Preview Changes and pre match discussion vs Carlton on Good Friday footy

Am again at the point where I didn't mind large parts of our game today. Thought the first quarter was actually good within the confines of the team having the wind. Good entries, clearance dominance, LDU on fire. He had 11 touches, three shots on goal, three clearances and five I50s, nearly 300 metres gained and four marks. Just about the best quarter of footy we've had by anyone in the team this year. Indecision and skill execution (Larkey & Sheezel not talking, should have been a goal from 2 metres out), Larkey's miss from the pocket, and the aforementioned LDU three gettable misses.

Second quarter I thought besides the Melbourne 4th was our most mature and calm, and ergo best quarter of the year. We could very easily have dropped our bundles after the first two of the quarter went to the Suns but they actually steadied, battled back into it, and used the footy really well. Regardless of if the wind changed, to arrest momentum is not something this team has done well at any point in the last decade basically so halting GC, turning the tide and actively kicking our way back into it was nice to see. There were a few goals where we actually looked slick, end to end type footy, and didn't have to battle for nine hours to get the ball into a halfway decent position for a shot on goal. For mine it was easily the most impressive period of play we've had for quite some time. No surprises that when Sheezel gets time and space he is a magician - massive reason why we pulled ourselves back into it.

It obviously fell apart late in the third and throughout the fourth. I think what makes the loss so jarring for me is that you could visibly see the team give up after the Simpkin turnover. From then on it was a procession and the goals being piled on looks disgusting but I think it masks another 2.5 quarters of actually not bad footy. I don't like that we are so mentally weak and so quick to give up, and that there isn't quite yet the leadership from the group to be able to drag each other up and continue working. It speaks to a group that doesn't believe in themselves. The shine from the Dees win will only last for so long before they go back into their shells. I thought Jy and Parker did everything they could, but it's hard when we are so young and the younger players don't know how to win yet.

The defence is a problem. Comben is a victim of being too important in a system that requires him to defend too much. Good coaches spread our defenders and force him to play 1:1 defence and he isn't good at it. He was terrific against Melbourne because the midfield put pressure on and forced dump kicks, and today the GC midfield got to do what they want, largely because of turnovers from us and a lack of pressure the other way. When he's isolated deep he gets too grabby and gives away free kicks out of desperation - same with Corr. I actually agree with the idea that he would look 1000000 bucks in an organized, coherent defence, and I'd pay good money to see him alongside a mature Wawson, Whitlock, Archer et al, as I think he'd be a force there. Unfortunately, they're not ready and I think Charlie is symptomatic of our wider issue - we arent ready for him to be what he is best at.

Daniel was better today but is gross 1:1. Rogers, Ainsworth, Humphrey, Long, didn't matter. He isn't a defender, he just plays back there. Another one who gets isolated and ends up on an island. Need Arch back ASAP.

Mcdonald is pants. He's been really good to start the season but lowered his colours again. Just an honest trier. Not the dynamic mid sweeper we all envisioned. It's what it is and hopefully it's over sooner rather than later as we aren't moving forward with him in the side, guarding space and leading lanes while the ball gets kicked over his head.

Corr gives away too many free kicks but had a mare on a good player. Again Hardwick did a good job spreading our defense and preying on turnovers.

Overall I think they battle but they're on a hiding to nothing if the mids don't stop the supply. Which they don't because if they lose at clearance they're statues. They set up goal side, they expect X to win the tap, and when it goes the other way they're stunned mullets. Wardlaw will make a difference but it's staggering that we are so reliant on a 20yo to straighten us up defensively. Phillips would be good but he can't run out of sight on a dark night. He does position himself better than most of our mids at contest which would be nice to have, but ultimately I don't think he's quick enough to succeed in the modern game.

X looked baffled by the end - no idea what he was getting pinged for. Read and Witts seemed like they had free reign to just run into him and get a free kick. It says he gave away 3 frees but it felt like 8. He clearly isn't right and is hampered by the hammy but realistically there's nobody else. Already a far cry from the bloke who gave Gawn a hiding at Marvel. I feel for him because his natural aggression is being umpired out of him.

