Fixture Gather Round - SA announced as host for next 3 years 2024-2026

GATHER ROUND SOUTH AUSTRALIA
AFL LOCKS IN SA FOR NEXT THREE SEASONS

The AFL in partnership with the SA Government is pleased to announce ‘Gather Round…. A Festival of Footy’ will be hosted in South Australia for the next three seasons.

The inaugural ‘Gather Round’ has been an overwhelming success, with all nine games sold out, more than 220,000 fans attending matches across the Adelaide Oval, Norwood Oval and Mount Barker in the Adelaide Hills and tens of thousands of fans attending the footy festival on the banks of Torrens.

More than 60,000 fans purchased tickets from interstate.

Across 2024, 2025 and 2026, Gather Round …. A festival of footy will be hosted exclusively in South Australia, with Adelaide Oval to be the central venue, with the intent from both the AFL and the SA Government to take regional matches in 2024 to the Barossa / McClaren Vale region.

As part of the three-year term, both the AFL and SA Government have also committed to establishing a community football legacy fund, that will benefit local footy clubs in the state beyond the weekend of matches.

The AFL will lock in the fixture dates of the round in the coming weeks to give fans as much lead time as possible to book travel and accommodation.

Ticketing information will be release later in the year.

“South Australia really turned it on. Gather Round and all the activity across the state, the nine matches, the footy festival and the community football engagement has been some of the best days and events the AFL has ever delivered,” AFL Chief Executive Gillon McLachlan said.

“It has been a success because everyone in football got behind the idea, clubs, players, corporate partners and most importantly our fans, to deliver an extraordinary few days,

“While the concept has real momentum, and we plan on taking it to other states around the country, we also feel in order for it to be as successful in the other states we need to continue to build out the concept in South Australia,

“The reality is we only had a few months to pull this together, and we hope by locking it in now we are giving everyone a longer runway to put together a bigger and even better event, and our fans certainty around booking travel and accommodation.

“The match at Mount Barker was a special afternoon on Saturday and an important part of recommitting to South Australia was to establish the community legacy fund, ensuring local footy clubs’ benefit from bringing the Gather Round to town.”

During the round the AFL has facilitated dozens of community club and school visits, held seminars for community club volunteers and delivered more than 10,000 footballs to regional community clubs.

Details on the Community legacy fund will be communicated at a later date.

“On behalf of the AFL I want to thank to Premier Malinauskas and his team in the SA Government who in partnership, delivered an unbelievable few days for footy and the state of South Australia.”

The AFL will also work with the AFLPA on the commitments to the players.

“The players have been strong partners in the Gather Round concept and have embraced wholeheartedly the round. We will now work with the AFLPA on the commitments to the players in the coming years.”

SA Premier Peter Malinauskas said “The inaugural Gather Round has been a stunning success, in no small part thanks to the willingness of South Australians, and our interstate visitors, to show up.
“We know that this has delivered huge benefits for our state, and that is why I’m so pleased to see it return for the next three years.”

“With more time to plan, we know we can make Gather Round even bigger and better than what it has already become.”

“I want to thank Gillon McLachlan, the AFL, wider footballing community, public servants, councils and others who’ve all worked so hard to deliver such an amazing event in just a few months.”

“But most of all, I want to thank each and every person who showed up.”

“This agreement is because of you.”

-ends-

Last edited by a moderator:
I get it, if you’ve never been.
Gather round sounds stupid.
But head to the Adelaide CBD, and what spills out to Norwood.
The atmosphere is unrivalled.
The term festival of footy covers it well.
It’s like the fringe festival for footy fans.
I love it. Will be attending 4 games at 3 grounds.
Then the Fan Zone at Elder park is a great area full of families, activities and off field entertainment.
Absolutely worth a visit to Adelaide for.
The Fringe Festival is boring as ****. Just b and c grade performers and bringing an excess of carnies and weird street performers to the city. Nothing to celebrate, except when it's finished.

