Play Nice Derailed, (The Place to Continue Off-Topic Discussion)

not too inaccurate manic.

not that long ago, had a couple of donkeys, they loved a beer or two.

one of the mastiffs I have at the moment is very partial to a coopers pale ale

dont know where these animals get their beer drinking tendencies from
Straya Leon, Straya

You guys need to open up a dictionary once in a while. A lie: used with reference to a situation involving deception or founded on a mistaken impression. It is 100% a mistaken impression it was made up by Ernie dingo and his studio as a once off ceremony for an event. It was never done before this to welcome anyone to land and is still not done in traditional aboriginal communities I attend. It is not traditional and nothing more then virtual signalling. It is divisive because it is them welcoming us that's the whole point of it. Pretty much the meaning of divisive aswell them and us what happened to being together and closing the gap??
By “traditional aboriginal (this word is in the dictionary) communities” I take it you mean those unaffected by the culture that founded this nation based on the deception of Terra Nullius. How did the gap we are seeking to close come about? Aren’t you signalling what you consider virtuous?

not too inaccurate manic.

not that long ago, had a couple of donkeys, they loved a beer or two.

one of the mastiffs I have at the moment is very partial to a coopers pale ale

dont know where these animals get their beer drinking tendencies from

From what I have seen of my partner's horses, the sort of stuff they consider like chocolate is stuff like sweet feed with molasses, grains. proteins etc. If you look at what's in that and compare it to what is in beer, beer is a pretty good equivalent at least in terms of its ingredients, especially dark beers like a stout or porter. So probably not surprising donkeys liked it.

The horses hate me so I refuse to feed them beer. **** them.

From what I have seen of my partner's horses, the sort of stuff they consider like chocolate is stuff like sweet feed with molasses, grains. proteins etc. If you look at what's in that and compare it to what is in beer, beer is a pretty good equivalent at least in terms of its ingredients, especially dark beers like a stout or porter. So probably not surprising donkeys liked it.

The horses hate me so I refuse to feed them beer. **** them.
Bloody oath, they love the molasses.

Ya see Phil, your explanation is way too sensible for my thinking. Ive got a beer drinking Mastiff, and previously had a lady Ridgeback who didnt mind a gin and tonic on occasions.

Im starting to think your pets take after their owners. I just hope the other dog doesnt start smoking spliffs, I would worry about house fires.

Maybe start with a shandy for the horses?

Bloody oath, they love the molasses.

Ya see Phil, your explanation is way too sensible for my thinking. Ive got a beer drinking Mastiff, and previously had a lady Ridgeback who didnt mind a gin and tonic on occasions.

Im starting to think your pets take after their owners. I just hope the other dog doesnt start smoking spliffs, I would worry about house fires.

Maybe start with a shandy for the horses?

Given most of our horses are geldings, I really hope they don't take after us too closely.

Even though it’s like shooting Bambi…. If % game time played records were kept when stynes played his record would not look as impressive.

Crisp is a freak.

Not sure on the bolded, as in that era Jim would have regularly played 100% game time when fully fit - it was pre-rotations off the bench. I reckon Jim's average game time would be higher.

But do agree that Jimmy played games when he shouldn't have. And that Crisp just always looks like he's running really powerfully. He's a cyborg. It's amazing that it's a powerful runner that is doing this - you'd think that the Pendles Sidey type would have been heaps more likely.

Not sure on the bolded, as in that era Jim would have regularly played 100% game time when fully fit - it was pre-rotations off the bench. I reckon Jim's average game time would be higher.

But do agree that Jimmy played games when he shouldn't have. And that Crisp just always looks like he's running really powerfully. He's a cyborg. It's amazing that it's a powerful runner that is doing this - you'd think that the Pendles Sidey type would have been heaps more likely.
Stynes tag teamed with a better ruck in Stephen ODwyer for much of his career, and when he retired (maybe went to Richmond?) due to injuries Schwarz and that ugly FF Bennett chopped out in the ruck.

Stynes was fitter but not a very talented tap ruck (ODwyer was clearly superior for mine) and only a passable short kick (he seemed to dink them about 20 metres). O'Dwyer took the important hit outs when they played, Stynes rucked more around the ground. definitely extremely fit, he was described as more like ruck rover the way he got around the field: most rucks then were dinosaurs. Maybe he did match Crisps game time? Its plausible.

