Academy Rorts - The 2025 Draft Thread

I am so glad i don't use the word woke in any sentence until this one.

I have enough trouble with there/their being a homonym which i just learnt about now.
It would be hard for immigrants learning English with over 300 homonyms.

Regarding short memories.

So some players left Brisbane when they were rebuilding. Yep, they did. just like Richmond just had a heap walk out.

How many player then elected to go to the Lions in the past say 5 or so years?

Daniher
Dunkley
Neale

Well there are a couple of pretty useful sorts to help even the ledger.

And there have been a fair few other decent role players as well.
You have named one footballing state team that has lost a few players. Tom14 articulated earlier why your comparison is poor.

The only teams that have experienced significant loss of player numbers (young players in the system for 2-4 years) are GWS, Suns, Brisbane.

This is a result of being a non football state with so few players from your home state.

Lions have done well in recent years to retain players. Largely due imo to Fagan’s influence and that we have been competitive. These 2 things won’t be there forever. That’s when a Lohmann type does move on. As it was he was almost gone.

With the ongoing battle to retain players as a non football state, it would be stupid to wind back academies in northern states, and have a Sam Marshall drafted interstate.

So some players left Brisbane when they were rebuilding. Yep, they did. just like Richmond just had a heap walk out.

Daniher
Dunkley
Neale

We’d been a middle of the road side for around 7 years and went into proper rebuild mode and two years into the rebuild lost all our acquired young talent in one hit. This trend continued with top 10 draft picks Aish & Schache also leaving within the following couple of years.

The comparison with Richmond would be more accurate if in two years time Lalor, Smillie, Hotton, Faull and Armstrong all want out in the same off season.

Daniher
Dunkley
Neale

Try to sound curious rather than emphatic when you’re talking on topics you clearly don’t understand…life will be much easier for you 🙏

I am so glad i don't use the word woke in any sentence until this one.

I have enough trouble with there/their being a homonym which i just learnt about now.
It would be hard for immigrants learning English with over 300 homonyms.

Homophonophobia?

Diversity,inclusion, opportunity etc.

All admirable goals. The trouble is when the majority senses or feels overreach resulting in real or perceived exclusion. This was evident notably in the comprehensive failure of the Voice and the Election of Trump in the USA and other "Conservative" Govts in NT and Qld recently.
Unwelcome welcome to Countries,Transgender participation in a same sex sport not of their birth sex. Exclusion from National Parks or Public land due to tenuous indigenous cultural connections, selective employment practices because of quotas,shared restrooms in Schools. Every one of these are occurring or have been introduced by Govt.I believe the vast majority are well and truly over the Woke and i stand with Clarkythelion.
He also makes good points on a Tassie Academy,genuine NAGA development.

On moto g85 5G using BigFooty.com mobile app

Woke = Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Luckily there is a world wide trend now away from it, Walmart in the US just abolished all their employment directives around it. The AFL has spread the talent too thin to be achieve perceived DEI and needs more talent in the system - men and ladies.

Tasmania should have had an academy the day it was announced and it should have already been playing in a national system and their top kids should be in/or affiliated with Melbourne Private schools to get more Tasmania kids ready to take pressure of future draft subsidies. Darwin and Cairns should have a Northern Academy playing in a national junior league and scholarships should be set up so the top kids are being offered private boarding education in the AFL states which the AFL itsself pays for. There should also be junior academies for 'cultural' groups not attached to any one club that is specifically aimed at winning talented kids and taking them off the streets and into a game not familiar to their immigrated family. And yes, I'm all for bringing talented international kids coming to Australia on education scholarships to have some of them ready when drafting comes around just like rugby union does with the Pacific Island kids. If Collingwood want to bring 3 kids from the Tiwi Islands down to Melbourne and have them in a Private School at 16 yeas of age then can have those kids with big draft concessions. If Essendon brings 4 kids from Sudan across to Australia and pays their education they can have all 4 for free and if St Kilda brings 3 kids from the USA and reverses the basket ball trend of kids going the other way they can bypass the draft and have those kids. Clubs should only be rewarded where they bring completely new players to the game and not be rewarded for cherry picking kids already playing just because they are from a non-englisg speaking background.

Elite junior development and game expansion is too inhibited by what happens in the draft and who may get what perceived advantage over whom. Academies should be independent for growth and then those clubs that take a risk and put in the $ and pay their staff to go out and roll balls to the kids every week should get the benefits. Just keeping the peace among the clubs is an inhibitor, the AFL should reward hard work and reward success

The academies themselves are diversity, equity and inclusion.