Also, the amount of South Australians in here proud is kind of cringeworthy. It's just a round of football; you're talking about it like it's a source of pride to you. :D
If you want to attend 4 games in a weekend you can pretty much do that any time in Victoria, it's an achievable novelty that has been that way since the inception of the AFL competition.

I do live near Norwood and spend time there near daily and do welcome Victorians but draw the line at bogan South Australians from other areas lining the streets. If you live within a 4km radius no issue whatsoever but beyond that please stay in your lane. You can drink your west end beers and casket wines from within your own confines.

Edit - **** I missed your 'unrivalled' reference... haha. Touch some grass, breathe some air, enjoy some sunshine. The world exists beyond the postcodes of South Australia. Adelaide gets some tourism and apparently it creates an 'unrivalled' atmosphere.

Geez, that's especially insulting coming from someone who commutes to Moorabbin every day.
Again it's just weird how obsessed South Australians are with this round. Adelaide is a reasonable place to live and raise a family but my goodness, there's a round of football here and Erin thinks that Jack Higgins is going to be frothing at the mouth to go down to Henley Beach and watching a ****ing sunset.

Found this

View attachment 2271830
Wow Peter everyone is very excited with these massive names. Love the 'Local Adelaide Artists' (Carlton and West Coast fans have already suffered enough this year..) and 'Special Act - to be announced soon' - you just know it'll be a world renowned headline act when they're waiting until 3 days before the event to announce it.

Again it's just weird how obsessed South Australians are with this round. Adelaide is a reasonable place to live and raise a family but my goodness, there's a round of football here and Erin thinks that Jack Higgins is going to be frothing at the mouth to go down to Henley Beach and watching a ****ing sunset.

If anything, you seem pretty obsessed.

The Fringe Festival is boring as ****. Just b and c grade performers and bringing an excess of carnies and weird street performers to the city. Nothing to celebrate, except when it's finished.

Also, the amount of South Australians in here proud is kind of cringeworthy. It's just a round of football; you're talking about it like it's a source of pride to you. :D
If you want to attend 4 games in a weekend you can pretty much do that any time in Victoria, it's an achievable novelty that has been that way since the inception of the AFL competition.

I do live near Norwood and spend time there near daily and do welcome Victorians but draw the line at bogan South Australians from other areas lining the streets. If you live within a 4km radius no issue whatsoever but beyond that please stay in your lane. You can drink your west end beers and casket wines from within your own confines.

Edit - **** I missed your 'unrivalled' reference... haha. Touch some grass, breathe some air, enjoy some sunshine. The world exists beyond the postcodes of South Australia. Adelaide gets some tourism and apparently it creates an 'unrivalled' atmosphere.
I did enjoy this rant and the "casket" wine reference

Not sure why the hate for SA in here. I’m a Melbourne guy who has been to Adelaide for quite a few sporting events and the locals are awesome with good atmosphere. The recent Sheffield shield final was amazing and I am a huge fan of Gather Round and how the whole state gets behind it. South Australia and Victoria are easily the two most sports obsessed states.

Really hope that the AFL refuses the temptation to move the concept to Tasmania with the new side coming in. Let South Australia as one of the most footy mad states have this one, they’ve supported it from ground up.

First year was fine but the novelty was totally gone the next. Keep moving it each year. Perth, Tasmania, Queensland, NT, Regional Victoria, anywhere but the same place year after year.
I am sure the gather round would work in Alice Springs LoL.

Queensland will work too.

Perth with a couple of WAFL grounds could work.

Victoria could work.... But that means mainly MCG and Docklands.

I'm not. No one speaks for me. The journo just happens to share my views.

Yes, I'm aware. Personally I think 23 matches is too many, anyway. It also creates an odd number of matches where two SA teams get 12 home games for no genuine reason

It's got nothing to do with "Victoria." You're the one saying that, not me. I don't like it because it compromises the fixture, does nothing for the sport (i.e it doesn't convert any new fans), plays matches at inappropriate venues between teams not in those states, and is an ego trip for the AFL to say "Hey, we can do it better than the NRL"

You could make a case for Magic Round in the NRL because of the small attendances. Smaller crowds mean better for double headers. In a sport a popular for crowd-pulling as Aussie Rules, there is NO good reason to have such a round. None.

