News 2024 St.Kilda Media Thread

Plenty end up with a positive.

Some sucker traded for Barry Brooks and gave Port the Salopek pick.
When someone picked up Farren Ray, the Dogs drafted Jordan Roughead.
Essendon used the Lovett pick to help get Mark Williams and draft Jake Carlisle.
Sydney used the pick they got for Trent Dennis-Lane to get Tim Membrey. ( bad luck for them they didn't use him ).
Billy Longer gave the Suns Daniel McStay.
Nathan Freeman helped Collingwood get James Aish.
Jack Steele gave GWS Brent Daniels.
Fremantle upgraded the pick they got for Hill to secure Serong.
Fremantle used later picks they got for Hill to get James Aish.

Or is that just when its StKilda doing the trading?

I think you are being funny but just in case, they aren't exceptional players and only Serong was a massive upgrade. If you have a player that doesn't look like meeting expectation or that you need to get rid of due to off field stuff go for it.

Send any potential recruit to Mitch's house for dinner.
Everyone will be signing long term after a spread like that.

I reckon she must have been putting on a show for the camera but that looked like a restaurant. Van Es looked like he was eating something other than steak and chips or aa schnitz for the first time.

Gotta be due to the Campbell inclusion. Having an immobile ruckman in our forward line gotta be detrimental to forward pressure

Been all year. We don't have a balanced forward line. Too tall.

I reckon she must have been putting on a show for the camera but that looked like a restaurant. Van Es looked like he was eating something other than steak and chips or aa schnitz for the first time.
Mitch has said before she makes a meal for a group them of the every week. It's probably not that elaborate each time but I reckon anything she makes would be the best thing they eat all week.

Pretty handy.

Send any potential recruit to Mitch's house for dinner.
Everyone will be signing long term after a spread like that.

Jesus if Mitch ever leaves and goes to another club half the team will follow him.

It could very well be that elaborate every time!
My last ex here in Japan before marrying someone else was so incredible in the kitchen, almost every evening meal was like a special event.
Always several dishes - the speed and efficiency combined with the care and attention to detail was beyond belief.

Not everyone is like that though, my wife just makes pretty simple food day to day and if we want something special we just go out. A lot depends on whether they work and whether they enjoy cooking - it seems Mitch's mum does.

My last ex here in Japan before marrying someone else was so incredible in the kitchen, almost every evening meal was like a special event.
Always several dishes - the speed and efficiency combined with the care and attention to detail was beyond belief.

Not everyone is like that though, my wife just makes pretty simple food day to day and if we want something special we just go out. A lot depends on whether they work and whether they enjoy cooking - it seems Mitch's mum does.
That's so impressive to have the skill and care to put together such a feast. What a great part of the culture.

Every part is also in a different shaped bowl and it can also depend on the season which dishes are used.
All very intricate and typical of the mysterious Japanese way of doing things.

Also heard Stengle and Parker absolutely love Japanese food, get this video to them.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

I was surprised to see a range of dishes from other Asian countries rather than specifically Japanese food.

Here in France, most Japanese Vietnamese Thai or Korean restaurants are actually run by Chinese immigrants. There's a lot of Chinese dishes on the menu also.

I know that there's a lot of Chinese culture in Japan, but I didn't expect Mitchi's mum to be serving unhealthy Asian stuff instead of healthier Japanese food.

I was surprised to see a range of dishes from other Asian countries rather than specifically Japanese food.

Here in France, most Japanese Vietnamese Thai or Korean restaurants are actually run by Chinese immigrants. There's a lot of Chinese dishes on the menu also.

I know that there's a lot of Chinese culture in Japan, but I didn't expect Mitchi's mum to be serving unhealthy Asian stuff instead of healthier Japanese food.

They eat Puffer Fish that kills someone every now and then, can't get much unhealthier than that.

Here in Australia most Malaysian , Thai or Chinese restaurants are run by people who appear Chinese, but could be ethnic Chinese from any number of countries. Unless you ask where they came from you don't know , and the answer could be, "Born in Footscray mate ".

Iron Chef ( a Japanese series ) had a range of professional chefs, including locals who specialised in Italian, French and Chinese.

Do you really think Japan is Isolated from the rest of Asia or that she hasn't lived in Australia for years?

Bit of extra meat for the growing boys and some variety for her I guess!

They eat Puffer Fish that kills someone every now and then, can't get much unhealthier than that.

Here in Australia most Malaysian , Thai or Chinese restaurants are run by people who appear Chinese, but could be ethnic Chinese from any number of countries. Unless you ask where they came from you don't know , and the answer could be, "Born in Footscray mate ".

Iron Chef ( a Japanese series ) had a range of professional chefs, including locals who specialised in Italian, French and Chinese.

Do you really think Japan is Isolated from the rest of Asia or that she hasn't lived in Australia for years?

