Australian Wrestling thread

Renegades of Wrestling’s last show is going up on Fite+ tonight. Very much looking forward to it after missing the show!

In other random news, Brian Alvarez reported that Buddy Matthews has been suspended a couple of weeks for taking “unapproved bookings” - presumably the amazing moment at Ballroom Brawl.

Doesn’t bode well for him actually using the contract that he won :(

Is there a story behind why Lochy doesn’t have any merch? That pre-match video and that entrance man, I would’ve gone straight to the merch table if I’d been there (and obviously if he sold any.)

Still convinced he’s turning heel to win the title, but I’m here for how over the top this face turn is. Can’t believe I didn’t rate him when I first saw him (coming to MCW shows just after the Krackerjack feud.)

Building looks great, and Robbie Thorpe is an amazing looking man. Get Mat Diamond off the posters and put Robbie Thorpe on them!

Edit 1: now I see them together, Ugg & Rat Daddy have enormous potential as a semi-comedic team who will beat your arse. The father of rodents moves his family into the cave down the hall with Perfect Stranger-type vignettes. I’m laughing at the thought of it. (Does anyone remember Perfect Strangers?)

Edit 2: the mens tournament bracket was shown before the Hayter/Furno match, spoiling the result. That was a bit of a glitch in the matrix.

Edit 3: props to Tom Crowe. He’s so new he doesn’t even have a Cagematch page, and he single-handedly saved Delta’s neck when she didn’t moonsault far enough.

I kind of like when you’ve become such a nerd smark that you can appreciate things like that on a deeper level. It was a really good job by a kid

Deserves a new post now that I can get onto BF. (Footy must’ve been good!)

Krackers vs Robbie was ****ing mad, I loved it. It was very cool seeing Robbie thrive in something outside his normal environment. And Krackers is just so entertaining with everything he does. That promo at the end was scary ominous.

I thought it was a really fun show, and there’s enough talent that I really like to keep me watching the whole events.

Go out of your way to watch this show, even if you just watch Robbie & Krackerjack. (Free with a Fite+ sub!)

Edit: just re-watched it again. Keep an eye out for the cut over Eagles’ eye, it’s gruesome.

Is there a story behind why Lochy doesn’t have any merch? That pre-match video and that entrance man, I would’ve gone straight to the merch table if I’d been there (and obviously if he sold any.)

Lochy released a shirt last night!

I think it looks rad!

Lochy released a shirt last night!

I think it looks rad!

I prefer it as its nice and minimalist. So many wrestling shirts can look awful because they try to do too much, or just don't have good designs behind them.

Like AJ Styles old "cum" shirt.
iu

I prefer it as its nice and minimalist. So many wrestling shirts can look awful because they try to do too much, or just don't have good designs behind them.

Like AJ Styles old "cum" shirt.
iu

Nothing says style and sophistication like a shirt that reads "Don't be an Ass Clown" or "Listen Up Slapnuts".

Pissed off as I still am with PWA after their refusal to even acknowledge sexist and homophobic crowd behaviour, I was bored enough tonight and wanting to watch some new wrestling, so I ordered the Paint It Black Label show tonight. Mainly cos Moretti & Luchi are main eventing, and they’re my 2 faves in PWA. (My other favourite was a shock return tonight, not that I could see/enjoy it.)

Regretted it within about 35 minutes. The stream was 2007 ROH levels, and it was repeated screwy finishes. So I gave up on a show if paid 15 bucks to watch live after about an hour [emoji35]

Doubt I’ll even get a refund, cos I’ll watch it tomorrow if/when they fix the on demand version, but hopefully Fite at least throws us a few credits, cos this was a f.cking debacle.

Edit: a guy I follow on Twitter called them out - they’re blaming Fite. Don’t think I believe them, I find Fite to be incredibly reliable.

Has anyone (@msrhiii ?) been to a Lucha Fantastica show at Preston before?

If DREAM finishes early enough next Saturday a friend and I (who both live in Preston-ish) are considering checking out lucha - mainly cos I kept an eye out for a lucha mask that somewhat resembles Eddie’s Black Tiger mask from Melbourne to Port Douglas and back - no good.

