AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Who do you draft experts anticipate West Coast would take with their second round pick if they were to stick with home grown? What I'm getting at is for them, Gerreyn seems like the perfect replacement for Darling? But who else could they be looking at for that pick?
No, I'm with roos_fanatic08 on this one. IF we decided to split to go tall, then take the best available forwards with the first two picks and then nab the key defender rather than taking Trainor and then looking for a Kmart key forward in the late 20s. I'm just not convinced that there is much difference on the scoreboard between Trainor and Mraz.
There is nothing more certain. North Big Footy will be a mixture of; Elated, Shattered, I can't believe, Told ya we should have split / traded back, Sack Brady, What was Dodoro thinking? etc.Ha ha ha ha, this could well be the most watched draft ever, apart from father/sons and Academy players, no one really knows who is going to who, well apart from the recruiters who will know what clubs are keen on certain players.
Don't be surprised if BIGFOOTY does have another meltdown, I can see, how would you say it, a couple of surprise choices or decisions made and the players taken and supporters losing their cool, be prepared and I'm talking first round only.
As it stands we have the following picks
2, 22, 40, 58, 65
I am assuming we will only take 4 at the ND so we should try and package up the last 3 picks to slide up the order.
With Trainor seemingly on the slide is there a world where we can obtain Trainor, Whitlock and Berry?
I would ask the question. We need anything we can get before Tassie come in.We will get nothing.
TBH I doubt we even ask.
We received 2024 assistance last year with the caveat that if we improved this year it could be revoked so we chose to use it last year. Hence we won't be getting any assistance this year and nor should we, this is on us now.I haven’t seen anything on draft/trade assistance for us this year. We must receive something decent considering we have only won 3 games this year. End of first round pick? Not lose our rookie extension of numbers? We still need help.
one of the last 3 will be used to get River Stevens....As it stands we have the following picks
2, 22, 40, 58, 65
I am assuming we will only take 4 at the ND so we should try and package up the last 3 picks to slide up the order.
With Trainor seemingly on the slide is there a world where we can obtain Trainor, Whitlock and Berry?
I think having a caveat over our head last year is not right. We should get an end of first or second round pick to help us. If this was a Carlton or Collingwood situation I wouldn’t think the AFL would say no. They would come up with a solution to help this year like a 2nd rounder or 2.We received 2024 assistance last year with the caveat that if we improved this year it could be revoked so we chose to use it last year. Hence we won't be getting any assistance this year and nor should we, this is on us now.
River will be a rookie pick if anything at allone of the last 3 will be used to get River Stevens....
100%I would ask the question. We need anything we can get before Tassie come in.
I reckon we only take 3 picks in the national draftAs it stands we have the following picks
2, 22, 40, 58, 65
Like I mentioned previously, if we are one of the big clubs and had a year like we have then the AFL would give us another pick “because we need this big club to become competitive, it’s important to the competition” or some shit like that. Because it’s us we should be happy with a caveat last year and STFU…….well feck them100%
Bottom 2 now 5 years in a row
Only 3 wins this year
Statistically we should get something without even needing to ask
Whether it's right or not is up for debate but the fact is we were given 2024 assistance and we used it.I think having a caveat over our head last year is not right. We should get an end of first or second round pick to help us. If this was a Carlton or Collingwood situation I wouldn’t think the AFL would say no. They would come up with a solution to help this year like a 2nd rounder or 2.
What sucks for us is this will be the second year when there no real advantage to finishing that low. Covid draft, enough said and this years being so even. Then of course when we got one, we got played.100%
Bottom 2 now 5 years in a row
Only 3 wins this year
Statistically we should get something without even needing to ask
If this kid doesn't go backward between now and the end, he will be at North next year IMHO. Clarko is screaming for a KPF. In an even to 10 with a KPF available we cannot not take him. I dont care if we use pick 2 on him.Give me Armstrong. I don’t care how, I just want him
Take Langford at 3 (presuming Richmond bid on Ashcroft at 1) and round out the midfield perfectly.
Then start trading and FAing for talls.
Would you do?
North out 2 - in 7,12
Freo out 7, 12 - in Bolton
Rich in 2 - out Bolton
Would you do?
North out 2 - in 7,12
Freo out 7, 12 - in Bolton
Rich in 2 - out Bolton
As much as I wish it weren’t the case. I’m not sure if that’s a realistic option for us. It’s a hard sell to get any top end free agents coming to North.