• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Bendigo FL discussion 2025

Moama aren't basing their decision on a big footy rumour

Applied correctly and logically, points systems are the best measure for equalisation. Unfortunately, the application has been poor by AFLV right from the outset with so many confusing factors, such as points added for placings in club B&F awards and "loyalty bonuses" after only one season.

The confusion over a player's points is evident on many league threads. Posters arguing for a page, even more, over how many points a player should be. The system should be simple enough so that anyone can work out a player's point value without confusion in a matter of a minute.

A player should have an assigned point value based on their history and where they have played previously. The only three changes to this figure should be an addition of 1 point for playing for a third club in three seasons, an addition of 2 points if the player is recruited from a opposition club in the same league and the other is a deduction of one point per year from the fourth season (and subsequent seasons) that a recruit plays consecutively at that club until they become a 2 point player.

The application of club points is embarrassing for ALFV. The imbalance between metro leagues and country leagues and also no decent consideration for clubs (small clubs up against teams from regional centres, issues with junior numbers in towns, recognising long-term struggling clubs with points assistance) ensures that the imbalance will remain. Especially if successful clubs can recruit seven three pointers to their club and then lose seven of those points at the end of one year so they can continue recruiting big each summer.

The intention of equalisation measures is seeing clubs go up and down the ladder without clubs making finals 10 years in a row or finishing bottom three 10 years in a row. Looking at the ladders around the state in recent years, AFLV's plan is definitely flawed.
The B&F placings impacting a players points has been scrapped for a few years now. To be fair, it’s actually pretty simple in the current format to determine what a player will be.

The issue is that bottom clubs have no hope of climbing without a slog of 3-5 years. At that time, players get sick of losing, with no light at the end of the tunnel, and then head off to cashed-up district clubs or clubs in the window. It is deadset destroying competitions. Since its inception, can anyone argue that Country football has become better, recruiting is easier, and clubs aren't folding?

Nope.

It’s a totally ridiculous system that was built on failure and there were plenty who attacked anyone who opposed it . ( some still do 😂 ) The issues with the system where all there for anyone who was interested to look.

It was actually first trialled in the central murray, as Balranald in their big spending years were buying 21 guns to take the field.

It's not a perfect system and it needs to reworked, but I can recall metro clubs when there was no salary having triple to 4 times the money to spend compared with country clubs.

It was put in to try promote juniors through your club to senior level and give kids hope of getting a senior game. Which is okay for country clubs, but metro clubs with plethora of juniors have the most points in the state.

The points system now discourages a good young player with promise and upside to try their luck in major league footy, as they're 3 points. Some players are 4 points, some 5 and some 6+ points. Just simplify it for volunteers coaches etc and have a minimum amount of 1 point players per side.

The system was originally put in place to stop player movement between clubs in the same league…ie stopping the strong clubs of the period going and getting the best player from the bottom teams.

It wasn’t bought in to stop clubs recruiting from outside the same league.

What it has evolved into is a knee jerk, patchwork quilt with so many holes and exceptions that no administrator actually knows how to run it

The system was originally put in place to stop player movement between clubs in the same league…ie stopping the strong clubs of the period going and getting the best player from the bottom teams.

What it has evolved into is a knee jerk, patchwork quilt with so many holes and exceptions that no administrator actually knows how to run it
That seems to happen more now old mate

It was actually first trialled in the central murray, as Balranald in their big spending years were buying 21 guns to take the field.

It's not a perfect system and it needs to reworked, but I can recall metro clubs when there was no salary having triple to 4 times the money to spend compared with country clubs.

It was put in to try promote juniors through your club to senior level and give kids hope of getting a senior game. Which is okay for country clubs, but metro clubs with plethora of juniors have the most points in the state.

The points system now discourages a good young player with promise and upside to try their luck in major league footy, as they're 3 points. Some players are 4 points, some 5 and some 6+ points. Just simplify it for volunteers coaches etc and have a minimum amount of 1 point players per side.

Country footy clubs have never competed with metro clubs purely based on money. Yes some have had alot to spend but it never lasts. Metro clubs have significantly more business to target and population base to bring money into the club.
The top grades of EFL, NFL, EDFL & Western will always beat a country club chasing a metro player as they can commit to play and train at the club UNLESS they offer the golden egg which is overs for the player. If its within the range most will not commit to travel.
If you want a player to travel to Balranald and back its a 2 day weekend as social events would be mandatory as well. Country clubs are buying metro footballers time and always have been, and that's why they have to pay overs to get them.

