Retired #10: Angus Brayshaw – retired due to concussion (22/02). Thanks for everything, Gus.

Given they said they’d provide an update on Friday and didn’t, I’d say people are entitled to want to know if he’s ok.
He was concussed, he's not in hospital. What else could they possibly say

Given his history surely they'd give it as much time as possible before they declared anything either way

Vibe I got from Trac's presser is that Gus is thinking about more than whether he gets up for a potential prelim.
Considering he missed near on 18 months with concussion and seeing what's happened with Mccartin and some others I'm not at all surprised this has more layers than just if he's feeling ok today or not

Yeah if I were in his position I'd be the same. Even if he gets ticked off by the doctors McCartin was as well before his final concussion.

Yeah I'd say rather than having a go at the club got not putting out anything, maybe realise Gus probably needs some time, might need some time with his family before he declares he's right

Even just that. There’s a sensitivity around it given his history.

Usually the injury report comes out around Monday night, so they might give an update around then maybe.

Gus has said previously he'd have no hesitation choosing between footy and his health, and with his history and family connection to CTE tragedy I'd personally be pretty surprised to see him play again this year.

Well if you payed any attention his uncle's already said he's fine, pretty pissed off he's out with concussion.
But sure blame the club for not pandering to your needs a day later
I googled the topic and couldn’t get an answer on his condition, can’t say it’s been clearly expressed how he is going.

On the incident, watching it live on Thursday I felt Maynard shouldn't get anything like a few others on Fox, complete accident, but when is Gus is missing a final over an action that has been classed all year ( left the ground hit the player in the head) as a complete no no it's gotta to be 3-4 games I'm afraid.

Regardless of how you feel about players being suspended for this sort of stuff, the defence that it was a footy action hasn't really worked when it comes to bumps or sling tackles so not sure how it can be argued for a smother like this.

If jumping towards an oncoming player while smothering is just an accident but lowering and turning your body towards a contest is a suspendable offence I really don't know what the AFL is actually trying to achieve. Duty of care means you've got to anticipate the possibility of hitting guys high when you do stuff like this.

Id be pretty pissed if JVR cops two if Maynard gets off.

Regardless of how you feel about players being suspended for this sort of stuff, the defence that it was a footy action hasn't really worked when it comes to bumps or sling tackles so not sure how it can be argued for a smother like this.

If jumping towards an oncoming player while smothering is just an accident but lowering and turning your body towards a contest is a suspendable offence I really don't know what the AFL is actually trying to achieve. Duty of care means you've got to anticipate the possibility of hitting guys high when you do stuff like this.

JVR only got one didn't he?

But yes I agree with your point, you could class anything as an accident, I'm sure Jack Martin didn't mean to hit Blakey in the face with a swinging arm, nobody in an uproar about his suspension, if he gets two weeks for that incident that didn't leave a player concussed it's gotta be more for Maynard on what we've seen this year.

Don't think you could possibly anticipate that, he's jumping for a smother playing desperate like he always does. I'm fine if you wanna say accidental bumps get weeks so this should too but don't think anyone's ever gonna pull out of a jumping smother for fear of hitting anyone

He's jumping forwards at pace towards a player who's coming towards him at pace. Not much different from a player getting done for a late spoil that collects the head imo. I get that he's only got eyes for the ball but that's why they call these incidents careless

I'm not arguing if you wanna class it the same way as someone accidentally bumping someone, but I don't think you could have known that was gonna happen. He clearly wouldn't have done it if he did mate in a final

Perhaps Maynard initially jumped without the intention to clobber brayshaw (arguably only trying to smother), but in mid air he definitely turns his body and his shoulder hits the head and causes significant injury and that's why he should be suspended. arguments that its a "football act" are bizarre because this type of action is very rarely seen, and when it happens, usually the player is suspended (jumping and shoulder hits the head)

Yep, Nathan Brown makes the point about if it was a teammate would he have done the same, I doubt it, you would put your arms out to protect yourself, in a sense pushing them away from you, not hip and shoulder.

And he failed to put his arms out to brace against Gus's shoulders, to stop any high collision.

Yep, Nathan Brown makes the point about if it was a teammate would he have done the same, I doubt it, you would put your arms out to protect yourself, in a sense pushing them away from you, not hip and shoulder.

That's actually a fantastic point. I reckon Maynard wanted Gus to 'earn it' so to speak, obviously didn't mean to KO him, but wanted to set the tone physically. If it was his teammate he would've found a way to soften the blow.

Retired #10: Angus Brayshaw – retired due to concussion (22/02). Thanks for everything, Gus.