AFLPA Awards

some of you guys should pull your heads in

we the bigfooty posters are not in a better position than the players to decide who is the most valuable player in the competition.

they have the experience of playing footy at the highest level first hand , we just watch the game on tv or in the stands

they have axcess to stats that we wouldnt even no existed

they spend hours preparing for and analysing games

they are also in a better position to judge who is the most effective player as they are out their on the field

Can you here the violins?

Players probably just vote for Ablett to keep fans happy, because they can't be stuffed thinking about who to vote for.

I can't wait to see the dissapointment on his face again, come Brownlow night.

Glad to see that the players believe Brown is the best captain.

Riewoldt is probably the best player in the league, but I have to admit I've been baffled by the BigFooty consensus all year that he is best captain.

Hopefully the AA selectors take note.

Glad to see that the players believe Brown is the best captain.

Riewoldt is probably the best player in the league, but I have to admit I've been baffled by the BigFooty consensus all year that he is best captain.

Hopefully the AA selectors take note.

Care to state why that is?

I don't think i will waste my time reading majority of the posts in this thread. I am sure 75% of them are along the lines of "Ablett can't play he didn't deserve it". Which i do understand where it is coming from. I myself get sick of how much Ablett is talked about but when you ignore all that and look at it without any bias he is an amazing player. An extremely big Congratulations to him for not only being the first to win 3 MVP's but to win all 3 in a row.

Joel Selwood for most courgeous i didn't see any real competition for. Yes many may say he is overrated but he does go extremely hard at the ball regardless of the risks. Although i may just be bias when it comes to him :rolleyes:

A big congratulations to both Brown and Rich for winning their awards. Can't comment much on them as i really don't see much of any Brisbane games.

Players probably just vote for Ablett to keep fans happy, because they can't be stuffed thinking about who to vote for.

Yeah because thinking is pretty difficult for some people obviously. ;)

Maybe they just vote for who they genuinely consider the best player perhaps?

A little out there I know, but just maybe...

Congrats to J.Brown on his well deserved award for best captain:cool:

And to BamBam for obliterating the competition to win best young player by a margin of 400+ votes:eek::cool:

Yeah you can. Do they actually watch the game enough to get an understanding of the best players. The top 10 would say they do but anything that is based on opinion can always be argued.

ffs

im sure they watch the games close enough that they play in.

in other words Ablett got noticed by his opposition more then any other player.

Its amusing how most seem to agree on the players chosen for best Captain, Best first year player, and Most Courageous. But apparently the players dont know what they are talking about when it comes to choosing the most valuable for the year.

You only have to look at Riewoldt's performance on the weekend compared to Swan and Judd to see how much more valuable he has been as a player this year.

I saw some awesome deliveries by a consistent, pretty mature midfield.
Of course Roo's an elite player, but the midfield plays a huge role.
Some other forwards do more with average deliveries I reckon.

Personally I couldn't understand how the hell Cooney won the brownlow last year but then I hadn't watched at least 10 of the doggie games so how would I know. I couldn't work out why it took Buckley so long to win one, why hodge only got two votes last season - it is all about personal opinion.

Don't think he has an MVP either?

It is partly about perception aswell, no matter how you look at it.
Although players do go through game analysis every week, post match, tv shows, and then they see first hand the players they analyse.

I think some people underestimate the importance of Swan to the pies. These players would see close up how he goes about it out on the field.

You're obsession with Junior is never ending. But please, keep it coming. It is humouring me no end.

It's not like Riewoldt isn't a decent player either, pal.

People are sick of Ablett winning it and felt there was another player who deserved it at least equally this year.

Those people are entitled to their views.

Luckily these poeples views aren't worth a pinch of shit.

Seriously, you think Ablett should be discounted because 'People are sick of Ablett winning it'?

I can maybe understand Ablett being ahead of Riewoldt, although personally I think Riewoldt has had a better, more consistent year, but Swan and Judd ahead of Riewoldt is ridiculous.

