Carlton list, trade some value, trim the fat and prepare a list by recruiting intelligently in order to start to flourish within 5 years. Can they and their supporters accept another 5 years in the doldrums? We'll have Sheedy publicly knifing Scott, Robbo writing ghost-writing articles on behalf of the Hird clan by years end if they don't see a chance of finals this year.

Not contending and not rebuilding, it's been this way for a long time at Essendon.
They were last rebuilding when Knights was coach and last contending when Sheedy was coach.

Probably already been touched on earlier but they need 1 or 2 of these 3 things, just like any club.

Father/sons
Unmatched RFA's/UFA
Priority picks

to be fair, the Essendon edge was created by the media and simpletons lap it up and pay on it when they can

nothing to do with Essendon creating a gimmick
Wrong.

Nothing to do with the media. Has everything to do with Essendon creating a gimmick.... as confirmed by Tim Watson:

“There was a marketing survey,” Watson said.

‘They had a marketing company, they called people, they asked (some supporters and various people) some questions about the club ... what the brand of the club was, if they had a brand, what the club stood for, all that type of thing.

“That (edge strategy) came out of that particular survey where people said, ‘They wanted Essendon to have an edge. They don’t have a brand at all,’ and that’s what they want it to be.

“So that’s where it came from.

^^ Was discussed in a recent talking footy episode, can watch the clip here:

https://7news.com.au/sport/afl/afl-...endons-controversial-edge-strategy-c-14113339

Essendon edge 🤢🤮

Telling Sheeds and Dodoro to clear off would be a start.

just being courteous in case a word triggers any moderators

Of course the Carlton Cohort discusses Essendon, they have a thread dedicated to Essendon on there own board. They live completely unhinged by EFC hence the constant bashing of us
We're not bashing you mate. We're just laughing at you.;):laughv1:

I think they might be botching the rebuild. The cattle hasn't come on as expected. Now their handful of good players will age out before the next crop come through. Some of which aren't even at the club yet. May win a final in the next few years but won't win a flag for atleast 10

Feel sorry for Merrett, super player that doesn't have the cattle around him

I actually think Brad Scott is a good coach in preplanning (has no plan b on gameday though), but it was just funny watching Bombers fans realise they were going to be stuck with a coach they'd been potting for years.
The good thing for Essendon there is that they got a Scott twin as coach.

The bad thing was that it was the Scott twin who presided over a decades worth of mediocrity at the Roos, as opposed to the other fella who coached Geelong to those flags.:laughv1:

Roast Essendon in no mans land