Anthony Albanese - How long? -3-

As someone who believes in higher taxation, I actually like the idea of zero (or very very little) income tax below the median full-time wage offset by a much higher GST. I have no idea what GST figure would be needed to offset the tax revenue, and I appreciate the regressive tax argument, but I do think there is something in the psyche of the individual that less taxation on income (irrespective of higher taxes elsewhere) would create a more liberated polity and thus more amenable to governments as a whole.

But I don't know enough about how Australia's economy functions to appreciate whether something like that would even be workable.
GST is a rort as well though. As a small business owner I can run half my life with zero GST. And the percentage of small business owners to employees is growing every day. This country needs massive tax reform. Liberal media will lose their minds though.

You spend it you pay it, that's the difference.
You can't buy dinner, a car, your groceries without it.

You can try to put everything through the business, and its all fine unless you cop an audit.

The amount of small business is also an issue in Australia, we can't ALL be in service.

I liked one specific initiative in this from Albanese and the ALP yesterday - the critical mineral reserve proposal.

Some mining companies came out and opposed it yesterday, which generally indicates to me it sways profit and control back in the nations interest from the private sector.

Whilst we don't have huge global % reserves in rare earths like we do in iron ore, we have important reserves of specific minerals I think I'd use in response to the US tarriffs.

It also might simply be an opportunistic window for us to trigger aggressive re-nationalization of some items, with less pushback from the global community in different times. We can simply just frame it around global volatility.

The single most painful response we could do to the US, would be implementing an export tax and/or temporary export restriction on rutile.

The commonwealth could apply incentives to the local mining companies via some tax breaks and or purchase controlling interests in the mines themselves via the Future Fund and place rutile stocks into strategic reserve.

Rutile is the feedstock for Titanium and we have the worlds largest reserve of it. We are the worlds biggest producer of it and account for 50% of the global supply annually.

AUKUS and access to things like nuclear defence IP was instigated so that the USA secured long term access to minerals like rutile and lithium.

If we signed a trade pact with South Africa (they account for around the balance 30% of global production) we'd simply control the world market of it. I'd approach SA and then choke the global rutile supply, unless there was an immediate removal of the 10% blanket tariffs for Australia and South Africa's 30% blanket tariff.

Without rutile, the USA can't produce:

• F-35 Fighters (required for the airframes) and most of their other fighters.
  • Virginia Class Subs (titanium is required for the pressure hulls)
  • Trident Ballistic Missiles
  • Blackhawk Helicopters
  • THAAD and Patriot Missiles
  • MQ-9 Reapers
  • Their new B-21 Spirit Bomber
  • Boeing 787's
  • SpaceX, NASA and satellite programs
  • Basically every major airline jet engine - GE, Pratt Whitney, Rolls Royce
  • Industrial heat exchangers for their nuclear power plants
  • No dental implants, no pacemakers, no hip/knee biomed joints, no medical equipment.

Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics Electric Boat, Raytheon, Boeing, Northrop Gunman, GE, Honeywell, 3M, Johnson & Johnson.....

Literally behemoths of US industry.

It would completely cripple their defence, airline, aerospace, biomed and power industries. All those assembly lines would have to stop. Local manufacturing is something he's trying to ramp up also.

The beauty being, it's not a reactionary import tariff, it's a trade pact with a allied country and an export tax/restriction.

Lithium would be another, but we export most of ours to China. The USA gets their lithium from Chille etc. However, we could target Tesla, BYD etc and purchase lithium into a strategic reserve to choke world supply and frame it as doing it in the countries strategic interest in a period of volatility. By restricting China’s supply from our huge global supply, we could push their demand onto Chille. Given the tariffs on their products, Chille might allocate their production quotas to China…

We could force/demand local investment of our own. "Tesla, if you want to recover and if you want any batteries for the foreseeable future, there's a battery processing plant being built (at your cost) in Perth or Darwin"

You could use the future fund to purchase controlling interests in lithium mines themselves (which are generally seperate entititys to the controlling corps) / or force physical purchase at below market with tax incentives and store it in strategic reserve like China is doing with other rare earths.

We'd then dictate commodity prices via controlled supply in our best interest (See Saudi Arabia and oil)

Terms like Gucci green and champagne socialist are just words conservatives use because they can't believe someone can acquire wealth without having the moral compass of Peter Dutton. Mostly the people that use them are reassuring themselves as much as anyone.
" stephanie from kirribilli " likes this

* for the bots, stephanie was a frequent talkback caller to 2gb during the Gillard term

Both parties are happy to push the dole bludger narrative through the media to help keep public pressure about payments and treatment of welfare recipients from rising
In fairness, the abbott govt turned it into a " saturday fox hunt "

they are both equally happy to demonise and destroy the lives of people on welfare payments

Gillard was the one who removed the single parent pension

the current government in the one who started up debt collection again as part of "being the adults in charge"

they also extended that debt collection to debts going back decades

they also expanded cashless welfare card programs and changed legislation to be able to go even further

they might crow about how they weren't in charge when robodebt happened but they are still letting dodgy algorithms create debts and stop payments without proof

people that have to deal with the system don't think it was worse under the coalition, they just think its steadily getting worse every year regardless of who is in power

spitting on people on the dole has been a pass time for politicians long before Abbott

Beef prices are at historic highs. They're 50% more than they were in July last year and double 2019 prices.

Our beef producers are gonna be fine. But it doesn't mean they have to drop prices, the price is the price.

It does mean that if US beef was going to compete, it would be already.
Beef lost over 100k in stock due to the QLD floods, they're not fine. Prices will go up for sure.

Haven't watched this as yet, so not sure how Albo came across. Either way, smart move going on this kind of social media I reckon.
it's a good interview.
Obviously it won't resonate with everyone but it's worth a watch. I could get behind cheap Kayo though.

I wouldn't be suprised if Labor Majority comes in above Coalition Minority

Already has on TAB this morning, Sportsbet is offering them at the same price.

1743891295058.png

Anthony Albanese - How long? -3-

Write your reply...