Draft Winners and Losers

Your list has been absolutely smashed because none of your decent players want to play for the club and you’ve been forced to gamble on kids.
Or
The List management team have planned for this year from a long way out as a rebuild..I dunno like from seeing the U/16 Rep footy season.
21 players outve contract at the start of the season, Bolton laying it out two years ago that he would want to raise his family near his own so we signed him to a seven year deal try o maximise a future trade.
Baker is a really good footballer and gets the best outve himself but from WA and bought a house there this year in April.
A 5”8 rookie drafted Back flanker for pick 12.
Rioli, 28yr old next season a free wheeling Back flanker who probably wouldn’t contend for a flag with us again for 6 and 23.
Jack Graham…one of our best footballers?
C’mon mate.

We’ve seen this year coming from a fair way out.
A draft and list with nearly as many top picks and young talent as GC 2010. And we know what a champion side that turned out to be.
Geez.
Comparing a bundled together startup recruitment team with a bloke who has been at our club for 15 years recruiting players who have won 3 Premierships.
Worthwhile comment mate. 👍

This was a superdraft
Dunno bout super draft but it’s deep… 2001 is probably where the term came from.
Alotve Captains in that Draft.

If anything I think Richmond actually lost the draft. At almost every position they picked the worse of available options.

Pick #1 - I think Jagga Smith was the clear better pick here, Richmond need a 300 game player who will be the core of their side for years, Lalor has more question marks.
Pick #7 - This was ripe to trade up into the top 5 and grab one of Lalor, O'Sullivan, Draper or Langford to partner with Jagga, I don't rate Smilie as being on this level and think he's likely overvalued due to his size. I think they missed the trick by not doing the trade.
Pick #12 - Taj Hotton, rarely does the player who missed their 18s with a serious injury perform at the elite elite level. Joel Selwood might be one of the few examples across the last two decades. I think this selection was a reach.

I must admit I didn't focus too much on the talls this years as I was looking primarily into the midfielders with those players being the target of Carlton's pick #3 but I have serious questions about the talent of key position players who fall to #14, #21 and #23 in a midfield heavy draft. If they were any good they would have been automatic Top #5 options for teams like North and the Saints - I don't know much about them but they scream Matthew Watson, Pat McCarthy and Luke Mitchell to me more than they scream Roughead and Buddy or Curnow and McKay

Big call but I think we'll look back on this draft as one of the worst nights in Richmond's history. The night that could put them at the bottom of the ladder for a decade.
Sam Taylor.

I love the blues fans saying we made a mistake not taking Jagga. The kid is a Richmond junior, a Richmond local, a Richmond supporter, played 3 games for our VFL side and we STILL decided to overlook him. Then we decided it was not worth trading up for pick 2 even though North was dead keen and we had the picks to do it easily. And even then, if we had have got pick 2, we would've taken FOS ahead of him.

Might be something in that.....

I love the blues fans saying we made a mistake not taking Jagga. The kid is a Richmond junior, a Richmond local, a Richmond supporter, played 3 games for our VFL side and we STILL decided to overlook him. Then we decided it was not worth trading up for pick 2 even though North was dead keen and we had the picks to do it easily. And even then, if we had have got pick 2, we would've taken FOS ahead of him.

Jagga barracked for Collingwood.

Anyway nobody knows what will happen in the future. These threads are full of people that know SFA about the players and how they will develop.

What I am happy about is the size of the guys we have. 5 out of the 8 are 194cm plus but still pretty agile. Lalor from all reports is now almost 190cm. This gives us a chance at being a powerful side. The other 2 are super quick and are great overhead for their size.

I was getting sick of getting skinny flankers for so many years. At least we will have substance.

Or
The List management team have planned for this year from a long way out as a rebuild..I dunno like from seeing the U/16 Rep footy season.
21 players outve contract at the start of the season, Bolton laying it out two years ago that he would want to raise his family near his own so we signed him to a seven year deal try o maximise a future trade.
Baker is a really good footballer and gets the best outve himself but from WA and bought a house there this year in April.
A 5”8 rookie drafted Back flanker for pick 12.
Rioli, 28yr old next season a free wheeling Back flanker who probably wouldn’t contend for a flag with us again for 6 and 23.
Jack Graham…one of our best footballers?
C’mon mate.

