Changes for Round 4

Armfield has to be rewarded. If Garlett plays seniors again this week i will spew. If Jamison is right to go then someone else will go.

Clokes position in the side ist hanging on by much.

If you look at the stats you will see that Jacobs only played 47% game time and still managed 10 touches and 13 hitouts and snagged a goal. If he had played along the lines of 75% then he probably would have 16-17 touches and 20 Hitouts. Theres no reason why Kruezer cant spend some time up forward if Cloke doesnt perform.

Someone may have mentioned this before but are we wearing an old heritage jumper for this round against sydney?
Sydney are wearing a jumper from 1909 against us both times this year.

5o9jk7.jpg

I am going up to the game on sat and was hoping we would wear a different jumper for the game.

Armfield would have to be a definate in and Garlett a definate out.

Interesting to see Hartlett playing in defence and going well. If he continues to go well here he WILL be an in some time down the track but I can't see it happening yet.

Sounds like Scotland is not ready and he should stay in the VFL until he is.

Kreuzer is as good as anyone now and will take on Jolly easily so don't write us off going in with 1 ruckman to increase our run.

Browne I hear was good, would rather have him in on the back flank than Russell.

Armfield has to be rewarded. If Garlett plays seniors again this week i will spew. If Jamison is right to go then someone else will go.

Clokes position in the side ist hanging on by much.

If you look at the stats you will see that Jacobs only played 47% game time and still managed 10 touches and 13 hitouts and snagged a goal. If he had played along the lines of 75% then he probably would have 16-17 touches and 20 Hitouts. Theres no reason why Kruezer cant spend some time up forward if Cloke doesnt perform.
Completly agree 100%.

B. Armfield O'haplin Thorton
HB. Bower Waite Scotland
C. Hadley Stevens Gibbs
Foll. Kruezer Judd Murphy
HF. Houlihan Cloke Fisher
F. Betts Fevola Robinson

Int. Grigg, Jacobs, Wiggins, Simpson.

In. Scotland, Armfield, O'halphin, Fisher

Out. Gartett, Joseph, Russell, Johnson

Armfield>>>>>>>>>>>>>Joseph

Fisher for Gartlett we need another target on the HF line

O'Halphin for Rusell to play on Hall

Simpson will go next week for Carrazzo if he has another poor show.

If O'halphin goes well when Jamison comes back move the setanta to CHB and let waite lose on the wing.

Armfield would have to be a definate in and Garlett a definate out.

Interesting to see Hartlett playing in defence and going well. If he continues to go well here he WILL be an in some time down the track but I can't see it happening yet.

Sounds like Scotland is not ready and he should stay in the VFL until he is.

Kreuzer is as good as anyone now and will take on Jolly easily so don't write us off going in with 1 ruckman to increase our run.

Browne I hear was good, would rather have him in on the back flank than Russell.

I watched the reserves and just wanted Hartlett to do something, but he didn't. He played in the backline but I would be very surprised if he was picked for us again.

You heard right about Browne, he was good. Got caught a few times holding the ball but has nice skills and can kick to a target.

Scotland, Carazzo and Fisher all need more time in the reserves.

Dangles Armfield should be put straight back into the team for Garlett. 3 Quarter time, Teague went up to him and said, "we are only in this because of you, keep it up mate". He was outstanding for the ants.

The only other change I would make is Browne for Russell. JR was very unaccountable on Saturday Night playing on Lovett.

The game against Essendon was the first live game i've seen in over 2 years as i live in Holland, its the only one i'll see on my visit and although i was very confident in seeing a win, there were many thinkgs i seen that just aren't covered on coverage on the net.

Players that could feel pressure for different reasons this week are;

Russell - Just was never in it, has a great size for a modern footballer but just doesn't seem to be the player we need when we have other players in the same mould willing to run, chase and give 100% ie Armfield

Garlett - Just rarely seen on Sat night, and i thought he was down against Brisbane, but the small SCG ground could see him cause problems for the Sydney defence

Robinson - After watching him the first two games on the net i was looking forward to watching the kid, but he just looked tired on Saturday night, not the normal game i expected, maybe i missed it, i'm not sure if he needs a rest being a first year player and having a massive pre season, but he is another like Garlett who could cause the Swans trouble on such a small ground if he can bring back his 150% intensity level.

