BARASSI LiNE

Really?
Was in Sydney a few weeks ago for work and copped a barrage of insults from cab drivers to clients regarding the weather (while it was raining NON STOP for 4 days) Gay AFL, what is there to do down there, Mexicans etc. etc.

Really yes. I lived, worked & travelled a lot around both cities for a number of years.

Also how much crap did I get from Melbournites about Hobart/Tassie weather. Hobart is drier than Melbourne, but do you think the facts made any difference to them? I was amazed at the number of suburban bog holes they called football grounds!!

Football leads the way on so many issues and for the first time we will see a female officiate as an AFL umpire.

A sport like rugby league is so far behind in all aspects that it is only a matter of time before most of QLD and NSW is gulped up by the Barassi line.

We had some priceless media coverage with the China game and the female umpire while the rugby league is dealing with a cocaine explosion which is dominating all the rugby league coverage.

Sydney people care more about who is on the most drugs than the scores of rugby league games.

Football leads the way on so many issues and for the first time we will see a female officiate as an AFL umpire.

A sport like rugby league is so far behind in all aspects that it is only a matter of time before most of QLD and NSW is gulped up by the Barassi line.

We had some priceless media coverage with the China game and the female umpire while the rugby league is dealing with a cocaine explosion which is dominating all the rugby league coverage.

Sydney people care more about who is on the most drugs than the scores of rugby league games.
Sooooo going on this and your other comments not a Sydney as a city fan i see.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

Really yes. I lived, worked & travelled a lot around both cities for a number of years.

Also how much crap did I get from Melbournites about Hobart/Tassie weather. Hobart is drier than Melbourne, but do you think the facts made any difference to them? I was amazed at the number of suburban bog holes they called football grounds!!

Not from me.
I love Hobart and visit there at least once a year. Booked in for the game against North in July.

Thought the spend was common knowledge.

Re the spread of sides, interest in a sport isnt just garnished through junior numbers as if you are going to give a pass for AFL having less juniors then soccer, because AFL is more physical / brutal (less popular junior sport then soccer) then you have to do the same with RL and AFL.

It does lean more to the rugby codes, but it doesnt faze me if people want to keep circling it in there funny maps pretending it is afl territory.

If it so common then you won't have any problem proving it ?.

As I have repeatedly shown and proven RL is much more popular in the rural surrounds of ACT than in the ACT itself, the population of ACT absolutely dwarfs the rural NSW surrounds, yet year after year around 50% and sometimes more senior and junior RL teams are from the rural areas.

That is what I have said and stats back it up.

I have never said it is AF territory, I have stated that it is part of the Barassi line, I take it you can't read as the Barassi line is a grey area where there is not a really dominant code out of RL and AF.

1) nrl has had two female line/touch refs for several years

2)/forgotten cousins, martin, carlise, kerr, libba, and the efc list already?

AFL is second to soccer in its fans getting buttrooted angry about the term football and ownership of same.
NRL had a female touchie in 2014 - http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport...e/news-story/896449901814b63c943389e96c36e280 - I guess that makes you as a fan a bit special, in that you bag out the NRL for something you are completely wrong about.

In NSW the media is independent from the NRL.

In Victoria, the media seems to think promotion of the AFL is akin to promotion of their own religion, not only that the AFL has their own media unit costing in the millions of dollars a year pumping out fluff pieces of crap to keep positive coverage of the game going. Good on the AFL, they have the money and media isnt a bad investment.

But effectively I read your post to be, I am proud the game I support does such a wonderful job keeping our dirty laundry under the carpet.

Here is what I think AFL is in front of the sporting industry on:-
- crowds to games
- making money
- convincing their fans to drink the kool aid.
- womans game / arguably you could have said that before they even started the WAFL ;)

Here is what they are behind on but they appear to be trying to work on
- racial issues - though its going to be hard given some of their fan base.
- Markets - NSW/QLD are strong markets...

Here is where they will never catch up:-
- transparency - ask essendon
- ego - AFL people and some of there fans seem to think the strength of there code correlates to there strength of person. Sometimes this inflicts the occasional soccer fan as well
- Globally - Whilst you brand yourself on national pride dont expect much outside of that national pride.

