Essendon District FL U/16's 2014

Just want to say good luck to all the fellas that got picked up by the cannons or jets and I also want to wish the teams playing this week the best of luck.
Tips:
Division 1: Abers, West Coburg and Douttas will finish the home and away season on a real high.
Division 2: I tip Oak Park, Glenroy, Marby, Roxy and AH to get a win this week
Division 3: Douttas, Pacco and Westy will all get up this week in div 3
Finals fever is approaching and an awesome few weeks lay ahead I reckon.
Cheers

I think there will be some close games in all divisions my tips and players to watch in div 1&2 are....
This will surely be a close finals series for all teams involved

Div 1
Keillor over west coburg by 23pts
Doutas over abbers by 10pts
Premiers- DOUTAS look to have the best team all year round consistently but in finals abbers and Keilor will give them a good run for their money
Smokey- Keilor despite a lower finish Keillor is known to perform in finals

Keillor- D.venables, J.koroneos, B.vuk, M.moustafa, R.bagaric, R.caines and A.kokovic
ESDS- B.myers, F.campisi, D.digigilo and J.roumelioties, A.djemil, J.toa and C.bond

Div 2
APW over Glenroy by 14pts
Marby over haddy by 35pts
Premiers- AVONDALE HEIGHTS seem to be to strong against all teams but the others are fast approaching a well deserved week off to overlook their opponents APW v Glenroy
Smokey- AIRPORT WEST been a solid team all year and starting to play some thrilling footy that are knocking of the big sides earning themselves a 3rd place spot and double chance

AVONDALE HEIGHTS- G.abboud, B.robb, J.robb, W.koziaris, J.cutri and J.stowers
AIRPORT WEST- T.muscat, M.mackay, J.tedesco, M.nigro, L.duff and J.Bistisi-Nguyen

Div 3

Westmeadows over pascoe vale comfortably by 30pts
Keilor over Northern saints in a close one by no more then 2 goals
Primers- westmedows shown it all year to strong to experienced I expect a comfortable road to the final
Smokey- Keilor just like their div 1 team Keilor cant to be taken lightly in finals and will surprise many

I think there will be some close games in all divisions my tips and players to watch in div 1&2 are....
This will surely be a close finals series for all teams involved

Div 1
Keillor over west coburg by 23pts
Doutas over abbers by 10pts
Premiers- DOUTAS look to have the best team all year round consistently but in finals abbers and Keilor will give them a good run for their money
Smokey- Keilor despite a lower finish Keillor is known to perform in finals

Keillor- D.venables, J.koroneos, B.vuk, M.moustafa, R.bagaric, R.caines and A.kokovic
ESDS- B.myers, F.campisi, D.digigilo and J.roumelioties, A.djemil, J.toa and C.bond
Regardless of what the result may be in the finals, not sure how someone can come up with this opinion considering Abers lost one game, and dominated Douttas both times they met. Abers clearly the best side all year.

But, its just an opinion.

Only side that will beat abers is themselves.

I agree with both of you fellas, finals definitely bring out some real upsets in all divisions and any team could win their competition. The granny is just around the corner and all u16 games should pull a crowd during the finals series because of the enormous talent out there.

Ok so it's the first week of the finals and in division 1, we have West Coburg taking on Keilor at Leo Dineen Reserve. The big ground will suit Keilor as they are a fast and versatile side, though you can't overlook the strengh and ability of West Coburg. With the likes of Boado, Marino, Cleary, Trovatello, Mancuso, Saad and Careri they will be a huge contender for the flag. Keilor need their A-grade players in Venables, Bagaric, Kocovic, Ahern, Koroneos, McManus, Vuk, Moustafa and Bult to really step it up for them to have a chance. This game is do or die and I think that it is a pretty evenly matched up game, though Keilor is known to perform in finals time. I'd say that it could go either way but Keilor to win by a goal or two.
Douttas + Abers with a weeks rest.
In division 2, we have a couple of cracking games! Firstly we have Airport West and Glenroy with a double chance. These two sides have a very evenly balanced team and players such as Tedesco, Muscat, Mackay and Blythe, Gibson, Nilsson, Cauchi have the ability to turn the game on. The rematch of last Sunday draw will be a hard fought game and I expect Glenroy to get up and play Avondale Heights next week. In the Elim final, I expect Marby to have no problem getting over Hadfield though I could be wrong.
Division 3 have another two close games though Westy and Northern Saints will be too strong for their opponents.

