Training 2023 Pre Season

He used to be the player that was always with Dusty leading him astray early on in his career. Even when he played he was a shady character. Push-up King was well connected in the underworld too. Richmond have done well to avoid a well deserved poor reputation.
That article mentions the VIPER Taskforce which is all about organized crime (motorcycle gangs). There is a possibility that Connors was introduced to that element via his association with Richmond.

Can anyone who heads down to training please keep an eye out for Oscar Adams.

Had back problems for a fair whack of last year, came back and played a couple of games before sitting out the rest of the season.

Love to know if he's in full training or still on modified schedule. Be tough for the kid if he doesn't even get a look in because of injury.

Think you’ll find young Eyre is best suited as a running defender..good pace and lovely foot skills!
A much younger Lienert replacement.

That's how he was mostly played at Essendon I think.

Perhaps we see him as a better long term option than Adams.

Are Essendon really so flush with talls or is he simply not up to it. I guess the club will find out by having a good look at him.

Can anyone who heads down to training please keep an eye out for Oscar Adams.

Had back problems for a fair whack of last year, came back and played a couple of games before sitting out the rest of the season.

Love to know if he's in full training or still on modified schedule. Be tough for the kid if he doesn't even get a look in because of injury.
He was just jogging laps with the injured crew on Monday.

That article mentions the VIPER Taskforce which is all about organized crime (motorcycle gangs). There is a possibility that Connors was introduced to that element via his association with Richmond.
There was probably a reason that he slid so far in the draft.

There's a thread on the main board where this was written.
---------------------------------------
Faced scrutiny , leading into draft , for alleged involvement in a person being bashed by a gang which left him with life long brain damage .
Don’t reckon he has ever recovered from that .
Father is a good person and IIRC his sister is married to Dean Polo .
---------------------------------------
There are other rumours on that thread too.

The overall gist is that Richmond sacked him because he was a bad influence on their young players.

That's how he was mostly played at Essendon I think.

Perhaps we see him as a better long term option than Adams.

Are Essendon really so flush with talls or is he simply not up to it. I guess the club will find out by having a good look at him.
Essendon wanted to keep him but he didn't want to stay. Would rather try his luck at a different club. Kinda bad reflection on the Jabbers.

Think you’ll find young Eyre is best suited as a running defender..good pace and lovely foot skills!
A much younger Lienert replacement.
The thing with Lienert is he could find the ball with ease. The club must have had issues with his defensive stuff because he was quite handy when he played for us last year.

Eyre hasn't shown any ability to impact games even at VFL level. The concern with guys like Eyre and Alison is it's not a fitness issue it's a football issue. You can improve your fitness relatively easily but finding a way to impact footy games is a lot harder.

Eyre will be very much a gamble on a project player much like Alison. The chance of either making it would have to be slim given neither have been able to impact a single VFL game, let alone AFL.

For all this talk about it being likely that it will take time for us to get used to a new game plan, here are a couple of things to consider.

Most if not all teams change their gameplan to some degree every offseason.

Last year, just off the top of my head, all of Geelong, Collingwood and Carlton made significant changes to their gameplan (the latter two with brand new coaching groups), and Geelong won the premiership, Collingwood went from 17th to a point from a GF, while Carlton improved considerably, and were at one stage 8-2. After bursting out of the blocks, with their new gameplan.

Could it take a year to get used to the changes? Sure.

Could we get used to them quickly, just like the above 3 teams (and possibly others) did, just last season? Just as equally sure.

The way some talk about it you’d think it was 90/10 that it will take a year for a team to get used to significant changes. I reckon it’s 50/50 at worst.

And it’s a big advantage that we’re already a fit group. Because it means we can go pretty much straight into match-sim, and working on getting used to the gameplan.

A big chunk of our team being pretty experienced will also help.
The majority of our squad have never experienced life with a modern game plan.
It's not the same as a tweak.
Some may be past the point where they can effectively learn one.

The Herald Sun put out an updated list this week and he wasn't on it.

We seem committed to Stocker and Eyre at this stage.
I liked Lienert.

I wonder whether we will pick Stocker or Eyre or neither and wait for mid term. assume we might pick 1 out of 2.
If we only go for 1 I think it will be stocker..safer bet!

The thing with Lienert is he could find the ball with ease. The club must have had issues with his defensive stuff because he was quite handy when he played for us last year.

Eyre hasn't shown any ability to impact games even at VFL level. The concern with guys like Eyre and Alison is it's not a fitness issue it's a football issue. You can improve your fitness relatively easily but finding a way to impact footy games is a lot harder.

