Opinion Dogs and Horses - The Racing Thread

Savaglee looks like he's frightened everyone off at Trentham with a few choosing Ellerslie on Sunday instead. And it is a bit of a hike to Wellington.

I cannot see Hankee Alpha nom'd anywhere. Perhaps they're keeping her fresh for the Almanzor on Karaka night to take on Poetic Champion. It trialled the other day. Just ran around at the back with Masa sitting quiet as a mouse

Unleash the Beast in the blackbook and coming soon.
Any thoughts?
Cheers S
Road trip to the West Coast. Interesting choice. Fairly tight turning track with 250m straight.

Not sure it would have been my choice (bigger Riccarton track over 1600m being the alternative) but they've bumped him to 1800m after his first start at 1400m. Distance won't be an issue.

Maybe the runway is a bit short but I'll be backing him. In the meantime they've nominated him for the NZ Derby over 2400m in March. 🤔Maybe they read this thread🤣

Sunday looks like a good watch Day. UTB at Kumara (Saturday) and Orchestral resumes at Ellerslie in a very small field over 1400m next day. Gives the impression that she's a summer/autumn girl....don't know what Spring ever did to her. Doubt she's at a backable price though and distance well short of her best carrying weight.

Thought Yaldi was good winning last start and lines up again at Ellerslie. Won like he could be anything on debut, stumbled in Aus, has subsequently warmed up again last couple of starts. Looks a solid e/w.

Annoyingly, it's in my black book but went against it in favour of the second horse🙄
Was on Perfect Dividends although didn't see the 5 length margin and a leg in the air coming....
I have had a few horses with C Isdale , so had a little insight as to what to expect.
Most horses of Clinton’s are trained as on speed horses.
They need to be able to do it at both ends, so you really need to wait until they are well conditioned and ready .

Everything lined up for her yesterday. I am very reluctant to tip horses to anyone, but was confident she was a huge chance and a good thing for first 3.
Was hoping some of my BF brothers and sisters had a little collect.

I have had a few horses with C Isdale , so had a little insight as to what to expect.
Most horses of Clinton’s are trained as on speed horses.
They need to be able to do it at both ends, so you really need to wait until they are well conditioned and ready .

Everything lined up for her yesterday. I am very reluctant to tip horses to anyone, but was confident she was a huge chance and a good thing for first 3.
Was hoping some of my BF brothers and sisters had a little collect.
You've spread yourself around the trainers over there🤣. Good thing is many more of them will travel these days if they have a good/promising one.

I watched UTBs first trial as a l8 2yold for fun. 😲 he was never in picture. Missed the start by 15....
Next trial better and the 5 he missed by at Kurow an improvement on that first trial.

Tight turning Kumara makes me nervous for his prospects. Miss the kick and it's all uphill from there.

However, he's getting my 5 bucks on the nose (currently 10:1) and 🤞Leah kicks him up and he sits on terms. Can't run the sectionals he did at Kurow and be hopeless

Off to fabulous Flemington tomorrow, my mate is involved with the fav in the first.

Anyone got any good oil for an old Bulldog ?

Xarpo should win again, but the $2-30 is not great value.

( Dont tell anybody SP, but the stable are pretty confident )

Went one too many this prep.
A full second slower than her win 10 days ago.
Straight to the paddock now.
She’s a very nice filly with a lot more physical development in her.

Expect a bigger stronger horse next time in.

Yeah that cross with Savabeel just hasn't worked ... how often could you say that ... but Super Seth:whitecheck:

If the one in the catalogue is a filly I'd probably keep it and try to iron out the kink in the next cross.

Very good mare that Suavito. Adding to probably the best broodmare band in the country although Cambridge Stud have had the cheque book out too.

I'm sacking Mad Max. Well named it seems. Mad! The busted fought the jockey for the first 1000m and was gone before the turn
Hey NW, I've got a mate trying to talk me into a share of a Super Seth yearling and I'm 90% sold. Would love to get your thoughts (and anyone else).

The dam is O'Pristine, an O'Reilly mare (seems to be a good cross so far, interesting Zabeel cross).

I'm no expert, but looks a well put together, powerful young filly to my eye, possibly more sprinterish/precocious than breeding suggests?

Is being offered by the Hayes yard, can see more details on their website (lindsaypark.com.au horses available section).

Only sold for $120k at MM sales which seems a little on the cheap side?

Hey NW, I've got a mate trying to talk me into a share of a Super Seth yearling and I'm 90% sold. Would love to get your thoughts (and anyone else).

