List Mgmt. 2025 List Management šŸ“ƒ

I find it silly to compare us to what other clubs are doing as we are the only team in our situation... a large chunk of our salary cap (maybe even more than 1/2 our cap once the TDK deal drops) tied up in about 20% of our entire list. It is surely the most top heavy salary cap by a margin. For all the avid supercoach's out there, it is a pure guns'n'rookies approach.

Im not saying what we have done is right or wrong, but it is unique. I have upmost confidence in the club that it is by design and not accident, and they therefore are comfortable with where things are at. In fact, H, Charlie, Crippa, Walshy and Weiters could have got an additional 20% plus on the open market, essentially saving the club about 1mil/yr on market value just with this group
We don't really know...which drives the conversation.

I'd argue Melbourne are similarly structured...perhaps even more top heavy. Petracca, Oliver, Gawn, May, Pickett, Viney and Lever.

Brisbane certainly were with Daniher and may still be without him. GWS have plenty of burdensome contracts, though did send out a few bucks this year.

Essendon and Collingwood also have huge dollars invested in their top 6-7.

Our makeup
AFL Draft: 20 (equal 16th most)
Trade: 10 (third most)
Free agency: 4 (most)
Rookie Draft/Cat B rookies: 3 (equal 16th most)
Pre-Season Draft/SSP: 3 (equal most)
Mid-Season Draft: 2 (equal eighth most)

Educated guess work over salaries doesnā€™t worry me about the list position.

We have no idea really and are not in this good spot now by default.

Players have talked about taking less to stay together and up the ladder so why fret?

There has not been a single player move who we didnā€™t value, even Eddie and Touhy were seen as ā€˜unnecessaryā€™ (shakes head)ā€¦.

The wobbles have shown that lemons can produce lemonade anyway so why stress?

On iPhone using ][emoji6]][emoji6][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]]BigFooty.com mobile app

We don't really know...which drives the conversation.

I'd argue Melbourne are similarly structured...perhaps even more top heavy. Petracca, Oliver, Gawn, May, Pickett, Viney and Lever.

Brisbane certainly were with Daniher and may still be without him. GWS have plenty of burdensome contracts, though did send out a few bucks this year.

Essendon and Collingwood also have huge dollars invested in their top 6-7.
I forgot about Melbourne! I guess I just have this ongoing jibe from my mates on how we are able to have so many players on our list on big $$$ - water off a ducks back BTW - and it makes me feel like we are unique in this regard. I guess it shows that for clubs with lots of top/star-level status players that you can still make things work. It just means you have to put lots of pressure on the middle tiers to not get overs. Actually, you need them to take unders to make it work. So the fact that we have not had anyone want to leave for extra $$ speaks volumes to the culture and management of the club. It is why I have upmost faith TDK gets a fair deal without the club having to sacrifice anything (that they otherwise don't want too) to make it happen. Just another name my mates will be jealous of on big $$$ without it busting the club apart :muscle::laughing:

Duffy at training looks solid. Some good afl traits and is a real athlete. Not noticable in match sim stuff but early for him

Monahan to me looks way off it. I know it was his first year but he wasn't even close to being VFL standard. Couldn't find the ball and was fumbly when he did.

An improvement this year would be becoming a good VFL player but IMO he is miles of AFL at this stage. I would play him behind the ball for a while

How long do you give a player like Monaghan? If he is miles off it, which many posters here have suggested, at what stage do you make a call? Iā€™ve always thought there has to be more Cat B available players out there to target, if one you have doesnt look up to it.

I reckon he'll get at least 3 years. We gave Dom A 4 ands its been clear for ages he wasn't going to make it. Killed us structurally having to play him in our vfl side every week.

Not sure he Iā€™ll go past two years if he doesnā€™t show sufficient improvement this year. Few nice signs through the year, but too few to date. We wasted half a season playing him forward, thinking we could stray from tried and true methods of introducing Gaelic converts to our game.

Quite a specimen physically, still untapped as a footy player.

