List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃

I agree it’s massive risk as we won’t really know if the offseason rehab on his hamstring is successful until much later in the year.

I also doubt any rival club would’ve offered him that length term so the only justification is that he took significantly less money for a longer term

I share your concern especially given our history of rehabilitating injury prone players and/or retaining such players for far too long.
Well, we will know how successful it was much earlier if he pings a hammy!
Club must have some confidence given they have just signed him up for 5 years.
Thoughts and prayers this doesn't backfire.....

As long as they pick a team they believe can win every week, couldn’t care who’s in it. Show any football fan that grand final winning Brisbane team in round 1 last year, and none would believe it was a premiership team. Willing to ride the wave this year more than previous

Yet many followers of the game "believed" we were flag favourites after the Geelong game? I'm over riding waves, it's time for this side to challenge, and I mean realistically, not fall into the 8.

Of course you pick a side you believe that will win you a game, but you also pick players based on their form. We are far from that side we once were where we had to pick players to make up the numbers. I believe our depth is at a stage where we can cover most bases, not like for like, but a competitive player who will not be overwhelmed by the challenge.

I'd also like to see players selected on form rather than name.

They have strengthened the VFL side, so I'm excited about that. If someone is smashing the VFL, give them a crack if the player in their position is struggling at AFL level. There is no shame in coming through the VFL to find form or when coming back from injury. It needs to be a stepping stone and provide a strong learning and winning culture which hopefully is what it will become.

As long as they pick a team they believe can win every week, couldn’t care who’s in it. Show any football fan that grand final winning Brisbane team in round 1 last year, and none would believe it was a premiership team. Willing to ride the wave this year more than previous

Yet many followers of the game "believed" we were flag favourites after the Geelong game? I'm over riding waves, it's time for this side to challenge, and I mean realistically, not fall into the 8.

Of course you pick a side you believe that will win you a game, but you also pick players based on their form. We are far from that side we once were where we had to pick players to make up the numbers. I believe our depth is at a stage where we can cover most bases, not like for like, but a competitive player who will not be overwhelmed by the challenge.

Looks like you want the same things

I’m saying more that I’m not going to get emotionally involved with match committee. Getting angry and frustrated with the week to week selections is draining, so I’m giving up on it. It’s more accepting that there’s no point getting upset at things I can’t control.

I just get upset when you see Voss preach it’s a “whole of squad mentality” but when it comes to match committee too many are getting games when out of form and those in form in the twos aren’t getting a look in.

Just practise what you preach is all I ask, you either perform in the ones or you’re playing twos..it’s as simple as that

And rest players when they need it before their bodies fail, it’s not hard to see for those inside the club who’s needing a freshen up

I just get upset when you see Voss preach it’s a “whole of squad mentality” but when it comes to match committee too many are getting games when out of form and those in form in the twos aren’t getting a look in.

Just practise what you preach is all I ask, you either perform in the ones or you’re playing twos..it’s as simple as that

And rest players when they need it before their bodies fail, it’s not hard to see for those inside the club who’s needing a freshen up

Who wasn't performing in the 1s that wasn't dropped last year?

Aside from last year he has played most games each year, was in our top 5 in 2023.
Quality player and at 25 club has clearly made a informed decision his body is sound and is a integral part of the future.
l would see it as a good decision based on his age profile.
Aside from last year has averaged between 17-22 games per season over 6 years so l suggest that indicates his body has been sound aside from one season.
Nothing about our club indicates they know anything about injury management

Reckon Binns will become a regular this year.

Had to bide his time in the 2s, often a bit unfairly imo, but looks set to perform in '25.
Just going by the photos in the training galleries, it looks like his body's starting to fill out as well. He'll never be Arnie, but just needs to develop a level of strength that he's not easily getting bumped off the ball despite him being predominantly an outside player. His grappling contest with Newy showed that he's developing that edge required for AFL.

I agree that it appears he's ready to take the next step. Kudos to our coaching staff though to hold him back and give him time to develop in the VFL before transitioning him into the big time. The rest is now up to him.

I'd be curious to see how Binns would go after an extended run at AFL level. He's a good endurance athlete with a solid footy IQ.

There are a few players who have very low ceilings who have played a lot of footy for us on the half forward flank and wing. I think going forward, when opportunities arise, that players like Binns, Camporeala etc get those positions now.

Just going by the photos in the training galleries, it looks like his body's starting to fill out as well. He'll never be Arnie, but just needs to develop a level of strength that he's not easily getting bumped off the ball despite him being predominantly an outside player. His grappling contest with Newy showed that he's developing that edge required for AFL.

I agree that it appears he's ready to take the next step. Kudos to our coaching staff though to hold him back and give him time to develop in the VFL before transitioning him into the big time. The rest is now up to him.
Exactly

[emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji6][emoji[emoji6]][emoji6]" data-quote="WalshistheGOAT" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
Who wasn't performing in the s that wasn't dropped last year?

Ollie Hollands for a long time at the start of the season
Cottrell, why he came back straight into the ’s was an abomination of a decision and was kept in for far too long.
Corey Durdin
Fantasia
Even Fog

That’s a couple for you to ponder

I’m saying more that I’m not going to get emotionally involved with match committee. Getting angry and frustrated with the week to week selections is draining, so I’m giving up on it. It’s more accepting that there’s no point getting upset at things I can’t control.

Fair call and a wise one. I would like to be able to, but gee, sometimes they make it bloody hard.

Excellent point. There's always that spectre of Tassie looming on the horizon that'll affect list management decisions over the next few years for all clubs.

As a previous poster mentioned, when you have Austin, Cook and Wright at the helm at Carlton, you need to trust their judgement.

Obviously I pay most attention to Fremantle and in the last twelve months they've extended already contracted players Treacy (2026>2030) and Young (2027>2033) not move them beyond the Tasmania "steal your out of contract players for a token AFL compensation pick" window at the end of 2027.

I think quite a few players will be the same league wide, but Carlton are in a reasonable position on that. As far as I see the out of contract players for the Blues end of 2027 are:
Acres (he will be 31)
Jagga Smith (but first round draftees should extend, it would be a real dog act to poach a first contract pick from Tasmania)
Pittonet (who will be 31)
Cottrell (will be 27)
Cripps (who will be 32)

Hewett, Motlop, Kemp this year will also want to extend either two years or many years.

Our midfielders ages in 2025

Docherty - 32
Cripps - 30
Hewett - 30

Cerra - 26
Walsh - 25

Lord - 20
Jagga - 19
B Campo - 19

Elijah, Wilson, Ollie etc may move into a role through the middle in future but even then, are all very young.

Cerra was a necessary signing. Would be ludicrous list management to leave Walsh all on his own when Doch, Cripps and Hewett finish up.
Especially at the rumoured 500k.

On SM-F946B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Nothing about our club indicates they know anything about injury management
Pretty sure some posters will always put a negative spin on most decisions, l would back Cook & Wright and Austin list management decision making to make the right decisions, if he was 28 he would not make sense but gee he is 25.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