We’ve seen this year coming from a fair way out.

Geez.
Comparing a bundled together startup recruitment team with a bloke who has been at our club for 15 years recruiting players who have won 3 Premierships.
Worthwhile comment mate. 👍

Dunno bout super draft but it’s deep… 2001 is probably where the term came from.
Alotve Captains in that Draft.
If your club 'saw' this year coming a way out, then how does that explains the Taranto/Hopper acquisitions, or your club president having a dig at those leaving?

Baker would've been the only one they'd have had an inkling would be leaving. You don't offer 7 year deals to players, thinking they'll leave in 2 to 'maximise' a return, sorry.

He went for the Pies genius.

If your club 'saw' this year coming a way out, then how does that explains the Taranto/Hopper acquisitions, or your club president having a dig at those leaving?

Baker would've been the only one they'd have had an inkling would be leaving. You don't offer 7 year deals to players, thinking they'll leave in 2 to 'maximise' a return, sorry.
We’ve got two big body’s in the midfield…funnily enough at the end of 2022 that are on a fixed payment for the next 5 years in Taranto and Hopper.

Our President thanked Broad for choosing to stay when he accepted his award at the BnF.
Your taking it for a walk.

Freo where pretty happy to pick up Bolton’s 5 year contract and gave us 10,11,18.

It had to be alot for us to consider trading a player we had contracted for 7 years in 2022 and would have been a lesser offer if he was on a one year contract.

How’s Marty Clarke working out for you guys?

Big surprise you picked up Bo Allen,
what a mastermind move that was.

Our draft could not have been better even if we offered North 27, f2 and Samson Ryan for their future 1st.

Your list has been absolutely smashed because none of your decent players want to play for the club and you’ve been forced to gamble on kids.

North desperately wanted a KPP and will finish higher than bottom four next year so wanted to cash in and get a year into a player and you got lucky with right place, right time not Hartley “not blinking”.

Fixed it for you. Richmond made the best of a shit situation but the lengths you’ve gone to a spin a positive and intentional narrative are outrageous.
lol

We have set ourselves up to rebuild and re contend in record time

This trade and draft period was the greatest and most transformative in the history of the AFL

In one period of 6 weeks, we have given our fans hope, and brought in 8 1st round draft picks of talent , in addition we have 2 top 5 draft picks locked in for next year

Oppo fans can snicker all they want, but we Richmond fans can see it for what it is, the buildings blocks for next dynasty

Blair Hartley needs a statue, could not have done any better, legendary stuff

We’ve got two big body’s in the midfield…funnily enough at the end of 2022 that are on a fixed payment for the next 5 years in Taranto and Hopper.

Our President thanked Broad for choosing to stay when he accepted his award at the BnF.
Your taking it for a walk.

Freo where pretty happy to pick up Bolton’s 5 year contract and gave us 10,11,18.

It had to be alot for us to consider trading a player we had contracted for 7 years in 2022 and would have been a lesser offer if he was on a one year contract.

How’s Marty Clarke working out for you guys?

Big surprise you picked up Bo Allen,
what a mastermind move that was.
Lol, your club did not 'see' anything happening when you traded for Taranto and Hopper, other than another shot at success, before Hardwick abandoned ship just a few months later.

Please stop huffing the copium.

Seriously? Taranto and Hopper were decided upon sometime early in 2022. Dimma was still our coach.
Fast forward to early 2024 and the club is entirely different. Yze is our coach. Dusty is contemplating retirement. Bolton had been in discussions with the club about going home at some point. So too Baker although he had already told them he was leaving. Rioli came a bit later.
So the club knew early that at least 2 of the players were leaving and their destination clubs had the necessary picks (especially Freo). They knew that these very good players were unlikely to see another flag and thus decided to rebuild quickly knowing Tassie would bring compromises to the 2026/7 drafts.