With an ongoing eye to Ireland for recruits and a few more options coming out of our NGA, I doubt we will see a Dom A. perseverance period any time soon. That said, will back him in to make a decent contribution to our reserves in ā€˜25.

It sounds very generous to me, i think sometimes we hold on to players too long, surely we knew that Dom wasnā€™t up to it after 2 or 3 years.

If we see a big improvement this year, of course extend Monaghan but if not, scour the earth for someone else.

It sounds very generous to me, i think sometimes we hold on to players too long, surely we knew that Dom wasnā€™t up to it after 2 or 3 years.

If we see a big improvement this year, of course extend Monaghan but if not, scour the earth for someone else.
Its a fair point. I guess the counter argument is, how attractive would we be to future international rookies if we are known to cut guys after only 2 years? These guys leave their homes and families for minimal pay to play a sport profesionally that theyve never learnt. Need to give them every opportunitty.

Dom was different. He'd been playing afl for a numbers of years before we drafted him. Also, he was a tall, making it harder to hide him. The argument was hes not taking up a list spot but I think playing him every week really hurt our vfl side. I dont think persisting with Monaghan would have the same ill effects.

That said, I wouldnt automatically give him 4 yeaes. Needs to look able to break into the afl side by the end of year 3. We should have cut Dom after 3, maybe even 2.

Why would anyone else on the earth want to join us if we sent them packing as quickly as possible (after they had uprooted themselves and moved half way around the world) if we had doubts about their ability to make it.? Agree a time frame at the outset and stick to it.

Might be a bust, might strike gold. That's the risk/reward nature of international recruits.

Jim Stynes didn't play an AFL game till his third year on Melbourne's list. They even farmed him out to Prahran at one stage to help him get experience early on. Not for one second suggesting that our blokes might hit those heights but you clearly have to give them every opportunity.

If you are on an AFL list and don't improve quickly then you will be quickly off an AFL list. It's easy to go out and find young mildly talented players. I didn't see much in Monahan, you could go out to the country and find more talented players in premier competitions. He will probably get two years and if he's not at the level of your average talented 3 round pick then he will be gone. I suspect part of the Irish recruitment is that we recruit two of them to help them fit in. Perhaps Duffy is the one we are more serious about.

Ireland has been a fruitful recruiting ground for plenty of AFL clubs. It's worth it. But not all of them work out.

We have had a few left field and experiments and none of them have really bared fruit. They have effectively been replaced by young players taken higher in the draft so the list is improving.

Sometimes experiments are a real hit but most aren't.

Smaller list sizes aren't doing left field options any favours.

If you are on an AFL list and don't improve quickly then you will be quickly off an AFL list. It's easy to go out and find young mildly talented players. I didn't see much in Monahan, you could go out to the country and find more talented players in premier competitions. He will probably get two years and if he's not at the level of your average talented 3 round pick then he will be gone. I suspect part of the Irish recruitment is that we recruit two of them to help them fit in. Perhaps Duffy is the one we are more serious about.

Ireland has been a fruitful recruiting ground for plenty of AFL clubs. It's worth it. But not all of them work out.

We have had a few left field and experiments and none of them have really bared fruit. They have effectively been replaced by young players taken higher in the draft so the list is improving.

Sometimes experiments are a real hit but most aren't.

Smaller list sizes aren't doing left field options any favours.
I suspect that most would consider Zac Tuohey a left field experiment that worked (albeit the Cats probably saw a fair amount of the benefits).

Setanta played 80 games for us and gave us plenty of joy (along with WTF moments). Ciaran Byrne played 22 games for us and would have played plenty more if not homesick. Sheehan got 6 games.

I would say that our track record isn't too bad at all. Smaller list sizes don't have much to do with cat b rookies.

I suspect that most would consider Zac Tuohey a left field experiment that worked (albeit the Cats probably saw a fair amount of the benefits).

Setanta played 80 games for us and gave us plenty of joy (along with WTF moments). Ciaran Byrne played 22 games for us and would have played plenty more if not homesick. Sheehan got 6 games.