So I might just go to the show next week and see if I can get a generic one - surely they’ll have them to buy at a lucha branded show. (I’ll be ready for margs by then too, I like the Venom beer DMDU usually has for Carlton shows, but she gets quite bitter after 4 or 5.)

I had another question for you Rhi after re-watching the Ballroom Brawl.

I reckon the Silva/Matthews, Slex and Brooksy confrontation was cool cos, as far as I can tell, they’re 3/4s of MCWs Mount Rushmore.

I assume Sexton is probably the 4th pillar - but I wondered whether someone would make a case for Psycho as inaugural champion who left and came back, or maybe Jonah Rock as a guy who achieved everything in MCW.

Could even be Gino or Krackers I guess… the other guy who we don’t mention could’ve been in the convo, but even without being speakingouted I don’t think he would’ve been in the final 4.

Anyone else coming along to DREAM this week?

I managed to convince someone to come by showing her DMDUs show names. I think it’s the Wu Tang connection that convinced her.

Best news I've heard in ages...

DMDU announced announced a pretty random title match with Anth Cava challenging Gore this Saturday. I’m a big fan of Cava, but I’m not sure how he earned a title match.

I had thought it was potentially a throwaway cos Saturday is all about DREAM, so this was just putting Gore & Krackerjack on the show… but now I wonder whether it might be a prelude to a big return…

Has anyone (@msrhiii ?) been to a Lucha Fantastica show at Preston before?

If DREAM finishes early enough next Saturday a friend and I (who both live in Preston-ish) are considering checking out lucha - mainly cos I kept an eye out for a lucha mask that somewhat resembles Eddie’s Black Tiger mask from Melbourne to Port Douglas and back - no good.

So I might just go to the show next week and see if I can get a generic one - surely they’ll have them to buy at a lucha branded show. (I’ll be ready for margs by then too, I like the Venom beer DMDU usually has for Carlton shows, but she gets quite bitter after 4 or 5.)

I had another question for you Rhi after re-watching the Ballroom Brawl.

I reckon the Silva/Matthews, Slex and Brooksy confrontation was cool cos, as far as I can tell, they’re 3/4s of MCWs Mount Rushmore.

I assume Sexton is probably the 4th pillar - but I wondered whether someone would make a case for Psycho as inaugural champion who left and came back, or maybe Jonah Rock as a guy who achieved everything in MCW.

Could even be Gino or Krackers I guess… the other guy who we don’t mention could’ve been in the convo, but even without being speakingouted I don’t think he would’ve been in the final 4.
I've been on vacay, and just got back - sorry for the delay in my reply!

I haven't been to Lucha Fantastica, but I hear they are fun shows and a great night out. I am pretty close to the area though, but it's the standing for me. Since my injury I just cannot stand for long periods of time - it's the reason why I have to give Wrestle Rock a miss.

As for Mount Rushmore, I think in terms of contribution, and input & overall, I would say Slex, Brooksy, Gino & Krackers. But that's just solely my opinion.

I think it'd be remiss not to mention KC Cassidy (Peyton Royce), Kellyanne or Kellie Skater in there too - but now we are really getting into the complexities of the entire conversation! Hah. I'll always maintain that Madison Eagles is the greatest wrestler of all time.

“** BREAKING ** Adam Brooks has just informed us that he has decided that he will no longer be performing for MCW moving forward. We wish him the best for his future.” - MCW Facebook

Big shock.

I’m going to need to stop buying tshirts. I bought the Melbourne Bitter design and the company went on hiatus for nearly 2 years.

Bought Avary’s, she retired. Bought Kellyanne’s who retired and got weird before it had even arrived. Bought the Blacklisted shirt, wore it to one show after they kind of stopped using Fox, then JXT got injured. And given Brooksy wasn’t announced for Ballroom Brawl, the only time I got to wear that was at FWA on my road trip.

I’ve got a Mick Moretti shirt on the way [emoji51]

DMDU put on a good, not great show today.

Huge crowd, and they were up for this from the start.

Butcher, Vic Craig & York had a banger or a match. Jimmy ****ing Lloyd came to work his arse off - definitely not an international that half arsed it, collected his money and went home. (He didn’t bring the tshirt that I hoped he would.)