Ok so it's the first week of the finals and in division 1, we have West Coburg taking on Keilor at Leo Dineen Reserve. The big ground will suit Keilor as they are a fast and versatile side, though you can't overlook the strengh and ability of West Coburg. With the likes of Boado, Marino, Cleary, Trovatello, Mancuso, Saad and Careri they will be a huge contender for the flag. Keilor need their A-grade players in Venables, Bagaric, Kocovic, Ahern, Koroneos, McManus, Vuk, Moustafa and Bult to really step it up for them to have a chance. This game is do or die and I think that it is a pretty evenly matched up game, though Keilor is known to perform in finals time. I'd say that it could go either way but Keilor to win by a goal or two.
Douttas + Abers with a weeks rest.
In division 2, we have a couple of cracking games! Firstly we have Airport West and Glenroy with a double chance. These two sides have a very evenly balanced team and players such as Tedesco, Muscat, Mackay and Blythe, Gibson, Nilsson, Cauchi have the ability to turn the game on. The rematch of last Sunday draw will be a hard fought game and I expect Glenroy to get up and play Avondale Heights next week. In the Elim final, I expect Marby to have no problem getting over Hadfield though I could be wrong.
Division 3 have another two close games though Westy and Northern Saints will be too strong for their opponents.

I watched a friends son play for Keilor on the weekend down at Martin reserve. The game was brilliant to watch, very high quality game and such a great ending to the game. Keilor boys were down by more than 5 goals at 3/4 time but at the huddle were still confident they could get up. The Saints were very very good for 3 quarters, but it all stopped. The boys from Keilor banged on goal after goal to win a great game. No 15, for the saints was brilliant kicking 6 goals at FF. I have seen him play twice now, and if he isn't the best kick in U16 level in the EDFL, then I'll go he...Ironically Keilor tried stopping him in the 3rd quarter by putting their best player on him, Spano who himself was BOG and kicked 6 goals to boot. Don't discount Keilor this week against Pascoe Vale, as the boys are playing some great footy.

4 massive games this week:
In division 1, Abers take on the might of the stars in an arch-rival thriller to say the least. The weather is set to look picture perfect yet Goonawarra Reserve (East Sunbury) is a very unpredictable ground and it could blow a gale. Some of the best under 16 footy players going around in the world are playing in this very classy game. The match-ups are very even in this game though the talent coming from Douttas is phenomenal. Though, in saying that Abers have a tight bond within the team and bring each other in the play. Douttas have fell to Abers in the previous two games but you have to ask: Do Abers have anything else to throw at them? Who knows, but I'm expecting huge games from Campisi, Meyers, Caluzzi, Toa, Bond, Fry, Cannolo-Jackson and Digiglio from the stars and Abers also need their gun players in Shaw, Berry, Barba, Crabb, Wade, Pound, Accadia and Williamson to make a statement. I'm expecting a crowd to gather at the venue tomorrow for what should be a ripper game. My tip for this game is a draw.
Division 2 sees another two great games and Marby look to be on a roll and should beat Airport West by a few goals.
Glenroy and Avondale head over to Roxy and are going to settle the scores between them. AH have been too strong on previous occasions yet Glenroy do have a huge chance if they can shut down the twins from Avondale. I'm tipping Glenroy by 9pts and the three votes to go to Blythe from Glenroy.