AFL is second to soccer in its fans getting buttrooted angry about the term football and ownership of same.
NRL had a female touchie in 2014 - http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport...e/news-story/896449901814b63c943389e96c36e280 - I guess that makes you as a fan a bit special, in that you bag out the NRL for something you are completely wrong about.

In Victoria, the media seems to think promotion of the AFL is akin to promotion of their own religion, not only that the AFL has their own media unit costing in the millions of dollars a year pumping out fluff pieces of crap to keep positive coverage of the game going. Good on the AFL, they have the money and media isnt a bad investment.

But effectively I read your post to be, I am proud the game I support does such a wonderful job keeping our dirty laundry under the carpet.

Here is what I think AFL is in front of the AFL on:-
- crowds to games
- making money
- womans game / arguably you could have said that before they even started the WAFL ;)

- ego - AFL people and some of there fans seem to think the strength of there code correlates to there strength of person. Sometimes this inflicts the occasional soccer fan as well
- Globally - Whilst you brand yourself on national pride dont expect much outside of that national pride.

You must be extremely intuitive to work out the AFL is in front of the NRL in crowds and making money.

When did that dawn on you ?.

You must be extremely intuitive to work out the AFL is in front of the NRL in crowds and making money.

When did that dawn on you ?.
It dawned on me far before the effective use of sarcasm has ever dawned on you.

But keep fighting the good fight.

Vlad will knight you.

I dont think anyone really expects Aussie rules to take off anywhere over seas, its just not a practical sport in a lot of countries for so many reasons. I dont know why leagies bring this up though its not like League is some highly respected sport in the worlds eyes and it never will be. Apart from PNG and the pacific islands I not sure that its a very respected sport at all

It dawned on me far before the effective use of sarcasm has ever dawned on you.

But keep fighting the good fight.

Vlad will knight you.

Answer me this as per your claim, that the local Junior AFL Canberra spend more on their junior programs than every other sport combined.

This interests me as you claim it is common knowledge.

You do understand that the Barassi line is a grey area where no code is really dominant, that is why Canberra is part of it, for all your hoo-ha and carry on Canberra is not RL heartland, unlike for Ex Goulburn, Yass which are just up the road, QBY just across the border and WS which is 3 hours up the road.

The Canberra Raiders NRL team was originally based in QByan and the QBYan Leagues cub still heavily finances it.

- crowds to games
- making money

Exactly like Nsw and Qld for league.

You are complaining about the AFL and ita fans but its exactly the same for the NRL and its fans.

Your holier than thou garbage is hilarious though.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

I dont think anyone really expects Aussie rules to take off anywhere over seas, its just not a practical sport in a lot of countries for so many reasons. I dont know why leagies bring this up though its not like League is some highly respected sport in the worlds eyes and it never will be. Apart from PNG and the pacific islands I not sure that its a very respected sport at all
Because our game is what it is. Respected or not we dont give a shit.

We dont support our game because it is popular / growing or big in shitty dieing colonies. We certainly dont support it because of its amazing corruption free admin.

It is a hard game for hard people.

If rugby league was irrelevant every where but a tiny little town in the south of france i wouldnt give a shit i like the game. Just like settlers of catan it is a good game.

Some morons equate popularity of choice to strength of choice i like to challenge that crappy line of logic.

Rugby league has been pissed on since its inception thus you go into a pissing contest with something that has known being pissed on for its entire existence. All u do is find out about your own pissing issues.

- crowds to games
- making money

Fair enough you are usually well behaved and you felt provoked a bit I feel the urge to pick you up on the "global" thing.

Rugby league has far less participants globally than Australian football has in Australia. In the only other significant place where the game is played, England (possible apologies to png), numbers are dwindling....apparently halving to 60k adult participants in a decade https://www.statista.com/statistics/490311/rugby-league-participation-uk/

In nz, there are just 3,500 adult participants at 142 clubs https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rugby_league_in_New_Zealand

Overwhelmingly, the national team, the second best in the world, are nz expats at least partly raised in Australia including many born in here, and some union off cuts. Barely any are nz raised league players

the pacific island teams are mostly expats and "heritage" players.

The afl has more revenue than all the rugby league on the planet.

