#13 - Dale Thomas - 2009/2010

• Thread starter Thread starter DThomas

Re: #13 - Dale Thomas - 2009

My cousin goes to Rosebud Secondary and he told me that the players were down there. He said there were heaps of girls surrounding Daisy telling him "You're hot!":eek:. One of them tried to get Daisy to say that he loves them as well:eek:. Dale just laughed it off. My cousin also said Thomas was really nice, he gave autographs and got photos taken even when they had to leave.

dalethomas2927.jpg

Training on 10/2/09 at Olympic Park in Rosebud. I took some photos. There was too many screaming schoolgirls surrounding him. I felt sorry for him, especially with people shoving pens in his face and asking him for photos. It took me 10 minutes to get his autograph there was that many people.

100_1713.jpg
100_1712.jpg
100_1711.jpg
100_1710.jpg
100_1709.jpg

dalethomas2927.jpg

Couple more photos:

dalethomas3052.jpg
dalethomas3051.jpg
dalethomas3066.jpg
dalethomas3067.jpg
3268511623_3a19a6c1a1.jpg

Last photo thanks to Brian McGinley

dalethomas2923.jpg

At Rosebud Secondary College answering questions. Link here.

STAR forward Paul Medhurst may have been late for class but his teammates – or the adoring students at Rosebud Secondary College – didn’t mind.

Having conquered the West Coast Eagles a few days earlier, Collingwood headed to Melbourne’s Mornington Peninsula on Tuesday for its Telstra AFL Community Camp.

The couple of days will give the Pies a chance to mingle with fans, like those at the seaside town, as well as enjoy a little downtime from training.

Having begun their pre-season campaign earlier than most rivals, the Pies can now enjoy a little lull before awaiting their next NAB Cup opponent.

So Tuesday morning’s activities of cricket, a BBQ, PlayStation and some casual skills with the high school students was a relaxing change from the gruelling summer months.

Although it was back to school for some thorough examination at one point for the star quartet of Medhurst, Travis Cloke, Dane Swan and Dale Thomas, who were quizzed on all topics life and footy-related.

Medhurst, while barely seen on the field so far in 2009, was front and centre during the classroom Q&A after his arrival – albeit a little late.

“Sorry I’m late,” he said, head bowed, as he entered a few questions into the session.

That instantly won points with the youngsters, many of them no doubt having muttered those same words countless times before him.

However there was to be no repercussions for the Magpie being late to this class. And no Mick Malthouse to cast a disapproving eye.

Instead, it was time to relax, with the four Maggies fielding questions on topics from who they barracked for as a kid to, well, whatever.

Medhurst seemed to take on the role of leader, engaging with the students and promoting two-way conversation.

But with most answers it was Thomas who was quick to pounce with a one-liner.

“Do you get sick of screaming girls?” one girl asked.

“Trav doesn’t,” Thomas quipped.

While Cloke may have been the butt of that one he was king of the kids when it came to favourite television shows.

Underbelly (Thomas), Dexter (Medhurst) and Entourage (Swan) were treated with a combination of whispers and nods to blank stares.

But when Cloke replied “I like Two And A Half Men”, well, he may as well have just said school was off for the rest of the week, such was the response from the kids.

Maybe the big centre-half forward had wanted to get one up on Daisy.

Earlier, the livewire blonde had brought chuckles from the room – especially the older members in the room such as his teammates and teachers – when one boy asked the Pies who their toughest opponents had been.

Swan offered the likes of Gary Ablett and Chris Judd.

Another said how Lance Franklin would be tough to play on. But then Thomas had his say.

“Trav’s brother reckons Setanta O’hAilpin can be pretty tough to play on.”

dalethomas2927.jpg

Earlier, the livewire blonde had brought chuckles from the room – especially the older members in the room such as his teammates and teachers – when one boy asked the Pies who their toughest opponents had been.

Swan offered the likes of Gary Ablett and Chris Judd.

Another said how Lance Franklin would be tough to play on. But then Thomas had his say.

“Trav’s brother reckons Setanta O’hAilpin can be pretty tough to play on.”
dalethomas3052.jpg
dalethomas3051.jpg
dalethomas3066.jpg
lol, absolute gold:thumbsu:, I wonder what Travs reaction was....haha
gee he is a funny lad!

lol, absolute gold:thumbsu:, I wonder what Travs reaction was....haha
gee he is a funny lad!
Yeah when I read that I cracked up laughing and I was at my parents house and they both just gave me a funny look. Great response from him. If you listen to the episodes of The Squawk or The Black and White Show that Thomas is on, you will get a good laugh.

Great post from stanley86:

I will make this quick, but I will start off with a massive thank you to Dale Thomas, Shane O'Bree, Tarkyn Lockyer, Nick Maxwell, Josh Fraser and Anthony Rocca for taking the time to stop and talk to everyone.