You only have to look at Riewoldt's performance on the weekend compared to Swan and Judd to see how much more valuable he has been as a player this year.

Yes of course. We can extrapolate one game to represent a whole season, that will be accurate :thumbsu:

ShirtLifter,shouldn't you be off with the other Hawk supporters thinking up excuses for when your team misses the 2010 finals ?

Well Done Gaz. A worthy winner.

Good competition from Dane Swan and Riewoldt. Riewoldt has been very good recently, but over the course of the entire year, Gary has been the best and most consistent. Riewoldts awesome recent performance against the Pies skew peoples perceptions aswell I think.

For me:

1. Gary
2. Swan
3. Roo

There isn't much doubt that currently he is the best player in the league.

Luckily these poeples views aren't worth a pinch of shit.

Seriously, you think Ablett should be discounted because 'People are sick of Ablett winning it'?

You're a ######, LD.

Way to take my post out of context.

I was talking to someone who was saying he couldn't work out why people got so vehement about who they thought ought to win.

I wasn't saying Ablett isn't a good player or hasn't had a good year.

But Riewoldt's year has been at least on par with Ablett's, and Ablett should not have three MVPs. Wayne Carey has two. You think Ablett has been a better player, for longer, than Carey was?

Bit like last year. Franklin (as much as I dislike him) SHOULD have won it.

Well Done Gaz. A worthy winner.

Good competition from Dane Swan and Riewoldt. Riewoldt has been very good recently, but over the course of the entire year, Gary has been the best and most consistent. Riewoldts awesome recent performance against the Pies skew peoples perceptions aswell I think.

For me:

1. Gary
2. Swan
3. Roo

There isn't much doubt that currently he is the best player in the league.
Very good recently?? Since R3 he has been very good. What kind of dumbass all of a sudden thinks Riewoldt has had a good year because he dominated one final. I have no problem with Ablett winning, just these mugs who then come out and say 'there was no doubt he was the best this year'.

Perhaps we could find a drug to get these players to start thinking the proper way. It's just unbelievable that they voted for the wrong guy. It's an outrage. Is there any way we can appeal?

It's their opinions and they value their own opinions very highly. So I guess in the eyes of your peers Gary you are a 3 time MVP which carries a lot of weight, but here at BF we don't rate ya mate. I mean come on, all you ever do is wait outside the pack and get a quick 1-2 handball. I don't watch many games, but I read that stuff said about you all the time, so it must be true. Anyone can do that.

Until the time comes that we invent the drug that has the players all thinking the same way, you'll just have to keep those stupid non BF voted awards. But don't get too smug, coz the drug is coming and when it does look out - you won't win a bloody thing again, coz everyone is so bloody sick of you winning stuff and it's not your turn anymore.

You're a ######, LD.

Way to take my post out of context.

I was talking to someone who was saying he couldn't work out why people got so vehement about who they thought ought to win.

I wasn't saying Ablett isn't a good player or hasn't had a good year.

But Riewoldt's year has been at least on par with Ablett's, and Ablett should not have three MVPs. Wayne Carey has two. You think Ablett has been a better player, for longer, than Carey was?

Bit like last year. Franklin (as much as I dislike him) SHOULD have won it.

Mate, you can chalk up your opinon up the top of the list of those that aren't worth a pinch of shit, ok?

As far as AFL players are concerned, Ablett has been the standout player for three seasons in a row. Now you can't logically try to argue against that, because it's the facts. Saying that it's wrong because he has more MVPs than Carey is just pure stupidity. Completely irrelevant.

No one cares who you think SHOULD have won anything.

Agree that Riewoldt should have won. However you should never discredit Ablett...he has been sensational again this year....his first half of the year especially was clearly better than any other players....missed a few games and only had a few big highlights in the latter half....but nonetheless we still judge him by incredibly high standards.

Roo had a great final against the Pies, and Gary had a great final against the Dogs...two champions of the game.

Swan is not in the same echelon.

AFLPA Awards