Player Watch #13 Clayton Oliver – UNPRECEDENTED 4x B&F, 3x AA, 2x AFLCA Winner and Premiership Player (formerly)

OK, I've removed about three pages of posts.

Please do not use this thread to speculate about Oliver's private life – medical or otherwise.

Regardless of the veracity of your rumour, or what you know/have heard, if it's not public knowledge, just don't post it.

I don't want to turn this place into Demonland, but if you can't see the potential harm that this sort of rumour-spreading can cause (regardless of your intentions), then perhaps it's best if you take a bit of a break.

Thanks.

I can't be too mad at the club for giving Oliver the opportunity to get back on track but it would appear he's basically spat in the clubs face following that goodwill. Not sure where we go from here.

Hey you're not sleeping on Gawns couch so you don't know what's happening behind the scenes

What a disaster, hope he can get himself right, for his own life more than his footy.

Kinda worried about us next season, fear we'll drop off, big pre-season coming up.

What a disaster, hope he can get himself right, for his own life more than his footy.

Kinda worried about us next season, fear we'll drop off, big pre-season coming up.
We played better without him in the team. I'd be more worried if Gawn or May drops off

While I agree May and Gawn are more important he is still a huge loss. Yes he had some shockers (Bombers, Lions) but his best game against the Swans at the G was probably the team's best game for the year. It also makes it less likely for Petracca to spend a lot of time forward if Oliver is not in the team. I don't know why lots of people here try to downplay it, the guy is a gun and this whole thing is a disaster for the team for a number of reasons.

He has been a gun, he was far from a gun last year. His crap disposal in the finals was a major factor in the shit way we played, he reverted back to the belt it long as often as possible Oliver. It effects the team even if people don't want to see it.

He has been a gun, he was far from a gun last year. His crap disposal in the finals was a major factor in the s**t way we played, he reverted back to the belt it long as often as possible Oliver. It affects the team even if people don't want to see it.
I really did think he had worked hard to improve that long dump kick. I’m wondering whether his lifestyle affected this a bit when he came back and played last year, and he fell back into old habits a bit.

If he can get himself right I have no doubt he’s good enough to be one of the very best mids/players in the comp. Unfortunately I’m just not confident he will be able to do it.

I really did think he had worked hard to improve that long dump kick. I’m wondering whether his lifestyle affected this a bit when he came back and played last year, and he fell back into old habits a bit.

If he can get himself right I have no doubt he’s good enough to be one of the very best mids/players in the comp. Unfortunately I’m just not confident he will be able to do it.
That's my theory, you'd never actually know but your reaction time and decision making doesn't Improve when you're hitting the gear hard.

If we get 2021 Oliver then we’re a huge flag threat. Backend of 23 and he just isn’t near as impactful as needed. Of course 2021 Oliver seems an unlikely option for a little while.

With or without Oliver we’re still a bloody good side. But we’ll also need Gus in the middle to allow Trac more time forward. Or give extra time to the likes of Sparrow and Rivers etc.

If he does have serious addiction issues, it may be a long road back for him and won't be solved with a single ultimatum of shape up or ship out.

I think it's true that the club will be wary of jettisoning him out of the 4 walls, as structure and purpose will be important to any form of recovery. At some point though, the club might not have a choice.

I wish him all the best. Addiction is a terrible thing.

You gotta want it to break addiction. I don't think he's even at that stage yet (may never get to it) , he's happy doing what he is.
Yep you don't break addiction because someone else wants you to, you do when you want to.

If he does have serious addiction issues, it may be a long road back for him and won't be solved with a single ultimatum of shape up or ship out.

I think it's true that the club will be wary of jettisoning him out of the 4 walls, as structure and purpose will be important to any form of recovery. At some point though, the club might not have a choice.

I wish him all the best. Addiction is a terrible thing.
Yeah worst thing for him would be to send him away for a month or so. No structure and he'd more than likely go off the rails.
Outside having a full time minder though there's nothing the club can do after hours.

It's like BigFooty posters just try to keep one-upping each other.

Well I heard it's passed the addiction stage and he's now digging for cans in trash bins around Thomastown just to get enough money together to catch the bus to court where he's up on multiple homicides. Pert has told him this is absolutely his last chance, and he really really means it this time. He's going to announce his retirement this week due to a wrist injury sustained in the Palace's pokies room anyway. I got all this from a TikTok screenshot that I won't share here because the original poster is a former CEO who may or may not share a name with a menswear label.

Anyway, I don't even live in Australia so I clearly have my finger on the pulse. Oh also he's a poor kick inside 50 because addiction.

This is just silly, I'm trying to have serious discussion about a serious subject. You shouldn't laugh/joke about addiction Nev. Shame on you!

Yep you don't break addiction because someone else wants you to, you do when you want to.
Oliver can do whatever he wants but he cant expect to be paid 900k per year doing it.
You would think hes already inbreach of contract .
MFC will have to make a decision soon.
They cant keep paying him if hes not training and incapable of playing AFL anymore.

No you're not, you're pedaling rumours like Ita Buttrose.
Someone knows more than Nev about something, "its a rumour"
Nev with his history of posting misses from inside sources, "not a rumour"

Someone knows more than Nev about something, "its a rumour"
Nev with his history of posting misses from inside sources, "not a rumour"

Lol nah you and your overseas mate are clearly all over the "Oliver is a drug addict" breaking news.

Well done, scream that all over the internet but then try and play holy when someone calls you out for it.

My post started with "If he does have serious addiction issues"

If he doesn't, great! But I don't think you can rule it out at this stage with everything going on.

Wasn't having a crack at your post, more using it as an example of how the same other two posters always try and one-up anything anyone else says. None of us know the full story of what's going on with him, but that hasn't stopped the 'he's an addict, being an addict is this...' crowd.

Player Watch #13 Clayton Oliver – UNPRECEDENTED 4x B&F, 3x AA, 2x AFLCA Winner and Premiership Player (formerly)

Write your reply...