Dockers not welcome in Tasmania

Everyone keeps forgetting one thing...Fremantle draw poorly in Melbourne, therefore they play in Tasmania, pretty simple really.

Hawthorn have their quota of games in Tasmania and play the poorer drawing interstate clubs there regularly......don't know why they played Richmond down there though, must have been something to do with giving back to the fans a decent game.

As long as Hawthorn want to make money they will play Freo down there.....imagine the 22k at the MCG (lucky to get that) this season....lol

Tasmania should not get picky, they have a pretty smallish stadium to hold any other matches besides Haw v Port and Haw v Fremantle........there is no other clubs that draw more poorly then those two in Melbourne (all things being equal).

Obi-Haive said:
I find it an insult that Tassies substandard footy ground has caused possibly the biggest controversy this year in football (Gardiner & Cousins aside) yet the premier still see's fit to make demands, while insulting one of the few clubs club that will actually play there and support them.

Oh the arrogance - and this coming from a West Coast supporter! :p

Far Cough!

Substandard Footy Ground - Its the best going around

Siren is a different matter, dont bag the ground!

Dont you think that a Government that has so far chucked in $2.5 mill could possibly get some sort of say how that money is spent

With the amount of games Freo play down here, they may as well relocate!

The Dockers are no longer welcome at Launceston's Aurora Stadium, with Tasmanian Premier Paul Lennon lobbying to exclude the team because of poor attendances.

Fremantle has won just one of six games at Aurora Stadium since 2002 and accounts for the venue's five worst-attended games. It has attracted average crowds of 14,470 — 2925 fewer than games not involving the Dockers.

This is one of the most pathetic things I've heard this year.

Simple solution, move the Launceston games to Canberra - the ACT look like they want AFL more than Tasmania

Howard Littlejohn said:
Didn't they get just over 22,000 last Hawthorn game?
20,971 - and from where I was sitting (East Stand) I doubt you could fit too many more in.
It would probably have public safety capacity of around 21,200.

I don't know why people are getting all sooky over anything Paul Lennon says, he and his government are the biggest bunch of arrogant pricks out, so it's par for the course really.

Given that the Lennon Government are underwriting these games at Aurora Stadium, I'm just wondering whether they are making losses on Freo games there with the lesser attendances?

It shouldn't bother the Dockers in any case, they don't want to play there, Freo have virtually no following in the state, makes more sense for them to get experience on Melbourne grounds for possible finals appearances.

we will still go there.

we dont like them they dont like us.

It is a hate based apon statistics but we are not expected to fill the stadium, that is for Hawthorn fans and tassie football lovers.

Petergm said:
I suppose you have never been to Tassie???

If so, maybe you check it out before calling Aurora Stadium sub standard because I reckon it is a great faciliy.

I've been to Tassie and to Aurora. Love the country side and the general surrounds of the state.

However, Aurora "stadium" is hardly that... I kept on expecting to hear car horns bleating every time the Hawks kicked a goal. I wasn't surprised with the whole sirengate fiasco.

But any way, that wasn't the true intention of my post. I am questioning why it's 4 interstaters that always have to travel there. Sure they don't get huge attendances in Melbourne but as I said earlier, shouldn't the eveness of the competition be held higher than putting money in the bank. I know it isn't and that I may be living in a fools paradise but in the fairness and integrity of the game the AFL should really be looking at making the draw more even in terms of travel.

Especially now with AFL House virtually bursting at the seams with coin.

If Lennon wants large crowds at Aurora, start sending the Pies and Essendon down there for a few games. At least then we don't have this ridiculous circumstance where some teams travel for half the season while others travel for not even a fifth of it.

Ricardo said:
Everyone keeps forgetting one thing...Fremantle draw poorly in Melbourne, therefore they play in Tasmania, pretty simple really.

Hawthorn have their quota of games in Tasmania and play the poorer drawing interstate clubs there regularly......don't know why they played Richmond down there though, must have been something to do with giving back to the fans a decent game.

As long as Hawthorn want to make money they will play Freo down there.....imagine the 22k at the MCG (lucky to get that) this season....lol

Tasmania should not get picky, they have a pretty smallish stadium to hold any other matches besides Haw v Port and Haw v Fremantle........there is no other clubs that draw more poorly then those two in Melbourne (all things being equal).

Funny how the finger gets pointed at us for drawing poor crowds. If we pull a crowd under 30,000 at subi I can bet no one will be pointing the finger at the visiting team.
Says more about fickle vic club members IMO.

