Opinion AFL 2025 Round 4 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated

One ripping game among a whole bunch of… not so ripping ones. Let’s go wrapping Round 4.

Pies v Blues, Thursday night: There are some terrific teams in the top 8 at the moment. Collingwood is not one of them. They won this comfortably though, so imagine how bad the Blues must be. This was not a Collingwood-Carlton clash for the ages. I know it was windy, but the Hawks and Giants put on a way better spectacle in a Launceston typhoon a week earlier, so that’s no excuse. Another Thursday night shocker to kick the weekend off. We’ve already had a bunch of those this year.

Cats v Dees, Friday night: The uninspiring Cats against the we-can’t-be-bothered Demons. Actually that’s a little harsh, the Dees showed more fight in patches this week. May, Oliver and Trac flew the flag, and the kids did some nice things. Still, the Cats did more than enough to hold them at arms length and it was another ordinary game in a standalone timeslot. I even caught myself watching some of the NRL at one point, and that’s a code I can’t stand. Yawn.

1743931740726.jpeg

Suns v Crows, Saturday arvo: Now we’re getting somewhere! Umpiring aside (we’ll get to that), this was a ripper. There were some question marks about the quality of opposition the Suns had beaten going in, but they stood up brilliantly against the (rightly) highly fancied Crows. In seasons gone by this is a game where they’d have blinked in key moments and fallen away. Adelaide lost no friends in defeat though. Big effort to head up there and stick with the home side all afternoon, and they even looked the better team at various stages. And yes, they copped a seriously bad deal from the officials. The Rowell “advantage” call early, the Walter play-on call that wasn’t, and the Rankine mark/free kick that was called play on. All instances of the Crows being very hard done by. Garbage decisions are part of footy, but I’m sure that won’t make them sting any less.

Tigers v Lions, Saturday arvo: The utterly disrespectful Lions didn’t even bother getting out of 8th gear against the Tigers - rude!! Pretty ominous stuff from the reigning premiers to be able to cruise to a 4-0 start to the season. Massive takeaway for Richmond is how good their first year players looked. Future guns everywhere. Big effort to get within 5 goals of the Lions, whether the premiers were trying or not.

Roos v Swans, Saturday night: Hands up if you thought North were a sneaky chance to win this one? Yeah me too. We’re embarrassments to tipping. The Swans demolished them. In Riley Bice they seem to have uncovered a future jet too. Reality check game for North - definitely improved but still a fair way off the best.

1743931686695.jpeg

Giants v Eagles, Sunday arvo: Nice of Foxtel to televise the Giants open training session, I’m sure we were all grateful to get a look at how they’re handling the bye this week. Jesse Hogan had a few shots at goal, seemed to be hitting them pretty well.

Port v Saints, Sunday twilight: The Saints look a vastly different side now to the underdone rabble that got smashed by Adelaide in round 1. They returned to the scene of that failure and made it a distant memory with a great away win over Port. Even got involved in a melee along the way! Long season ahead for the Power, but the return to form of Jason Horne-Francis was something to hang their hats on.

Dockers v Dogs, Sunday twilight: There were signs that the Dockers might be clicking into gear against the lowly Eagles last week, and so it proved against better opposition this time round. They’ve got the Tigers and Dees in the next couple of weeks then back home to Perth the round after; they can really set their season up if they play their cards right.

Don’t forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below… along with any other thoughts you had about Round 4!

Liked: O'Sullivan is going to be a star, 5 games into a 250 plus career for this young gun, some good games overall, Suns V Crows despite some poor umpiring, Saints have buried Kenny and i don't think he will last until Winter! Freo are solid, Tigers fought it out well.

Learnt: O'Sullivan and SDK will be the best backmen in the game by the end of the year!

