Autopsy Round 16, 2023: West Coast v St.Kilda *WILKIE 100TH*

Can't see how we finish as low as 12th now, but not being able to make the most out of playing bottom 3 sides is likely to cost us.

I can see us either missing by one win or percentage. We need to upset a good side or two on the way home now.

Somehow need to find that early season form again but that's just hard to do as we saw last year.

By losing. Those sides between 9th to 15th all look like they are better than us at the moment.

Ladder predictor has us 10th on auto tip. If we only win one more match against the Roos and sides like Carlton and Sydney keep winning we will fall over and slide back.

Nothing to enjoy watching that standard of footy
And it will not stand up against good sides or in finals
We have beaten
6/8/10/11/12/13/14/17/18

We still have 3/4/9/12/14/15/16/17 to play

Lost to 1/2 by less than 10 points.
Lost to 3 comfortably.

It’s going okay

Did you watch the broadcast after the final siren? We trudged off the field with our heads down, not a smile in sight. Then when they switched over to the song - one of the lamest renditions I can remember. Gresham belting out the middle part of the song was funny, perhaps he's the only happy one given he went to half time with 4 touches and probably revived his spot in the side with 11 in the 3rd quarter and a goal.
Some of the words Ross used in his presser summed it up.

Embarrassing was one that stood out to me.

The big concern is the lack of system that he talked about. That is what had us all excited in the first part of the year and it was non existent today.

West Coast average a total of 43 points in the last 6 weeks and had that before half time. Seems like the hunger and willingness to do the team thing has disappeared.

It's bloody frustrating to watch.

You honestly did not expect a flag this year.
As it is we sit 5th, may or may not make the finals, but stav means Lyon wanted four years for a reason.
I would say he is acutely aware of our limitations and hopefully he looks to fix them personnel wise beginning this trade and draft period.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Can't wait for TDK to straighten us up. The Blues win when he doesn't play. I expected him to have us competitive. We are barely that in the second half of the year. It wasn't Ratts, it's this shit list. Lethlean should fall on his sword, he built this poo-castle. Make him take responsible. He's a fraud.

Insane injury list?

Are you serious?

You'd be at the better end of injuries across the league.

Little to nothing out right now.

Clark and Membrey which wont add much to your current list.

Only thing correct in the above is you will be bottom 8 when the real stuff begins.

Head start on the pre season and a sugar hit with the dictator Ross got your some wins early.

Now its back to reality.
If your universally hated team wins this year which is looking likely at least we will no longer bear the shame of being the last team to let the Magpies win the flag.

By losing. Those sides between 9th to 15th all look like they are better than us at the moment.

Ladder predictor has us 10th on auto tip. If we only win one more match against the Roos and sides like Carlton and Sydney keep winning we will fall over and slide back.
Did you watch Gold Coast yesterday?

Every other team below us is as hot as cold as us right now which is why we are still 5th.

It would be some kind of disaster to finish 12th

We have beaten
6/8/10/11/12/13/14/17/18

We still have 3/4/9/12/14/15/16/17 to play

Lost to 1/2 by less than 10 points.
Lost to 3 comfortably.

It’s going okay

On current form the only side I'd absolutely be shocked to lose to is North and when I say shocked I mean a little surprised. 13 and 14 look a step above us. They both win matches by more than we score most weeks. We look more like a bottom 4 side. The midfield is awful.

Can't wait for TDK to straighten us up. The Blues win when he doesn't play. I expected him to have us competitive. We are barely that in the second half of the year. It wasn't Ratts, it's this s**t list. Lethlean should fall on his sword, he built this poo-castle. Make him take responsible. He's a fraud.
Have been saying this for 3 years

A good mate is a professor in sports psych.

A big part of his job has been to interview coaches of professional sports clubs.

His main takeaway on coaches is this : there are 2 types of coaches. The first are like kids on a beach making a beautiful sandcastle. They take time to create it and craft it, going down to the water and getting different type of sands, nurturing and sculpting it to their liking. The second type of coach is ones who are adept at kicking down sandcastles.”