I would say that our track record isn't too bad at all. Smaller list sizes don't have much to do with cat b rookies.
Yep, some work, plenty in the same era that came and went. It's worth it but can't hang on too long.

Cat B International rookies? Of course you can. You hang on to them as long as you promised them to get them to come over. You dump them prior to that and you can guarantee that nobody else is prepared to move half way around the world to play for us.

Not saying Monahan will make it but physically he's extremely gifted. Given he's a CAT B rookie I imagine he'll be given at least 3-4 years to show his wares. He still showed some glimpses of brilliance in the VFL despite being pretty ordinary for the most part.

Pre season training last year he showed a lot more than in games during the season too, which likely equates to him having the natural talents for the game but needsing to work on reading the game and adjusting to the speed and movement of the ball more. Fairly common for newbies to the sport and even returning players who have come off a long break.

To me his best position would be up forward in a Callum Brown type role.

Monaghanā€™s profile now has him listed at 194cm, when he first arrived he was listed as 189cm you could also notice the difference in height between both of he and Duffy in those early photos when they both first came over togetherā€¦

Personally i donā€™t think that the reserves team which struggled with a number of different aspects throughout the season, wouldnā€™t have made it easy for most players, particularly a lad from across the world learning the basics of another sporting code in a mostly injury depleted & ordinary functioning team lacking depth most of the times, not great learning the game playing as a forwardā€¦

Difference between his first year, second and third will certainly show a clearer understanding of his progress and upside/potential he has in him, coming from a long way back atm we can only judge their performance on a yearly basisā€¦

T

Tbh, Tuohey is the only one I consider successful. Homesick is a fail considering players know what they are potentially in for before being drafted. Byrne had the skills but didnt stay - end of story.

Setanta was a hurler FFS. Not sure why weā€™d go down that path for someone who had zero AFL attributes other than fairly agile and tall. Credit to him for persistence, and he eventually played some good games later in his time with us, but the amount of time & money (specifically development) the club would have spent on him would have been ridiculous.

Getting international rookies is probably a cheap gamble in the short term, but I agree that if they dont show much within a couple of years its better to cut them loose IMO (no matter how ruthless that sounds).

Monahan will need to show progress in terms of understanding the game and system. Has the physicals, and you can afford to give a little more time on skills, but if he doesn't get how footy works, then it will probably be too difficult.

On Pixel 7a using BigFooty.com mobile app

T

Tbh, Tuohey is the only one I consider successful. Homesick is a fail considering players know what they are potentially in for before being drafted. Byrne had the skills but didnt stay - end of story.

Setanta was a hurler FFS. Not sure why weā€™d go down that path for someone who had zero AFL attributes other than fairly agile and tall. Credit to him for persistence, and he eventually played some good games later in his time with us, but the amount of time & money (specifically development) the club would have spent on him would have been ridiculous.

Getting international rookies is probably a cheap gamble in the short term, but I agree that if they dont show much within a couple of years its better to cut them loose IMO (no matter how ruthless that sounds).
Once again, if we promise an international rookie 3 years (or whatever) to get them over then we honour said agreement.

Costs don't really come into it, from memory their salary doesn't count in the cap, they don't take up a regular list spot and the club made nearly $8mill in profit last year prior to depreciation and amortisation.

Once again, if we promise an international rookie 3 years (or whatever) to get them over then we honour said agreement.

Costs don't really come into it, from memory their salary doesn't count in the cap, they don't take up a regular list spot and the club made nearly $8mill in profit last year prior to depreciation and amortisation.
Also consider that the draft is going to be compromised for a few years with the Tassie team coming in. Meaning the available talent in the draft for us will be very limited. So it makes sense to invest in non-traditional pathways to the game for at least the next 3-5 years.

Another point to consider on Monahan/Duffy is that we recently delisted Mirkov and Akuei. Without wanting to disrespect either of them, most would categorise them as genuinely speculative project types on the list. Now that we have let them go, we can afford to carry one or two longer term developmental prospects. So I don't think having Monahan on the list for a year or two longer is that big of a concern.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management šŸ“ƒ