Dean Bailey Announced as Melbourne Coach

• Thread starter Thread starter Merv

Dean who? I thought they would go with a high profile experienced coach. I wish him all the best but if it don't work I hope the President and others on the board cop it in the neck cause its one hell of a risk.

Anyone thinking Connolly or Sheedy would have been a better option because they would have attracted more people to the games is a goose. Winning attracts people to games, not a crackpot failed coach(Connolly) who tries to hype games up but is really not respected at all. Bailey is deserving of the job and i'd almost have the Dees in my top 8 for next year now.

Sheedy could have promoted the club like no other. I guarentee that membership would have gone through the roof if they got him. I love the Dees too but to have them in the top 8 next year is a bit extreme. Why is he deserving of the job? I've never even heard of him before.

Damn I'm gonna miss Bailey.

But melb made a great decision here, so long as he is given the appropriate facilities to resurrect the club, then he should be able to improve things given time.

can't believe bailey is leaving!!

as for why bailey deserves the job: he is a great tactician. he may not have the immediate media popularity that sheedy would've had, but if you care more about ladder position, bailey is your man. as for connoly, pfft, he is a joke. he's not even media savvy, just media known. as for connoly's coaching... do i need to comment?

I feel somewhat vindicated that even Dees fans expected their club to appoint a `marketing' coach as opposed to a `winning' one.

If I was a Dees fan, I would've been very nervous if Sheedy had taken over. What does he have left to prove? What is his motivation?

He could ride the list into the ground for three years and not hurt his reputation in the game. He could recruit a bunch of ex-Essendon hacks and get away with it, and the media would still marvel about the raw talent his `smokey' pick players have....right up until you sacked him. And he would walk away clean, leaving the Dees in all kinds of mess.

Why would we want Sheedy? Sure he might get a few more memberships but would he win us games, look at his past 3 years, his record is extremely poor and on the slide.

If it was a cost issue then why hvae we supposebly employed Connoly to footy operations manager. Surely he would be asking a fair bit more than other operation managers?

Furthermore don't you reckon Sheedy seemed really desperate to coach, the Dees? Did anyone read his crap atricles in the HUN always mentioning us! Anyway I reckon he would have coached us if offered the job for close to nothing

Toots, just had to be brief, wasn't implying there has any malice involved. Port did what they had every right to do and in doing so forced the MFC to bring the announcement forward.

And for the record, Panama Red.
No worries Brocky. However as Porthos pointed out earlier Port's response was less about their rights and more about doing the right thing by Bailey.

Greg Boulton pointed out a week or so ago that Bailey is contracted to Port till the end of next season and Port like to see contracts honoured, however the club would not stand in Bailey's way. As I made clear earlier Choco has done everything possible to promote Bailey's prospects.

really should have waited for reilly to finish before announcing it.....
if i was him i would have a field day just to stick it up them haha, play robo in the ruck i say....

Mark Williams opened his mouth
If that's meant as a criticism you're out of line IMO. Choco has done everything to promote Dean Bailey. He owes the Melbourne Football Club nothing. What's more he's perfectly within his rights to talk about his own coaching setup of which Dean Bailey is (or was) a part.

For those saying that Melbourne didn't pick Sheedy because they couldn't afford him, consider the possibility that the profile of Sheeds would have generated more than enough sponsorship money and new memberships to pay for his salary.

The only way to generate any significant rise in membership is winning premierships. Simple as that. This is why it looks on the face like a good decision. The club didn't take the easy route and pick a high profile candidate, so they obviously reckon he can coach. Apparently his presentation was very good, to say the least.

That they've released Bailey now is a FAVOUR to Bailey, not a punishment.

What, you think he should stay assisting us through to the grand final, and then have one week to work out what he wants the Dees to do in trade week, and with every player currently on his list?

Absolutely. Entirely the right decision by Port; they've got to look after their interests. You can't have a senior coach-elect working at another club. It's a ridiculous notion.

I feel somewhat vindicated that even Dees fans expected their club to appoint a `marketing' coach as opposed to a `winning' one.

