Ben Johnson Trade Rumour

Look guys as I said this is only speculation. As for smartarse's taking cheap shots at the source coming from Tassie I never said he was directly involved in the club, I said he had regular discussions with those who are. The point of the thread was to offer ideas for a possible trade if it did eventuate. Btw I wouldn't be so sure about Knights at Adelaide for the long run.

Signed a 2 year deal not long ago and his twin brother, and best mate, moved to Adelaide earlier in the year... he aint goin nowhere

On the other hand Meesen + our Second rounder for Didak sounds good to me :thumbsu:.....

(cringes waiting for abuse)

yes, a knee reconstruction tends to do that to players.

But despite this, he has still contributed nicely at times, popped up for a few goals at crucial stages that only players of his class could manage. Given he can do this on one leg, more than happy for him to get right and return to his best.

Uh huh.. Knights is averaging more than any player on your list

Whoopity do da zippity day! Ash Chua isn't in charge of our recruiting though and this isn't a Mickey Mouse dream team competition.

Didak is "shot to pieces" (which he hardly is) because he is fighting injury at the moment. He will be back as good as gold next year. I wouldn't trade a match winning, AA winning forward player with deadly skills for an accumulator and linking midfielder who is the 4th or 5th midfielder in line.

We'll take Ben Johnson thanks. He is an absolute gun and I would nearly rate him just as good as Didak if not better. He has had a dirty year but he was awwsome last year. I'd happily welcome him at the AFC:thumbsu:.

yes, a knee reconstruction tends to do that to players.

But despite this, he has still contributed nicely at times, popped up for a few goals at crucial stages that only players of his class could manage. Given he can do this on one leg, more than happy for him to get right and return to his best.
Yeah but you are still ignoring the fact that half your list is 21 and under and they are the ones a flag will come from so Didak will either be gone or past his best

But if you traded for Knights you would have an elite midfielder hitting his prime with all the others just when you needed it

That was the point I was making, you seem to take a more short sighted view though

Yeah but you are still ignoring the fact that half your list is 21 and under and they are the ones a flag will come from so Didak will either be gone or past his best

But if you traded for Knights you would have an elite midfielder hitting his prime with all the others just when you needed it

That was the point I was making, you seem to take a more short sighted view though
What is elite about Knights??

He is about the 5th string midfielder in a side running 10th that overuses the footy.

Oh thats right, he averages 24 touches! GUN!

You are getting murdered in the midfield... zippity doo

We need a good inside midfielder who can win clearances or a good outside finisher. Knights is too in between, an outside accumulator (not calling him soft and recently he has been winning more of his own ball) and not the key player in their midfield. Sure Knights is a gun and I'd love to have him on the team, but he is not the player I'd trade Didak for. The only way I'd trade Didak is to land an impossibly big name with him as part of the deal.

We need a good inside midfielder who can win clearances or a good outside finisher. Knights is too in between, an outside accumulator (not calling him soft) and not the key player in their midfield. Sure Knights is a gun and I'd love to have him on the team, but he is not the player I'd trade Didak for. The only way I'd trade Didak is to land an impossibly big name with him as part of the deal.
Wont happen, you need to be more realistic, look what you got for Tarrant, while Reid looks a fantastic prospect you could easily have got a dud at number 8 and Medhurst is depth

Knights would be the engine you could build the future midfield around.. Didak will never be more than a slightly more consistent Leon Davis

What is elite about Knights??

He is about the 5th string midfielder in a side running 10th that overuses the footy.

Oh thats right, he averages 24 touches! GUN!
He's a gun.. take a look how many 20 year olds are averaging 24 disposals and ask yourself what he will do when he matures.. If he was already your player you would be talking about developing him and ironing out the kinks rather than focusing on them to prove he's not a gun.. I think you just want to put him down to further your argument

We're going to have to agree to disagree here rootheday. This is the Collingwood board and with Didak being an influential match winner and Knights an (interstate) young accumulating midfielder you're not going to get many people on your side.
Just seems a match made in heaven, both boys get to go home and fill a real need for their respective teams

If Didak wanted to go home ala Nick Davis or even Tarrant who wanted to leave I wouldn't really mind this trade, but I'd see if I could package other handy players and top draft picks for elite players rather than Knights who I'm not totally convinced about to be honest.

I think as others have said you really cant judge players by there stat sheet, knights has had a solid year but is yet to really suggest he is or will be an elite mid. As others have said adeliade play an over possesing link game which means higher disposal average for their mids. Has shown the ability to win is own fooy but not in a dominate enough manner to use the term elite. ATM his an average midfielder getting his share of the ball in a side that has had 4 or so players getting into 40 possies in a game this year becuase they share and over use the footy

Collingwood would say no to Didak for Knights and we would say no as well. Didak is a very good player and we need his type (crumbing forward), but we NEED Knights. He is ranked 20th in AFL for disposals and it is his 3rd year on an AFL list. If you ask me he was one of the steals of the 2004 draft. Picked at pick 56. He is probably our best midfield prospect we have...
I rate Riely higher then knights by a fair margain although his season this year has been average i think his got a lt more upsides

if you offered us the opportunity to pick Knights with #56 we'd certainly be pleased.

but if you offered us to trade an All-Australian Forward who we grabbed at #4 in the draft and has been a genuine matchwinner in both finals and home & away games for Knights, we'd have to tell you to get stuffed :)

Ben Johnson Trade Rumour