Hated: White shorts for home games, it's just plain wrong. The Eagles are a huge worry, Suns guernsey is a shocker!

liked - Hogan kicking a big bag.
learnt - port adel are in big trouble
hated - suns v adel was a great game,unfortunately controversy had to be involved

Liked: No game, no loss, no injuries & no unwanted media speculation.

Learnt: convinced trac wants out of demon land.

Hated: games decided by umpiring yet again. Norf...really couldn't beat half a dogs team and got smashed by a Sydney team there for the taking...looked like last years runners up against last year's 2nd bottom side.

Liked: the Suns / Crowd game; hopefully see both in Sept and both teams aren’t peaking too soon.
Also, PA in teal, wish they owned the colour more and used it more often (even if it’s not that particular guernsey)

Learnt: there’s a couple of teams that are in for a long year, some wheels are really falling off early.
Saints showing some heartening signs.

Hated: think there’s a consensus, umpiring deciding games.
Certain teams being exempt from jumper clashes, ruins the spectacle in a professional league.

Liked:
The Suns / Crows game was fantastic for neutrals I am sure, not more than a few goals separated the sides all day. Ebbs and flows, great goals, great contested marks, contrasting plans and great skills. Richmond are plucky and keep trying, no matter what.

Learned:

Saints are the real deal, NWM is a gun. Definitely a top 8 nominee. The style of play Carlton, Port and Melbourne (and even the Bulldogs) roll with just looks so outdated now. Ball use is king, not hacking the ball inside 50 and hoping for the best.

The pecking order is beginning to take a bit of shape.

Essendon, Richmond, Carlton, Melbourne, West Coast are basically done. North and Port need to get moving and after Brisbane and Hawthorn there is a huge pack of good sides which will beat each other over the year.

Hated: The ump....nah just the quality of the Thursday/Friday night games. 6.10 46 sucks. Not much.

It’s early days but Sydney’s clinical demolition of the Roos on Saturday could show we’re positioning ourselves for another tilt at a grand final loss.
You will have to change your name to the Buffalo Swans after that team whom lost 4 in a row

Jane Austen does Liked, Learnt, Hated:

Liked

Mr Darcy.

Once more gracing the scene with his five splendid goals, albeit amidst the misfortune of a defeated team. You may, if you so wish, lay the charge upon me, as the gentlemen of the Footscray club’s midfield are wont to do, of being rather too inclined in favour of Mr Darcy and his sassy leads; yet I am Jane F&@king Austen! It is I who have birthed him into existence, and should my affection for him offend your sensibilities, I most cordially recommend that you take your leave.

The youthful novices of the Richmond Football, still in their formative years and possessing a great deal yet to acquire in knowledge, exhibit an undeniable verve, a certain flair, and a spirited elan which bespeaks their promise to one day dominate the field of play in a manner most resplendent.

Learnt

Pray, allow me to divulge the curious sentiment that has beset my heart - an infatuation I find myself nurturing towards Mr Riley Thilthorpe of the esteemed Adelaide club. It is a candid revelation, perhaps more deserving of notation among the ‘best young key forward’ thread.

Yet, I cannot resist the comparison of Mr Thilthorpe to the illustrious Heathcliff of Wuthering Heights (with apologies to one of the Brontes, Miss Emily I think, and of course to Ms Kate Bush). For he is endowed with a rugged countenance that commands equally the wild moors or the windswept forward line of Adelaide. While his artfulness in presenting to the ball is commendable, it is his untamed spirit that elicits within the most ardent devotees of the sport a fervour both raw and extraordinary.

To delineate clearly, he may lack the exquisite refinement of Mr Darcy yet he remains exceedingly eligible in the eyes of many.

Hated

The Carlton Football Club occasions within me considerable lamentation. Reflecting as I am at the dawn of the Industrial Revolution, even I find their efforts old-fashioned, akin to a tortoise in otherwise enthralling company, woefully languid, lacking in finesse, and burdened with honourable yet antiquated notions of gameplay.