Watched the game between Abers and Douttas and it wasn't all what it cracked up to be after half-time, Abers getting a pretty easy win. They knew how to run and they just didn't stop. Farrell and Mcdonald were good for Abers and Meyers for Douttas also did very well. I'm not a man that usually says something like this but in a semi final, don't you think we should get better umpires? Hardly any freekicks were given to the stars and I think an Abers supporter would agree with me, not that it matters anymore. But anyways, Avondale Heights were too strong for Glenroy and won by 16 pts. I've been told that the umpires in that game were also giving away silly freekicks more so to the advantage of AH. Marby have held on in an intense game up in Burnside and defeated Airport West by 23 points. And, in division 3, Keilor's second side defied all odds and smashed Pascoe Vale.
3 big games next week and the loser of those games will have to start their preseason all over again. On that note, I want to wish all sides the best of luck.

Not sure what your source is, but I was at the avondale heights vs glenroy game and the umpires gave nothing to avondale heights, glenroy had the rub of the green the whole game. Need better umpires.

Ok my bad, a mate of mine's son plays in that Glenroy squad and he's told me that the umpires were shit. Anyhow, the umpires aren't up to scratch, even though the supporters can be a little fussy, they need to make the right call in any play or just simply let it go which would be the better alternative in under 16's footy.

Not sure what your source is, but I was at the avondale heights vs glenroy game and the umpires gave nothing to avondale heights, glenroy had the rub of the green the whole game. Need better umpires.
most of the 1st half glenroy where first to the ball umpires protected players who were first in then in the second half avondale heights i thought were first in for the ball and started to get more free kicks besides one or two bad decisions the umpires where very consistant the robb boys where terrific ran loose in the second half .avondale heights just a little bit too strong for the glenroy side

Watched the game between Abers and Douttas and it wasn't all what it cracked up to be after half-time, Abers getting a pretty easy win. They knew how to run and they just didn't stop. Farrell and Mcdonald were good for Abers and Meyers for Douttas also did very well. I'm not a man that usually says something like this but in a semi final, don't you think we should get better umpires? Hardly any freekicks were given to the stars and I think an Abers supporter would agree with me, not that it matters anymore.

I was at the game as a neutral watcher. Umpiers did a good job, and when taking into account their age, were actually very mature, and at no stage were influenced by supporters. It was a very good open game to watch.

Aberfeldie have now comprehensively beaten Douttas all 3 times they have met, ive seen two of those games, and they are far better coached and their structure after half time was a lot better then the more talented Douttas.

which leads me to say, if the douttas coach didnt spend the whole game whinging about the umpiers, and actually coached his players, it would have been a different result. Douttas on paper a better side. And i feel for the players that have come from other clubs to play with them as they have missed a year of development.

Was farcical in the last qtr watching him argue with the 10yr old abers kids behind the goals who wouldnt return the ball quickly, as his side lost all direction on field. I was hoping Douttas would mount a fight back, but can now see why they fell apart.

I was at the game as a neutral watcher. Umpiers did a good job, and when taking into account their age, were actually very mature, and at no stage were influenced by supporters. It was a very good open game to watch.

Aberfeldie have now comprehensively beaten Douttas all 3 times they have met, ive seen two of those games, and they are far better coached and their structure after half time was a lot better then the more talented Douttas.

which leads me to say, if the douttas coach didnt spend the whole game whinging about the umpiers, and actually coached his players, it would have been a different result. Douttas on paper a better side. And i feel for the players that have come from other clubs to play with them as they have missed a year of development.

Was farcical in the last qtr watching him argue with the 10yr old abers kids behind the goals who wouldnt return the ball quickly, as his side lost all direction on field. I was hoping Douttas would mount a fight back, but can now see why they fell apart.

My son was coached last year by the present Douttas coach. He was able to win a flag on the back of his coaching only loosing one game. My son has developed into a good footballer as a result of his coaching and has recently played premier division games at the age of 16. He also coached my boy in rep footy where they won the division 1 vic metro title. You need to look further than just one or two games before you start drawing inferences on a coaches ability.

There must be something wrong with douttas because with the amount of quality players they have and not to have Beaten aberfieldie in 3 attempts says either they are overrated or that aberfieldie is underrated. Or it's the coaching that's the problem, but I'm not writing them off at the moment, can still win the priemership.