I'm talking about Chinese people who speak Chinese and make Chinese food and Asian food with Chinese flavour.

I'm well aware of the complexity of mixing one's ethnics with one's personal origin and the cross pollination of various ethnic groups and nationalities, trust me. I've also witnessed the broader Asian immigrant community in Japan and have eaten plenty of established Japanese that is Chinese of origin, or unhealthy or both. Finally, yes, of course Maki has probably been in Australia longer than my own family, not sure what your point there was.

Just a remark that I expected more Sashimi type stuff and less sticky ribs in Bbq sauce, but it's like expecting my wife to only prepare coq au vin and boeuf bourguignon I suppose.

Luca is on the money, not going to get strong tough footy players by feeding them a little bit of rice and raw fish

PS that Fugu fish they eat is just a now and then daredevil thing for special occasions, not something they chow down on regularly and anyway, what's dangerous about it is the wrong part causing rapid death, the rest of the fish is normal and healthy. Choose your chef wisely!

I'm talking about Chinese people who speak Chinese and make Chinese food and Asian food with Chinese flavour.

I'm well aware of the complexity of mixing one's ethnics with one's personal origin and the cross pollination of various ethnic groups and nationalities, trust me. I've also witnessed the broader Asian immigrant community in Japan and have eaten plenty of established Japanese that is Chinese of origin, or unhealthy or both. Finally, yes, of course Maki has probably been in Australia longer than my own family, not sure what your point there was.

Just a remark that I expected more Sashimi type stuff and less sticky ribs in Bbq sauce, but it's like expecting my wife to only prepare coq au vin and boeuf bourguignon I suppose.

Luca is on the money, not going to get strong tough footy players by feeding them a little bit of rice and raw fish

PS that Fugu fish they eat is just a now and then daredevil thing for special occasions, not something they chow down on regularly and anyway, what's dangerous about it is the wrong part causing rapid death, the rest of the fish is normal and healthy. Choose your chef wisely!

I knew a guy who had a Malaysian Restaurant. He was Chinese and spoke Cantonese but had grown up in Malaysia ( not sure if he was born there but a lot of ethnic Chinese are . He described the food as "the kind of food he cooked for his family when he was in Malaysia " Had curries and chilli dishes to die for.

Raw fish is a bit of a stereotype. Wagyu beef is Japanese. Pork is very popular etc.

Back in the days when the Japan was booming, and they all wanted to visit the Phillip Island penguins, my brother, a Chef, worked at a hotel on the island, popular with the tour companies.
He was taught to make Sashimi Lobster by their head Chef.
He actually quit because of all the Sashimi Lobster. He hated making it.
They'd take a live lobster, scoop out some of the meat, and mix stuff in it, then put it back in the lobster.
The people eating it would prod it to try to make it move.
He found it disgusting, and he didn't think that working there was improving his actual "cooking" skills. Not the kind of cooking he wanted to do anyway.

I knew a guy who had a Malaysian Restaurant. He was Chinese and spoke Cantonese but had grown up in Malaysia ( not sure if he was born there but a lot of ethnic Chinese are . He described the food as "the kind of food he cooked for his family when he was in Malaysia " Had curries and chilli dishes to die for.

Raw fish is a bit of a stereotype. Wagyu beef is Japanese. Pork is very popular etc.

Back in the days when the Japan was booming, and they all wanted to visit the Phillip Island penguins, my brother, a Chef, worked at a hotel on the island, popular with the tour companies.
He was taught to make Sashimi Lobster by their head Chef.
He actually quit because of all the Sashimi Lobster. He hated making it.
They'd take a live lobster, scoop out some of the meat, and mix stuff in it, then put it back in the lobster.
The people eating it would prod it to try to make it move.
He found it disgusting, and he didn't think that working there was improving his actual "cooking" skills. Not the kind of cooking he wanted to do anyway.

Peranakan Chinese or Straights Chinese they'd be I'm guessing by the food. Ethnic Chinese from South East Asia. Nonya cooking is that Singaporean type of cuisine.

What does this say about battle then surely we would be confident in him signing

It would be worth paying up an extra $100k for Battle to get the advantage. If we are taking Stengle it makes no sense to lose Battle. Front end the contract.

More flattering than I was expecting

Mick McGuane’s mid-season report card: Pieces are there, Saints just need to put them together​

St Kilda won’t play finals in 2024, but they are subtly evolving before our eyes and could play a big role in shaping the top eight. MICK MCGUANE dives into the Saints’ mid-season report card.

The Saints played finals last year, now they sit in 14th spot at their mid-season bye.
There’s been some promising signs, but Ross Lyon’s men have been nowhere near the full package.
MICK MCGUANE reviews St Kilda’s season so far in his mid-year report card.