The dam is O'Pristine, an O'Reilly mare (seems to be a good cross so far, interesting Zabeel cross).

I'm no expert, but looks a well put together, powerful young filly to my eye, possibly more sprinterish/precocious than breeding suggests?

Is being offered by the Hayes yard, can see more details on their website (lindsaypark.com.au horses available section).

Good sort of filly , not over priced.
The Hayes boys know how to identify horses, you can be sure this filly has vetted ok and ticks the boxes confirmation wise.
They are a great organisation.
Super Seth, it’s hoped will take the place of Savabeel in the coming years.
He is doing a good job so far. And OReilly mares have the runs on the board.

Good luck mate if you go ahead.

By the way , I have taken a share in lot 438 ( Price/ Kent stable )
so see you in the mounting yard on the Gold Coast next year 😜

Good sort of filly , not over priced.
The Hayes boys know how to identify horses, you can be sure this filly has vetted ok and ticks the boxes confirmation wise.
They are a great organisation.
Super Seth, it’s hoped will take the place of Savabeel in the coming years.
He is doing a good job so far. And OReilly mares have the runs on the board.

Good luck mate if you go ahead.

By the way , I have taken a share in lot 438 ( Price/ Kent stable )
so see you in the mounting yard on the Gold Coast next year 😜
Thanks for that KH, really appreciate it. Reckon I'm 99% in now.

Hi Bob

Apologies, I'm very late to this party. Life gets in the way of important things like pedigrees and the like sometimes.

Anyway, I concur pretty much with what Harold has said. Looks like a very nice type. Strong and well balanced. Nice head.

Good dam sires on the bottom line pedigree wise. Solid black type and group performers in the pedigree makes the price about right and the Hayes boys can pick 'em.

The pedigree page is just waiting for that Group 1 performer to take it to the next (price) level. Maybe this girl is it! I wish you every success if you went through with it.

Hi Bob

Apologies, I'm very late to this party. Life gets in the way of important things like pedigrees and the like sometimes.

Anyway, I concur pretty much with what Harold has said. Looks like a very nice type. Strong and well balanced. Nice head.

Good dam sires on the bottom line pedigree wise. Solid black type and group performers in the pedigree makes the price about right and the Hayes boys can pick 'em.

The pedigree page is just waiting for that Group 1 performer to take it to the next (price) level. Maybe this girl is it! I wish you every success if you went through with it.
Thanks for the feedback NW, appreciate it.

Looks like I'll take a small percentage of that Super Seth filly, as well as a second Lindsay Park filly.

The other one doesn't appeal as much to me as a type, but the breeding wowed me.

It's by Palace Pier out of an unraced dam who had a fair set of parents (Snitzel-Alinghi).

Thanks for the feedback NW, appreciate it.

Looks like I'll take a small percentage of that Super Seth filly, as well as a second Lindsay Park filly.

The other one doesn't appeal as much to me as a type, but the breeding wowed me.

It's by Palace Pier out of an unraced dam who had a fair set of parents (Snitzel-Alinghi).

Can see why you are wowed by the pedigree, Alinghi was an absolute superstar.
You have to think the dam will leave something good !

A bit of development left to go for this filly, maybe not an early 2 yr old ?

But 2 nice horses to look forward to, let’s hope there are some group races in them down the track.

Keep us informed of their progress if that is ok with you ?

Hankee Alpha lining up at Ellerslie on Saturday Harold. And you won't have to wait long to get a look at her. Race 1! Looking forward to your mounting yard appraisal.

Your on mate , I should be still coherent at that stage.
I have an invite to the NZB piss up —— oops , cocktail party, so things may be a little fuzzy as the night progresses 🤪🍺

Weather looking a little dodgy

Your on mate , I should be still coherent at that stage.
I have an invite to the NZB piss up —— oops , cocktail party, so things may be a little fuzzy as the night progresses 🤪🍺

Weather looking a little dodgy
I'll be having my own Karaka night/arvo here in Melbourne. All I was missing was mounting yard intel. Problem solved! I can see though that I'm going to have to start early 🍺 because you'll be 2 hours ahead and I'll need to be on the same wave length🤣

Just had a look at the form for R1 ,
Hankee Alpha has a sticky gate for 1200 at Ellerslie.
Sometimes you just have to take your medicine when drawn wide.
That big long bend comes pretty quick and you can find yourself in no man’s land.

The Cambridge horse may offer some value ?
Green as grass as a beaten favourite last start, but if they can settle her, she could run into the first 3.

Opinion Dogs and Horses - The Racing Thread