News Clarkson news, media etc - he’s off into the Sunset!

I'll get ahead of Caro on this one:

In breaking news an industry first is imminent as the AFL are brokering an Alastair Clarkson multi-million dollar mega deal where he will coach three (3) Melbourne based clubs simultaneously..!!!

In all likelihood these will be Collingwood, Carlton and North Melbourne. He of course will have to nominate a proxy coach when they play each other!

I'm just waiting for my main source (Maureen, the hairdresser down the road) to confirm proposed contract length and remuneration.
You forgot that Clarko has also caused a major rift in the board of the Milwaukee Bucks and their Championship celebrations are in tatters because of this.

I just don't understand why Mitchell would take an interview from Collingwood if he knew he was guaranteed the job, this could of been sorted alot quieter if that was the case?. Clarkson could of got through to 2022 .
His 2022 is almost untenable now. Next year will be for prparing Sam, next year players will be looking to the new and the future.
Clarko's swan song will be lame duck coach, Hawthorn have made as big an unpopular stuff up of this as was happening with the Melbopurne debacle 1996. Clarkson is just too much a massively significant figure in our whole CLUB history!

To go out as the old fellow done in, and finished , that is humiliating for the club and for this man probably the best we have ever had!

To let this happen, WHY?????? THIS IS A GIANT BIG FAT QUESTION UNANSWERED ? Even by Sams SEN interview, the board did virtually sack Clarko , thats my take, and nothing to do with Caroline Wilson, trouble was up before she stuck her nose where it wasn't wanted!

Daniel23 I too am really really caught up in the Collingwood "thing" too. What you said is spot on, why would he even contemplate a Collingwood position, and even if he DIDN'T CONTEMPLATE Collingwood interview after maybe being asked,
why bring his refusal to Collingwood out in the open in the first place, then see this happen, and!!! People try to tell you that Clarko is happy with this??????
I am so doubtful , and I smell a rat.
Clarko and maybe even Sam are gagged to what ever position the club advises them to follow and say. But Sam is untried its fine having a grand plan, but the game nowadays grandplans take generations and we are just removing a once in a 60 year generation, you only get one of these blokes, Sam is in his late thirties he has tons of time to hone his skills and to do what he always has wanted to do, COACH! It will come to him, our COACH now should stay as long as he wants, but can he after this filthy little screw up?
You'd reckon it was the CIA, I am seriously pi**ed off, this man took us to 5 grand finals and won four of them, and he has to be Mr end of days, and he knows it NOW? He's been kicked in the head!

HE SHOULD BE GIVEN THE CHANCE TO GO FOR ONE MORE GF , AND RETIRE WHEN HE SAYS.

He is the greatest modern day coach of the last 40 to 50 years , he took our club to 4 premierships and did it while an unchallenged AFL hierarchy hammered our game with rule fiddling compromising the game, with penalties that can change a result, not merit in playing.
CLARKO had them all stymied , I watched his training and planning and the people he chose and when they put it together you simply just knew it was on and they almost couldn't lose, they friggin well floored me I had never seen precision like it.
Clarko? He devised all that and with the good people around him and selectors and discipline and the Kokoda track the teaching and the learning and the mind set of achievement success was amazing.
For me he gets another go, I am a member I'd like it put up to the board for a vote for Clarko to stay, on.
The members should have a vote.
If Sam is gauranteed the coaches job , well, when the time is right he will get it.
But who threw Sly Todd the Magpie eating Fox, into the chook house!

Also our Pres talks about success and finance etc and moving forward what the hell does that mean?
Clarko costs to much???? How can you put a figure on 4 tiime premiership coach!
Clarko costs what ever it takes , and club-money talk should have not a thing to do with anything in the football side of things.
I am baffled!

His 2022 is almost untenable now. Next year will be for prparing Sam, next year players will be looking to the new and the future.
Clarko's swan song will be lame duck coach, Hawthorn have made as big an unpopular stuff up of this as was happening with the Melbopurne debacle 1996. Clarkson is just too much a massively significant figure in our whole CLUB history!