Simpson - One of my fav players, but he is struggling at the moment, and a we have depth maybe it needs to be reminded to every player (ie Scotland) that their spots just aren't a matter of turning up

Jacobs - Just feel he struggles against the real big men, finds himself behind pushing and not getting front position, and against Jolly i think we could go with a Kreuzer 80% ruck and use Cloke for 20% to rest Kreuzer. The ground is small and we can't afford to go too big, Kreuzer can expose Jolly around the ground.

Grigg - Highly rated by many, but just feel he needs to work on his kicking into the front half of the field, he seems to get plenty of it across the half back but just bombs it into the forward line without real directions. His game on Saturday wasn't anywhere near what we had from him in the NAB or late last year.

My assessments of the players above doesn't mean they should be dropped but if we make changes these players could be in trouble.

I would like to see Carlos in to take Hall, which would release Waite.

I think Joseph has been great fro us so far, he is providing a real shut down on small forwards or onballers and has given us plent of run out of the backline, a real find for us!!

The Sydney game will be big for us, we play the Dogs and Hawks the following weeks so we could see ourselves 3-3, but i think we can beat the Swans and Hawks and think the Dogs will be our challenge.

Simpson is one player who frustrates the shit out of me. For mine, he stuffs up by foot way too often! Every now and again he'll slot a nice, long goal on the run but he seems to stuff by foot a lot the rest of the time (whether going for goal or in general play).

I thought kicking was his strength...

Simpson is one player who frustrates the shit out of me. For mine, he stuffs up by foot way too often! Every now and again he'll slot a nice, long goal on the run but he seems to stuff by foot a lot the rest of the time (whether going for goal or in general play).

I thought kicking was his strength...

He's the best outside player that can't kick :D

He's horribly out of form...hopefully he bounces back very soon, can't afford many passengers as evident sat night

B. Armfield O'haplin Thorton
HB. Bower Waite Scotland
C. Simpson Stevens Gibbs
Foll. Kruezer Judd Murphy
HF. Houlihan Cloke Fisher
F. Betts Fevola Robinson

Int. Grigg, Jacobs, Wiggins, Johnson.

Out. Gartett, Joseph, Russell

Armfield>>>>>>>>>>>>>Joseph

Fisher for Gartlett we need another target on the HF line

O'Halphin for Rusell to play on Hall

Johnson will go next week for Carrazzo.

If O'halphin go well when Jamison comes back move the setanta to CHB and let waite lose on the wing and simpson will make way.

Love the backs and half backs, Armfield should definately come in. Fisher out, Robo into his spot, Stevens to the bench and Hadley in the middle, swap Garlett for Yarran. Fun times over and Garlett needs to play with the Ants for awhile. As much as I like Wiggo's overhead marking and general attack on the footy He should probably go because his set shot kicking is horrible and has been in all 3 rounds. If he's going to play half forward he needs to kick goals.
So:

B: Armfield Irish Thornton
HB: Bower Waite Scotland
C: Simo Hadley Gibbs
HF: Houla Cloke Robo
F: Betts Fev Yarran

Fol: Kruze Judd Murph
Int: Jacobs Stevens Johnson Grigg

Love the backs and half backs, Armfield should definately come in. Fisher out, Robo into his spot, Stevens to the bench and Hadley in the middle, swap Garlett for Yarran. Fun times over and Garlett needs to play with the Ants for awhile. As much as I like Wiggo's overhead marking and general attack on the footy He should probably go because his set shot kicking is horrible and has been in all 3 rounds. If he's going to play half forward he needs to kick goals.
So:

B: Armfield Irish Thornton
HB: Bower Waite Scotland
C: Simo Hadley Gibbs
HF: Houla Cloke Robo
F: Betts Fev Yarran

Fol: Kruze Judd Murph
Int: Jacobs Stevens Johnson Grigg

I totally forgot hadley, so Hadley in for Johnson in my team no way wiggo goes was the only bloke that presented all night. I don't mind bringing Yarran in instead of fisher. Just feel we need another target up there to help cloke out on that HF line.

