News AFL proposing mid-October Grand Final for 2026 and 2027

Woweeee.

We just find new and more amusing ways of ensuring that we dilute and damage our game as a product and a sport. I reckon I'll live to see it die the way things are going.

SOO died because no one wanted to play in it and get injured. The clubs hated it. There was no money in it. The crowds stopped attending. Most of the tribalism associated with it was diminished by actual sides playing in those states against one another on a weekly basis.

It works in League because there are two states that are natural rivals and players need to prove themselves before they go to international level to play against the likes of NZ and England. What is the incentive for our players? State pride versus match payments missed for getting injured?

The AFL is relying on people being so desperate to watch footy by mid-Feb that they're banking that we'll tolerate a bruise free charade that loosely pays lip service to the games that used to be played. It won't be like the 80s, it'll be like the NBA All Star game where no one plays defence and it's glorified circle work.

As for the mid-October Grand Final, the finals and season are already long enough and there are already enough meaningless games for teams that aren't up the pointy end. It's all just a stalking horse to play night Grand Finals really.

Here's what the people want:
  1. A fair draw with their side playing every week except a single mid-season bye weekend (which you can have SOO if you create an incentive to do it)
  2. Games on TV that don't clash against one another. Don't worry about clashing with the GP or Spring Carnival or the bloody NFL. Just start with the Saturday and Sunday games not running into each other so we can watch them. The broadcasters and fans alike will be thrilled.
  3. Larger lists and a larger soft cap to allow less byes and more footy.
  4. Greater player movement to enable clubs to actually become competitive at a quicker rate than the draft and free agency currently allows with teams having to spend an eternity down the bottom. A more competitive league is a more interesting league and its round 3 and we can all probably narrow down the six sides that have some semblance of a hope.
  5. Umpiring and MRO that is consistent and makes some vague sense. Not one of us can properly articulate what holding the ball is anymore and it changes from week to week and year to year all to 'make the game better'.

2021 didn't feel right at all. Twilight or night affair is different compared to the traditional daytime slot.

Yep. What a feeling it was crawling into bed before the Dees were even handed the cup...

Our guests left half way through the last quarter too since they are early birds.

It's just not what Grand Final day is about. Absolutely nothing better than the game finishing at a decent hour the possibility still existing that you can take the kids somewhere for a pub dinner. It's such a festive day, and people are trying to take that away 'because fireworks.... and people who don't like footy might watch'.

The AFL would need to get cricket to agree, as cricket have access to the MCG from October till March.
I doubt that cricket will agree. as it would delay the start of the local cricket season by 3 weeks.

Jesus Christ, they just won't stop trying to push this will they.
something that would financially make them more money?
The AFL would need to get cricket to agree, as cricket have access to the MCG from October till March.
I doubt that cricket will agree. as it would delay the start of the local cricket season by 3 weeks.
Football ending 2 weeks later wouldn't affect the Shield at all. They play at Junction Oval for this reason.

something that would financially make them more money?

There is a whole other thread full of my opinions on a day vs night GF, but in a nutshell...

Scheduling your biggest game in a timeslot that locks out the next generation of your supporters (KIDS), isn't actually a great long term business strategy.

I'm a footy tragic largely due to the aura around Grand Final day itself. My earliest memories are the Grand Final parties hosted by my family.
As a parent to a 5 and 2 year old, I can safely say that we won't bother hosting our regular Grand Final party if the game is moved to beyond 7pm. It's just too hard.

What happens to the formative years of the next generation of supporters in this case?

SoO+midOct+night=:mad::madv1:

the Melbourne marathon also traditionally tends to be a fortnight afterwards on the Sunday morning at the G (that’s already in mid-Spring)

should’ve coordinated some opening gather round in Tassie or something in pre-Devils 2026-27, missed opportunity

And the AFL made their bed by refusing to hold the Sheffield Shield cricket final at Adelaide Oval. Not sure cricket would want to be doing the AFL too many favours right now.

I like the proposal of moving the bye week to before the GF that's one positive change really like it. 2 weeks of buildup for the GF. Stops the ridiculous advantages bottom of the 8 sides are getting. Should be more than hard to win from 5-8 not have a bye, then win 2, make the GF. You deserve the advantage in the top 4.
You need to win 3 to make the GF from 5-8. Including a minimum of 2 away.

Why does anyone want to get rid of the pre-finals bye?

It was brought in to protect the integrity of the final round, which it has. Teams don't rest half their squad in the last round like they used to.

In addition it has created a two week build up for the first week of the finals, which has meant we have seen massive crowds. 97K to WB v Haw, 70+K to StK v GWS, those sort of numbers were unheard of previously.

And finally it has meant that teams 5-8, if they are good enough to win 3 games, including 2 as the away side, can make the GF.

Remove the pre-finals bye and we are bringing in a big risk. Something like that St Kilda v Fremantle game a few years ago was arguably harmless because St Kilda couldn't make the finals and had a win that didn't mean much. But imagine if they were 9th and their free pass against the Dockers kicked another team out of the finals?

SoO will make the NBA all star game look like it has pressure

That is the fear I reckon. Rugby League state of origin is so popular because the result means so much to the players and the fans. As soon as it becomes an exhibition where arguably the honour is getting picked rather than winning, then you are wasting your time.

No need for the first bye top 4 sides have earnt the right to play straight away (and rest players last round)…why are bottom of the 8 sides given the advantage? The bye before a GF allows two fresh sides in a GF and no concussion protocols.

I don’t follow why a pre-finals bye gives an advantage to 5-8 sides but a pre-Grand Final bye doesn’t and the irony here is that it was a 5-8 side resting players in the final round that led to the creation of the pre-finals bye

Why does anyone want to get rid of the pre-finals bye?

It was brought in to protect the integrity of the final round, which it has. Teams don't rest half their squad in the last round like they used to.

In addition it has created a two week build up for the first week of the finals, which has meant we have seen massive crowds. 97K to WB v Haw, 70+K to StK v GWS, those sort of numbers were unheard of previously.

And finally it has meant that teams 5-8, if they are good enough to win 3 games, including 2 as the away side, can make the GF.

Remove the pre-finals bye and we are bringing in a big risk. Something like that St Kilda v Fremantle game a few years ago was arguably harmless because St Kilda couldn't make the finals and had a win that didn't mean much. But imagine if they were 9th and their free pass against the Dockers kicked another team out of the finals?
Essendon in the final round of 2019 rested several players with no chance of missing finals had they lost (which they did narrowly to Collingwood).

See guys, this is what happens when you lose your mind in the pre-season about the prospect of SOO returning because you are so desperate to see some footy….

Then once the real thing starts you realise you don’t give a **** about a dated and ultimately failed concept that reeks of trying to compete with a different code that nobody cares about outside of NSW and Queensland.

The players can pretend they’ll be ‘all in’ all they want - ultimately when it comes to it the club will take priority and rightly so.

Look at Michael Walters this year if you want a quick example - rushed back to play for the IAS team as he was named skipper (an honour I’m sure). Yet to get on the field for Freo this year since. How many times do you think that happens to a valuable player before the clubs say ‘yeah nah’ and the players follow suit.

News AFL proposing mid-October Grand Final for 2026 and 2027

Write your reply...