I'll give you that the afl is no clean skin on rec drug use but keep the global fantasies to league unlimited

as has the AFL had goal umpires. We are talking a field umpire here
Answer me this as per your claim, that the local Junior AFL Canberra spend more on their junior programs than every other sport combined.

This interests me as you claim it is common knowledge.

You do understand that the Barassi line is a grey area where no code is really dominant, that is why Canberra is part of it, for all your hoo-ha and carry on Canberra is not RL heartland, unlike for Ex Goulburn, Yass which are just up the road, QBY just across the border and WS which is 3 hours up the road.

The Canberra Raiders NRL team was originally based in QByan and the QBYan Leagues cub still heavily finances it.
Logic afl spends more in dos and junior programs generally.

They have to send some of their free gold from the south to get some of the tin from the north they treasure so much.

But hey I could be wrong its known to happen.

Why do you have little faith on the spend ur gods put in on converting young vulnerable minds.

Fair enough you are usually well behaved and you felt provoked a bit I feel the urge to pick you up on the "global" thing.

Rugby league has far less participants globally than Australian football has in Australia. In the only other significant place where the game is played, England (possible apologies to png), numbers are dwindling....apparently halving to 60k adult participants in a decade https://www.statista.com/statistics/490311/rugby-league-participation-uk/

In nz, there are just 3,500 adult participants at 142 clubs https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rugby_league_in_New_Zealand

Overwhelmingly, the national team, the second best in the world, are nz expats at least partly raised in Australia including many born in here, and some union off cuts. Barely any are nz raised league players

the pacific island teams are mostly expats and "heritage" players.

The afl has more revenue than all the rugby league on the planet.

I'll give you that the afl is no clean skin on rec drug use but keep the global fantasies to league unlimited
Did u not read my post.

Not the one you wrote while I was writing mine, no.

I was responding to your inclusion of "globally" as something football will "never catch up". Fair enough your more recent post demonstrated you are not one of the more deluded league types who think there is a vast international aspect to rl....the second best "country" in the world is australias New Zealand community

Logic afl spends more in dos and junior programs generally.

They have to send some of their free gold from the south to get some of the tin from the north they treasure so much.

But hey I could be wrong its known to happen.

Why do you have little faith on the spend ur gods put in on converting young vulnerable minds.

there are 80k club registered players in nsw, act and qld, plus 90 odd k Auskick and a shit load more in schools. The four afl clubs have over 100k members between them. Last year the rising star award and the best young player awarded by coaches) - the two most prestigious awards for young players,- when to a kid from the north shore and a kid from Newcastle respectedly. Hardly tin

as has the AFL had goal umpires. We are talking a field umpire here

And one of them is likely to be a field ref this year. A line or touch ref is more like our boundary umps, its a pathway to becoming a field ref. Goal umps are a different cat (had a mate who was a boundary ump during the vlad years)

Its hardly the cultural backwater the op made out

there are 80k club registered players in nsw, act and qld, plus 90 odd k Auskick and a shit load more in schools. The four afl clubs have over 100k members between them. Last year the rising star award and the best young player awarded by coaches) - the two most prestigious awards for young players,- when to a kid from the north shore and a kid from Newcastle respectedly. Hardly tin
We are on different wavelengths here.

I refer to the money spent (gold ) in trying to drum up more eyeballs / attendance (tin) from the north then what you already have.

To me its more of a business question, where you get your employees from, well thats a different kettle of fish.

Having lived & worked in both places, in a number of suburbs & worksites. Let me assure you that what I saw is that Melbourne has the chip about Sydney, most in Sydney couldnt care less about Melbourne, where it is, or what it does. Plain & simple.
Incorrect.
I don't believe there is any chip on the shoulder by "the average Melb. person". Melb. people have heard of Syd.'s horrific traffic congestion! But there is certainly some economic competition between all the state govts., & Vic. wants more foreign head offices.
Most Melb. people will agree that Syd. has a beautiful harbour. They would also say that Melb. suburban amenity & physical attractiveness is, generally, better than that of the wide expanses of Syd.; & eating out options are, generally, better quality/cheaper cf. Syd.
I have been told Sydney tourism authorities/ NSW govt. are concerned Melb. is now the no.1 local inbound (ie by Australians) tourist destination in Aust. (It overtook Syd. c. 10 years ago).
Melb. is also attracting record nett immigration growth from other states (inc. from Syd.).