Sydney's team from last week. Carlton matchups in bold.

F:
Paul Bevan, Barry Hall, Jarred Moore
B: Thornton, O'Hailpin, Armfield

HF:
Ryan O’Keefe, Ted Richards, Craig Bird
HB: Bower, Waite, Johnson

C: Jarrad McVeigh, Brett Kirk, Nick Malceski
C: Stevens, Hadley, Gibbs

Foll: Darren Jolly, Adam Goodes, Jude Bolton
Foll: Kreuzer, Judd, Murphy

HB: Rhyce Shaw, Heath Grundy, Kieren Jack
HF: Garlett, Cloke, Wiggins
B: Craig Bolton, Lewis Roberts-Thomson, Martin Mattner
F: Betts, Fevola, Houlihan

Int: Jacobs, Robinson, Grigg, Russell
Emerg: Scotland, Browne, Yarran

In:
O'Hailpin, Armfield
Out: Simpson, Joseph

Armfield will be a straight swap for Joseph. O'hailpin to come in to play on Hall, Simpson needs a spell. I reckon russell needs to go as well, but there is no point bringing scotland in unless he is going to play 80-90% of the game as he needs the match fitness.

If Jamo is right to go, straight swap for O'hailpin.

Yarran needs a crack soon, but the SCG is not the place to bring him in for his first hit, and you won't see the MC make more than 2-3 unforced changes at a time. He will be a straight swap for Garlett probably at our next blockbuster MCG game.

what about the thought of not changing the entire team on the basis of one loss and let them prove themselves that they did get ahead of themselves and let them prove that it wont happen again...

much better option i reckon

if there is to be a change, it would be Garlett out... in Armfield/Scotland and thats it...

I totally forgot hadley, so Hadley in for Johnson in my team no way wiggo goes was the only bloke that presented all night. I don't mind bringing Yarran in instead of fisher. Just feel we need another target up there to help cloke out on that HF line.

The only thing with Fish is his lack of defensive pressure, he's not a noted tackler and Ratts is quite rightly big on this part of every players game. I suspect that's why he isn't in the side at the moment. Yarrans a bit of an unknown as I'm not too sure why he's not already playing. Is it lack of fitness, lack of appilcation or something else. I agree Wiggo presents but you can't deny he's hurting us on the score board. Even if you have a decent lead missing easy shots on goal gives the opposition heart.

O'halipin?? That's all we need, more undiciplined acts to add to what Thornton and Waite (to a lesser extent) did on Saturday night.

I don't want to see a repeat of what Thornton did in round one and two. Giving away goals like that. I know that it wasn't a free kick to Lloyd and that the little **** Davey took a dive, but Thornton was sucked in.

I fear adding Setanta to that mix, it will all end in poo:(

So I think from the above, the consensus is that Armfield gets a game.:thumbsu:

The critical factor is winning games while maximising the development of our list and depth. To that end it's great that Garlett, Robinson, Jacobs, Johnson and Joseph have all been given heaps of game time.

Without those 5 'kids' we have the same lineup as 2008, the one that finished outside the 8. The 'holy trinity' and Judd have improved while Hadley and Houlihan are back. However our senior players such as Bentick, Carrazzo, Stevens, Scotland, Simpson, Fisher, Walker, Bannister and Setantrum have all declined or been unsighted.

My point being that we're not going to make the 8 on the strength of last year's list.

Johnson - has the experiment failed? I'd like to see him rotate through the midfield, speering passes to Fev and Cloke. He mightn't make it as a HBF but as a wingman, perhaps. Scotland and Stevens will be 30 soon.

Robinson - Let Carrazzo demand his spot.

Garlett - Yarran would be the replacement but appears not to be demanding elevation from the Bullants. Fisher the only other forward option (structure??). I'd like to keep the kid one more week but the BF majority have spoken!

Joseph - Done nothing wrong but Army is knocking at the door.

Jacobs - Ahead of Hampson and Setanta at this stage as a ruck.

