from that clip from the way he moves and kicks, looks like luke hodge!
my reaction too
from that clip from the way he moves and kicks, looks like luke hodge!
Not happy. Where are all the utilities who can 'play' midfield? Where are all the ex basketballers? What is this 'kicking' everyone seems to be high on this year?
Dude...Is this a joke?? surely you jest? It is great to have a natural footballer for once and not another athletic freak that will take 3-4 years to even make it onto the park
OP updated
Cheers mate.Nice summary
New Article:
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...elf-every-chance/story-e6freckc-1226204910901
Can't hurt to get a player with a weapon like his at 41 of this draft.
Mitchell GRIGG - SA - Mid - 19yo - 182cm
The thick set GRIGG has divided a lot of opinion, mainly because of his standout attributes and flaws.
I'll start with his flaws, he's very unathletic. He has a porr wingspan, isn't overly tall, scored the lowest standing verticle at DC, a 3.20 20 (one of the slowest) and just about the slowest repeat sprints. He hid however do rather well in the endurance testing with a 10.29 3km and 15.00 shuttle as well as a not too bad 8.36 agility. Second to his 'plodderness' is the fact he has tools caught in between positions. He has an elite kick, yet inside mids don't get on and 'finish' too many plays. He simply doesn't have the speed or line breaking ability to be an outside mid. Also, while having good hands and a tough strong body, he can get caught waiting outside packs so he can use his weapon, when he should be burrowing.
Downfalls aside, this kick is AFL elite. The only player who gace me multiple 'wow' moments at the champs with kicking, and he did it a lot. Not only is it long, it's low, it's hard, it's precise and a lefty! We don't have many of any of that....Add to his kicking his good decision making and that shoe becomes a real AFL weapon. Forwards love players like this (like a Rich), who can find a needle in a haystack or tell you where the lead is going. That 'quick' kick is vitale in the modern game, reaching its destination before lose defenders can help. Would already be the best user at our club, and one of the better decision makers.
What GRIGG will have to do going forward, is become a lot better in becoming an extractor for others and keep working ont hat endurance to become an 'elite' runner. He can do some mechanical work to increase the speed a bit, but it will never be good. He needs to get that first 5 meter twitch muscle up to complement his strong core (hard to tackle) and agility. This will give him the burst required to play inside football. The endurance will give him the ability to get to every contest and find some outside footy where his weapon will come in.
Very much an 'IF' project, but if the IF comes off, he'll be dangerous.
Yeah, but as Rendell has said, he will be used to win contested ball and get it out to runners. This will pretty much nullify his greatest asset.
Kicks left but handballs right would you believe.
Increasing his foot speed won't make him a better football. Adjusting his attitude and temperament will. It's easy to say "Oh the club will straighten him out" or "He will tow the line". If this was the case, then every kid would make it. Some guys are just so set in their ways.
Before I get showered with cynical comments from the multitude of "the Crows/Rendell can't do anything wrong" types, I will share a passage of play in the champs that reflected Mitch's attitude the best.
In the Vic Metro game, the Vics got out to a 4 goal lead in the 3rd but SA kicked a couple of goals to get back within a goal or so. Had some real momentum. Mitch gives away a high free kick about 65 out from SA's goal and blows up at the decision and gives away a 50. On the way to running back to man the mark he gives away another 50 for abusive language. Vic subsequently kick the goal and the momentum is killed off.
I have plenty of other examples of his attitude but I will leave it at that and you can all see for yourself in time.
So he has plenty of fire in the guts? I reckon Lleyton Hewitt would of given a few 50s away if he played football..... Best dummy spitter I have ever seen was Bass... If he has half their competitive spirit we have ourselves a beauty..
You can be fiery and competitive without being selfish. Giving away 50m penalties for abuse is a selfish act that satisfies the perpetrator but punishes the team.
I have plenty of other examples of his attitude but I will leave it at that and you can all see for yourself in time.
Well we're already the masters of giving away 50m penalties for clumsy throws back to the free kick recipient or for running over the mark, so he should fit in just fine then.You can be fiery and competitive without being selfish. Giving away 50m penalties for abuse is a selfish act that satisfies the perpetrator but punishes the team.