Review Dees v the Scraggers (Western Bulldogs): the Good, the Bad & the Fugly - woof !!! Rd14 2013

I tell you what fellas. That was an awesome feeling, to sing the song and all, but it made me feel sick that we were a minute away from hating life. Sat next to the cheer squad, and the moment our heads dropped was when the Doggies realised who they were opposing in the midfield.

IT"S A GRAND OLD FLAG.

I left the g after you guys kicked the 100 thought you home and hosed, thank god you made neve been more proud of a team I didn't support thought the man on man defense was good dogs felt the pressure, you must have wont he clearances inthe fist three quarters! Dogs couldn't seem to get their hands it, You could see the effort tonight well done congrats to demons

Was it the second quarter for T Mac? Shimmied out of trouble then absolutely stitched up his team mate with a powder puff handball in front of the sticks. Still needs to shake off Neeld's conditioning?

That's the one and we can't blame that on Neeld, that's just the typical McDonald brain fade we get every game but he did a million other things right tonight so I won't harp on it.

I was a Garland lover, then a hater, and in recent times a lover reborn. When that siren sounded, he was relieved, but wasn't satisfied, he had that look in his eyes, the look of a leader, happy we won, but f***ing pissed we nearly got done. Garland, Dawes and Frawley are the blokes who are to take this club forward, they were brave tonight, and deserve it more than anyone else

While the last quarter was certainly fugly I can see some positives in having that kind of capitulation. We won, in the last few minutes the players rose to the occasion and made sure they took the win, it wasn't an easy win it was a win we almost let go and had to work to hold onto, will be good for the players to have a game like that. Anyway.

Good:
Big men, Watts, Fitzy, Dawes, all stood up did their jobs, took marks kicked goals created a contest. Thats what we ask of these blokes and thats exactly how they played.
Howe: Happy birthday mate, two fantastic marks and some ripper goals.
Rodan: If only we saw that every week, great game, please keep it up.
Gawn: Tough ask to face Minson but did as well as a developing ruck could.
Our backs: All of them, take a bow, brilliant work rebounding the ball can't fault them.
The fact that Jones wasn't an absolute standout, our mids played like a team not a one man band.

Bad:
Some horrendous skill errors from both sides tonight, make no mistake it was two bottom four sides going at it, and we should have kicked a fair few more goals when we were dominating the ball and had it locked in our forward 50.
Sylvia: Should have done more, was the kind of game he needed to dominate and he only made cameos, if he had gotten that goal at the end of the match it would have been forgiven though.
Dunn: Got better as the game went on but is my new whipping boy these days not good enough especially some of those early efforts.
Davey: Did you play?

Fugly:
First 25 minutes of the last quarter, went to sleep, made up for it and got the win, so no hard feelings, but wow you made it hard for yourselves.

Good - playing on after marks
- running lines
- sharing the ball and backing team mates
- shepherding, tackling, chasing
- attacking via the centre square

Great
- looked like an afl footy team for 3.5 quarters

Bad
- choking and going back into their shells in the last 15 minutes

Fugly
- not a damn thing!

Almost had a heart attack in the last quarter.

Watts, immense!, Jones prolific as usual, Dawes a great figure up forward (love the long sleeves, Yze like). Feels GOOD!

Good
We won... just
Watts
Rodan
Toumpas' first half
Trengove
Howe's screamers
For three quarters and 17:30 we were amazing
Fitzy OMG

Bad:
Not much

Fugly:
Was a minute away from the Westgate
Dunn
Dunn
Moar Dunn
Did I mention Dunn
Dunn
Dunn
Dunn
Not sure if I said Dunn
We can't concede under 100 points, even when they are below 50 at three quarter time
Last 15 minutes

Took all of 2 weeks for neil craig to mold a competitive team. :(
Dare I say Neeld was the problem?

He was one problem of many, which is why our board has been turned over and our footy dept is getting a restructure. Jury is still out on Craig, its hardly a new concept that a coach sacking gives a team a bit of fire in their belly's.

Not enough love going on in here for Dean Terlich. He has been a real standout all season for Melbourne. Great mature aged pick up who so far has grabbed his second chance in the AFL with both hands. Rock solid down back. :):thumbsu:

My god that last quarter nearly killed me, but who cares so pumped to get the win. As much as it would have killed as all if we lost, the improvement was ridiculous regardless. Also Jack Watts' performance deserves some recognition although I'm sure he won't get it from the media. He played well all game but his efforts at the death against the tide were brilliant. I think we all earned this one.