To go out as the old fellow done in, and finished , that is humiliating for the club and for this man probably the best we have ever had!

To let this happen, WHY?????? THIS IS A GIANT BIG FAT QUESTION UNANSWERED ? Even by Sams SEN interview, the board did virtually sack Clarko , thats my take, and nothing to do with Caroline Wilson, trouble was up before she stuck her nose where it wasn't wanted!

Daniel23 I too am really really caught up in the Collingwood "thing" too. What you said is spot on, why would he even contemplate a Collingwood position, and even if he DIDN'T CONTEMPLATE Collingwood interview after maybe being asked,
why bring his refusal to Collingwood out in the open in the first place, then see this happen, and!!! People try to tell you that Clarko is happy with this??????
I am so doubtful , and I smell a rat.
Clarko and maybe even Sam are gagged to what ever position the club advises them to follow and say. But Sam is untried its fine having a grand plan, but the game nowadays grandplans take generations and we are just removing a once in a 60 year generation, you only get one of these blokes, Sam is in his late thirties he has tons of time to hone his skills and to do what he always has wanted to do, COACH! It will come to him, our COACH now should stay as long as he wants, but can he after this filthy little screw up?
You'd reckon it was the CIA, I am seriously pi**ed off, this man took us to 5 grand finals and won four of them, and he has to be Mr end of days, and he knows it NOW? He's been kicked in the head!

HE SHOULD BE GIVEN THE CHANCE TO GO FOR ONE MORE GF , AND RETIRE WHEN HE SAYS.

He is the greatest modern day coach of the last 40 to 50 years , he took our club to 4 premierships and did it while an unchallenged AFL hierarchy hammered our game with rule fiddling compromising the game, with penalties that can change a result, not merit in playing.
CLARKO had them all stymied , I watched his training and planning and the people he chose and when they put it together you simply just knew it was on and they almost couldn't lose, they friggin well floored me I had never seen precision like it.
Clarko? He devised all that and with the good people around him and selectors and discipline and the Kokoda track the teaching and the learning and the mind set of achievement success was amazing.
For me he gets another go, I am a member I'd like it put up to the board for a vote for Clarko to stay, on.
The members should have a vote.
If Sam is gauranteed the coaches job , well, when the time is right he will get it.
But who threw Sly Todd the Magpie eating Fox, into the chook house!

Also our Pres talks about success and finance etc and moving forward what the hell does that mean?
Clarko costs to much???? How can you put a figure on 4 tiime premiership coach!
Clarko costs what ever it takes , and club-money talk should have not a thing to do with anything in the football side of things.
I am baffled!

For a rebuild Clarkson is the perfect coach as he has track record, respect and will provide a shield against the inevitable pressure that is felt as a learning team experiences its ups and downs. And yet, the "wisdom" of the board is that we should create a scenario (that has proven to be a failure at Collingwood and Melbourne) that humiliates a great. I find Caro odious at the best of the time but this does not seem right to me. The board has a lot to answer for especially the CEO.

Jeff and the Board made a decision that did not include any process after said decision. If the club thinks that Clarko is not fit to make decisions then why are they backing his decision to have Sam take over?
Simple answer to all the conjecture, something came out to the public that shouldn't have.
Now a step has been taken by the NON football part of the club to jam the super coach in the rubbish bin, with another of these stinking succession plans, look at it now? Clarkson I always thoughtn would get to say he's done, I don't care what a million footy supporters dsay that HAS NOT HAPPENED THIS LAST 2 WEEKS? Sam has no runs on the board, yet he is guaranteed.
to me the follow on was a good popular thing with Sam WE SORT OF ALL KNEW?
But right now today, to get the untried fellow into the job,its done by jamming it up the super coach, even with a big pay cheque and booting him , it is just baffling. again WHY??????? What have we missed, Any how all you can do is watch listen and read , and you still have the little doubt, and that is terrible for a club we trust to the limits? Or do we now?

