List Mgmt. 2022 List Management: Draft, Trade and FA Pt2: Electric Boogaloo

I just can’t believe we can get jackson for Lobb (aged 30 next year) and pick 13.
If anyone had suggested that trade last March they would have sent for some men in white coats to take them away to an institution.
Has jackson regressed in value and Lobb increased that much in the meantime?
I think Jacksons price is set, two firsts with a 2nd coming back so the only way I can it happening is if Dogs get 15 (plus a lot more) for Dunkley and send to us with a 2nd or something coming back. Then you join the two together and you get Lobb + 1st = Jackson. That return for Lobb would need the hardest of hardballs and Dogs to be weirdly keen on him

I know we got an interest in Jeremy Sharp who is contracted but wouldn't Deven Robertson at the lions be a better player and is uncontracted at the end of this year.

Honestly posters need to chill with regards to PSD. It is rarely used these days. Also North will have a vested interest to be reasonable as they are chasing Tucker reasonably hard and he is under contract.

I would expect we give Tucker up as more of an add on or on the cheap to benefit both clubs. Should the Logue negotiations start off nasty Freo wil just give the bird and say to Tucker sorry mate North are being d*#ks.

Yes Logue is out of contract. Yes North have the blessed first PSD pick. There is also around 3-4 weeks after trade week for us to meet up with Logue and try and change his mind. Whilst he is committed to going to North based on large contract there is nothing stopping Logue being upset by the way North handled the whole process for he and Tucker and he goes bugger off and re-signs. Reportedly loves the club and only very recently made up his mind.

It is in North’s interest to be reasonable but I agree I believe they will do well out of the trade.

Sure, but in Logue’s situation he is out of contract but not a free agent, so he never has a “pre-agency” year. In hindsight, he should have been contracted for next year. We should be trying very hard to make sure no good players come out of contract before 8 years. We need to adjust to the new paradigm of long contracts.
Yes absolutely! If you want a guy you should renew well before the final year of his current deal.

I know we got an interest in Jeremy Sharp who is contracted but wouldn't Deven Robertson at the lions be a better player and is uncontracted at the end of this year.
Robertson is an interesting one because if Dunkley nominates the Lions I could see him looking elsewhere

Add Dunkley into that midfield mix, Ashcroft could slot right in there and then even if he wants to keep his wing spot they've got Jaspa Fletcher in their academy who could probably play straight away next year.

Players picked from 14-20 in the AFL draft over the last 10 years.
This provides a bit of context to the debate here about the price for Luke Jackson. This accounts for the counterfactual that we don’t trade for LJ, Ashcroft gets bid on early and we take pick 13(14) to the draft instead of trading for LJ, along with a similar selection next year if we finished top 5 again

Cam macarthy
Zak Jones
Darcy Lang
Michael Apeness
Luke Dunstan
Blake acres
Jack leslie

Jake Lever
Jarrod Garlett
Sam durdin
Kyle Langford
Isaac Heeney (not applicable here as was bid on at pick 2)
Blaine Boekhorst
Jayden Laverde

Eric Hipwood
Daniel Rioli
Harry Himmelberg
Tom Doodee
Jade gresham
Ryan Burton
Brayden Fiorini

Harry perryman
Jordan Gallucci
Sam Powell pepper
Tim English
Todd marshall
Jarrod berry
Isaac cumming

Matthew ling
Zac bailey
Ed richards
Jack higgins
Brandon starcevich
Will Powell
Callum Coleman Jones

Jackson Hately
Jordan Clark
Ned McHenry
Xavier durssma
Sam sturt
Liam stocker
Riley collier Dawkins

Miles Bergman
Cooper stephens
Mitch georgiades
Brodie kemp
Cody weightman
Sam DeKoning
Sam Philp

Heath chapman
Connor stone
Ryan angwin
Ollie Henry
Lachie Jones
Finley Mcrae
Max Holmes

Campbell Chesser
Leek Aleer
Darcy Wilmot
Tom Brown
Angus Sheldrick
Jacob Van Rooyen
Kai Lohmann

Snuffaluphagus and Square Peg i just thought in light of your good debate here I would give posters an idea of the type of player we are giving up (x2) to get jackson in. These are the type of first rounders we are trading out everyone, you have to remember that. They are NOT top 10 picks. The question to be answered here is do you take a random two of the above listed players, or LJ for the next decade?

Not really a need IMO, can win the ball but doesn't use it well, not a great decision maker. We've already got this covered lol

We have enough inside mids, need wingers.

Not really a need IMO, can win the ball but doesn't use it well, not a great decision maker. We've already got this covered lol
Agreed. We need to start getting games into Johnson and Erasmus. Watching plenty of Peel - neither are outside players. Both tall inside mids.

Devon isn’t an outside player. I agree that he might feel opportunities are more available elsewhere but for mine he would be one the Eagles chase to improve their midfield mix. He seems like a similar type to Dom Sheed.

Treacy will make it at AFL level.

Has the work rate and the hands. Field kicked is very good also.
Just needs to work on his timing and put it all together.

I agree it's just how long it takes for him to put it together, project player. I reckon by 24/25 he will be pretty consistent at afl level.

Give him games in 23 as the 3rd tall and he dominates. Every game he’s played he’s been the main or 2nd key forward which hasn’t helped.

Agreed. We need to start getting games into Johnson and Erasmus. Watching plenty of Peel - neither are outside players. Both tall inside mids.
Do you reckon we’ll give Johnson midfield minutes straight away? I reckon we’ll have to ease him in off half back.

Erasmus we can rotate between mid and forward.

Do you reckon we’ll give Johnson midfield minutes straight away? I reckon we’ll have to ease him in off half back.

Erasmus we can rotate between mid and forward.
I think Johnson is some way off AFL level yet. Let’s see what he looks like after another preseason.
I’d be surprised if he makes anything more than a peripheral contribution next season. Could be a year of 2 more before he’s B22

Banfield is the new Matt deBoer. Handy role player but tough as nails, smart, a work horse and a great clubman. Someone that even if he's not in the 23 on match day is an asset. Pav has said that getting rid of some core players in Mayne, deBoer, Clancee, Silvagni, Barlow, Mzungu, etc all in one hit really hurt the club culturally.

His high school graduation score of 98.25% (IIRC?) is insanely high also, probably the smartest guy in the AFL?
Similarities to another ex-Claremont player in Tom Swift but Bailey's shown more resilience (probably because he was rookie drafted not national draft). Swift was in the top echelons academically in the Beazley medal, much maligned by his own supporters and quit footy at around 22 from memory.

On Pixel 4a using BigFooty.com mobile app

List Mgmt. 2022 List Management: Draft, Trade and FA Pt2: Electric Boogaloo