Review Dees v Roy-Bears: the Good, Bad & Fugly

How is it baiting him FFS?

How many years of shit have we put up with, all for people to forget about it the minute they smell finals.

Get behind the team if you want to call yourself a supporter. Its all well and good to bitch and moan when we're being spanked at quarter time every week, but at the moment we're an incredibly young side playing really good football for the most part.

All I heard from the first bounce today at the game was people whinging about everything. Too many handballs, kick the ******* thing. Wait, who was that ******* to?

Think about the amount of injuries we've had this season. Gawn, Jones, Viney, Brayshaw, Watts, Hogan, Hibberd, Salem have all spent significant time out and had interrupted years. Kids in Oliver and Petracca have had to carry a load far beyond what they should be capable of. Still, we're 7th heading into the final game of the year. Having beaten the Premiers by 10 goals, and having won the two hardest road trips in football. Having not been properly belted once, when we used to get belted every second week.

Still, that's not enough for some people. Apparently we should have put it away earlier, because we had a couple of poor close losses. Apparently every other club in the league is allowed to lose form, but not Melbourne.

Its entitlement, its negative, and its a load of rubbish.

If people are going to be accused of baiting because they're sick of the negativity, then I'll happily walk away from this board.

I can see where you're coming from, but its not up to you to define how supporters should behave. I think turning up and booing your own team is pretty ridiculous, but some people choose to do it, and if that's how they want to "support" their team, that's their choice. Not going to get far tut-tutting people.

I absolutely agree with you, but the way some posters on here have taken to addressing dissenting opinions isn't much chop.

Cheers for actually addressing my point reasonably.

Truth be told, its somewhere in the middle. 2005/6 was ruined by a bunch of soft middle-aged players. At the moment, we're being carried by a bunch of pretty bloody good young guys.

I agree the future looks bright, nothing wrong with wanting to see us improve even during a game though.
Considering how important percentage is right now we could have cost ourselves finals by letting Brisbane come back in the last quarter.

At the end of the year we can all look back an appreciate the injuries and travel factor but right now I want us to play finals and I want us to be playing well when we get there

Mate I'm pretty sure anyway who takes the time to post often on this board is a proper supporter and everyone has a right to be unimpressed with the game. We haven't achieved shit yet you want us all to high 5 and talk about how great everything is?

Some of us are old enough to remember 02/04/5/6 when inconsistent games against lower sides stopped us from ever being a chance at a flag.

Right now St Kilda are 7 goals up against north who are better than Brisbane yet we should be happy with letting the Lions nearly beat us?
You said it yourself we have lost form. So we should be pumped that we lost form at the most important stage of the season?

People can say whatever they want in the game day thread you are analysing the game. A team with a skinny Hipwood and Geelong discard nearly put 100 on us. If Brisbane had mature key forwards they probably beat us

Not meaning to nitpick but Brisbane are a lot better than North atm. The gameplan under Fagan has clicked and they've played some great footy in the last 2 months, costing themselves a couple of games by having bad quarters and such. Fully expect them to pump North next week by 10 goals.

Good: oliver overcame tag, played well.
Horse is getting the maximum out of what little talent he has
Loving pedo bear
Hogan.... how can i fault him kicking 6? But there are so many things in his game i dont like. Learn to lead into space ffs!
Pig... steal of the decade... hope people continue to dall for his pump fake so he can wheel onto his left
Gus.... he's our backline general

Bad: gawn.... jesus he looks like hes been on the darts for 3 months! But it took a year of 90%game time to get him good before.
Lewis and vince.... i am not impressed. Both were slow and sucking in big ones late. We cant carry both.
Truck... hes not bad. Does nice things. But its in the bad bracket because ive been waiting for 8 weeks for him to unleash those thighs and just smash a game open. He has all the tools, he does all the work. I just wabt to see him do a Thor on a game!

Ugly- the midfield turnovers putting the defence under the pump.
Wagner

Not meaning to nitpick but Brisbane are a lot better than North atm. The gameplan under Fagan has clicked and they've played some great footy in the last 2 months, costing themselves a couple of games by having bad quarters and such. Fully expect them to pump North next week by 10 goals.
Wouldn't surprise me. They thumped Gold Coast last week more emphatically than Bombers managed to yesterday. Their form is pretty decent at present.

It's a bit depressing watching north getting pumped week in week out and yet we still lose to them....twice

Yeah, we always have to keep things in perspective. I think if we'd been offered the chance to be in this position before the season, we would have taken it, especially since basically all of our best players have had interrupted years and missed a lot of games. Still, I'm not sure that means we should be comfortable with just how easily Brisbane got back into the game in the last, helped along by some shocking kicks and our inability to counter the spread. If we're not 20% better next week then I think Collingwood will probably beat us, and if we make it to finals then we'll get ripped apart allowing opposition teams that much time and space on the counter.

Anyway.

Good:

- Pedo again. Critical for team structure and 24 disposals with 3 goals is amazing for ruck / forward swingman.
- Petracca had his best game for a while.
- Oliver had a mediocre game, but still managed 30 disposals, remarkable for a 19 year old. I can't think of any word which means "something which has never happened before", but Oliver is definitely that.
- Hogan obviously. Amazing, given the year he's had, to come back after a broken collar bone and put in a performance like that.
- Melksham has been brilliant over the last couple of months, and his first half today was easily the best he's produced for the club. Hope the haters are enjoying their humble pie.
- Lewis / Hibberd / Jetta all solid down back.