Post Hawthorn I bet Clarko doesn’t do a head coach gig again and he will move onto something else. He has said this in the past and watching him for years now he doesn’t muck around with words.

Yes, i'm sure you have problems with bad smells every day.
Well I am not sure what the hell that even means, obviously you understabnd nothing thats said to you, usually I don't get a gut sense about things but something in an email STINKS in this Clarkson Mitchell thing. Maybe wrong but I understand the smell?
I am not bad mouthing one or any more than one individual.
But I sure feel uncomfortable about it, and if your happy with decisions that reek of not being quite right , then get someone who can watch out for those who may harm you, brother! Who can tell? We will probably never know, and in this world it is, only a bloody game of football. But it is a lifetime of following hey??? Yes? No?

Last week I woke up, with a sense of disquiet and called my Dad to discuss my state of mind. We reflected together that the feelings we have now reminded us of when Dermott left the hawks. I'm 50 next month and this club has given me untold joy since I saw the 1978 grand final and attended the 1983 flag. It bonds me to my Dad and where I grew up now I'm far away trapped in Asia. I feel this is unnecessary and a Reeves and Kennett ego trip.

Football people should make football decisions.
This looks like a Kennett decision.
He has been of this mind for a while and the Mitchell/Collingwood/Clarko extension triggered a sudden decision.
I have made it known that the club is taking an unnecessary risk.

Now let's look at the flip side:
  • Graham Wright left.
  • Andrew Russell left.
  • David Rath left.
  • Clarkson reportedly called Reeves "a spineless prick".
  • Dermott says the club may know something we don't...
Has Clarkson become too much to handle and too difficult to work with?

Football people should make football decisions.
This looks like a Kennett decision.
He has been of this mind for a while and the Mitchell/Collingwood/Clarko extension triggered a sudden decision.
I have made it known that the club is taking an unnecessary risk.

Now let's look at the flip side:
  • Graham Wright left.
  • Andrew Russell left.
  • David Rath left.
  • Clarkson reportedly called Reeves "a spineless prick".
  • Dermott says the club may know something we don't...
Has Clarkson become too much to handle and too difficult to work with?
No doubt he is in one corner and the board the other. Whether it happened 2 or 3 weeks ago or at the end of the season it was happening. Now is just a whole lot messier. But also a better chance for him to get another gig in 2022 and beyond. Remember he pushed out players early to get more years on the field? Has the board not just done the same?

Gee, this thread heading towards 100 pages, not sure whether handshakes or a few uppercuts are the order of the day...?

Possible dumb question here - but as some on this thread seem convinced that Collingwood's offer to Mitchell was the trigger for this succession plan - I assume this has been publicly confirmed by the Pies, i.e. that they have/did in fact make a formal or informal offer to Sam...?
Sorry, as I rarely watch any of the related footy shows and stopped listening to SEN years ago, meaning I'm never abreast with the latest mostly irrelevant gossip and innuendo they produce, so I'm also usually 50 odd click-bait stories behind...
Going to follow suit. It's grubbsville

Heard from a club insider that Clarko had a longstanding plan to leave after his current contract. If that’s true it explains a lot. It’s a view that some have shared publicly but hasn’t seemed to have gained any traction. Is that because true or false, it ends the speculation and the clicks?

‘we can all speculate whether it could have been different thus. Clarko would have been needed to be re-energised somehow but we see those inside were not as motivated to explore this as a great many members would have been.

sliding doors we are now watching and hoping that those figures we trust on the inside prevail over the nervous nellies

AC may be thinking he could go on a decade more in a less stressful job, or returning to one after a year or two.

continuling now may see burnout in five, or trash his legacy. As some have said that may be the sensible thing but giving it up is particularly hard to do in practice

No doubt he is in one corner and the board the other. Whether it happened 2 or 3 weeks ago or at the end of the season it was happening. Now is just a whole lot messier. But also a better chance for him to get another gig in 2022 and beyond. Remember he pushed out players early to get more years on the field? Has the board not just done the same?
The odds are in favour of Clarkson's coaching career extending further than Sam Mitchell's senior coaching career.