Was never sold to all in this manner .
After originally claiming leagues had previously been consulted . It was distributed that leagues wanted it to reduce player payments , mercenaries who jumped from club to club and better reward clubs who had strong junior programs .

Problem with all that is that after being questioned on where ‘ leagues ‘ were consulted and provided feedback things quickly changed to ‘ commissions being provided the draft program ‘.

Aside from the O&M I am yet to hear of any league who were consulted or had any input into the drafting of the policy.

After originally claiming leagues had previously been consulted . It was distributed that leagues wanted it to reduce player payments , mercenaries who jumped from club to club and better reward clubs who had strong junior programs .

Problem with all that is that after being questioned on where ‘ leagues ‘ were consulted and provided feedback things quickly changed to ‘ commissions being provided the draft program ‘.

Aside from the O&M I am yet to hear of any league who were consulted or had any input into the drafting of the policy.

Of course I don’t know what I’m talking about do I.

I was only involved in the league that first trialled then adopted the system years before it was implemented in other leagues.

Having 15 year olds approached by rival clubs so they can stock pile players on low points is the new low in football… thanks to this system .
Or is that a sign that all clubs are struggling for junior players and now have to recruit them.
Probably more that than the points system.

Or is that a sign that all clubs are struggling for junior players and now have to recruit them.
Probably more that than the points system.
Not in the instances I’ve been involved with. One opposition club going after two of our talented 15 year olds says it all really. This particular club has no issue with junior numbers .

May I ask what league is the team in, and what league are the 15yr olds playing in?

If he’s talking about the side he’s currently coaching, the 2 clubs I’d imagine he may be talking about are both in the same league as the club he’s coaching.
Unfortunately times have changed and clubs now recruit for under-age teams... especially if they play in the 'major leagues', and if it is in the same league, clubs are always chasing success and having quality players is the key (obviously 😆)
I'm not saying it's right or wrong, but I'm not sure the points system is neccasarily front of mind. It's more likely just about winning.🤷‍♂️
Personally, and I've been told many times I'm wrong, but I think the points system is the only thing to even out competition's. Unfortunately for all, the powers that be just have no idea how to implement it correctly.

Unfortunately times have changed and clubs now recruit for under-age teams... especially if they play in the 'major leagues', and if it is in the same league, clubs are always chasing success and having quality players is the key (obviously 😆)
I'm not saying it's right or wrong, but I'm not sure the points system is neccasarily front of mind. It's more likely just about winning.🤷‍♂️
Personally, and I've been told many times I'm wrong, but I think the points system is the only thing to even out competition's. Unfortunately for all, the powers that be just have no idea how to implement it correctly.
Majority of very good juniors play at strath, sandy and square in Bendigo. It's happening in Bendigo and Geelong, Ballarat, wangaratta and metro clubs like keilor. Needs to be nearly zoned at under 16s and above to change clubs. Won't happen though as aflvic prefer this model. They won't ruin the apple cart, it's creating two tiered comps. South, flat will not win a senior flag in the next 10 years and even Eaglehawk are now struggling a bit.

Country footy clubs have never competed with metro clubs purely based on money. Yes some have had alot to spend but it never lasts. Metro clubs have significantly more business to target and population base to bring money into the club.
The top grades of EFL, NFL, EDFL & Western will always beat a country club chasing a metro player as they can commit to play and train at the club UNLESS they offer the golden egg which is overs for the player. If its within the range most will not commit to travel.
If you want a player to travel to Balranald and back its a 2 day weekend as social events would be mandatory as well. Country clubs are buying metro footballers time and always have been, and that's why they have to pay overs to get them.
The standard of footballers coming to the country had really declined from probably 2010. That's when metro clubs really ramped up their spending. Players aren't coming to the country any more to coach, they'll try get an afl assistant role and generally will get paid more to suit up in the eastern, essendon or northern league or vafa than head to bendigo, gv or Gippsland. I know of a player who got delisted at essendon, country boy and he's home club in the country in a major league wasn't even in the ballpark in what an ammo club could provide in terms of a job, set him up to start up he's business. Yet metro and ammos play on 46 or 48 points.

