Training 2025 Pre-Season - Standards are currently being driven

Hawthorn had $6.5m more in revenue than us to spend on media staff.

And I'm not sure their back office operations are really the gold standard lol.
Does media not come under the soft cap? Serious question actually, I don't have much grasp of how this stuff works. But even if not, I suspect that the club could do a far better job engaging volunteers, as they already do with Maddie.

Geez it's a bit average looking on other clubs websites and seeing all of their preseason content. Highlights of match sim, interviews, and other content yet we've hardly had a thing this pre-season. In the world of clicks and likes, it doesn't take much to create a few little snippets of content each day.
we're cooked mate.
Relying on fans to take preseason photos and videos.
Someone mentioned that they may be on holidays but tbh its gone to shit since heath left.

Does media not come under the soft cap? Serious question actually, I don't have much grasp of how this stuff works. But even if not, I suspect that the club could do a far better job engaging volunteers, as they already do with Maddie.

Media isn't under the soft cap no. Its where you really see the difference in revenue.

And engaging with volunteers is a lot more difficult than people think.

In fact, that we do engage with great people like Maddy is both a tick for the club but also an anomaly.

Maddy should be working staff job as a snapper for the AFL.

There's very very few people of her quality just wandering around.

They're paid and work their guts out.

There's just not as many of them as at other clubs.
It actually takes far more than people think in a professional environment.

I get it, I really do, but when Heath was there, we had near daily content. I think it would be safe to say that the media budget Heath had would have been considerably lower than what our current crew would have available to them. It honestly not that hard to whip up a quick highlights video once or twice per week when the players are doing match sim.

In this day and age, it's all about engagement.
Engagement = more members
More members = more money

For me it is a broad lack of video content. We are already a small club, which makes it harder to catch new fans. That becomes even worse if our players have no (visible) personality due to a lack of content compared to other clubs. Like it makes me sad I can’t watch more, but more importantly I think this stuff does impact the club holistically. Compare us to hawthorn last year for example, who knocked it out of the park.

That's a big concern for me as well. The media space is so bloody important for organic growth. We missed the boat when we were successful in the 90's, I really hope we don't miss the boat again as we rise up the ladder the next few years.

Detailed player and coaching staff chats, more background on the players and their motivations. Make it all a bit more personable rather than the generic stuff we seem to get at the moment. You really want the supporter base to build a connection with the players. As a supporter if you feel you a part of something, you are going to be more inclined to get to games and more inclined to hand over your hard earned.

Media isn't under the soft cap no. Its where you really see the difference in revenue.

In fact, that we do engage with great people like Maddy is both a tick for the club but also an anomaly.

The generosity and commitment of volunteers is something we've always been lucky enough to have.

On the plus side, we don't have to endure the "yeah mate, nah mate" over and over again of players interviewing each other.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

I get it, I really do, but when Heath was there, we had near daily content. I think it would be safe to say that the media budget Heath had would have been considerably lower than what our current crew would have available to them. It honestly not that hard to whip up a quick highlights video once or twice per week when the players are doing match sim.

In this day and age, it's all about engagement.
Engagement = more members
More members = more money

That's a big concern for me as well. The media space is so bloody important for organic growth. We missed the boat when we were successful in the 90's, I really hope we don't miss the boat again as we rise up the ladder the next few years.

Detailed player and coaching staff chats, more background on the players and their motivations. Make it all a bit more personable rather than the generic stuff we seem to get at the moment. You really want the supporter base to build a connection with the players. As a supporter if you feel you a part of something, you are going to be more inclined to get to games and more inclined to hand over your hard earned.
I wouldn't automatically assume Heath and Rob worked under a lower department budget (relative to cost of living) than the current crew.

Brayshaw poached Heath and might've prioritised media spending at that stage post GC.

There's also multiple factors that go into this stuff folks don't appreciate

Rick18 posted before about the footy department getting ants about his excellent analysis.

Amicalola asked why we can't have video content like Hawthorn.

Maybe the footy dept doesn't want our brand to be smarmy little TikTok shits?

Maybe the players don't want to be smarmy little TikTok shits.

If there was a significant relationship between social media expenditure and an increase of the fanbase, I'm sure we'd be all over it. As it is, I suspect resourcing social media is primarily to service the pre-existing fanbase and to sustain that audience engagement, as well as providing the broader media industry with favourable content too.

Can't help but feel that we'll get more ambitious social content when the men's team becomes more competitive because then we'll get better fixtures, leading to more ticket and merch sales, leading to more club revenue.

If there was a significant relationship between social media expenditure and an increase of the fanbase, I'm sure we'd be all over it. As it is, I suspect resourcing social media is primarily to service the pre-existing fanbase and to sustain that audience engagement, as well as providing the broader media industry with favourable content too.

Can't help but feel that we'll get more ambitious social content when the men's team becomes more competitive because then we'll get better fixtures, leading to more ticket and merch sales, leading to more club revenue.

This.

And I guarantee you if we were doing multiple bits of player content a day, lots of supporters would be saying how about you win some games first.

Honest question, what would a day's work in the off season involve for a media team?

Zoom in

Zoom out

Zoom in

Practice makes perfect

2000 Light Years Away Video GIF by Green Day

Classic of the making stuff up to get angry about genre.

We have "near daily" content now, there's a lot of rose coloured glasses rear view mirror work going on here.

And just plain old sooking lol.

It's quite clear from your posting you work in the department or have worked in the department.

I'd suggest, instead of coming on to a supporter forum and cracking into some posters for "complaining", instead view it as constructive criticism and free analytics and feedback.

The members are the stakeholders. You might not have the budget, but if the member body is saying they wish to see certain improvements in some aspects of the club, it's better to take it on board rather than push back against it.

We have "near daily" content now, there's a lot of rose coloured glasses rear view mirror work going on here.

And just plain old sooking lol.

We really don't. Have a look at the content on Essendon's page vs ours. It's day and night.

Outside of the leadership announcements, the north fan who rescued two girls and a injury update there really hasn't been many detailed training reports or coaches updates for the whole pre-season.

We really don't. Have a look at the content on Essendon's page vs ours. It's day and night.

Outside of the leadership announcements, the north fan who rescued two girls and a injury update there really hasn't been many detailed training reports or coaches updates for the whole pre-season.

Sigh, Essedon have a huge media team because they have lots more money than us.

As for the reports and coaches updates, maybe the footy department don't want to do them for a whole variety of reasons.

I mean, we had an ex media team staffer explain this to us.

Training 2025 Pre-Season - Standards are currently being driven