I’m not necessarily disagreeing with anything you say, but the stuff you’re talking about is giving disadvantaged kids more opportunities to make it in the sport. It sounds woke to me which is fine.

All admirable goals. The trouble is when the majority senses or feels overreach resulting in real or perceived exclusion. This was evident notably in the comprehensive failure of the Voice and the Election of Trump in the USA and other "Conservative" Govts in NT and Qld recently.
Unwelcome welcome to Countries,Transgender participation in a same sex sport not of their birth sex. Exclusion from National Parks or Public land due to tenuous indigenous cultural connections, selective employment practices because of quotas,shared restrooms in Schools. Every one of these are occurring or have been introduced by Govt.I believe the vast majority are well and truly over the Woke and i stand with Clarkythelion.

Respectfully, I come here to the Lions Board to talk footy with people who know a bit about footy…when I want to talk about society, public policy or politics then I’ll find somewhere to talk with people who know a bit about those things

I think this thread has veered right up to the point where it might be a good idea to agree to just get back to talking footy 🏉

Woke = Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Luckily there is a world wide trend now away from it, Walmart in the US just abolished all their employment directives around it. The AFL has spread the talent too thin to be achieve perceived DEI and needs more talent in the system - men and ladies.

Tasmania should have had an academy the day it was announced and it should have already been playing in a national system and their top kids should be in/or affiliated with Melbourne Private schools to get more Tasmania kids ready to take pressure of future draft subsidies. Darwin and Cairns should have a Northern Academy playing in a national junior league and scholarships should be set up so the top kids are being offered private boarding education in the AFL states which the AFL itsself pays for. There should also be junior academies for 'cultural' groups not attached to any one club that is specifically aimed at winning talented kids and taking them off the streets and into a game not familiar to their immigrated family. And yes, I'm all for bringing talented international kids coming to Australia on education scholarships to have some of them ready when drafting comes around just like rugby union does with the Pacific Island kids. If Collingwood want to bring 3 kids from the Tiwi Islands down to Melbourne and have them in a Private School at 16 yeas of age then can have those kids with big draft concessions. If Essendon brings 4 kids from Sudan across to Australia and pays their education they can have all 4 for free and if St Kilda brings 3 kids from the USA and reverses the basket ball trend of kids going the other way they can bypass the draft and have those kids. Clubs should only be rewarded where they bring completely new players to the game and not be rewarded for cherry picking kids already playing just because they are from a non-englisg speaking background.

Elite junior development and game expansion is too inhibited by what happens in the draft and who may get what perceived advantage over whom. Academies should be independent for growth and then those clubs that take a risk and put in the $ and pay their staff to go out and roll balls to the kids every week should get the benefits. Just keeping the peace among the clubs is an inhibitor, the AFL should reward hard work and reward success
Can you please pack up your culture war and bugger off to the politics thread or SRP instead of polluting the draft thread with this garbage? Thanks.

Everything you named is just culture war and moral panic stuff that is specifically introduced to drum up division because people don’t know any better.

I’ll leave this as my final comment on the matter but these things often appeal to the same ‘in’ group and always paints the practices of ‘out’ groups as undesirable, oppressive, and dangerous. The goal is always to restrict the ‘out’ groups as to the perceived benefit of the ‘in’ group.

The thing is, sadly for conservatives, is that they can huff and puff & rant about "wokeness" all they like, but regardless social progress will continue unabated.
Martin Luther King Jr Quote GIF by GIPHY News

1) Despite our Faustian tendencies the arc of civilisation is actually cyclical and social mores tend to align fairly closely with the rise and fall of the civilisations they are in

2) The only way we can apply to 'woke' to the northern academies is to designate the Victorian clubs as an official victim-group ... which is not actually out of the question from a mexican perspective

3) I think we should change the name to just the 2025 Draft thread to reduce the chances of this all going off the rails again

4) Could all of the posts that reflect the socio-political side of the conversation in this thread be moved to the politics thread where they belong.

5) thank you for reading if you got this far :)

3) I think we should change the name to just the 2023 Draft thread to reduce the chances of this all going off the rails again
Sure! Unfortunately we've traded our first round pick away, but there's this kid named Logan Morris who might be available in the second round that I really rate. Also Harley Reid is the most impressive prospect in a while. Surely he goes to North, since they have the worst team in the league.

]][emoji6][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]" data-quote="BuntonRules" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
Rename the thread. The joke is past it's use by date.

Academy Wokes — [emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji6] Draft Thread?

Skim read this… didn’t find it engaging. Since I didn’t like it… it’s probably woke.

Academy Rorts - The 2025 Draft Thread