I’d not seen Michelle Hasluck before, but apparently she was quite a big name in hardcore womens wrestling before it was a thing. She was super entertaining, popped the crowd.., then announced after the match that this was her last match in Melbourne. So that was a bummer! The match made me want to see her again.

And then the winner… I’m not sure why they added the Death Match Title to the tournament, it took away a bit of heat from the title, and when you’re so early in establishing a belt you need all the heat you can muster.

A very popular winner - but it would’ve been better if the winner went on to challenge Butcher and give them some time to build the match.

It wasn’t all good:
- wrestling companies have to realise that more isn’t more. No one wants a 5-hour show, and no one thinks they’re getting more value - it just means you’re exhausted and getting cranky waiting for the main event.

- further to that… I don’t think death match tournaments are for me. I can appreciate death matches as part of a card with variety, but 10 matches, 9 of them death matches? I know it literally says that on the marquee, but I didn’t go to DREAM last year, I’d never seen a 90% death match show. They’ll keep doing it, and if there’s a market for it they should. I’m just not that market, which is fine.

- the other bummer with death matches is the set up and clean up. It means a 5 minute+ break between every match. The main event was a no-rope barbed wire death match - it took them 40 minutes to set up the ****ing thing before the main event (pretty much as long as the War Games cage took.) And after all that, someone gently fell into the barbed wire “rope” about 2 minutes in and it snapped immediately. So wtf did we just wait 40 minutes for?

- all that - the length of the show, the breaks, 90% death matches, the belt overshadowing the tournament but having no heat - it meant this crowd who’d been hot for hours just fell off a cliff. They were dead til the match was over, when they got excited about the winner.

- they also announced a “new home” on Footscray.

- and on a personal note, I took 2 mates who both left before intermission. One of them - the one that I’ve done most MCW shows with - said it wasn’t the violence, it’s just that she loves the athleticism of MCW, and she thought the length of time to set up big spots looked fake.

So with all that said, it might be a while til I go back. I don’t need to see another death match for a while. I’ve exhausted all my wrestling-interested mates. It’s the second show in a row that’s been nearly (5 hours). And I don’t see myself going to Footscray for wrestling unless it’s literally opposite a train station.

Also? They ran out of beer before half time. That’s criminal, not providing enough of something that people want to give you money for. I was stunned that they didn’t try and address it at intermission. By the 2nd semi you were licking the sweat off a fat guy if you were thirsty, there wasn’t even water or soft drink by then.

“** BREAKING ** Adam Brooks has just informed us that he has decided that he will no longer be performing for MCW moving forward. We wish him the best for his future.” - MCW Facebook

Bit of a strange one this considering the academy video they posted earlier in the week where Brooksy was appearing to question his future in MCW and wrestling in general. It felt like an angle to me then but this announcement seems pretty legit.

Huge loss for MCW but in a way he had accomplished everything there and now is as good a point to end it than any I suppose. Fingers crossed that he's signed by someone in the US and can take his career to the next level as he's one of the best this country has produced.

Regardless of the reasons behind the move, if this really is the end for him in MCW I'd hope the company puts together a highlights package tribute or something to acknowledge his contribution as the loose legacy was the cornerstone of the company's transition to new ownership and relaunch following the pandemic.

From a personal standpoint I'll miss hearing that music hit in the Thornbury Theatre and knowing you were in for a fine display of pro wrestling. Was truly a highlight of every card.

Bit of a strange one this considering the academy video they posted earlier in the week where Brooksy was appearing to question his future in MCW and wrestling in general. It felt like an angle to me then but this announcement seems pretty legit.

Huge loss for MCW but in a way he had accomplished everything there and now is as good a point to end it than any I suppose. Fingers crossed that he's signed by someone in the US and can take his career to the next level as he's one of the best this country has produced.

Regardless of the reasons behind the move, if this really is the end for him in MCW I'd hope the company puts together a highlights package tribute or something to acknowledge his contribution as the loose legacy was the cornerstone of the company's transition to new ownership and relaunch following the pandemic.

From a personal standpoint I'll miss hearing that music hit in the Thornbury Theatre and knowing you were in for a fine display of pro wrestling. Was truly a highlight of every card.