So the changes:

1. Armfield for Joseph (like for like)
  2. Scotland for Johnson (more accountable as a defender)
  3. Bentley for Garlett (rookie for rookie)
Bentley's my left field selection for the week! Bentick is LTI, so reward Bentley's mature frame, experience and good form for the Bullants. Depth, people, depth! It won't develop in the 2s.

Even half-fit, I think Scotland's experience in defense creates a stronger team.

Our 3 first-year demotees should be straight back in if they tear it up. Teague should give Johnson and Joseph purely attacking roles where they can each gain 30 touches.

As I said in another thread, we need a larger interchange bench. :D

I'll let others decide whether Sentantrum should replace Russell. :p

Very very tough decisions at the selection table this week.

Everyone has basically said Garlett will be dropped this week and the signs are definitely there from the weekend. Missed a few tackles, struggled to cope with Dempsey's pace and 57% TOG doesn't help him trying to get a hold of the game. Past games he was up at 70-75% so the drop off seems to indicate he is struggling and will be dropped. The issue with dropping him is while he doesn't lay a heap of tackles, he applies plenty of pressure up forward and no one at this stage will be able to provide this as Yarran seems to be struggling for consistency in the 2's. I think i might stick with the masses at this stage though (play it safe) and say he will be dropped only because it is Sydney who are a very tough and unforgiving team at home especially. I still think he has provided something we haven't had for years and i still think many of you under-valued the job he did in the first 2 games. I also, by no means think he is a monty to be playing for the Ants this week like some do, i won't be surprised if he was playing in the Sydney this weekend.

Personally i'm struggling to get a grip of Chris Johnson. He is very much a liability defensively even though he is being played as a defender. While his kicking skills are very good his decision making can wonder at times and he really put players under the pump. I'd like to see him develop his defensive skills in the VFL at this stage TBH. From what i know, when he was at Melbourne he was very much used offensively. I remember late last year Bailey tried to use him as a tagger, to develop that side of his game. Can't exactly remember who he played on against the Bombers but he got absolutely smashed by Bartel. Could not keep up with him and had no idea how to position himself. I reckon it would be more beneficial for us to play someone who relishes a 1-on-1 contest and see if Teague can hone on this issue. If he stays in the team play him on a wing and in an attacking position otherwise i don't see the point in playing him at this stage because his kicking skills are overshadowed by his defensive skills. By the way i don't think i'm being too harsh on him, i've watched him closely and he really struggles to know what to do down back.

Everyones favourite whipping boy, Russell. I can't see him being dropped and his game on the weekend was more of an indication on the coaching match-ups rather than Jordan. He wasn't the right match-up for Lovett, he should have gone to Stanton. He also put in 2 good performances before hand so his spot should not be in trouble. I think he has taken a small step in the right direction this year. Obviously still lack polish but it IS becoming a little more respectable.

Simpson seems to be struggling a bit with his disposal. He was pretty impressive during the pre-season but has really gone off the boil since the home and away season started. I think it is just confidence and he may be given a spell in the 2's but his line breaking and run and carry is very important, i feel for our team. If he was to be given a spell, this could mean Johnson moves up the ground which i think is the best position for him.

Joseph has done nothing wrong, has really impressed in his first few games. Personally he should have been given the task of taking Lovett, had the speed and discipline to negate him a fair bit IMO. The issue is who do we play him on this week? The Swans side ain't exactly quick so there could be some chance of him getting a spell for the moment. I think if he is not given a run with role there are much better options than Joseph.

I didn't got to the Ants game on the weekend so i am going on the comments that were given by a few on here and also from Teague.

Carrazzo should be given at least another game in the 2's, sounded like he was rusty and i wouldn't rush him back just yet. Scotland sounded like he did ok but i think he may spend one last game in the 2's also. Armfield should be given a run on the back of a very good performance. His kicking improved 10-fold in the NAB Cup and i think he can cement a spot in our 22 if this continues. He also adds pace that we definitely lack last week at least. Bannister apparently has had 2 impressive games and i'd definitely consider him for selection. Very good defensively and could be able to do a job on O'Keefe who is a very important player for the Swans. He will sure up our backline which really looked shakey last week without Jamison. O'hAlpin should have really come into the team last week and i think the match committee will rectify this by selecting him this week. We release Waite and even Thornton/Bower to play a more attacking role which we really missed last week. Also don't think we have a proper match-up for Hall so Setanta should be picked as his grunt, aggression and strength should see a fairly good match-up.

