Culina: AFL supporters who dont embrace football are "insecure in their code"

because the draw for the asian champions league was done approximately halfway through the 06/07 national season - as such the organisers decided to use the first and second sides from last year's season.
the asian champions league for next year has melbourne and adelaide in it as the teams from australia due to their positioning at the end of the 06/07 season.
unless the australian season changes times, this will be an ongoing problem for the organisers.
thie teams representing the australian league will not change even if adelaide and melbourne are sitting down the ladder.

Thank you very much :)

Love the logic! Aussies must be insecure about footy because they don't care about soccer. How insecure are all the soccer fans around the world that've never even seen a game of footy? Talk about heads in the sand!

I did not watch St Kilda V Hawhorn on saturday night but i did watch the FA cup and fair dinkum what a snore fest .... Culina should be apoligising to every footy fan who has accused soccer of beng boring........because that soccer game was crap and a farce.

I watched it with some english mates and even they were embarrassed by it.

You get crap games in all sports. The FA cup final was the most boring football game that I have ever seen. 99% of games are not like that. If you based your entire opinion of AFL on the St Kilda vs Hawthorn game you would have a poor opinion of the sport.

Both a quantitative and qualitative survey would show that there is a happy medium . People want to see the skill of achieving some action no matter what the sport is .They want to see skill achievment with reasonable regularlty but not too often as to diminish the attribute skill .
If this wasn't so clear cut why do soccer buffs rave about scored games and lament scoreless draws .And if scoring isn't so important then why not go straight to the penalty shootout ?

In another aspect , the higher the scoring the more likely of a truer result .
One more determined by skill than by umpiring penalties or by accident or fluke .

Cos all this is fair enough. However, the argument that sports fans worldwide would rather see a score of say 120-100 0ver 3-2 is just plain wrong.

If the round-ball game hadn't isolated itself from mainstream Australians for most of the past 60 years, maybe the current culture would be different.

It's hard to understand why I wasn't a part of my local soccer club when I was growing up, but for some reason "Floreat Athena" didn't seem too welcoming to someone like me. I could always have gone to the next-closest, "Stirling Macedonia" but I don't think I'd have fitted in there, either.

I agree the division by ethnicity was bad for clubs, but not all clubs are/were like that - and many of the ones that were have since renamed/re-branded themselves. It also doesn't explain the anti-soccer attitude continuing into the A-League (although, as attendances have shown, most people can see through that).

Reading that article the person who sounds "insecure" is Culina. Sure it might be nice if supporters of one code of football "embraced" other codes as well, but that doesn't mean it is going to happen.Most footy fans prefer THEIR code of football over all others and don't really care what happens in other codes. Culina just comes across as a desperate whiner with a statement like that.

It's no different to certain coaches and sports writers in AFL and rugby though, well known for their many years of digs at football.

For your info, soccer is what a majority of the English speaking world call that game played on a rectangular field with 2 nets at either end.

Disregarding the fact that a huge amount of the worlds population speak english fluently but not as a first language ...

My point was saying that "soccer says.. " something means what exactly? The players? The governing bodies? The fans? Just like AFL fans, you can't categorise them all as one type.

You have all sorts of people:
- People who are rabid AFL fans who live and breath the game.
- People who are rabid AFL fans, who go and drink VB and beat their wife after the game.
- People who strongly support their AFL team
- People who are AFL fans and follow soccer occasionally
- People who have a passing interest in AFL
- People who are general sports fans and follow both codes
- People who have a passing interest in soccer
- People who are soccer fans and follow AFL occasionally
- People who strongly support various soccer teams
- People who are rabid soccer fans, who beat up the other nationality after the game
- People who are rabid soccer fans who live and breath the game

Both codes have varying levels of fanaticism, and both codes have varying levels of ********edness.

So when you say "Soccer says..." something, who is actually saying it?

Channel 7 wanted the rights previously so they could play the big games and the finals only. The rights were cheap so it was an easy way for them to get some of the SBSoccer crowd every now and then. If A-League was on the anti-siphoning list like NSL was they could grab it again for cheap if they wanted to, but A-League is not on the list (probably a good thing really, although there is the trade off that it is now never on FTA so it limits its ability to attract a wider audience).