MCGUANE’S MID-SEASON RATING: C-

St Kilda coach Ross Lyon looks as frustrated as anyone.
His side is doing a lot right, but is struggling to put it all together.
Some weeks, the Saints are strangling their opposition defensively but are struggling to score themselves.
Other weeks they have scored a little more freely, but have had their team defensive structure picked apart.
Ross Lyon’s Saints have had a difficult season. Picture: Getty Images

Lyon’s side scored over 100 points for just the second time this season against the Brisbane Lions in round 15 — but still lost by 20 points.
They allowed the Lions to take a whopping 140 uncontested marks and record a disposal efficiency of 82 per cent.
Numbers like those are not going to see you win many games of footy.
It wasn’t the first time, either, with the Saints also giving up 133 uncontested marks against the Western Bulldogs in a 60-point belting in round 7.

ST KILDA'S SEASON SO FAR​

Played: 14
Won: 5
Lost: 9
Drawn: 0
Percentage: 92.2
Average Points For: 73.1 (Ranked 15th)
Average Points Against: 79.2 (Ranked 7th)
Quarters Won: 26/56 (46%)
Local Record: 3 wins, 5 losses
Interstate Record: 2 wins, 4 losses
Record v Current Top-8: 1 win, 5 losses
Players Used: 37

Comparatively, they kept Collingwood to just 64 uncontested marks in a 15-point win in round 2, while holding Greater Western Sydney to 80 uncontested marks in a one-point loss in round 6.
St Kilda is at its best when it is pressuring the opposition and creating a chaos game.
If the Saints allow good sides like Brisbane to play a controlled kick-mark game by failing to read the cues and cut off the next options, they’re in trouble.
Basic fundamentals have also been costly.
Often, players are making the right decisions with ball in hand but are executing poorly and it is taking the wind out of the side’s sails.
The ball is spending plenty of time in the Saints’ forward half each week — which is what Lyon wants — but the side is not getting bang for buck from it because of this poor execution.

Screenshot 2024-06-23 081426.png

They rank last in the competition for scores from forward half intercepts (27.5 points a game) and 16th for scoring shots per inside-50 (40.8 per cent).
Returning from shoulder surgery, Max King made a slow start to the season but has been better in recent weeks.
Even the great Tony Lockett would struggle to kick regular bags of goals in the St Kilda forward line at the moment given the quality of the ball coming in.
One positive out of the Brisbane loss was an improved clearance game on the back of playing two ruckmen in Rowan Marshall and Tom Campbell.
Expect that template to be used more going forward, with the assistance allowing Marshall to spend more time forward where he can support King.

EVOLVING TEAM

This Saints team is subtly evolving before our eyes.
There have been 37 different players used this season — the equal-third most of any side — as Lyon exposes and experiments with his list.
It’s early days but Anthony Caminiti’s move to defence looks a regular occurrence, as a third-tall defender to complement Josh Battle and Callum Wilkie.
I also like the look of last week’s debutant Arie Schoenmaker, who showed enough to suggest he will be a big part of the back-six going forward as a good-size defender with a weapon of a left foot.
Arie Schoenmaker impressed on debut. Picture: Getty Images

The new faces down back put pressure on more experienced players like Dougal Howard and Zaine Cordy and rightfully so.
Long-time mainstay midfielders Seb Ross, Brad Crouch and Zak Jones also look to be playing for their futures amid an injection of youth in that area.
Marcus Winghager has added a better defensive balance onball with his ability to play accountable roles, while Liam Henry has shown he can have stints at centre bounce and add serious speed.
Hunter Clark is also building in that area of the ground after an injury-interrupted start to the season, as is Paddy Dow.

ST KILDA'S 2024 LEADERS​

COACHES VOTES TOP 5
24 votes – Jack Sinclair
21 votes – Rowan Marshall, Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera
19 votes – Jack Steele
12 votes – Brad Hill
SUPERCOACH AVERAGE TOP 5
1. Jack Steele (109 points)
2. Rowan Marshall (107 points)
3. Jack Sinclair (106 points)
4. Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera (102 points)
5. Hunter Clark (87 points)
GOALS TOP 5
23 – Jack Higgins
19 – Max King
15 – Tim Membrey, Mitchito Owens
10 – Darcy Wilson, Anthony Caminiti

SHAPING THE EIGHT

The Saints won’t make the top eight, but they could be one of the teams to shape it.
Lyon is a winning coach who will be determined to add some more wins in the second half of the season and form good habits.
The Saints should be beating West Coast, Richmond and Adelaide, while they are more than capable of challenging the likes of Port Adelaide, Essendon and Geelong.

RUN HOME​

R15: Bye
R16: Port Adelaide (H)
R17: Sydney (H)
R18: Adelaide (A)
R19: West Coast (H)
R20: Essendon (H)
R21: Brisbane Lions (H)
R22: Richmond (A)
R23: Geelong (H)
R24: Carlton (A)
Champion Data Fixture Difficulty Ranking: 6th Easiest