"Neutral Watcher???" You're kidding aren't you. You're the same bloke who was on here last year canning Douttas and now you're doing under a different handle. If you have nothing half decent to say, do us a favour and say nothing. The rest of us on here don't want to see you're bitter, vindictive posts.
As far as the coach goes, I agree with Spartan, our Premier Grade side have blooded 4 16 year olds this year on the back of his coaching over the last 2 years and in the Div 1 Vic Metro Champion side before that. If that's missing out on development then you're clearly jaded.
Let's give credit to Abers though. This group has been dominating the competition every second year since they were Under 10. They are almost as good as that Keilor side that won so many flags. They are a very talented group and extremely well coached. Don't undersell them by canning the opposing coach.
Looking forward to next week now and if we play our cards right might get another crack at them in a few weeks.

My son was coached last year by the present Douttas coach. He was able to win a flag on the back of his coaching only loosing one game. My son has developed into a good footballer as a result of his coaching and has recently played premier division games at the age of 16. He also coached my boy in rep footy where they won the division 1 vic metro title. You need to look further than just one or two games before you start drawing inferences on a coaches ability.
yeah fair point. hopefully sunday was the one game for the year where he wasnt concentrating on the game, because id hate to think he whinges like that every game, especially from a rep coach?

It was the first final so after a big build up and week off might have got to Douttas. Looking forward to a good rematch hopefully.

Hopefully the coach actually coaches, and Douttas worry about their own structures instead of umpiring, otherwise it will be another thumping. That is of couse if Douttas beat Keilor. I hope they do as the best two teams deserve to go head to head.

"Neutral Watcher???" You're kidding aren't you. You're the same bloke who was on here last year canning Douttas and now you're doing under a different handle. If you have nothing half decent to say, do us a favour and say nothing. The rest of us on here don't want to see you're bitter, vindictive posts.
As far as the coach goes, I agree with Spartan, our Premier Grade side have blooded 4 16 year olds this year on the back of his coaching over the last 2 years and in the Div 1 Vic Metro Champion side before that. If that's missing out on development then you're clearly jaded.
Let's give credit to Abers though. This group has been dominating the competition every second year since they were Under 10. They are almost as good as that Keilor side that won so many flags. They are a very talented group and extremely well coached. Don't undersell them by canning the opposing coach.
Looking forward to next week now and if we play our cards right might get another crack at them in a few weeks.
sorry mate, you got me confused with someone else.

i was actually barracking for Douttas in the last qtr as i waanted to see a close game. Head him talk during the break and he was pretty good. Just dont like people who yell at junior umpiers which he was doing, and the EDFL guys picked it up as well. Hopefully someone relays this back to him. Unless you think he wasnt out of line, in which case we have a different issue.

There must be something wrong with douttas because with the amount of quality players they have and not to have Beaten aberfieldie in 3 attempts says either they are overrated or that aberfieldie is underrated. Or it's the coaching that's the problem, but I'm not writing them off at the moment, can still win the priemership.
anyone else notice the size difference between the two? I thought Douttas would be too strong in a final.
Abers much smaller which suited them once the game opened up.

Completely out of character and probably just one of those days as he is indeed a great coach who doesn't deserve to have his name tarnished, again, on an internet forum off the back of one game.

More credit needs to be given to Aberfeldie. Anyone who watched their 14s last year would know they'd have a very good side this year. If they're beating this Douttas side, 3 times no less, then they'd be doing it because of the fact they are a better team with quite possibly a bit more depth.

One things for sure, I'll be heading out to Keilor Park to watch the game against Keilor, although a game at Lakeside Reserve comes first. Should be a beauty.

This batch of Abers 16's have been a standout group right through their age groups. Good kids and very well coached. All about belief in themselves which comes from within and reinforced by the coaching staff...as good as you will see anywhere on both fronts

Not much being said about the "home" preliminary final for Keilor in both the 14's & 16's.

Douttas taking on Keilor at Keilor Park Reserve, just a quick question and I know that the stars beat them comfortably last time at this ground, but isn't it an advantage to Keilor? At least play it somewhere else, not that hard don't you reckon?

Very odd. Right on their back door. Thought there might have been something a bit more neutral available.

Essendon District FL U/16's 2014