You make it sound like it was a big conspiracy by Channel 7 to keep soccer down.

Yes there was an anti soccer conspiracy at Seven.

Channel Seven actually admitted in court to buying the rights to soccer in order to “sufficate” the game.

“As well as holding the AFL rights at the time, Seven also held the rights to soccer matches.

The executive in charge of C7, Steven Wise, lamented in one email that the AFL was not giving Seven credit that "we have secured the soccer rights and sufficated the sport, much to the chagrin of its supporters (by giving AFL games preference)".

Stokes okayed rugby bid leak
By John Lehmann
11oct05

SEVEN owner Kerry Stokes yesterday admitted he authorised a public relations consultant to leak details of the company's $490 million bid for rugby league rights in 2000 despite directors of the broadcaster being asked to sign confidentiality agreements.

The admission follows evidence Mr Stokes gave last week when he told the Federal Court he did not know whether Sydney consultant Tim Allerton divulged any details.

The court heard yesterday that the media mogul was travelling in China on November 30, 2000, when he telephoned Mr Allerton, who was on an $8000-a-month retainer at Seven.

Asked whether he instructed Mr Allerton to brief journalists on Seven's National Rugby League bid, Mr Stokes said, "Yes, I may well have done, yes, I did."

Mr Stokes denied the leak was designed to build up support from the NRL clubs, which were to share about $20 million a year under Seven's bid.

"I think it may have been a defensive reply that we were making at the time," he said, without explaining further.

As part of its $1.1 billion case against 22 media, telco and sports entities, Seven is suing News Limited senior general counsel Ian Philip, claiming he breached a duty of confidence by passing on bid details to News's Foxtel partner Telstra.

The day after the leak - which began with a briefing to then-2UE league commentator Ray Hadley - Mr Allerton sent an email to Mr Stokes, the court was told. <

"The coverage looks great this morning ... and we do not have any fingerprints on it," Mr Allerton wrote.

Seven alleges that the Foxtel partners, News, Publishing & Broadcasting Ltd and Telstra, conspired to drive pay-TV sports channel C7 out of business by ensuring it did not win bids for the NRL or AFL rights in December 2000.

The month before, as Mr Stokes jetted from Osaka, Japan, to Beijing, he wrote a note to his executives suggesting future legal action against "Foxtel, News and PBL" would be "considerably strengthened" if phrases such as "unable to compete" were inserted in Seven's public statements.

Mr Stokes said Seven should also be seen to be taking the "high ground" by using phrases such as: "I love the game too much to see it involved in any legal disputes the likes of which destroyed the ARL (Australian Rugby League)."

As well as holding the AFL rights at the time, Seven also held the rights to soccer matches.

The executive in charge of C7, Steven Wise, lamented in one email that the AFL was not giving Seven credit that "we have secured the soccer rights and sufficated the sport, much to the chagrin of its supporters (by giving AFL games preference)".

Mr Wise said, in another email, Seven could tell the AFL it was only making a "dummy bid" for the NRL rights.

The case continues.

I watched the Hawks vs Saints game. It was indeed pretty low standard, for a Football game.

I've watched games of puff-ball that were apparently considered 'exciting' and 'high standard'. The Hawks Saints game, poor as it was, was fast, highly skilled, attacking and a very high quality standard spectacle by comparison.

The worst game of Football is of significantly higher standard than the best game of soccer.

I watched the Hawks vs Saints game. It was indeed pretty low standard, for a Football game.

I've watched games of puff-ball that were apparently considered 'exciting' and 'high standard'. The Hawks Saints game, poor as it was, was fast, highly skilled, attacking and a very high quality standard spectacle by comparison.

The worst game of Football is of significantly higher standard than the best game of soccer.

**** balls a bit rough. You obviously do not understand the game if that is your opinion and that's fine nobody expects you to understand or enjoy it cos you are obviously an idiot. All i know is that when the world cup was on last year which is the highest standard of football in the world along with european champions league nobody could give two hoots about the footy and at its peak the world game is as exciting and more skilful than aussie rules, that is a fact. A game does not have to be high scoring for it to be entertaining, it is simply the fact that many people here have not grown up with the sport in their faces and as a result do not appreciate or understand the skill involved in the game. I'd love to see half you idiots on here go to a game or a pub in London and call the game **** ball and i bet my bottom dollar the blokes their would show you who is a ****!