LDU was great, played like a man who deserves that contract. If you're running through 50 with the wind in your hair LDU ****ing kick the goal old mate. It's the only thing holding him back. He's a star.

Simpkin tried his heart out again. I think the turnover speaks to his desire to play to instructions, move the ball quickly, he just gets out over his skis. He's having a good year despite the howlers every so often, it's just a shame they keep happening when it's really important.

Duursma was solid. He's like Comben - we aren't where we need to be to maximize his talents. He's showing glimpses and when it turns for us he will be gliding through 50 kicking goals and we'll wonder why we were ever worried. I'm not worried about him or his work rate - his second goal was basically pure work rate. We must persist.

Mckercher needs the shipping container treatment. The surge from the Suns at the end of the third was basically on him. I hope they got to him and had a firm and reassuring chat. He has so many weapons and he could be so good for us... He does whiff of cat though. Needs to bring the offensive weapons to the point they're so good that we forget about the kitty.

Curtis is a f***ing gun. Ragdolling blokes, kicking goals. He's such a bright spark, arguably the brightest we've had for a while relative to draft position. Animal.

The forward line was good, we scored fairly heavily, Larkey played pretty well and there was more space than there has been over the last few weeks. Felt like it was there for us on multiple opportunities but we just couldn't capitalise in key moments. An opportunity lost today, until McK's brainfades I thought they were very gettable.

Carlton present an interesting challenge as I reckon they are just going. No Kemp and no McKay means they will need to generate a lot of scores through their midfield. They might go very small and rely on Motlop Durdin White and Fogarty. I think if we can make a dent in their midfield and if X can get on top of TDK we are every chance. However if X is still hobbled and he has to take on TDK/Pittonet one out, we might be in for a long one. Mark Charlie down for 4-5 and let's hope we can expose them the other way - as lazy as we reckon our blokes are, Cerra is lazier, and Walsh looked great today after being disgusting for the first month. I think beating the Eagles witches hats paints over some cracks for them, and they're ripe for the taking.

Having said all that Carlton by 83

Out McKercher
In: Wardlaw
A university-level essay followed by that prediction is darkly comic. Good stuff

Daniel was better today but is gross 1:1. Rogers, Ainsworth, Humphrey, Long, didn't matter. He isn't a defender, he just plays back there. Another one who gets isolated and ends up on an island. Need Arch back ASAP.

Overall I think they battle but they're on a hiding to nothing if the mids don't stop the supply. Which they don't because if they lose at clearance they're statues. They set up goal side, they expect X to win the tap, and when it goes the other way they're stunned mullets.

Curtis is a f***ing gun. Ragdolling blokes, kicking goals. He's such a bright spark, arguably the brightest we've had for a while relative to draft position. Animal.

Out McKercher
Just cutting some pivotal shit here.

Daniel + comben + fisher in the same backline is ****ing yuck and equals a defensive structure akin to sand.

The stoppage setups. **** me. We give so much space and gamble all the time. Had a mate there who loved our handball game and I reiterated we are gambling. One off touch and it’s gone. We constantly setup offensively, even our half forwards setup behind their defenders, which is so ****ing dumb considering how often we dump kick from stoppage. Who the **** is in charge here?

PC. Toughkaant. Love him. Ragdolled Rowell like he was a 2nd year player.

Also just wanted to point out that FOS is the best of any of our highly tough res youngsters. Just give me a video of him going back with the flight please giantroo

Two of the worlds strongest negronis have allowed me to look glass half full.

But I still think we need to have some heath ledgers joker style tryouts. Broken pool cues and everyone can fight for their spots. It would be wardlaw, fos, archer and pc left standing, and I’d be pretty happy with that

Stupid I know. But. I think I’d rather see Dawson, Logue, Comben, Pink, Hardeman and Corr as our six

Which Dawson?

Either way that's a very very tall back six.

Which Dawson?

Either way that's a very very tall back six.

I’ll take either. Was going Will, but would take Kallan.
I can see this. But what do we do with CD? Bench?
I see it being the more skilled, can tackle better and equally as fast as our other half back deadshits that we have too.