I’ll miss him heaps at MCW. While I’m not sure it’s still Australia’s “cool promotion” post-pandemic, I was largely able to stomach all the post—Covid talent losses cos Brooksy was still there. I never took seeing him for granted, cos I knew that here’s a guy performing almost every month, walking distance from my home, who is waaaay to ****ing good to be stuck in Australia.

So I’m bummed out, but I always made sure to enjoy him, so I can’t be too sad. The video was a weird misdirect though. Maybe I’m a mark when it comes to local wrestling, but it sold me on his stepping away being legit. Especially when he came back from the US this year and openly said that his only real goal was to get back there ASAP. Nothing that’s been posted so far indicates he’s been signed somewhere else, so maybe he has just reached an age where it’s too hard and too much toll on his body for a dream that might not happen.

I hope I get to see him again, but I’m largely at peace if I don’t see him again, much as that’s hard to imagine. (Not that it matters what I think.)

——-

PWA’s University of Falling Off a 20 Foot Ladder show went free on Fite+ in the last couple of days.

I want to hate PWA after the show I went to, which is why I wait for the shows to be free, and why I doubt I’ll go to Colosseum - but man Cherry Stephens has been getting the most amazing baby face push. I expect she’s about to win the Soul of PWA title off Mick Moretti at “Cherry’s All That” (amazing name), she comes to Melbourne as champ, and she goes deep into Colosseum before Will Kiedis screws her.

Costa from Gardening Australia cutting a heel promo dressed as a wizard was incredible.

——

And DMDU have announced crowd funding for their new “3011 Arena”… but I still can’t find an address.

The supporter tiers all look really good though if you have the cash and want to help. I think even if I had disposable income for something like this (I really, really don’t at the moment!) I’d struggle to back something that makes it harder/less likely that I go to shows.

Are DMDU trying to build there own ECW arena lol

I think their goals are much loftier than that, I think the ultimate goal is for it to become a community hub/venue that people can hire, and that they can use as a venue to train local Indigenous & migrant youth (as well as opening their own training school.) A bit of a throwback to when missionaries put these kids into boxing, but hopefully not racist.

Big couple of weekends coming up with ROW Ecstasy of Gold on Saturday and MCW New Horizons the following weekend. Great promo package for the ROW show. Will be interesting to see who the belts end up on and I guess we'll get a better idea of where they're heading with Lochy Hendricks. Feels like this show is a big night for them. Hayter vs Rat Daddy in the semi has potential to be a standout.

New Horizons is also an intriguing prospect. The show was sold out pretty much off the back of the women's title and the Ascension Tournament finals which is a fantastic result for them and speaks to the way in which that company has consolidated its position coming out of all the turmoil of the past couple of years. I'm keen to see what they go with for the main event. My money would be on Delta vs. Jess Troy. Would be great to see a women's title match headline an MCW show. A few questions around the Heavyweight Title, tag belts and some big shoes to fill with Brooksy's departure. Feels like a good night to try and elevate a new star. Surely Zhan When is the guy but those tournament brackets makes me think that Edward Dusk might be one to watch.

Does anyone else feel kind of gross supporting ROW with them trying to coopt MCW so hard, claiming it's the same lineage of the belts of something they sold? I mean I'm cool with it but I can see why they are having trouble selling tickets quickly. I can imagine a ton of people coming out of all the pandemic are standing on moral ground that can see through the nice guys stuff. I think people just have to accept wrestling is sleazy af and images aren't reality. The second they could its BLAM LOOK WE ARE MCW v2! Video packages with the MCW Champions WE ARE ESSENDON Lockie talking about Chris and MIKEY BEING THE BEST AND SO NICE! Quick lets pull the wool over everyones eyes and be true carnies. The people online crying about them doing this are just delusional. I can see why they would try to screw over MCW since they all want one more pop and who doesnt. Desperate times and all.

Speaking of which... Watching everyone turn on DMDU and their desperate cash grab is pretty funny as well.

I don’t think that many people are interested in the politics of local wrestling. And I hope people don’t expect wrestlers to show blind loyalty when they’re getting a few hundred bucks a month and being asked not to work elsewhere in Melbourne. No one owes MCW anything, especially if they can get more money working in another half dozen Melbourne promotions.