Interesting fact regarding Aussie Rules compared to the world game, at the NAB cup final this year which was a high scoring and entertaining game of footy i had a bunch of english backpackers sitting next to me and it was their first aussie rules experience. They thought it was the weirdest most complicated sport they'd ever seen, they could not believe it was actually a massive religion in Australia, a silly game is what they determined it as! they were massive soccer fans and rugby fans as well, it is examples like this why our game will only ever be big here and why the world game will never be overtaken and why it will eventually overtake here. Sorry to spoil for all you old school idiots but those are the facts!

**** balls a bit rough. You obviously do not understand the game if that is your opinion and that's fine nobody expects you to understand or enjoy it cos you are obviously an idiot. All i know is that when the world cup was on last year which is the highest standard of football in the world along with european champions league nobody could give two hoots about the footy and at its peak the world game is as exciting and more skilful than aussie rules, that is a fact. A game does not have to be high scoring for it to be entertaining, it is simply the fact that many people here have not grown up with the sport in their faces and as a result do not appreciate or understand the skill involved in the game. I'd love to see half you idiots on here go to a game or a pub in London and call the game **** ball and i bet my bottom dollar the blokes their would show you who is a ****!

Interesting fact regarding Aussie Rules compared to the world game, at the NAB cup final this year which was a high scoring and entertaining game of footy i had a bunch of english backpackers sitting next to me and it was their first aussie rules experience. They thought it was the weirdest most complicated sport they'd ever seen, they could not believe it was actually a massive religion in Australia, a silly game is what they determined it as! they were massive soccer fans and rugby fans as well, it is examples like this why our game will only ever be big here and why the world game will never be overtaken and why it will eventually overtake here. Sorry to spoil for all you old school idiots but those are the facts!

oh that is so cute

:D:thumbsu:Mate, you are as big of a laughable joke as the Thugby nongs who come on here. If only you people realized just how much a fool you make yourself look by coming onto a Football forum and spouting negative crap about it. You'd be horribly embarrassed.
But, keep doing it. As much as you like. Gives me a laugh!!!:p
(But at you, not with you!)

An interesting fact that some Pom backpackers didn't like AFL? No, that is not an interesting fact. What is an interesting fact is that you reflect the attitudes of outdoor pinball followers, which are quite ridiculous. Whilst I'm sure many moronic hooligan gangs would be able to bash somebody in London, that is really not a positive argument for your sport. In fact you don't even need to call them ****, as my wife found out when 2 teenage children she was nanny to were bashed by soccer hoolingans on a London Bus in the mid 80's. I think that soccer will always remain a marginal sport here whilst using violence as a method of self expression is a requesite to supporting the sport. Ever heard of boxing, you know, one on one. Wonder how long the pommy larger loughts would last in the ring? I suspect you are also a gutless pom thug, so feel free to return to Londonistan and the crap country that soccer grew from.:thumbsu:

Couldna said it better myself!!!:thumbsu:

:D:thumbsu:Mate, you are as big of a laughable joke as the Thugby nongs who come on here. If only you people realized just how much a fool you make yourself look by coming onto a Football forum and spouting negative crap about it. You'd be horribly embarrassed.
But, keep doing it. As much as you like. Gives me a laugh!!!:p
(But at you, not with you!)

If only you knew how big of an aussie rules follower i was then you would retract that statement. FYI I like/love footy more than soccer i always have and always will, i still enjoy the round ball code though and am not as closed minded and stupid as some people on here to realise that our great game and as great as it is too us here has nothing on the world game in any other part of the world, and Australia is catching onto it more and more all the time. I would hate for soccer to become bigger than footy because it is our game and i love it but i'm realistic and smart enough to know that its becoming more and more of a threat to the game of aussie rules.

Head in the sand stuff from everybody i reckon close your eyes and pretend it does not exist, well reality check it does exist and on a scale that you or I could not even begin to comprehend in all parts of the world!

Roddy that statement made you look like an absolute tool didn't it? Wake up Sunshine get off the VB and pie diet and try and embrace all sports.