Yeah, seeing him get his high disposals is great. But his lack of speed, inability to physically split a contest is really starting to piss me off. Passing it off to a Stephens or Tucker that creates a link of frantic haphazardness which turns into a turnover.

Sheezel or McKercher could have presented a better case for his role so far this year. Shit, even fisher. So I’ll take bench, and he can use that ‘experience’ to help us stay in games ‘longer’ as Clarko pointed out

B: Archer, Corr, Logue
HB: Hardeman, Comben, Daniel
C: O’Sullivan, Wardlaw, Stephens
HF: Simpkin, Darling, Zurhaar
F: Konstanty, Larkey, Curtis
Foll: Xerri, Sheezel, Davies-Uniacke

I: Duursma, Parker, Phillips, McDonald
Sub: Fisher

In: Wardlaw, Archer, Phillips, Hardeman
Out: McKercher, Powell, Tucker, Fisher

Restructuring the midfield to give it a harder edge. Refresh the back 6 with better balance of defend first players.

Carlton had their 'statement win' today.

I genuinely think we can beat Carlton, if we don't make stupid decisions at selection.

Carlton don’t have our kryptonite. Run, pace, and dangerous small forwards.

We can definitely win this. Not saying we will, but we certainly can. And if you like a punt $3.01 is a good price.

I hope we are winning and someone at some point tells Jack Silvagni that “your team is shit”

And then they kick 3 goals in 4 minutes to win by a point, nightmare that happens to us

I think we will beat the blues. Interested to see how brave we are at the selection table. Powell 2 score involvements is just not good enough.

Mods, can we please add the words “Good Friday SuperClash” to the tread title. The Good Friday SuperClash is our only fully ticketed marquee game

Just woke up and am shocked to see the sun shining. Was it a bad dream I asked myself. Then I remembered the same team that ran all over the top of us was beaten by us at the end of last year. There can't be that much that needs fixing. We just need to keep changing the mix until we strike the right combination of men who are willing to go in hard and play for each other like their lives depend on it.

Rowell is next level this year. He just did as he pleased yesterday

Probably win Brownlow if this form continues

Am again at the point where I didn't mind large parts of our game today. Thought the first quarter was actually good within the confines of the team having the wind. Good entries, clearance dominance, LDU on fire. He had 11 touches, three shots on goal, three clearances and five I50s, nearly 300 metres gained and four marks. Just about the best quarter of footy we've had by anyone in the team this year. Indecision and skill execution (Larkey & Sheezel not talking, should have been a goal from 2 metres out), Larkey's miss from the pocket, and the aforementioned LDU three gettable misses.

Second quarter I thought besides the Melbourne 4th was our most mature and calm, and ergo best quarter of the year. We could very easily have dropped our bundles after the first two of the quarter went to the Suns but they actually steadied, battled back into it, and used the footy really well. Regardless of if the wind changed, to arrest momentum is not something this team has done well at any point in the last decade basically so halting GC, turning the tide and actively kicking our way back into it was nice to see. There were a few goals where we actually looked slick, end to end type footy, and didn't have to battle for nine hours to get the ball into a halfway decent position for a shot on goal. For mine it was easily the most impressive period of play we've had for quite some time. No surprises that when Sheezel gets time and space he is a magician - massive reason why we pulled ourselves back into it.

It obviously fell apart late in the third and throughout the fourth. I think what makes the loss so jarring for me is that you could visibly see the team give up after the Simpkin turnover. From then on it was a procession and the goals being piled on looks disgusting but I think it masks another 2.5 quarters of actually not bad footy. I don't like that we are so mentally weak and so quick to give up, and that there isn't quite yet the leadership from the group to be able to drag each other up and continue working. It speaks to a group that doesn't believe in themselves. The shine from the Dees win will only last for so long before they go back into their shells. I thought Jy and Parker did everything they could, but it's hard when we are so young and the younger players don't know how to win yet.