The problem is, modern sport more and more is encouraging creative coaches and tactics (this is to do with trying to eliminate concussions as much as possible and to maximize Tv rights and ratings in a competitive market).

Coaches like Ross Lyon, who is very good at kicking down sandcastles and relies on tackling, physicality, effort and defensive structures are just no good anymore and won’t be going forward.

We’ve got ourselves a busted flush with Ross. He hasn’t got an offensive creative bone in his body. His one tactical tweak (besides mentioning the standing man on the mark rule) was that the Saints would be a better “running” team. Sadly, running won’t change a thing for us, only learning to kicking and hand ball quickly and precisely (this takes a lot of coaching) will change things. You can kick the ball faster than you can run. Ross just doesn’t have it in him to change himself and be able to be a coach that can teach this.

I’d like to think we could get a creative assistant in and it could change things but who are we kidding. Ross’s strength was always his dominating personality and single-mindedness. The chances of him handing over the offensive reins to someone else are slim to none.

We're equal 4th on the ladder, when a lot of people had us finishing bottom 4. List is only just going and we've been plagued by injuries all year. Ross Lyon is one of the most successful coaches in St Kilda history and surrounded by young eager assistants. He's also stated he's changed his style from the 'supreme leader' days. CEO is an very highly credentialled and successful business man. From all reports, RTB also seeks outside coaching and mentoring on the regular. I would think his primary, overarching desire is to win a Flag at all costs, not be stubborn and set in his ways. Respect your posts but if I'm honest, I take the opinions of 'sports psychologists' and the like (there's plenty of them right?) with a bucket of salt.

Bank the 4 points, onwards we march.

Some of the words Ross used in his presser summed it up.

Embarrassing was one that stood out to me.

The big concern is the lack of system that he talked about. That is what had us all excited in the first part of the year and it was non existent today.

West Coast average a total of 43 points in the last 6 weeks and had that before half time. Seems like the hunger and willingness to do the team thing has disappeared.

It's bloody frustrating to watch.
The only thing I give him credit for right now is that he's as equally pissed off as we are.

It's obviously his job to turn that around, and so he's probably on notice with a majority of the supporters, but at least he does give a shit.

I had to pause the presser and reflect on what he said to the players at half time.

"Half time we spoke about wasting 9 months of hard work, and I think that hit home. Because we've been pretty good, but I'm still trying to understand the lack of system and how we want to play in the first half to the second. I still can't get my head around it"

Obviously the consistency is a huge concern but we've all known that for several years now. It's the biggest issue with this list right now IMO. It's nothing positional or structural with us, it's about mental application over long periods of time. It can be attributed to a real lack of leadership, lack of mental fortitude, or both.

His first sentence probably wasn't worded in that way either - reckon he gave them an absolute rocket to wake them up at half time. It's really concerning that the players need to wait for someone to do that rather than do it themselves.

On current form the only side I'd absolutely be shocked to lose to is North and when I say shocked I mean a little surprised. 13 and 14 look a step above us. They both win matches by more than we score most weeks. We look more like a bottom 4 side. The midfield is awful.
I’d love to see stats on teams taking clearance out of the front of stoppages. I watch a bit of footy and the only team I can think of that gives up more of that than us is North (possibly the dogs because their midfield doesn’t defend at all).

Surely this has been identified and we should just be playing shoulder to shoulder trying not to give the oppo clean ball inside 50.

Shuey had two of them today and hit targets both times.

Did you watch Gold Coast yesterday?

Every other team below us is as hot as cold as us right now which is why we are still 5th.

It would be some kind of disaster to finish 12th

It would but we are absolute shit at the moment. Not sure we deserve to be anywhere near top 8. I wouldn't be surprised if we finish bottom 3 next year. We look so far away and just don't have heaps in reserve to lift us forward. North have masses of kids in development and will slingshot at some point. GC look a couple of years off charging into contention etc.

