Certified Legendary Thread 1116 SEN 2025 line up

Does Mark (i think thats his name) does he still call in n give the night guy his tips and review of the previous weeks Harness Racing and all the info etc.
That guy deserved his own segment,his knowledge of the harness game was something to behold,talk about full on:eek:
Maybe Tim n Gary could open up a weekly spot for him on their show
yep he still does

It's a pity SEN doesn't cover college sports, could you imagine the carry on they'd have over the Clark v Reese blowup.

If you want to know what is wrong with worldwide sports discussion that is a perfect case in point.
As soon as any US sport comes on i turn off , getting that way with JJ and his bullshit gambling odds

I think SEN's key problem is it fills its daytime programming with journos and former sports stars as hosts, instead of using them as contributors.

If you look at sports talk radio in the USA, most shows (bar the odd exception) are hosted by radio people. That is, those who are passionate about and trained for the broadcast industry, and may have also worked other different formats (music or news talk stations).

Where the ex sports stars and current journos come in, is they are the regular contributors with a daily/weekly/as needed 15 minute slot, give their opinion on something and then they move on to the next guest/subject.

The trick is, the host/s know they are not the experts on each sport, but they know the art of either getting the interesting story/information from their guest/contributor, or firing them up to get them to say something debate worthy.

That said, not everything can be copied from the US sports talk stations, as they each talk to a city with only one (at most two) teams in each national league, opposed to SEN which talk multiple teams in one league (The Victorian Football League plus six - aka AFL) and a smidge of other sports.

Brilliant post. We're very fortunate in the UK on BBC Radio 5 (a mix of news and sport but sport in the evenings and at the weekend) to have had some outstanding hosts such as Mark Chapman and Mark Pougatch who can cover a range of sports to a high standard as hosts and also get the most out of the various expert analysts. That's why I like Gerard (with qualifications) although given the semi-pro nature of AFL before the 90s, Gerard Healy and Dwayne are as much broadcasters as they were players. Martin Brundle is another example of someone who reached a high level in his sport but became far more prominent as a top-class broadcaster.

The second or third biggest sporting league in the world is scraping the bottom of the barrel? FMD indeed.

What would be the better alternative at 1am on a Sunday Morning - more talkback calls from Joe from Bacchus Marsh ringing in half-cut complaining about the deliberate out of bounds rule?

I get it, we all have our favourite sports and those we dislike,, but let's also be fair dinkum too.
EPL,NBA,NFL,Bundesliga,PGA…even England Championship would be bigger than AFL.

like the idea of a professional trained host hosting a show. It makes sense. But then there no job for the boys.

bolded bit so well articulated!

I do think SEN can take a leaf out of us sports radio despite servicing home teams mostly. I listen to espn LA, and its all lakers, clippers. But they do cover the NBA as a whole and hence other teams and debates well.

On a side note, how good is Sedano and Kaplan on ESPN LA?!
I actually listen to Scott Kaplan's other (pre-recorded) show at the same time on The Mightier 1090 (out of San Diego), and he's bloody entertaining - some SEN hosts could learn a thing or two from him.

So what , this is an Aussie Rules site

You’ll be shocked to know there’s other forums on this site pertaining to topics such as media and entertainment, politics, music, conspiracies, and so on.

"Tradies News In A Nutshell" (5:00am-6:00am) whilst well presented by Mathew Cox, seems like a complete waste of time & a good presenter..
Has a 5 minute chat with some weird unit based in Adelaide regularly. Obviously the only caller at that time of day, imagine calling sen at 5am to waffle on about the sanfl

Any opinions on the new gambling ad disclaimers? The go: "chances are you're about to lose. What are you really gambling with?"

Where do you stop? Should Gerard give one on alcohol when he's plugging Jameson who now sponsor the Monday Means Test?
I suppose that is a separate issue. They are more direct now along the lines of TAC ads.

We have a new segment this year on Sportsday with Daniel Hoyne from Champion Data.
How do people find it?

Seeing Terry Wallace on 360 the other week reminded me of how much he is missed.
Never traded on his name. Watched every game and lots of junior footy. And I loved Footy Golf!

Where do you stop? Should Gerard give one on alcohol when he's plugging Jameson who now sponsor the Monday Means Test?
I suppose that is a separate issue. They are more direct now along the lines of TAC ads.

We have a new segment this year on Sportsday with Daniel Hoyne from Champion Data.
How do people find it?

Seeing Terry Wallace on 360 the other week reminded me of how much he is missed.
Never traded on his name. Watched every game and lots of junior footy. And I loved Footy Golf!
Where do people like Hoyne come from

Certified Legendary Thread 1116 SEN 2025 line up