For me at this stage i would go making wholesale changes. I was just 1 loss by only 3 points so we are definitely not in a crisis. Saying that though, i think 2 are definitely needed.

IN O'hAlpin, Armfield
OUT Johnson, Garlett/Joseph

If it is Jeff, we could see Armfield playing up forward a bit to help out Betts a little with the 'frontal pressure' (what Mike Sheehan likes to call it) because that is what wins ball games these days. Dennis could also play as a tagger on say a Malceski/Shaw, the running half back players. If it is Joseph, Armfield could go down and play on a Buchanan or Moore. Setanta also comes in to play on Hall which will then see Waite released and provide another attacking option which was vacated by the demotion of Johnson.

Our Match-Ups:

Jarred Moore/Buchanan (if he plays) - Joseph/Armfield
Hall - O'hAlpin
O'Keefe - Bower
Richards/Grundy (one will play forward) - Thornton
Goodes - Gibbs
Malceski - Armfield/Garlett
Jolly (when he goes forward) - Waite
McVeigh - Russell

Sounds like Pyke will come in for them so whether that means White gets the axe or not i'm not sure. If he doesn't then we could be stretched.

I rambled on a little bit and as you can see and as i said there are some very tough decisions to make this week. A fair few players are pushing for selection yet there aren't any that are automatic demotions. Depending on how the match committee took last weeks lose, we could see as little as 1 or maybe even 4 changes this week.

2 things for sure this week, Armfield will come in, and there is no way they will give Yarran his first AFL game at the SCG, that's the only thing giving Garlett another week.

Who goes out for army? IMO it has to be simmo.

Carrots isn't ready, and there is no point playing Scotland unless he is gonna play the majority of the game.

Very very tough decisions at the selection table this week.

Everyone has basically said Garlett will be dropped this week and the signs are definitely there from the weekend. Missed a few tackles, struggled to cope with Dempsey's pace and 57% TOG doesn't help him trying to get a hold of the game. Past games he was up at 70-75% so the drop off seems to indicate he is struggling and will be dropped. The issue with dropping him is while he doesn't lay a heap of tackles, he applies plenty of pressure up forward and no one at this stage will be able to provide this as Yarran seems to be struggling for consistency in the 2's. I think i might stick with the masses at this stage though (play it safe) and say he will be dropped only because it is Sydney who are a very tough and unforgiving team at home especially. I still think he has provided something we haven't had for years and i still think many of you under-valued the job he did in the first 2 games. I also, by no means think he is a monty to be playing for the Ants this week like some do, i won't be surprised if he was playing in the Sydney this weekend.

Personally i'm struggling to get a grip of Chris Johnson. He is very much a liability defensively even though he is being played as a defender. While his kicking skills are very good his decision making can wonder at times and he really put players under the pump. I'd like to see him develop his defensive skills in the VFL at this stage TBH. From what i know, when he was at Melbourne he was very much used offensively. I remember late last year Bailey tried to use him as a tagger, to develop that side of his game. Can't exactly remember who he played on against the Bombers but he got absolutely smashed by Bartel. Could not keep up with him and had no idea how to position himself. I reckon it would be more beneficial for us to play someone who relishes a 1-on-1 contest and see if Teague can hone on this issue. If he stays in the team play him on a wing and in an attacking position otherwise i don't see the point in playing him at this stage because his kicking skills are overshadowed by his defensive skills. By the way i don't think i'm being too harsh on him, i've watched him closely and he really struggles to know what to do down back.

Everyones favourite whipping boy, Russell. I can't see him being dropped and his game on the weekend was more of an indication on the coaching match-ups rather than Jordan. He wasn't the right match-up for Lovett, he should have gone to Stanton. He also put in 2 good performances before hand so his spot should not be in trouble. I think he has taken a small step in the right direction this year. Obviously still lack polish but it IS becoming a little more respectable.