Bad:

- Wagner and Stretch. Wrong time of the year to be giving fringe players a shot at finding form. There is hope for both of them yet, but they shouldn't be in the team right now.
- Vince is playing as many shckers as good games at the moment. A concern.
- Gawn is winning hitouts but doesn't seem to be giving us any advantage at the stoppages. Beaten comfortably for the second week in a row.
- As I said above, we were carved up on the counter. If Brisbane won the ball at half back, they were able to stroll it to their forward 50 basically every time. Good teams will eat us alive if we give them that sort of freedom.
- Small forwards (Melksham excepted) have been down for a few weeks now. I like Hannan's hustle, but he needs to make an impact more consistently. Garlett's had a few down weeks as well.

Ugly:

- Rhyce Mathieson. Biggest cheat in the AFL. What a ****.

Guys, thanks for bring some reasonable posting and footy related discussion back to the thread.

Was getting a little wobbly.

:thumbsu:

GOOD
- A win is a win. It wasn't pretty but I'll take it over a loss any day.
- Hogan is back. Get hype boys
- Our forward line looks functional. A little Hogan centric in the first half but worked a lot better in the second
- Oliver. Clarry made some mistakes but if this is the standard of his down games then I really don't mind
- Petracca. Looked fresh and ready for finals. WTF has been up with him the past month then?

BAD
- My heart
- Seriously
- Can we just put a team away for once
- Also Wagner

FUGLY / I'M NOT SURPRISED
- Vince FFS

Good: Hoges kicking a bag. Oliver had another massive game. Jetta was ever reliable. Pedo had a huge game too. Trac did some fantastic things early.

Bad: Gawn was terrible. Lost the ruck most of the day and the ones he won went straight to lions. Stretch had a shocker.

Fugly: Rhys Matheson. If anyone deserves concussion it's this germ.
Oliver was absolutely shit house. Along with Gawn. And Hunt. Those three were our bottom three.

Yeah I can't stand it

Copped the "not a real supporter" shit from the old bloke in the reserved seat in front of me because I don't turn up to every game. I gave him a spray and said I'm a paid member, but I can't make it to half our games because I play, he backed down quickly.

The negativity and entitlement is just phenomenal.
Read my posts, I've been pretty balanced about it. Just making a reference to the brittleness of our team is not inherently negative. I've stated multiple times that I think we will make it into the 8. But I do think we could stumble at the last hurdle. Just relax mate, you're overdosing on the judgement pills.

Yeah I can't stand it

Copped the "not a real supporter" shit from the old bloke in the reserved seat in front of me because I don't turn up to every game. I gave him a spray and said I'm a paid member, but I can't make it to half our games because I play, he backed down quickly.
Yep. :thumbsu:

And I can't make it to all our games because I've got a 2 year old kid I've got to look after and she's too young to drag to the footy. Should I pike out on her upbringing so I can be a "real supporter"? Everybody's got a different story going on. Not many people are in a position to go to every football game their team plays. I go when I can. Buying a membership is proof of being a real supporter - beyond that, people can stick their judgements up their jumper.

Good - Walk away with a win

Bad - That's how we're playing right now but the fact that we've won two playing poorly is a step in the right direction. We need to get the confidence back and we are building momentum. Collingwood is an ideal team to play just before finals because we'll have to play high pressure footy to win, if we can bring that intensity to the finals then we should at least get back the first week

Ugly - Game day threads on the main board. Crickey, they have turned into a sook fest about the umpiring and how the mods let the crap trolling continue is bewildering.

Yep. :thumbsu:

And I can't make it to all our games because I've got a 2 year old kid I've got to look after and she's too young to drag to the footy. Should I pike out on her upbringing so I can be a "real supporter"? Everybody's got a different story going on. Not many people are in a position to go to every football game their team plays. I go when I can. Buying a membership is proof of being a real supporter - beyond that, people can stick their judgements up their jumper.

I would prefer to be accused of not being a real supporter rather than being a poor father. Family wins every single time

Except if we play in a grand final

Good
*Hardly convincing but we got the result we needed.
*Pedo. Massive couple of weeks from the big man. Huge competitive beast.
*Oliver. Just keeps delivering. Huge 3rd quarter.
*Hibberd. Wow. Gun. Thanks Bombers.
*Jones. Another solid captain's game.
*Hogan. Amazing effort to come back and be the difference.
*Melksham. Been an incredibly consistent performer since being dropped. Arguably his best game for the club.
*Petracca. Showed some good signs.

Bad
*Stretch and Wagner. Both can be replaced by Salem and Viney. Just not up to this level ATM.
*Vince. I don't think he's best 22 anymore. Too many errors by foot and is now real clumsy in a contest. Not sure where he fits going forward.
*Allowing them back into the game. Should have iced it 32 pts up. Percentage is crucial and we missed an opportunity there to win by 50.

Ugly
*Gawn. Doesn't jump anymore, ineffectual around the ground atm and most tapouts go to the opposition. Just not the same player after his injury unfortunately.
*The likelihood of playing a red hot Swans first week in September. So happy to be there, but ouch!!!

Review Dees v Roy-Bears: the Good, Bad & Fugly