Re AF v. RL, in contrast, Sydney's media is, easily, the code war capital of Australia. RL journalists there often write articles about the "threat"/growth of AF in the RL heartlands (Masters, SMH, is the prime example). IMO, this is because they know code war articles in Sydney are great for "chip on the shoulder" sensitivities/clickbait/advertisers/profits!
The Melb. media, to my knowledge, has never had articles re the NRL becoming the no. 1 sport in Australia; nor RL making significant popularity/ participation increases into Vic. -because the media knows the "average Melb. person" believes this is very unlikely. Thus, not good for clickbait etc.
Some RL officials have claimed AF is the biggest threat to RL in Western Syd. thus requiring an NRL "$100,000,000 grassroots rescue package" -see DT article on 15% decline, in 1 year, of jnr. RL regd. nos. in WS, 7.5.2017.

Incorrect.
I don't believe there is any chip on the shoulder by "the average Melb. person". Melb. people have heard of Syd.'s horrific traffic congestion! But there is certainly some economic competition between all the state govts., & Vic. wants more foreign head offices.
Most Melb. people will agree that Syd. has a beautiful harbour. They would also say that Melb. suburban amenity & physical attractiveness is, generally, better than that of the wide expanses of Syd.; & eating out options are, generally, better quality/cheaper cf. Syd.
I have been told Sydney tourism authorities/ NSW govt. are concerned Melb. is now the no.1 local inbound (ie by Australians) tourist destination in Aust. (It overtook Syd. c. 10 years ago).
Melb. is also attracting record nett immigration growth from other states (inc. from Syd.).

Re AF v. RL, in contrast, Sydney's media is, easily, the code war capital of Australia. RL journalists there often write articles about the "threat"/growth of AF in the RL heartlands (Masters, SMH, is the prime example). IMO, this is because they know code war articles in Sydney are great for "chip on the shoulder" sensitivities/clickbait/advertisers/profits!
The Melb. media, to my knowledge, has never had articles re the NRL becoming the no. 1 sport in Australia; nor RL making significant popularity/ participation increases into Vic. -because the media knows the "average Melb. person" believes this is very unlikely. Thus, not good for clickbait etc.
Some RL officials have claimed AF is the biggest threat to RL in Western Syd. thus requiring a "$100,000,000 grassroots rescue package" -see DT article on 15% decline, in 1 year, of jnr. RL regd. nos. in WS, 7.5.2017.

All well & good. I'm not 'incorrect'.

I said I worked & visited a lot of areas in both cities. The people I talked to were much more footy/sports orientated in Melbourne, far less so in Sydney. I would argue the Melbourne psyche was more self conscious about their city than Sydney people. I'm not commenting on the chattering classes & what they put on the media.

Please don't make me laugh about the attractiveness of Melbourne. Yes Its a great place to visit, especially if you like footy or cricket. But Melbourne is generally very plain & flat.

Sydney is a far better place for its attractive features. The wide suburbs of either arent particularly nice. But Sydney is fantastic around the City & harbour areas & along the coastal suburbs if travelling up to Newcastle or down to Wollongong, or out to the Blue Mountains. Its brilliant for a holiday.

I wouldnt live in Sydney again as its crowded out a lot since my time in the place. If it wasnt for family & so much footy I wouldnt bother with Melbourne at all.
Everywhere has its pluses & minuses. Sydney has many more pluses than Melbourne.

IME and I grew up in Canberra which is somewhat of a football melting pot the chip is fair and square on RL's shoulders.

There must be 20/30 articles every year coming out about AF invading NSW, Sydney or QLD in the Northern Media whether they are written because the author truly believes them or has an audience that does I don't know.

Even now living in WA I was reminded about it when one of my sons mates wanted to play footy as he was a cricket team mate and his Dad confided in me that he was fearing this day would come as he was from NSW and did not want his son to play Gayfl

Just reminded me of people who would move to Canberra from North of roughly the Murrambidgee when I was growing up.

BARASSI LiNE