If only you knew how big of an aussie rules follower i was then you would retract that statement. FYI I like/love footy more than soccer i always have and always will, i still enjoy the round ball code though and am not as closed minded and stupid as some people on here to realise that our great game and as great as it is too us here has nothing on the world game in any other part of the world, and Australia is catching onto it more and more all the time. I would hate for soccer to become bigger than footy because it is our game and i love it but i'm realistic and smart enough to know that its becoming more and more of a threat to the game of aussie rules.

Head in the sand stuff from everybody i reckon close your eyes and pretend it does not exist, well reality check it does exist and on a scale that you or I could not even begin to comprehend in all parts of the world!

Roddy that statement made you look like an absolute tool didn't it? Wake up Sunshine get off the VB and pie diet and try and embrace all sports.

Keep going mate!!!! The world needs more unintentional humour!!!!:D

No i'm not a pom thug just a person who can look at something with an open mind and realise that as a sport we are nothing compared to the world game, doesn't make us better or worse or ours a better spectacle than theirs but it does highlight how insignificant our sport is on a large scale. Anybody that cannot see this is to patriotic and proud of our own game(nothing wrong with this) to admit it.

It's no different to certain coaches and sports writers in AFL and rugby though, well known for their many years of digs at football.
Absolutely true ! There's a Rugby Union columnist in Sydney who is well known for his cheap digs at Rugby League. I can understand it in that case (to an extent) as the two Rugby codes are often competing for the same athletes, but that isn't usually true of soccer or Aussie Rules.

Great, the world needs another soccer vs footy debate on this forum.

Here's the reason soccer craps all over afl.

Round 1 - AFL negatives:

Game can't grow past Australian shores - only ****y set-up games that mean nothing

Nobody overseas cares - no AFL team can get sponsorship outside Oz

Boring comp - same teams, same blokes playing, every friggin year - what's new?

Oval ball - promotes luck. Get a lucky bounce then you get the ball - there's no skill in that. Work for the ball like they do in soccer.

Harder game - harder to get to the top b/c there's more players globally

AFL is a soft comp b/c it relies on free to air TV to get popularity. A-league does fine without any soft free-kicks from free to air. Look how much marketing the AFL is getting. Soft.

AFL bandwagoners in QLD and NSW. People only turn up while their team is winning. See the memberships going down for these teams. They'll keep going down, while Road and Sydney FC are rising.

The Grand Final is full of bandwagon poeple who don't actually follow the teams playing. If so, why were there 90K at last year's GF, when the memberships of the teams are lower

As a player, you get more money being a soccer star, so why try and be a fish in a small pond like the AFL. Get tough and compete with the big boys on the global game.

As a spectator, AFL tops look ridiculous. Soccer tops are much cooler. Look better on the chicks.

More to come later.......

Great, the world needs another soccer vs footy debate on this forum.

Here's the reason soccer craps all over afl.

Round 1 - AFL negatives:

Game can't grow past Australian shores - only ****y set-up games that mean nothing

Nobody overseas cares - no AFL team can get sponsorship outside Oz

Boring comp - same teams, same blokes playing, every friggin year - what's new?

Oval ball - promotes luck. Get a lucky bounce then you get the ball - there's no skill in that. Work for the ball like they do in soccer.

Harder game - harder to get to the top b/c there's more players globally

AFL is a soft comp b/c it relies on free to air TV to get popularity. A-league does fine without any soft free-kicks from free to air. Look how much marketing the AFL is getting. Soft.

AFL bandwagoners in QLD and NSW. People only turn up while their team is winning. See the memberships going down for these teams. They'll keep going down, while Road and Sydney FC are rising.

The Grand Final is full of bandwagon poeple who don't actually follow the teams playing. If so, why were there 90K at last year's GF, when the memberships of the teams are lower

As a player, you get more money being a soccer star, so why try and be a fish in a small pond like the AFL. Get tough and compete with the big boys on the global game.

As a spectator, AFL tops look ridiculous. Soccer tops are much cooler. Look better on the chicks.

More to come later.......

Vinne you are on the wrong site this is BIG Footy - AFL you need to go to a soccer site to sprout that rubbish........you miss one important point and that is why this site exists.......it is about AFL an oval ball and why the crowds go to our game.....it has nothing to do what the game of soccer is doing here or anywhere else in the world :p