I just can't see where we get enough talent in. We'll lose players as fast as we replace them.

Insane injury list?

Are you serious?

You'd be at the better end of injuries across the league.

Little to nothing out right now.

Clark and Membrey which wont add much to your current list.

Only thing correct in the above is you will be bottom 8 when the real stuff begins.

Head start on the pre season and a sugar hit with the dictator Ross got your some wins early.

Now its back to reality.

Who invited this ill-bred low life mouth-breather? Jog off back to your council flat champ, you've not a notion.

We're equal 4th on the ladder, when a lot of people had us finishing bottom 4. List is only just going and we've been plagued by injuries all year. Ross Lyon is one of the most successful coaches in St Kilda history and surrounded by young eager assistants. He's also stated he's changed his style from the 'supreme leader' days. CEO is an very highly credentialled and successful business man. From all reports, RTB also seeks outside coaching and mentoring on the regular. I would think his primary, overarching desire is to win a Flag at all costs, not be stubborn and set in his ways. Respect your posts but if I'm honest, I take the opinions of 'sports psychologists' and the like (there's plenty of them right?) with a bucket of salt.

Feels like we are locking ourselves into a perpetual mediocrity cycle. Never move forward, never move back to get picks. Fill our sacks with GOPs and wonder where 20 years has gone. Artificial momentum is not a positive IMO. Extracting every drop from a shit sandwich list isn't good business.

I reckon we now know our list isn't good enough. We have gone out and grabbed a superstar driver but we can't keep up with the F1s in our Mr Bean Mini.

Must be a full moon tonight

After every s**t performance there are a few fans under the influence or just living in lala land who try and spin things as not so bad.
Stops - checks ladder.

Yeah as I thought - still 5th, 9 wins, 109%, two games clear of 9th.

Feels like we are locking ourselves into a perpetual mediocrity cycle. Never move forward, never move back to get picks. Fill our sacks with GOPs and wonder where 20 years has gone. Artificial momentum is not a positive IMO. Extracting every drop from a s**t sandwich list isn't good business.

I reckon we now know our list isn't good enough. We have gone out and grabbed a superstar driver but we can't keep up with the F1s in our Mr Bean Mini.

How did Richmond break out of their 9th-mond days? Would love nothing more than some top 3 picks, but were we really ready to bottom out and how would the Club/supporters/media/players handle that? Could backfire on us and only make it harder to retain any young talent we already have. I think creating a winning culture is very important, not ideal for draft picks but teams like Geelong have bucked the trend. And to be fair, our last 2 years we've snagged some excellent recruits from outside the pointy end of things.

The only thing I give him credit for right now is that he's as equally pissed off as we are.

It's obviously his job to turn that around, and so he's probably on notice with a majority of the supporters, but at least he does give a s**t.

I had to pause the presser and reflect on what he said to the players at half time.

"Half time we spoke about wasting 9 months of hard work, and I think that hit home. Because we've been pretty good, but I'm still trying to understand the lack of system and how we want to play in the first half to the second. I still can't get my head around it"

Obviously the consistency is a huge concern but we've all known that for several years now. It's the biggest issue with this list right now IMO. It's nothing positional or structural with us, it's about mental application over long periods of time. It can be attributed to a real lack of leadership, lack of mental fortitude, or both.

His first sentence probably wasn't worded in that way either - reckon he gave them an absolute rocket to wake them up at half time. It's really concerning that the players need to wait for someone to do that rather than do it themselves.
Music to my ears. Probably the flattest I’ve ever felt after a win. Clearly it’s mental application & lack of skill/class IMO

Not sure what to expect tbh I just want elite/hard working footballers in asap & unfortunately that takes time. King will be 30 by the time we might get something close to an elite/intimidating team ala 09/10

Good thing is RTB won’t **** around & sit on his hands which is good

Autopsy Round 16, 2023: West Coast v St.Kilda *WILKIE 100TH*

Write your reply...