The defence is a problem. Comben is a victim of being too important in a system that requires him to defend too much. Good coaches spread our defenders and force him to play 1:1 defence and he isn't good at it. He was terrific against Melbourne because the midfield put pressure on and forced dump kicks, and today the GC midfield got to do what they want, largely because of turnovers from us and a lack of pressure the other way. When he's isolated deep he gets too grabby and gives away free kicks out of desperation - same with Corr. I actually agree with the idea that he would look 1000000 bucks in an organized, coherent defence, and I'd pay good money to see him alongside a mature Wawson, Whitlock, Archer et al, as I think he'd be a force there. Unfortunately, they're not ready and I think Charlie is symptomatic of our wider issue - we arent ready for him to be what he is best at.

Mcdonald is pants. He's been really good to start the season but lowered his colours again. Just an honest trier. Not the dynamic mid sweeper we all envisioned. It's what it is and hopefully it's over sooner rather than later as we aren't moving forward with him in the side, guarding space and leading lanes while the ball gets kicked over his head.

Corr gives away too many free kicks but had a mare on a good player. Again Hardwick did a good job spreading our defense and preying on turnovers.

Overall I think they battle but they're on a hiding to nothing if the mids don't stop the supply. Which they don't because if they lose at clearance they're statues. They set up goal side, they expect X to win the tap, and when it goes the other way they're stunned mullets. Wardlaw will make a difference but it's staggering that we are so reliant on a 20yo to straighten us up defensively. Phillips would be good but he can't run out of sight on a dark night. He does position himself better than most of our mids at contest which would be nice to have, but ultimately I don't think he's quick enough to succeed in the modern game.

X looked baffled by the end - no idea what he was getting pinged for. Read and Witts seemed like they had free reign to just run into him and get a free kick. It says he gave away 3 frees but it felt like 8. He clearly isn't right and is hampered by the hammy but realistically there's nobody else. Already a far cry from the bloke who gave Gawn a hiding at Marvel. I feel for him because his natural aggression is being umpired out of him.

LDU was great, played like a man who deserves that contract. If you're running through 50 with the wind in your hair LDU ****ing kick the goal old mate. It's the only thing holding him back. He's a star.

Simpkin tried his heart out again. I think the turnover speaks to his desire to play to instructions, move the ball quickly, he just gets out over his skis. He's having a good year despite the howlers every so often, it's just a shame they keep happening when it's really important.

Duursma was solid. He's like Comben - we aren't where we need to be to maximize his talents. He's showing glimpses and when it turns for us he will be gliding through 50 kicking goals and we'll wonder why we were ever worried. I'm not worried about him or his work rate - his second goal was basically pure work rate. We must persist.

Mckercher needs the shipping container treatment. The surge from the Suns at the end of the third was basically on him. I hope they got to him and had a firm and reassuring chat. He has so many weapons and he could be so good for us... He does whiff of cat though. Needs to bring the offensive weapons to the point they're so good that we forget about the kitty.

The forward line was good, we scored fairly heavily, Larkey played pretty well and there was more space than there has been over the last few weeks. Felt like it was there for us on multiple opportunities but we just couldn't capitalise in key moments. An opportunity lost today, until McK's brainfades I thought they were very gettable.

Carlton present an interesting challenge as I reckon they are just going. No Kemp and no McKay means they will need to generate a lot of scores through their midfield. They might go very small and rely on Motlop Durdin White and Fogarty. I think if we can make a dent in their midfield and if X can get on top of TDK we are every chance. However if X is still hobbled and he has to take on TDK/Pittonet one out, we might be in for a long one. Mark Charlie down for 4-5 and let's hope we can expose them the other way - as lazy as we reckon our blokes are, Cerra is lazier, and Walsh looked great today after being disgusting for the first month. I think beating the Eagles witches hats paints over some cracks for them, and they're ripe for the taking.

Out McKercher

How refreshing to see an actual balanced review of what occured rather than the repeated drivel from the usual cry babies with the emotional intelligence of 5 year olds.

In - Wardlaw, Archer

Out - McKercher, Tucker

Out McKercher

Hahaha excellent, ya had me

Preview Changes and pre match discussion vs Carlton on Good Friday footy

Write your reply...