Simpson seems to be struggling a bit with his disposal. He was pretty impressive during the pre-season but has really gone off the boil since the home and away season started. I think it is just confidence and he may be given a spell in the 2's but his line breaking and run and carry is very important, i feel for our team. If he was to be given a spell, this could mean Johnson moves up the ground which i think is the best position for him.

Joseph has done nothing wrong, has really impressed in his first few games. Personally he should have been given the task of taking Lovett, had the speed and discipline to negate him a fair bit IMO. The issue is who do we play him on this week? The Swans side ain't exactly quick so there could be some chance of him getting a spell for the moment. I think if he is not given a run with role there are much better options than Joseph.

I didn't got to the Ants game on the weekend so i am going on the comments that were given by a few on here and also from Teague.

Carrazzo should be given at least another game in the 2's, sounded like he was rusty and i wouldn't rush him back just yet. Scotland sounded like he did ok but i think he may spend one last game in the 2's also. Armfield should be given a run on the back of a very good performance. His kicking improved 10-fold in the NAB Cup and i think he can cement a spot in our 22 if this continues. He also adds pace that we definitely lack last week at least. Bannister apparently has had 2 impressive games and i'd definitely consider him for selection. Very good defensively and could be able to do a job on O'Keefe who is a very important player for the Swans. He will sure up our backline which really looked shakey last week without Jamison. O'hAlpin should have really come into the team last week and i think the match committee will rectify this by selecting him this week. We release Waite and even Thornton/Bower to play a more attacking role which we really missed last week. Also don't think we have a proper match-up for Hall so Setanta should be picked as his grunt, aggression and strength should see a fairly good match-up.

For me at this stage i would go making wholesale changes. I was just 1 loss by only 3 points so we are definitely not in a crisis. Saying that though, i think 2 are definitely needed.

IN O'hAlpin, Armfield
OUT Johnson, Garlett/Joseph

If it is Jeff, we could see Armfield playing up forward a bit to help out Betts a little with the 'frontal pressure' (what Mike Sheehan likes to call it) because that is what wins ball games these days. Dennis could also play as a tagger on say a Malceski/Shaw, the running half back players. If it is Joseph, Armfield could go down and play on a Buchanan or Moore. Setanta also comes in to play on Hall which will then see Waite released and provide another attacking option which was vacated by the demotion of Johnson.

Our Match-Ups:

Jarred Moore/Buchanan (if he plays) - Joseph/Armfield
Hall - O'hAlpin
O'Keefe - Bower
Richards/Grundy (one will play forward) - Thornton
Goodes - Gibbs
Malceski - Armfield/Garlett
Jolly (when he goes forward) - Waite
McVeigh - Russell

Sounds like Pyke will come in for them so whether that means White gets the axe or not i'm not sure. If he doesn't then we could be stretched.

I rambled on a little bit and as you can see and as i said there are some very tough decisions to make this week. A fair few players are pushing for selection yet there aren't any that are automatic demotions. Depending on how the match committee took last weeks lose, we could see as little as 1 or maybe even 4 changes this week.

Pyke and Jolly will play in the ruck and they will push White into the forward line. If Pyke, Jolly and White all play, Setanta must as well.
O'Keefe- Thornton
Hall- Setanta
White- Bower
Waite can play loose
If Setanta doesn't play then Waite will have to play on O'keefe or Hall and we will our drive out of defense.

I'm inclined to follow a horse-for-courses approach to this game, especially as it's being played at the SCG. With that in mind I'd like to see Cloke dropped, (who admittedly hasn't being setting the house on fire as a lead-up CHF) allowing Fevola more room in what will already be a cramped forward line. With the Jacobs and Kreuzer combo working well in the ruck and our mids capable of replicating the days when Diesel and Healy would kick bags at this ground, I don't think Cloke is needed.

I'd also like to see Garlett given a break - after watching him on Sat night the kid looks knackered, plus he had a stinker of a game to boot. Against a side that play as tight as the Swans do (and at a ground as short as the SCG), precision kicking is paramount so whoever is the better kick out of Browne and Armfield should come in - I'm leaning towards Army.

As for the second inclusion I'd like to Yarran come in and cause their short backs some headaches, but wouldn't be surprised if he was given more time in the Ants.

Changes for Round 4