Obi-Haive said:
I've been to Tassie and to Aurora. Love the country side and the general surrounds of the state.

However, Aurora "stadium" is hardly that... I kept on expecting to hear car horns bleating every time the Hawks kicked a goal. I wasn't surprised with the whole sirengate fiasco.

you lost all credibility with this comment ...the ground is fully enclosed with stands ..and resembles nothing of a country ground ...where did you expect to hear the car horns ...on the road outside the stadium ?...me thinks you have been caught out in a lie here .

Slacker said:
Funny how the finger gets pointed at us for drawing poor crowds. If we pull a crowd under 30,000 at subi I can bet no one will be pointing the finger at the visiting team.
Says more about fickle vic club members IMO.

Exactly right, why would you blame the away team for attendance? If all the "fans" went to watch their team every week it wouldnt be a problem. Even i didnt have second thoughts about going to Subi to watch Freo v Kangaroos, even tho i knew it would be a terrible game.

Blues_Man said:
you lost all credibility with this comment ...the ground is fully enclosed with stands ..and resembles nothing of a country ground ...where did you expect to hear the car horns ...on the road outside the stadium ?...me thinks you have been caught out in a lie here .

FFS mate I wasn't actually talking literally, it was a throw away tongue in cheek reference to that which you call a stadium but is more akin to a large suburban footy ground. I obviously didn't REALLY expect to hear car horns.

I was at Aurora last year to watch the Hawks v WCE and in my opinion it was sub-par, though I will admit I'm used to watching at the MCG and the Dome.

hoss said:
Well done Tassie and Vic Dockers fans for staying away in droves.

Yeah, those Vic Docker fans can be like a swarm of invading Huns (or Monghols!!)
The AFL lay on extra security just to hold them back.

It's like a purple tide, sometimes at the MCG.

Beckers said:
Yeh, funny that!:rolleyes:
No finger pointing needed really, everyone agrees that Freo suck and the facts speak for themselves.

Good diversion. Maybe the Hawks should sell a game to Subiaco where 35k+ people would attend.

The crux of the matter is that the Hawks have too small a supporter base to play home games against non-Vic sides.

Ripper said:
Good diversion. Maybe the Hawks should sell a game to Subiaco where 35k+ people would attend.

The crux of the matter is that the Hawks have too small a supporter base to play home games against non-Vic sides.

Diversion of Sheedy proportions.

At least Freo have an excuse for not having many supporters in Tasmania (based on the other side of the country), Hawthorn (based on the other side of the strait) don't.

Ripper said:

So that would be the Hawks and about 8 or 10 other clubs in the league?
Seriously, the week your team plays Freo, is the one you pencil for quality family activities!:D

hoss said:
I forgot about the crowd of 40000 you got playing in the ACT. Wasn't that a smaller crowd than the Tassie games that Freo played?

Like WGAF??? If we don't have to travel to Launceston, that's a brilliant win for our club.
The difference was that of the 9,000 at Manuka maybe 50% were supporting the Eagles, at the Hawk-Freo clash of the 15,000 perhaps 50 were supporting the Dockers

Beckers said:
So that would be the Hawks and about 8 or 10 other clubs in the league?
Seriously, the week your team plays Freo, is the one you pencil for quality family activities!:D

One would suggest that family activities usually take precedence over the footy for all Hawks games/members. They are a joke and should have been merged decades ago.

Ripper said:

You reckon?

We have a middle sized supporter base (nation wide) it's actually almost identical to Freo's fan base, the problem we have and have had for a long time is that we have had to resort to selling home games to solve cashflow problems (apparently our membership and finances don't enable us to access the CBF :rolleyes: )

I read somewhere that we have one of the highest country/interstate memberships.

hoss said:
One would suggest that family activities usually take precedence over the footy for all Hawks games/members. They are a joke and should have been merged decades ago.
How so?

If and when we get our act together on the field, we will have a dramatic increase in membership and attendances, the figures show that we have (behind St.Kilda) the most fickle fans - attendances relient on form.

The fact that we have a large and traditional supporter base in Tasmania (unlike other sides that 'sell interstate matches') It makes it easier to sell the matches as the membership justifies it.

Let's not let the facts get in the way of a good old fashion rant.

hoss said:
Mate, get into your purple jumpsuit with your purple slippers and go and watch the the Dockers highlights tape from the past 10 years. That should take up about 15 minutes of your day:eek:

Dockers not welcome in Tasmania