If I was a Dees fan, I would've been very nervous if Sheedy had taken over. What does he have left to prove? What is his motivation?

He could ride the list into the ground for three years and not hurt his reputation in the game. He could recruit a bunch of ex-Essendon hacks and get away with it, and the media would still marvel about the raw talent his `smokey' pick players have....right up until you sacked him. And he would walk away clean, leaving the Dees in all kinds of mess.

**** me, I'm agreeing with Porthos again. 100 per cent.

They should've picked Bill bailey

bill_bailey_l.jpg

Mark Williams opened his mouth
We didnt anounce it, choco williams did.
You're both wrong. :cool:

"Melbourne, which ratified Bailey's three-year appointment at a three-hour board meeting on Thursday night, announced his signing via a short statement at 12.44pm yesterday after Bailey had informed Port in the morning that he had won the job.

Williams told the Adelaide media at 12.50pm that Bailey – who was a notable absentee from the Power's training session at AAMI Stadium – wouldn't be in Port's coaching box for tonight's finals-shaping clash against the Dockers."

http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,22342414-21543,00.html

Clearly the two clubs and Bailey have worked well together on the process of making the announcement. Any suggestions that Port jumped the gun and spoilt the party are false. :thumbsu:

(In any case it's worth reiterating that Port actually would have had a perfect right to announce that one of their assistant coaches would no longer be with the club).

If that's meant as a criticism you're out of line IMO. Choco has done everything to promote Dean Bailey. He owes the Melbourne Football Club nothing. What's more he's perfectly within his rights to talk about his own coaching setup of which Dean Bailey is (or was) a part.

Williams did play a big part in getting behing Bailey and getting him the job. Well done. :thumbsu:

You're both wrong. :cool:

"Melbourne, which ratified Bailey's three-year appointment at a three-hour board meeting on Thursday night, announced his signing via a short statement at 12.44pm yesterday after Bailey had informed Port in the morning that he had won the job.

Williams told the Adelaide media at 12.50pm that Bailey – who was a notable absentee from the Power's training session at AAMI Stadium – wouldn't be in Port's coaching box for tonight's finals-shaping clash against the Dockers."

http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,22342414-21543,00.html

Clearly the two clubs and Bailey have worked well together on the process of making the announcement. Any suggestions that Port jumped the gun and spoilt the party are false. :thumbsu:

(In any case it's worth reiterating that Port actually would have had a perfect right to announce that one of their assistant coaches would no longer be with the club).

really who cares. The cat would have been out of the bag either way.

williams did the right thing. he does not have to lie for Melbourne.

Bailey must be a smart operator if williams rates him highly. i think he is exactly what the dees need.

1. he is not melbourne based therefore his bias towards any players would be limited

2. he will clean out the crap from our list.

3. we went through a proper process and got the best candidate. when an outsider gets the job he has to be even better to get the job over other guys with better reputations and more experience.

Personally I think he did the right thing for Port Adelaide and there's no doubt he and Bailey would have discussed it prior to going public.

I don't have an issue with it at all.

Sheedy could have promoted the club like no other. I guarentee that membership would have gone through the roof if they got him. I love the Dees too but to have them in the top 8 next year is a bit extreme. Why is he deserving of the job? I've never even heard of him before.

:mad::(:rolleyes::thumbsd::eek:

that's my anger, sadness, dismissal, disapproval and shock

1: Party pooper
Yes, we’re looking at you Mark Williams. Did you really have to gazump Melbourne’s appointment of Dean Bailey as coach by announcing it at your media conference on Friday? And then have your club put out a detailed media release on the subject. The poor old Dees were forced to scramble to put out a one-line media release confirming Bailey had got the gig and to make the formal announcement a few hours later, when they had planned a bells-and-whistles event early next week.

And spare a thought for Mark Riley, the Melbourne caretaker coach who was ready for a media conference farewelling Byron Pickett, Clint Bizzell and Nathan Brown when he was ambushed with questions about Bailey’s appointment (and, therefore, his own failure to win the permanent coaching position). Choco, by the way, will be announcing the winner of Australian Idol some time next week.

http://www.afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=50257