VFL 2023 Swans Reserves

Fitting end to an entertaining game. I thought we were good, they were better. Sometimes footy is that simple.

McCartin a clear BOG for us. Did everything you'd want in a return performance, threw himself into everything, suggesting he's confident, and still as fearless as ever.

Buller had a good performance that could've been - and should've been - even better. Missed two very gettable shots but his work rate to get around the ground and impact contests was on display, and he has good goal sense.

Another very good game by Rankin. Pest though he might be, Ginnivan is a damaging player and Rankin rendered him a non-factor. To keep Ginnivan to only 12 touches and a goal while getting 17 touches and 5 tackles(!) himself is a stellar effort. He's gotten better with every week and is really looking the part now.

Warner & Mitchell had some good moments. I am looking forward to seeing if and when they can turn them into more complete games, as both are exciting to watch. Stephens was his usual prolific self and can't fault his effort, but his impact was meh.

Small note - he's only a young fella but I'd like to see Owen assert himself more. Still looks timid in contests and hesitates with the ball. Hopefully this just comes with time and more experience.
Was watching on my phone first half, so might have missed a bit, but hopefully Rankin getting himself in line for a debut soon.

Still, apparently we're so blessed in defence we're dropping guns now.

+’s

Tom McCartin had a good run
Mitchell and Magor showed a bit
Rankin beat the mega flog in Jack Ginnipig
Little Grace showed promise
Stephens was good but tried to do a bit much
Buller showed promise
Team never tossed in the towel

-‘s

Slow start. Some dumb footy esp in the third Q
Thought after a decent start Harry Arnold faded
Their mids accounted for ours
Delivery I50 was rarely to the advantage of our players

I wrote this after last week's game;
Stephens is frustrating. Can get certainly the ball at this level. Decent pace and run, but just too often wellies the ball fwd, without identifying targets.

And yep same again today.
It's annoying because I think there may be a player there, but too often he just does the same (ineffectual) thing.

We are not blessed with inside mids in our reserves, but I just don't think for his career there is much point in continuing to play him in there.
He's OK at this level, but I just don't see him making it on-ball in the seniors.
Perhaps try him HFF in the ressies?
Don't know what the future holds for him, but let's at least try different things before the end of the season.
Spot on HB.

I feel his main issue is that the footy smarts aren't there. No composure with the ball, no spatial awareness. Makes it very hard to see how he'll thrive in any position, let alone the most heated and contested position.

However the smartest thing I've ever seen him do was kick that goal against Melbourne in the qualifying final. Based purely on that and nothing more, I concur with your HFF idea. Less ball, more damage.

Was watching on my phone first half, so might have missed a bit, but hopefully Rankin getting himself in line for a debut soon.
Not quite IMO.

I reckon the coaches would've loved his last two weeks where he's gotten less of it but been so strong defensively even more than the few weeks prior when he was looking really good getting the ball as a rebounding option. He's doing everything right, just needs to keep delivering. Show the coaches it's not just a six week stint but that it's who he can be for a whole season.

Not quite IMO.

I reckon the coaches would've loved his last two weeks where he's gotten less of it but been so strong defensively even more than the few weeks prior when he was looking really good getting the ball as a rebounding option. He's doing everything right, just needs to keep delivering. Show the coaches it's not just a six week stint but that it's who he can be for a whole season.
I'm picturing us losing a few more, then blooding some youth.

Maybe, but that's unlikely to effect Rankin's chances. Florent, Blakey, Campbell are all young themselves, while Lloyd & Cunningham won't get dropped, and we've already been over how Fox is stiff.

Rankin's best hope would be next year. But I'd consider bumping him up to an emergency. Give him that vote of confidence, let him travel with the team, see what it's all about.

Not quite IMO.

good for you for sticking to your guns on Rankin. He stills bites off a little more than he can chew with his kicks, but far less so than last year. He is an improver tho and might just get an extension.

Maybe, but that's unlikely to effect Rankin's chances. Florent, Blakey, Campbell are all young themselves, while Lloyd & Cunningham won't get dropped, and we've already been over how Fox is stiff.

Rankin's best hope would be next year. But I'd consider bumping him up to an emergency. Give him that vote of confidence, let him travel with the team, see what it's all about.
I think he could get a sub gig, even if we don't re-shuffle a bit.

Can I just say that it is great more of us are watching the 2s. All the comments are interesting.
The reserves are a vibe this year. I can't explain it but they are just good to watch, even when they are awful to watch.

So true. I reckon all of us just look for those glimmers of hope amidst the wreckage.

How I wish we had a wise old head like Neville Jetta helping organise our kids.

Good call. At this point his best bet is to get a contract extension and line up to be the next Harry, which I think is what KB had in mind for him. Consistency will be key. Very hard to be a lockdown small defender in ressies.

So true. I reckon all of us just look for those glimmers of hope amidst the wreckage.

How I wish we had a wise old head like Neville Jetta helping organise our kids.
Yep.. That illustrates just how much the injuries have impacted.
If Buddy, Tom Mac, Hayward play next game, then maybe McLean, Francis/Melican and Fox go back to the ressies. Would make a massive difference to the players around them

At least we're not West Coast - only 2 listed players in their WAFL team!

I only finished watching a replay of the game now. I have to agree that was the best commentary call I've heard at this level. The callers were Gemma Bastiani and Jess Webster.

After giving up the first 28 points of the game by part-way through the first quarter, we managed to (narrowly) win the rest of the game, even getting within 7 points at one stage.

Best game I've seen from Rankin. McCartin was a level above. Freaky goal to Gould at the end with the ball bouncing through after the final siren. Buller continues to impress. Arnold wasn't as impressive as in his first match.

I only finished watching a replay of the game now. I have to agree that was the best commentary call I've heard at this level. The callers were Gemma Bastiani and Jess Webster.

After giving up the first 28 points of the game by part-way through the first quarter, we managed to (narrowly) win the rest of the game, even getting within 7 points at one stage.

Best game I've seen from Rankin. McCartin was a level above. Freaky goal to Gould at the end with the ball bouncing through after the final siren. Buller continues to impress. Arnold wasn't as impressive as in his first match.
Can't stand Webster

SYDNEY SWANS vs GEELONG CATS​

Friday 30 June, 4:05pm, SCG
Head-to-head: Sydney 17-14-5. At SCG: Never Met. Streak: Geelong 1

SYDNEY SWANS
B:
W. Edwards (28), T. McCartin (30), W. Gould (17)
HB: L. Rankin (41), H. Arnold (38), J. Magor (32)
C: C. Mitchell (35), C. Warner (37), R. Clarke (4)
HF: H. Hall-Kahan (45), B. Laws (57), E. Grace (65)
F: R. Fitzroy (68)*, J. Buller (47), C. Owen (40)
R:
L. McAndrew (46), N. Shipley (52), D. Stephens (3)
INT: M. Geddes (61), J. Crocker (54), J. Bartholomaeus (53), H. Morrison (55), J. Tidemann (63)
EMG: Ham. Morrison (56), M. Velthuis (60), C. Webster (62), O. Davis (66)

IN: R. Clarke, J. Crocker, B. Laws
OUT: T. Longmire (knee), O. Davis, C. Webster
NEW: Byron Laws, 19, Manly-Warringah

Tom Longmire, the son of coach John Longmire, will miss the rest of the season after suffering a knee injury last week.

Sydney has another debutant in Manly-Warringah youngster Byron Laws, who has earned a call up after winning a Sydney AFL Rising Star nomination three weeks ago.
Be interesting to see how young Laws goes.

VFL 2023 Swans Reserves