There would be people over Essendon way that felt let down by MCW “leaving them”, and those people don’t owe MCW.

Here’s the thing - Mikey Jay still owns Australian Wrestling Network. Contrary to some of the bullshit you’ve posted, Renegades isn’t trying to be MCW2.0. They wouldn’t have built MCW to then sell it and tear it down. And it’s far too much work for not enough money to just “tear it down” out of some ridiculous notion of spite. It’s like people think the former ownership were made to sell it - they didn’t. They built a company, they sold it when they got an offer they were happy with.

I suspect Renegades exists as a medium/term vehicle to promote AWN.

And everyone turning on DMDU? I’ve seen one person on socials speaking against it.

Big couple of weekends coming up with ROW Ecstasy of Gold on Saturday and MCW New Horizons the following weekend. Great promo package for the ROW show. Will be interesting to see who the belts end up on and I guess we'll get a better idea of where they're heading with Lochy Hendricks. Feels like this show is a big night for them. Hayter vs Rat Daddy in the semi has potential to be a standout.

New Horizons is also an intriguing prospect. The show was sold out pretty much off the back of the women's title and the Ascension Tournament finals which is a fantastic result for them and speaks to the way in which that company has consolidated its position coming out of all the turmoil of the past couple of years. I'm keen to see what they go with for the main event. My money would be on Delta vs. Jess Troy. Would be great to see a women's title match headline an MCW show. A few questions around the Heavyweight Title, tag belts and some big shoes to fill with Brooksy's departure. Feels like a good night to try and elevate a new star. Surely Zhan When is the guy but those tournament brackets makes me think that Edward Dusk might be one to watch.

MCW need to do better in lining up Waterman’s challengers. His reign has stunk so far, and it’s nothing to do with him. Either Rocky needed to win the Slex feud and go into a long term feud with Mitch, or Slex needed to turn heel.

I’m not sure the crowd are that behind Jess either, they’ve always seemed keen to cheer for her opponent. I think MCW want home grown talent, and Jess is the unfortunate figurehead of a division that’s always been neglected and now doesn’t have any home grown talent. In the absence of a home grown talent, they just need to find someone who isn’t already a star and build around her. (Tarlee, Charli Rose, Rochelle Rogue)

I don’t have a ticket for New Horizons. If one pops up next week I’ll probably go cos it’s so close to me. But I’m not that excited for this show. Nor am I excited for the October shows (although Ricky South returning at the last PWA show has me closer than I was before, I missed him at the PWA show I went to in Sydney. Keen to see Luchi again too, no idea why he doesn’t work in Melbourne, and I only saw him in an 8-person tag.)

Does anyone else feel kind of gross supporting ROW with them trying to coopt MCW so hard, claiming it's the same lineage of the belts of something they sold? I mean I'm cool with it but I can see why they are having trouble selling tickets quickly. I can imagine a ton of people coming out of all the pandemic are standing on moral ground that can see through the nice guys stuff. I think people just have to accept wrestling is sleazy af and images aren't reality. The second they could its BLAM LOOK WE ARE MCW v2! Video packages with the MCW Champions WE ARE ESSENDON Lockie talking about Chris and MIKEY BEING THE BEST AND SO NICE! Quick lets pull the wool over everyones eyes and be true carnies. The people online crying about them doing this are just delusional. I can see why they would try to screw over MCW since they all want one more pop and who doesnt. Desperate times and all.

Speaking of which... Watching everyone turn on DMDU and their desperate cash grab is pretty funny as well.

That's a pretty spicy post right there lol!

I tend to judge things by whether or not they help the scene by growing the audience and providing more opportunities for wrestlers. I'm also not a fan of the tribalism that seems baked in to pro-wrestling on-line fandom. The 'champion's' video package is more of a grey area. I think that it has the potential to be confusing to new fans who have no knowledge of the change of ownership. On the other hand, if the tape library wasn't purchased with the sale of MCW then they lose the opportunity to lean on the company's history. If the original owners feel like their legacy is being forgotten then I can understand why they would use it in their own promotion. Up to the individual whether they think this to be a shady promotional tactic or not I suppose.