Now to my story

Unfortunately my in-laws suffered property damage due to the bushfires, but thankfully everyone survived. Without wanting to sound dramatic, I was up there helping them and experience first hand the fright and panic and destruction so many people have. With the in-laws being involved with the Kilmore Football Club for many years, we were offered some tickets to last nights game. All we were told was to be at AFL house at 6:45pm and were our Kilmore shirts or jackets. So we turn up to AFL house, were we are ushered inside and given a "ticket", which was a special pass from Andrew Demetriou to the limelight room. We then proceeded to this room, where the AFL had provided all food and drinks you wanted. At 8:10pm we were paged to head downstairs to go on the ground, so off we went. Standing in the tunnel under the dome waiting to go on, I got to meet the great man, Damian Monkhurst (i'll post a picture later). We then started moving forward on to the ground, but all of a sudden they cut us off, and i got through but my wife and mates all got left behind. So there i was, in this tunnel with 100 strangers, when i see a group of blokes walking up, you guessed it, the collingwood boys. Now i dont think i hid my excitement too well, as Shane O'Bree said gday and asked how i was doing. I mumbled something like im well and a lifelong pies fan. I then spent the next 5 minutes talking to them all, but mostly Dale Thomas. The kid who tossed the coin was wearing Tarks's shoes as he didnt have any. As we walked on to the ground, I walked out with Dale (who I must say is the most amazing guy, so friendly and so humble) and there were photographers taking photos, and i said to dale how lucky he is to do this every week, and he said it is such a priviledge and he realises how lucky he is. He then proceeded to tell me how bad the ground was, and how its all artifically grown. We went through the formalities on the ground, and when it was time to go, everyone of the collingwood boys came up, shook my hand, wished me all the best and we walked off. I walked off with Anthony and Dale, wished them all the boys all the best for the year and went back to our room to watch the game, which involved spending a lot of time at the bar :)

Daisy always has been a great bloke.:thumbsu:

Couple of little comments from Thomas on different news stories:

United by grief, stars roll in - AFL.com.au

Collingwood's Dale Thomas, a Gippsland product who grew up near some of the state's most-affected areas, said it was important to rally in the wake of the country's worst-ever natural disaster.
"It’s a terrific cause and it’s good to see the AFL community and the community in general getting behind the people who are in need," Thomas said.
"I suppose everyone’s felt it either directly or indirectly … it was only last weekend that my mum was up on the roof with the hose out herself back in Drouin, so I think everyone you speak to knows someone [involved]."

Bushfire appeal: More than an AFL game - realfooty.com.au

Collingwood's Dale Thomas said he was happy to "rattle the tins" and help raise money for "all the people affected directly and indirectly" by the fires.
"Not just in Victoria, but right across Australia, the amount of money raised shows that good Aussie spirit," he said.
"When somebody's in need, we really do come out in our droves and help."

Another post from stanley86:

Dale said that Arizona was the best trip he had done, it was extremely hard work but it was worth all effort, that he would like to move into the midfield this year but doesn't think he will get a big run in there, it is more because of the options to put in there than a fitness thing.

dalethomas2927.jpg

Just a snippet of Pedro's post on 20/2/09 training:

Daisy spent pretty much all his match time on the HBF. Would't be surprised to see him play plenty in the back half this year.

That's a little bit surpising. He looked pretty good in the International Rules Series playing in the back half, but I would prefer him to play in the midfield with the occasional move into the forward line. I reckon he would be good running into the forward line and kicking goals, he could be dangerous in that position.

dalethomas2924.jpg

Round 2 NAB Cup 2009 - Collingwood Vs Richmond

Not much to report this week. Thomas was a substitute up until half time and only played about one and a half quarters. He still collected 7 possessions in his limited game time.

:thumbsu: Pros:
- Collected a fair bit of the ball in his limited game time.
- Put a lot of pressure on the opposition.
- Hard at the ball.
- Fitness is up for him.
- Kicking was brilliant.

:thumbsd: Cons:
- Not a con for him, but he didn't get a lot of game time.

Stats:
Kicks - 7
Handballs - 0
Possessions - 7
Marks - 2
Tackles 1
Supergoals - 0
Goals - 0
Behinds - 0

dalethomas2926.jpg

Just a couple of pictures:

dalethomas3151.jpg
svDALE_gallery__274x400.jpg
svBROWN_gallery__293x400.jpg

mate your gonna be the buddy reporter of the year. (its marsII on his mates account)

dalethomas2924.jpg

A great match against Essendon in the 3rd Round of the NAB Cup tonight for Daisy. He played in a few different positions around the ground. Fitness is fantastic for him, he seemed to cover a lot of the ground in a short amount of time, which is great.
He went forward and kicked 2 goals, then went into the backline and found space for other defenders. Put great pressure on the opposition once again.
Looking forward to the NAB Cup Grand Final to see how he performs against the most likely opponent, Geelong.

Also he was in a Dream Team commercial with Leigh Matthews. He looks like a natural in front of the camera.
He scored 115 Dream Team points as well tonight.

:thumbsu:Pros:
- Fitness is looking great.
- Got a lot of the Sherrin.
- Played well in a couple of different positions.

:thumbsd:Cons:
- Nothing much, just one error where he was in the wrong position and gave away a goal to the Bombers.

Stats:
Kicks - 17
Handballs - 5
Possessions - 22
Marks - 12
Tackles - 2
Supergoals - 0
Goals - 2
Behinds - 0

dalethomas2926.jpg

Pictures from the match:

dalethomas3186.jpg