Eyre will be very much a gamble on a project player much like Alison. The chance of either making it would have to be slim given neither have been able to impact a single VFL game, let alone AFL.
Lienert was a handy fringe player but at 28 any likely improvement would be questionable.

I’m a huge Jack Hayes fan but that’s not his go..he’s a key forward that can pinch hit in the ruck..

He was able to play heaps of roles in the SANFL. He was a swing man but played ruck at times and was a bit of a Marshall type of contested player in the midfield as well as the ruck.

After a quick trawl through the forums Eyre seems like a player who gets to the right spots and kicks the ball well but needs to improve his marking which impacts his stats. Hopefully coaching staff and Membrey can get his sticky mits going and we might find something. Not sure how this has looked from training?

If his marking is suspect I am not sure a intercept defender is his go. I also wonder if he chose us as we saw him as a ruck/fwd?

Who is quicker on the spread, Moneghetti or Bolt?
If you're trying to say Bolt is heavier than Monas you would be correct , but its all muscle unlike Hunter

Anyway one was a sprinter and one was a marathon runner , not really a good comparison

Who is quicker on the spread, Moneghetti or Bolt?

If you're trying to say Bolt is heavier than Monas you would be correct , but its all muscle unlike Hunter
EUoDVvi.gif

Anyway one was a sprinter and one was a marathon runner , not really a good comparison

I'd back Moneghetti after the first 10 minutes.

Watched about an hour and a half of training this morn.

Firstly, the sim of the game sense stuff was about moving the ball from the back half. My guess is Ross wants us to become a dominant rebounding team. From what I could gather. The idea is get one of the backs with a big kick. (Eyre was doing this, has a big peg on him) think Ross has him down for the Dawson role. Anyways the Backman goes long preferably to an owns or hits up a guy like Sincs or nas who then explode of the back 50.

They were also working on using the outnumber at stoppages.

In terms of player notes

Coff , Max and Steele, Hotton and Keeler weren’t training.

Heath and jones ran some laps.

Billings and Gresh light duties. As was Adams I think.

In terms of things that impressed me

I’ll start with the Poo.
He’s much quicker in person then on video imo. In terms of his actual acceleration. Once he fills out he’s going to be a unit. I loved his tenacity as a defender in drills.

Windy - well it’s all been said, he looks in rediculous shape. Breaking through tackles and starting chains.

Owens - simmilar to windy, kicking still leaves a bit to be desired and I think will play an important role as a marking option.

Hill and NAS looked silky and I think Nas will enjoy getting some easier ball at HB. Ditto Sincs

Leo - I’m an unashamed fan but thought he just added the same as the guys above and is genreally the most skilled player in any of the drills he does.

Eyre - think he has a large roll to play, moves well and kicks long.

EDIT - Another one i loved when drafted him and in the nab league finals is
Mcclenan. really good size and versatility.

Watched about an hour and a half of training this morn.

Firstly, the sim of the game sense stuff was about moving the ball from the back half. My guess is Ross wants us to become a dominant rebounding team. From what I could gather. The idea is get one of the backs with a big kick. (Eyre was doing this, has a big peg on him) think Ross has him down for the Dawson role. Anyways the Backman goes long preferably to an owns or hits up a guy like Sincs or nas who then explode of the back 50.

They were also working on using the outnumber at stoppages.

In terms of player notes

Coff , Max and Steele, Hotton and Keeler weren’t training.

Heath and jones ran some laps.

Billings and Gresh light duties. As was Adams I think.

In terms of things that impressed me

I’ll start with the Poo.
He’s much quicker in person then on video imo. In terms of his actual acceleration. Once he fills out he’s going to be a unit. I loved his tenacity as a defender in drills.

Windy - well it’s all been said, he looks in rediculous shape. Breaking through tackles and starting chains.

Owens - simmilar to windy, kicking still leaves a bit to be desired and I think will play an important role as a marking option.

Hill and NAS looked silky and I think Nas will enjoy getting some easier ball at HB. Ditto Sincs

Leo - I’m an unashamed fan but thought he just added the same as the guys above and is genreally the most skilled player in any of the drills he does.

Eyre - think he has a large roll to play, moves well and kicks long.

Thanks for the notes. its great to read what others are saying about training.

is Eyre worthy of a spot or is Stocker? or is both?

Because we want to play finals who cares about AA awards when you finish 10th and miss the 8

P66 saying you don't move a AA player but also said we don't play finals with last years midfield

HBF easiest position on the field, running Sincs through the midfield is just makes sense at a guess this is why RTB is running NWM off the HBF at training

People are forgetting how good Sincs looked when he did get midfield minutes
it's like saying hawthorn shouldnt have moved hodge into the midfield because he won a AA on the HBF

Training 2023 Pre Season