Smith
McSweeney/Konstas
Webster
Connelly
Carey
Boland/Starc (only playing 1 quick)
Lyon
Kuhnemann

The last 2 or 3 games. Stop flogging this dead horse. It's done.
Maxwell could not play the early shield games because of Australian commitments and then got a hamstring injury in his last white ball game. Test cricket days are over, need to bring some young blokes in which the selectors have done.Not sure about Connelly but hope the boy does well and gets the opportunity to play a test.

You're 100% right, Kuhnemann gets a massive benefit from offering some variety, especially when factoring in that Webster is also bowling right arm offies when he's off the short run.

I guess, despite his likely status as a batting allrounder, I don't see Kuhnemann playing ahead of Connolly... and while I staunchly disbelieve that you "play for the future" in test cricket, and think you always play your best 11...

Well, we're already qualified for the test world championships. I don't think there should be a scenario in which he plays ahead of Connolly. With not heaps on the line? If an opportunity exists, just this once, put that game into the future prospect that we have confidence in.

If we're ignoring their Shield records, I think Zampa might've been the safest of options, he's obviously proven at international level. And I don't think that's a juxtaposition with what I've just said.
White ball international experience doesn't always translate well to red ball. Brad Hogg, Xavier Doherty etc.

I hope they don't put Connolly in ahead of Kuhnemann...I rate his tweakers but not in the test arena just yet. He's barely bowled at FC level.

Its a 2 Test series against a crap side, just back the best XI, if thats not enough a makeshift XI won't be.

Assuming they take a 15 man squad, I'd pick.

1. Konstas
2. Khawaja
3. Labuschagne
4. Smith
5. Head
6. Webster
7. Carey
8. Starc
9. Kuhnemann
10. Lyon
11. Boland

12. Inglis
13. Murphy
14. Richardson
15. Connolly

Steve Smith (c), Sean Abbott, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cooper Connolly, Travis Head (vc), Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Sam Konstas, Matt Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Nathan McSweeney, Todd Murphy, Mitchell Starc, Beau Webster

I pretty much nailed it bar McSweeney and Abbott and they seen no value in a replacement quick.

White ball international experience doesn't always translate well to red ball. Brad Hogg, Xavier Doherty etc.

I hope they don't put Connolly in ahead of Kuhnemann...I rate his tweakers but not in the test arena just yet. He's barely bowled at FC level.

would you entertain the idea of playing connolly if we went left field and fielded an XI like this:

6. Webster
7. Connolly/Carey
8. Connolly/Carey
9/10/11 - 1 quick, Lyon & Kuhnemann

And it wasn't my suggestion or my belief that Zampa would come in and suddenly be the second coming of Warney.

But if we're talking about squad players, looking at their first class/list A results, and considering who has a higher ceiling, that's Zampa to me over Kuhnemann.

Well the bbl got konstats the gig the innings for the thunder
Mate not surprise me as George Bailey only excelled in one format, white ball. If the selectors are fair dinkum the kid has to be picked on the strength of his dual shield centuries. Did you see them. Not one T20 trick shot that I recall.
McSweeney/Konstas
Konstas deserves first dibs as he is the only incumbent of the pair. If Ussie fails then Kid Kon back to open and Sween in his place for the second.
Abbott I don't get - he's not test quality.
Sentimental reasons. CA has a soft spot for him due to a certain tragedy. At least that is my opinion.

I’m not a fan of Sean Abbott in general. I think he’s a fine bowler and that’s it.

But I don’t get the groaning on here about his selection. He’s basically a nets bowler. At the most we play two seamers. Rather him carry the drinks than the younger/injured guys who can play some more shield instead.

At this stage, we don't know if he's playing or not.

Either way, he'd get more benefit being around the Australian set up IMO.
Agree, and this is something I don't get.
I constantly hear people say a player is better off playing Domestic cricket, rather in the Australian squad, learning and mixing with experienced Test cricketers.

The step up from Domestic to International cricket is enormous, and the experience gained by just being in a Test squad, is far greater than playing a Shield game.

At this stage, we don't know if he's playing or not.

Either way, he'd get more benefit being around the Australian set up IMO.
Always found this a myth.
I mean congratulations you have been selected to let's say play
A. In Jan a 20 20 game and play in front of 20k in a moderate stakes comp
B You've been selected to play for your state in 1st class cricket in feb
C Your no chance of playing but have been selected to run batting gloves out to Steve Smith every 2nd over and gatorade out after every wicket for Australia
Players should only be selected if a realistic chance of playing. Otherwise it's a waste of time.

Given the squad and nature of conditions I'd go a horses for courses selection and go
Konstas
Head
Connelly
Smith
Mcsweeny
Webster
Inglis
Starc
Lyon
Murphy
Khunerman
C Your no chance of playing but have been selected to run batting gloves out to Steve Smith every 2nd over and gatorade out after every wicket for Australia
Players should only be selected if a realistic chance of playing. Otherwise it's a waste of time.

You don't know a single thing about cricket, hey? (Or you're a troll who got me?)

K
Agree, and this is something I don't get.
I constantly hear people say a player is better off playing Domestic cricket, rather in the Australian squad, learning and mixing with experienced Test cricketers.

The step up from Domestic to International cricket is enormous, and the experience gained by just being in a Test squad, is far greater than playing a Shield game.

Swepson really went to that next level when he barely played a game for 2 years to run gloves 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

I'd go a horses for courses selection
You mean because half that top 6 bowl part time spin or can play competent spin?
Connolly is yet to take a first class wicket, besides doubt he'll play, more for experience being around some former great cricketers. Sween bowls acceptable finger spin, as does Webster, but Bailey says he will likely only bowl pace. Trav will roll over the arm for a few. As for players of spin, Smith is our best, Ussie had a good last Indian tour, Marnus and Carey passable. Kid Kon is untried but may turn out better than all of them. Has good footwork and soft hands.

Play the three spinners. Then during the first test, fly Swepson over as concussion reserve (as technically Connolly would be the reserve spinner)

Perhaps he is a realistic chance of playing.
Did you think of that?

Test (Early) Sri Lanka tour squad predictions