AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Cant wait for Dangerfield to be denied "good boy" exemption at the tribunal even though hes literally the president of the AFLPA... lolIt appears that the footy media has universally panned this decision. Which probably means the next player up for a similar act will cop it.
"And is Aboriginal" being the shittest part of the s**t post. You know
You’re being obtuse mate.Thank you.
It was about work he did in those communities and being a role model.
Not "he's aboriginal".
I'd encourage everyone to post their favourite Charlie Cameron moments in this thread, thank you.
Tried telling the couple of trolling Lions nuffies that decisions that go against what the AFL wants to do will see rule changes.
24 hours and the AFL media know this was a BS judgment.
Rule change in the summer would be the safe bet.
He still hasn't been "suspended", remember? He just gets found guilty every other year in particularly "exceptional and compelling" waysSo will he be able to use his good behavior defense for any future tribunal cases?
Cool! But as said by Dillon, the Tribunal’s decision was valid within the discretionary framework as it currently stands.
Play on.
Yeah but this time he's been found guilty of rough conduct 4 times and fined 6 times only. So that might put him over the edge from exemplary character to not a great bloke after allSo if he does the same thing next week, could he then say he's now played 208 games without suspension?
Gleeson said the incident was careless but at the lower end of seriousness, and noted Cameron had to complete the tackle in a rotating manner to avoid Lever - who is 20kg heavier than him - crushing him due to momentum.
The Tribunal also noted that Lever was uninjured in the incident.
Gut feel is that they knew it wasn’t suspension worthy but didn’t want to downgrade it to low for some reason, so took the other stuff into account which they hardly ever doI'll preface this by saying I'm a Brisbane supporter.
I pay barely any attention to the footy media on TV and I had a glance this week and I reckon this is a good example of why. It's just outrage bait for clicks.
Other parts of the decision from the AFL article everyone has suddenly forgotten
Yes the character thing was definitely a part of the decision, but it was a PART of it. It's been presented as if he king hit a bloke and because an he's a good bloke he gets a free pass.
GOOD BLOKE TAX as a term is intentional twisting of it as well, in court it's a pretty well established concept that at sentencing if you have a good record you'll get a lower sentence from the judge. It's not a crazy concept.
One thing I don't get is that the Tribunal graded it as Medium because of the "potential to cause injury", didn't downgrade it to Low but then cited him not being injured in their decision notes? It makes it a bit confusing as to whether they are taking into account actual or potential injuries in their decision, it feels to me like they want it both ways.
Tried telling the couple of trolling Lions nuffies that decisions that go against what the AFL wants to do will see rule changes.
24 hours and the AFL media know this was a BS judgment.
Rule change in the summer would be the safe bet.
One thing I don't get is that the Tribunal graded it as Medium because of the "potential to cause injury", didn't downgrade it to Low but then cited him not being injured in their decision notes? It makes it a bit confusing as to whether they are taking into account actual or potential injuries in their decision, it feels to me like they want it both ways.
They also used the fact he plead guilty to low impact as one of the reasons for his exceptional circumstances.This is exactly the problem I have with it as well. Just adds to the inconsistency of decision making from the MRO, the tribunal and by extension the AFL which is frustrating for observers.
"do no evil"Might have something to do with the colour of his skin.
The reality he is treated more favourably than others