Brilliant thinking by the absolute best in the business, Blair Hartley.

Seriously? Taranto and Hopper were decided upon sometime early in 2022. Dimma was still our coach.
Fast forward to early 2024 and the club is entirely different. Yze is our coach. Dusty is contemplating retirement. Bolton had been in discussions with the club about going home at some point. So too Baker although he had already told them he was leaving. Rioli came a bit later.
So the club knew early that at least 2 of the players were leaving and their destination clubs had the necessary picks (especially Freo). They knew that these very good players were unlikely to see another flag and thus decided to rebuild quickly knowing Tassie would bring compromises to the 2026/7 drafts.

the real winners are Richmond. No one can deny that.. Getting the draft hand they got and how they got them is magic akin to what Adrian Dodoro should have done 7 years ago

well done 👏 👏 👏

Did you read the original post I quoted? Bloke reckons Richmond 'planned' this from the U16s season, which would be what, 3 years ago?

So if they 'planned this 3 years ago, they wouldn't have gone out and given away first rounders for Taranto and Hopper, nor would they have been blindsided when Hardwick abruptly quit.

Passing off making the best of a bad situation as some kind of 'master plan' is laughable.

lol

We have set ourselves up to rebuild and re contend in record time

This trade and draft period was the greatest and most transformative in the history of the AFL

In one period of 6 weeks, we have given our fans hope, and brought in 8 1st round draft picks of talent , in addition we have 2 top 5 draft picks locked in for next year

Oppo fans can snicker all they want, but we Richmond fans can see it for what it is, the buildings blocks for next dynasty

Blair Hartley needs a statue, could not have done any better, legendary stuff

Calm down.

You are coming off of the worst base in history.

Yes, that includes the likes of Melbourne, Carlton, North etc.

You traded 4 of your best players, retired the rest.

Jack Ross, Josh Gibcus off an ACL, Kane McCauliff and Jack Ross is about the extent of the talent on Richmonds list under 25 besides those drafted a few days ago.

You needed about 8 first rounds picks to even be categorized as an AFL average.

The premiers have added what amounts to two top 3 picks in the last 3 seasons as an example.

We will see how many supporters are calling Blair a genius in round 10.

Calm down.

You are coming off of the worst base in history.

Yes, that includes the likes of Melbourne, Carlton, North etc.

You traded 4 of your best players, retired the rest.

Jack Ross, Josh Gibcus off an ACL, Kane McCauliff and Jack Ross is about the extent of the talent on Richmonds list under 25 besides those drafted a few days ago.

You needed about 8 first rounds picks to even be categorized as an AFL average.

The premiers have added what amounts to two top 3 picks in the last 3 seasons as an example.

We will see how many supporters are calling Blair a genius in round 10.
Jack Ross is also a shit footballer

Well, that was my point really.

There's nobody of substance outside of this group they have just drafted.

Balta might be around when they push up the ladder again, but that was a mistake re-signing him in my opinion.

If they are going all in on this, the smarter option would have been pushing him to Band 1 and getting Pick 1&2 (As well as North's F1) next year.

Did you read the original post I quoted? Bloke reckons Richmond 'planned' this from the U16s season, which would be what, 3 years ago?

So if they 'planned this 3 years ago, they wouldn't have gone out and given away first rounders for Taranto and Hopper, nor would they have been blindsided when Hardwick abruptly quit.

Passing off making the best of a bad situation as some kind of 'master plan' is laughable.
I got no doubt they would’ve thought that this year was draft had alotve talent from watching the U/16 2 years ago just like North would know that there isn’t the Key position players in the top ten of next draft.

Well, that was my point really.

There's nobody of substance outside of this group they have just drafted.

Balta might be around when they push up the ladder again, but that was a mistake re-signing him in my opinion.

If they are going all in on this, the smarter option would have been pushing him to Band 1 and getting Pick 1&2 (As well as North's F1) next year.
Shame North didn’t have you in the Football dept last 10 yrs

Draft Winners and Losers