Wrong. I never even mentioned "Victoria". It would be just as stupid if Adelaide was playing West Coast at the MCG.

I mentioned earlier that I have not heard a single logical coherent argument in support of Gather Round outside of, "The vibe is amazing" lovey-dovey crap. I still havn't. Please sell me a reason - anything - justifying this silly round which doesn't involve over-emotive "vibe" dribble
I don't mind the SA clubs get an extra home game.

Magpies, bombers, tigers and blues get 15 or 16 MCG games every season.

I don't mind the SA clubs get an extra home game.

Magpies, bombers, tigers and blues get 15 or 16 MCG games every season.

Yep the fixture is full of so many inequalities already it’s a non issue.

Mate you are not wrong, Adelaide is flipping boring. It's honestly a nothing city. But some people from there get so sensitive about it. It's just the way it is. Normal people from Adelaide get it.

Imagine being proud of that place. When you have nothing, things like Gather Round and the garden of unearthly boredom are important. I understand that.
Some people from Adelaie still can't grasp why the Grand Prix was moved.

There's a reason so many young, adventurous people leave Adelaide then come back later to die.

I am sure the gather round would work in Alice Springs LoL.

Queensland will work too.

Perth with a couple of WAFL grounds could work.

Victoria could work.... But that means mainly MCG and Docklands.
Perth - apart from Optus, you have the WACA, Leederville, Fremantle, Bassendean Oval and Joondalup as options. Some of them would need a bit of love perhaps. Bassendean would be great for access to the Swan Valley, Leederville has a town centre which could be closed off - we had the WAFL grand final there a few years ago, Fremantle - obvious one with the historic town centre, Joondalup could involve the Northern Suburbs. The WACA is basically a 10 minute walk from Optus, so you could have a whole activation there on a Saturday or Sunday with people being able to travel between the two venues.

Claremont, Lathlain, East Fremantle and Rushton Park, Mandurah probably too small.

Bunbury I guess is an option like they have this year, but it's 2 hours from Perth, so kind of defeats the "gathering" aspect of the occasion.

It would be great to have it here, but I doubt it will happen, unless the State Government really puts their hand in their pockets.

Mate you are not wrong, Adelaide is flipping boring. It's honestly a nothing city. But some people from there get so sensitive about it. It's just the way it is. Normal people from Adelaide get it.

Imagine being proud of that place. When you have nothing, things like Gather Round and the garden of unearthly boredom are important. I understand that.

There's a reason so many young, adventurous people leave Adelaide then come back later to die.
guess everywhere is a nothing city really.

No difference to any other city, buildings, parks, food n drink, etc when you break it down

people just like what they like

Perth - apart from Optus, you have the WACA, Leederville, Fremantle, Bassendean Oval and Joondalup as options. Some of them would need a bit of love perhaps. Bassendean would be great for access to the Swan Valley, Leederville has a town centre which could be closed off - we had the WAFL grand final there a few years ago, Fremantle - obvious one with the historic town centre, Joondalup could involve the Northern Suburbs. The WACA is basically a 10 minute walk from Optus, so you could have a whole activation there on a Saturday or Sunday with people being able to travel between the two venues.

Claremont, Lathlain, East Fremantle and Rushton Park, Mandurah probably too small.

Bunbury I guess is an option like they have this year, but it's 2 hours from Perth, so kind of defeats the "gathering" aspect of the occasion.

It would be great to have it here, but I doubt it will happen, unless the State Government really puts their hand in their pockets.
I don't think it should be locked to one state it can move around and rotate back to Adelaide in turn and so on.

This coming from a capital city where they had to build a beach on the river at Southbank.

Fixture Gather Round - SA announced as host for next 3 years 2024-2026

Write your reply...