Stynes was a good handball though and a nice man, which I think is most of the reason for the adulation. He got a lot of credit for not being crap even he only took the game up at about 19.

Very over rated as a player for mine, a good fit player but never the best player in the league, or even at Melbourne really.

Stynes tag teamed with a better ruck in Stephen ODwyer for much of his career, and when he retired (maybe went to Richmond?) due to injuries Schwarz and that ugly FF Bennett chopped out in the ruck.

Stynes was fitter but not a very talented tap ruck (ODwyer was clearly superior for mine) and only a passable short kick (he seemed to dink them about 20 metres). O'Dwyer took the important hit outs when they played, Stynes rucked more around the ground. definitely extremely fit, he was described as more like ruck rover the way he got around the field: most rucks then were dinosaurs. Maybe he did match Crisps game time? Its plausible.

Stynes was a good handball though and a nice man, which I think is most of the reason for the adulation. He got a lot of credit for not being crap even he only took the game up at about 19.

Very over rated as a player for mine, a good fit player but never the best player in the league, or even at Melbourne really.
AA, Brownlow and AFLPA in the same year, and 4 club BnFs as well as another AA, would say your view is a tad on the negative side.

It was an era when everyone focussed a lot on number of possessions and at his best he got a tonne of them for a ruck. I thought he was a superstar - like Dean Cox who gave his team an extra mid - and Grundy more recently for us. But you might be right if you put him through a more modern effectiveness lense - much like the downgrading of what Grundy does.

It was an era when everyone focussed a lot on number of possessions and at his best he got a tonne of them for a ruck. I thought he was outstanding - like Dean Cox who gave his team an extra mid - and Grundy more recently for us. But you might be right if you put him through a more modern effectiveness lense - much like Grundy.
It was also an era when it was completely acceptable, even expected, for coaches to go into full abuse mode. Imagine if a player pulled off this mistake now? There'd be hugs and requests to give him space to protect his mental health.
1729651843537.png

I'm probably biased because I dislike Melbourne, but what I mostly remember about Stynes was dinky chip kicks and average ruck work.
I remember the courage he showed battling an incurable illness.

You really do come up with some fantastic thought bubbles.

Aw, thanks! 🥰

There is zero evidence of Crisp having done anything "conservative" to preserve his body.

A “hypothesis” is a thing.

“Sports Psychology” is another thing.

Who knows? I’m just pointing out that it could be a sub-plot to look out for in the 2025 season.

Where has Crisp indicated that the record is at all a "thing" to him?

When was the last time a player said “I’ll be playing this weekend with two broken ribs / slight calf strain / pearler of a bruise , so I’ll be taking it easy”?

Just because a player doesn’t say something, it doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen.

This is complete bullshit that you are peddling. Stynes was a champion footballer and is primarily remembered for that.
Champion on and off the field seems to be a pretty broad, comfortable consensus. Not many ruckmen win Brownlows/MVPs

This is complete bullshit that you are peddling. Stynes was a champion footballer and is primarily remembered for that.
Sure, have a bex and a lie down.

I saw Stynes in the 1988 Grand Final. I saw him play Collingwood perhaps a dozen times and I was not impressed by anything other than his handballing. I'm told he was durable so I guess he didn't get worse in the course of a game, but he never displayed champion skill or athleticism.

A nice man sure, a very fit player who adapted brilliantly to be competent in many areas of our game and a lovely story, and goodness knows Melbourne needed a good story in the 90's.

Champion bloke? Sure. Champion player? Never saw that.

O'Dwyer wasn't superior and only played 84 games for Melbourne.

Sure, have a bex and a lie down.

I saw Stynes in the 1988 Grand Final. I saw him play Collingwood perhaps a dozen times and I was not impressed by anything other than his handballing. I'm told he was durable so I guess he didn't get worse in the course of a game, but he never displayed champion skill or athleticism.

A nice man sure, a very fit player who adapted brilliantly to be competent in many areas of our game and a lovely story, and goodness knows Melbourne needed a good story in the 90's.

Champion bloke? Sure. Champion player? Never saw that.
Maybe you could do benefit from a welfare check yourself?

You mightn't have seen it, but any objective reading of his footy career achievements puts him firmly in the champion category, as nebulous as that might be.