Country clubs were seeing a trend of being outbid or not be able to get players to metro clubs. And paying big money for inferior players. There was concern as a whole that we were seeing 10 plus guys travel as an entourage to a new club each year. I reckon the ovens and murray where coaches were involved raised it to aflvic and the system created by the central murray with points was used. Rhe central murray was finding the best players in the weak teams were being picked off and making the stronger teams stronger.

But we see most premiership sides play on low points and can still do it

Well, well, well, looks like thinking there wouldn’t be much on for a few weeks while summer activities took place was foolish thinking on my part.
Since our friends at the addy don’t like to rock the boat, I’ve taken it upon myself to make a few calls. Things just get funnier - it’s surely time for heads to roll now.

So it turns out South were supposed to be on 43 points last year, not 46. Which would mean their 2025 allocation is supposedly no change to 2024. Here’s the problem - the league loaded South with 46 last year into PlayHQ, which was a major error. On 8 occasions South played with 44 or more.
The league’s stance - nothing to see here, don’t tell anyone, retrospectively change South to 43 points for 2024, no sanction for South playing over, everyone keep quiet and nobody will notice.
If you look in PlayHQ today you’ll see the games where they were over. The fact that PlayHQ doesn’t let you enter a weekly team if you exceed your point limit is evidence it’s been changed post season.
And to think the clown that let this happen is now in charge of the entire region, god knows what’s next.
The longer time goes, the smarter Kyneton’s move to leave a sinking ship looks. I’m absolutely convinced more will follow sooner rather than later.

Outstanding post to uncover this. Shame on the Addy for being complicit in the incompetence that is killing the game. Hope David Johnston or Shane Jones are following up.

I read the post with a sense of disbelief. Stupidly I found myself thinking surely they couldn’t be this hopeless before seeing it all on playhq.
I thought the day the premiership cup was lifted by a club that hadn’t paid its affiliation fees was the low point of competition integrity but this would at least be in the discussion.
The sheer ludicrousness of the incompetence is somehow both shocking and unsurprising all at once.
There is no rigour, no accountability, no reason and sadly no future.

I can confirm our office is currently working round the clock to gather the behind the scenes account of how this transpired, hopefully we can release it during the week.

Forest how are the Maine going to go with points ? If I were them I’d be applying for a points reduction on some players due to their regional geographics and the fact they have had no success for 20 plus years. I wonder how the sandhurst club (bfnl board ) will see that ?

They tell me they are going to be ok but I suspect it gets tight in the second half of the year when Stein resumes from a knee reconstruction.

Understand they’ve been told the Maryborough guys are one pointers which will help. With last years players losing one each they are under 30 there, so they’ve likely got 20 odd to fit guys in.

If the recruits average 4 points each you are picking up 3 each time so it’s clearly tight. And I’m hearing the announcements aren’t done either.

One thing is for sure, if it gets to the stage where more points are requested we will get a clear and definitive answer as to how the powers that be feel about the country clubs, I mean club.

I've been hearing this from people, including on this forum, for years. Going, going, going.
Just baffles me.
Mixing with plenty of Gisborne folk, it's not something that they don't talk about much, if at all.
A lot of Gisborne people want to know where the rumours are coming from.
Was told to me in no uncertain terms - now this may change with a recent change in president - but under the immediate past president, there was no desire to switch leagues and they relish and love being a part of the BFNL. Entirely happy.
Have spoken with plenty on the footy side of things and they are happy to be part of the BFNL and are keen to remain, while I know the netballers relish being a part of one of the state's top two footy-netball leagues, which suits their high-calibre talent In fact, the BFNL's top three netball sides would be among the best half dozen in the state and there's a fierce and healthy rivalry between them).

It’s not a question of football or netball that will cause them to go, it’s financial.

They would be perfectly happy to stay for everything on field and on court but it costs a lot of money to run a club and you don’t make it when your crowds from
Bendigo clubs are measured in carloads.

The league lost their best financial partner and the replacements will be worse for them. Ultimately the pull of big crowds and local derbies like Kyneton is experiencing will be too great.

I still have the original email from AFL VIC when the player points was introduced.

The first objective was equalisation. It is mentioned extensively in the policy objective. Player loyalty is listed at 8 in the objectives.

Make no mistake the points system was intended to even teams up. It’s failed because of the lack of squeeze on good teams and the discounts.

We have a policy designed to equalise and it’s not doing it because they are too scared of the blowback. O and M are just putting a toe in the water of using it properly, hopefully others follow.

Bendigo FL discussion 2025