Mr Voss, who once strode the Earth with admirable fervour and intent, now appears diminished, quite unable to meet the exigencies of a changing sport.

This once illustrious institution finds itself beset by a disenchanted and estranged membership, enlivened only at the occasional prospect of witnessing their most recent president display his nether regions in a manner most distasteful, and stripped of the proud haughtiness that once defined their character.

Liked

Mr Darcy.

Once more gracing the scene with his five splendid goals, albeit amidst the misfortune of a defeated team. You may, if you so wish, lay the charge upon me, as the gentlemen of the Footscray club’s midfield are wont to do, of being rather too inclined in favour of Mr Darcy and his sassy leads; yet I am Jane F&@king Austen! It is I who have birthed him into existence, and should my affection for him offend your sensibilities, I most cordially recommend that you take your leave.

The youthful novices of the Richmond Football, still in their formative years and possessing a great deal yet to acquire in knowledge, exhibit an undeniable verve, a certain flair, and a spirited elan which bespeaks their promise to one day dominate the field of play in a manner most resplendent.

Learnt

Pray, allow me to divulge the curious sentiment that has beset my heart - an infatuation I find myself nurturing towards Mr Riley Thilthorpe of the esteemed Adelaide club. It is a candid revelation, perhaps more deserving of notation among the ‘best young key forward’ thread.

Yet, I cannot resist the comparison of Mr Thilthorpe to the illustrious Heathcliff of Wuthering Heights (with apologies to one of the Brontes, Miss Emily I think, and of course to Ms Kate Bush). For he is endowed with a rugged countenance that commands equally the wild moors or the windswept forward line of Adelaide. While his artfulness in presenting to the ball is commendable, it is his untamed spirit that elicits within the most ardent devotees of the sport a fervour both raw and extraordinary.

To delineate clearly, he may lack the exquisite refinement of Mr Darcy yet he remains exceedingly eligible in the eyes of many.

Hated

The Carlton Football Club occasions within me considerable lamentation. Reflecting as I am at the dawn of the Industrial Revolution, even I find their efforts old-fashioned, akin to a tortoise in otherwise enthralling company, woefully languid, lacking in finesse, and burdened with honourable yet antiquated notions of gameplay.

Mr Voss, who once strode the Earth with admirable fervour and intent, now appears diminished, quite unable to meet the exigencies of a changing sport.

This once illustrious institution finds itself beset by a disenchanted and estranged membership, enlivened only at the occasional prospect of witnessing their most recent president display his nether regions in a manner most distasteful, and stripped of the proud haughtiness that once defined their character.
splendid

Liked

Mr Darcy.

Learnt

Hated

Sesquipedalion…

Liked

Mr Darcy.

Learnt

Hated

You have outdone thyself!

Liked

Mr Darcy.

Learnt

Hated

One can only say, apropos of your Austenesque contribution (although the subject matter, I must admit, is not precisely one upon which you ventured) that it is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single digit loss by any team must be the responsibility of an inadequate umpire.

Pretty much hated everything this round. The obvious one is the umpiring in the Crows Suns game, but otherwise every team I wanted to win lost except maybe St Kilda, but wasn't that invested. Oh and the one sided Thursday night games continue.

Liked

Mr Darcy.

Learnt

Hated

sexy take me GIF by Archer

Now I need to update my liked to include these musings.

Liked:
Thilthorpe - Him and Darcy are going to be a delight to watch as KPFs over the next decade. Both are freaks.
Former Crows NGA Dudley lighting it up for Freo - we may have missed out on one here.
Very mature win from the Saints - they're far better than people gave them credit for and our win against them is looking far more impressive now.

Learnt:
Port are in a bit of strife. Terrible list management is going to set them back a bit.
Petracca is not a happy camper, and who could blame him.
Richmond will be mostly competitive at the G, but will be belted elsewhere.

Hated:
Yeah...

Opinion AFL 2025 Round 4 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated

Write your reply...